Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide

1. General information

1.1 Purpose

The Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide (Sampling Handbook) outline the policies and procedures of the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) for automatic mechanical sampling systems used for inward receipt, and outward discharge of grain at licensed grain handling facilities. It includes the requirements for the installation, examination, testing, approval, and ongoing monitoring and oversight of these systems. It also includes information on Canadian Grain Commission approved methods of sampling for the Accredited Container Sampling Program (ACSP) and the Certified Container Sampling Program (CCSP). A section on manual sampling is also included, which may be used at the discretion of the Canadian Grain Commission when a lot of grain cannot be sampled by mechanical means.

A licensed grain handling facility mandated or requesting Canadian Grain Commission inspection services must install Canadian Grain Commission-approved automatic sampling equipment to sample grain in the facility.

This Sampling Handbook is intended for use by Canadian Grain Commission staff, producers, and members of the grain trade, and supersedes any previous Canadian Grain Commission sampling directives. It contains the following chapters:

Chapter 1: General Information
Describes the purpose of the document, the authority and responsibilities of interested parties, and relevant definitions as they apply to this Sampling Handbook.

Chapter 2: Automatic Sampling Systems for Licensed Grain Handling Facilities
Describes equipment, verification processes, security, maintenance, and the monitoring and oversight of automatic sampling systems.

Chapter 3: Conditionally Approved Automatic Sampling Systems for Specific Canadian Grain Commission Programs
Describes the equipment and programs to which these sampling systems may be approved.

Chapter 4: Canadian Grain Commission Approved Manual Sampling Methods
Describes various manual sampling methods used for static and flowing grain.

Chapter 5: Canadian Grain Commission Approved Sample Dividing Equipment
Describes the equipment and procedures used to divide grain samples into smaller representative portions.

1.2 Authority

This Sampling Handbook has been prepared under the authority of the Canada Grain Act and the Canada Grain Regulations.

1.3 Responsibilities

The Canadian Grain Commission inspects, approves and oversees the operation of all automatic sampling systems at licensed grain handling facilities used to draw official samples for cargo destined for export. In addition, the Canadian Grain Commission’s responsibilities include an oversight role for sampling systems used for receipt of grain at licensed terminal elevators. All systems will be subject to regular monitoring and oversight protocols established by the Canadian Grain Commission. The protocols for automatic sampling systems used to collect these samples will be determined upon the sampling systems’ installation location and use within each licensed grain handling facility.

The operator of the licensed grain handling facility that owns, leases, or operates the automatic sampling system is responsible to:

  1. Provide a written request for Canadian Grain Commission approval of a sampling system.
  2. Install all equipment subject to Canadian Grain Commission approval as prescribed by the manufacturer.
  3. Cooperate with the Canadian Grain Commission for the examination and testing of sampling systems.
  4. Provide all necessary repairs, maintenance, and environmental considerations specified by the Canadian Grain Commission and the manufacturer.
  5. Provide written notification to the Canadian Grain Commission of any ongoing problems that may be occurring with any approved sampling systems.
  6. Keep maintenance logs specific to Canadian Grain Commission approved sampling systems and make them available for review by Canadian Grain Commission staff when requested.
  7. Provide written notification to the Canadian Grain Commission if alterations to the system are planned,  including any physical changes to equipment or facility that may alter the grain flow to, through, or leaving the sampling system.
  8. Provide written notification to the Canadian Grain Commission if the sampling system will no longer be used to obtain official samples.

All sampling systems used to draw samples representing consignments for receipt and discharge at licensed grain handling facilities must be operated in accordance with the Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide.

1.4 Glossary of terms

This section describes common terms and descriptions used in sampling grain in Canada.

Alteration
Modifications or changes made to the sampling system after the system was last tested by the Canadian Grain Commission. This would include but not limited to; changes to sampler position, parts, speed, wiring, dust collection, etc. and also include changes to the grain handling system that may affect the sampling system, such as an increase in grain flow, change in belt speed, and use of new shipping bins.
Approval
The written approval issued by the Canadian Grain Commission to licensed grain handling facilities to operate new automatic sampling systems within their facilities. These sampling systems have been evaluated and found to meet the requirements as described in this Sampling Handbook.
Auxiliary controls
Device that duplicates or bypasses the operating controls or interrupts the exclusive Canadian Grain Commission use of the sampling device.
Commodities
Grain, grain products, or screenings found in a licensed grain handling facility.
Composite sample
A sample which is comprised of the total number of primary samples taken from a lot of grain. It is formed by combining and mixing all primary samples together from one specific lot of grain.
Lockout control
Device used to disconnect the main power supply to all the sampling equipment and bring the entire sampling system to a zero energy state.
Official sample
A sample taken from a parcel of grain by a person authorized by the Commission to take the sample or by any sampling device authorized by the Commission.
Operating controls
Controls used by Canadian Grain Commission personnel for the normal operation of the sampling system. These would include on/off control panel switches, timers, sampler indicator lights, and pneumatic sample delivery system indicator lights.
Primary sample
A portion of sample taken from a lot of grain during one single sampling action.
Primary sampler
Main sample collector installed at an inward or outward inspection sampling point in a licensed grain handling facility.
Sample divider
The mechanical or gravitational divider used to reduce the size of the sample obtained by the primary sampler.
Sampling action
The act of capturing  grain from the lot; e.g. by one single entry and withdrawal of the double sleeve trier, or one scooping action of grain flowing on a belt, or one single pass of an automatic cross stream sampler.
Suspension
A written confirmation by the Canadian Grain Commission withdrawing the use of a sampler and/or delivery system. A formal suspension may not be required if the sampler and/or delivery system problems are corrected within a specified timeframe, evaluated and tested if necessary by the Canadian Grain Commission.

Manuel des systèmes d'échantillonnage et Guide d'approbation

1. Renseignements généraux

1.1 But

Le Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et Guide d’approbation définit les politiques et les procédures de la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) en ce qui concerne les échantillonneurs mécaniques utilisés aux installations de manutention du grain agréées pour recevoir le grain à l’arrivage et le décharger à la sortie. Il précise les exigences relatives à l’installation, à la vérification, au contrôle, à l’approbation et à la surveillance continue de ces systèmes. Il renferme également des renseignements sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage approuvées par la Commission canadienne des grains dans le cadre du Programme d’échantillonneurs accrédités de conteneurs (PEAC) et du Programme d’échantillonnage certifié de conteneurs (PECC). De plus, il comporte une section sur l’échantillonnage manuel, méthode qui peut être utilisée à la discrétion de la Commission canadienne des grains lorsqu’il est impossible d’échantillonner un lot de grain à l’aide d’un échantillonneur mécanique.

Une installation de manutention du grain agréée autorisée ou requérant les services d’inspection de la Commission canadienne des grains doit installer un échantillonneur mécanique approuvé par la Commission canadienne des grains pour permettre que des échantillons y soient prélevés.

Le présent manuel s’adresse aux employés de la Commission canadienne des grains, aux producteurs et aux négociants en grains; il remplace toutes les directives d’échantillonnage antérieures de la Commission canadienne des grains. Il comporte les chapitres suivants :

Chapitre 1 : Renseignements généraux
Précise le but du manuel, l’autorité et les responsabilités des parties concernées, ainsi que les définitions pertinentes qui s’appliquent.

Chapitre 2 : Systèmes d’échantillonnage mécanique pour les installations de manutention de grain agréées
Décrit l’équipement, les procédures de vérification, ainsi que les exigences en matière de sécurité, d’entretien et de surveillance des échantillonneurs mécaniques.

Chapitre 3 : Systèmes d’échantillonnage mécanique approuvés sous condition dans le cadre de certains programmes de la Commission canadienne des grains
Décrit l’équipement et les programmes dans le cadre desquels ces échantillonneurs peuvent être approuvés.

Chapitre 4 : Méthodes d’échantillonnage manuel approuvées par la Commission canadienne des grains
Précise les diverses méthodes d’échantillonnage manuel servant à prélever un échantillon de grains dans un lot statique ou dans le flot d’écoulement.

Chapitre 5 : Diviseurs d’échantillons approuvés par la Commission canadienne des grains
Décrit l’équipement et les procédures servant à diviser des échantillons composites pour obtenir des échantillons représentatifs plus petits.

1.2 Autorité

Le présent manuel a été rédigé conformément aux modalités de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et au Règlement sur les grains du Canada.

1.3 Responsabilités

La Commission canadienne des grains voit à inspecter et à approuver de tous les échantillonneurs mécaniques dont se servent les installations de manutention du grain agréées pour prélever des échantillons officiels dans les cargaisons de grain destinées à l’exportation et à en encadrer le fonctionnement. En outre, la Commission canadienne des grains voit à contrôler les dispositifs d’échantillonnage servant à recevoir le grain aux silos terminaux agréés. Les dispositifs sont soumis à un contrôle régulier selon les protocoles établis par la Commission canadienne des grains. Les protocoles de contrôle des échantillonneurs mécaniques servant à prélever des échantillons seront établis en fonction de l’emplacement et de l’utilisation de ces échantillonneurs dans chaque installation de manutention du grain agréée.

L’exploitant de l’installation de manutention du grain agréée qui est propriétaire des échantillonneurs mécaniques, qui les loue ou qui les fait fonctionner doit :

  1. soumettre par écrit à la Commission canadienne des grains une demande d'approbation de son système d'échantillonnage;
  2. installer tout l'équipement assujetti à l'approbation de la Commission canadienne des grains de la manière prescrite par le fabricant;
  3. coopérer avec la Commission canadienne des grains en ce qui a trait à la vérification et au contrôle des systèmes d'échantillonnage;
  4. effectuer tous les travaux de réparation et d'entretien nécessaires et tenir compte des facteurs environnementaux tels que précisés par la Commission canadienne des grains et le fabricant;
  5. aviser la Commission canadienne des grains, par écrit, de tout problème pouvant survenir lors de l'utilisation des systèmes d'échantillonnage approuvés;
  6. tenir un registre d'entretien propre aux systèmes d'échantillonnage approuvés par la Commission canadienne des grains et le mettre à la disposition de tout employé de la Commission canadienne des grains qui demandera à le vérifier;
  7. aviser la Commission canadienne des grains, par écrit, de toute modification qu'il prévoit apporter au système, notamment des changements d'ordre physique à l'équipement ou à l'installation qui pourraient influer sur le débit du grain qui passe dans le système d'échantillonnage;
  8. aviser la Commission canadienne des grains, par écrit, lorsqu'il ne se sert plus du système d'échantillonnage pour prélever des échantillons officiels.

Les systèmes d’échantillonnage servant à prélever des échantillons représentant des lots à recevoir ou décharger aux installations de manutention du grain agréées doivent être utilisés conformément au Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et Guide d’approbation.

1.4 Glossaire

La présente section fournit des descriptions et termes couramment utilisés dans le domaine de l’échantillonnage du grain au Canada.

Activité d’échantillonnage
Action de prélever du grain dans un lot, par exemple en y faisant pénétrer une sonde à double tube, puis en la retirant, ou en ramassant à la pelle à main le grain qui s’écoule par une courroie ou qui passe dans un échantillonneur à bec déflecteur.
Approbation
Autorisation écrite de la Commission canadienne des grains permettant aux installations de manutention du grain agréées d’utiliser un nouvel échantillonneur mécanique. Ce dernier a fait l’objet d’une évaluation et est réputé répondre aux exigences précisées dans le présent guide.
Commandes
Commandes utilisées par les employés de la Commission canadienne des grains lors de l’utilisation normale du système d’échantillonnage. Les commandes comprennent les interrupteurs marche-arrêt des panneaux de contrôle, les chronométreurs, les voyants lumineux de l’échantillonneur et les voyants lumineux du système de distribution pneumatique des échantillons.
Commandes auxiliaires
Dispositif permettant de reproduire ou de contourner les commandes ou d’interrompre l’usage exclusif du système d’échantillonnage par la Commission canadienne des grains.
Dispositif d’arrêt
Dispositif servant à couper l’alimentation principale de tout le système d’échantillonnage et à ramener l’échantillonneur à un niveau d’énergie zéro.
Diviseur d’échantillon
Diviseur mécanique ou par gravité utilisé pour réduire la taille de l’échantillon prélevé par l’échantillonneur primaire.
Échantillon composite
Échantillon qui renferme l'ensemble des échantillons primaires prélevés dans un lot de grain. Il est obtenu après que tous les échantillons primaires provenant d'un même lot de grain ont été combinés et mélangés.
Échantillon officiel
Échantillon prélevé dans un lot de grain par une personne habilitée à cet effet par la Commission ou par tout dispositif d’échantillonnage approuvé par la Commission.
Échantillon primaire
Partie d’un échantillon prélevé dans un lot de grain lors d’une seule activité d’échantillonnage.
Échantillonneur primaire
Préleveur principal installé à un point d’échantillonnage pour l’inspection d’arrivage ou de sortie dans une installation de manutention du grain agréée.
Modification
Modifications ou changements apportés au système d’échantillonnage depuis le dernier contrôle effectué par la Commission canadienne des grains. Il s’agit notamment, sans s’y limiter, des changements apportés à l’emplacement de l’échantillonneur, aux pièces, à la vitesse, au câblage, au captage des poussières, etc. Cela comprend aussi les modifications apportées au réseau de manutention du grain qui pourraient influer sur le système d’échantillonnage, telles que l’augmentation du débit du grain, la modification de la vitesse de la courroie et l’utilisation de nouveaux compartiments d’expédition.
Produits
Grain, produits céréaliers ou criblures que l’on trouve dans une installation de manutention du grain agréée.
Suspension
Confirmation écrite de la Commission canadienne des grains du retrait de l’autorisation d’utiliser un échantillonneur ou un système de distribution. Une suspension officielle n’est pas nécessaire si les problèmes posés par l’échantillonneur ou le système de distribution sont corrigés dans un délai prescrit, et que le dispositif est évalué et mis à l’essai par la Commission canadienne des grains, au besoin.