Varieties of wheat designated as the class Canada Western Amber Durum (CWAD)

Order number 2017-40-1 - Variety designation list

October 6, 2017

List of varieties designated as the class Canada Western Amber Durum (CWAD)


  1. The Canadian Grain Commission (the "Commission") has authority under section 16(1) of the Canada Grain Act (the "Act") to establish, by regulation, grades and grade names for western and eastern grain.
  2. Grades and grade names established by the Commission for some grains, in the Canada Grain Regulations, provide for different classes which are, under section 2 of the Act, a variety or varieties of grain designated by order of the Commission.
  3. This order is made by a quorum of 2 Commissioners.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Commission Order No. 2017-40 – Canada Western Amber Durum (CWAD), issued July 31, 2017 is revoked and replaced with this order.
  2. The Commission establishes the class Canada Western Amber Durum (CWAD) and designates the varieties of wheat listed below as the class.
  • AAC Cabri
  • AAC Current
  • AAC Congress
  • AAC Raymore
  • AAC Marchwell
  • AAC Durafield
  • AAC Spitfire
  • AAC Stronghold
  • AAC Succeed
  • AC Avonlea
  • AC Melita
  • AC Morse
  • AC Navigator
  • Brigade
  • CDC Alloy
  • CDC Carbide
  • CDC Credence
  • CDC Desire
  • CDC Dynamic
  • CDC Fortitude
  • CDC Precision
  • CDC Verona
  • CDC Vivid
  • Commander
  • Eurostar
  • Enterprise
  • Kyle
  • Napoleon
  • Strongfield
  • Transcend (formerly DT801)
  • Wakooma
  • Wascana

This order will be in effect for the crop year commencing August 1, 2017 and continuing until July 31, 2018, unless revoked earlier.

Doug Chorney
Assistant Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague

In accordance with Section 28 of the Canada Grain Act, varieties not designated by the Canadian Grain Commission to a specific class or varieties which are not a registered variety under the Seeds Act will only be eligible for the lowest grade for that kind of grain.

Date modified: