Summary of the Evaluation of the Harvest Sample Program

The Canadian Grain Commission was established by the Canada Grain Act in 1912 as the federal government agency mandated to, “in the interests of producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada to, ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets.”

The Harvest Sample Program has been administered by the Canadian Grain Commission since 1927. This program provides the Canadian Grain Commission with information on the processing and end-use quality of Canadian grains harvested each year. The Canadian Grain Commission uses these samples to develop visual grading standards, monitor and support the quality assurance system, and support grain research activities. Participating producers also receive a free unofficial grade and quality information for each sample they submit.

The Harvest Sample Program runs from March to November each year. It has an annual budget of $750,000; however, actual program expenditures fluctuate depending on the number of samples received, the number and areas of special focus, and the cost of postage.

Final Report

This report presents the findings of the evaluation of the Harvest Sample Program.

Evaluation findings

Alignment with federal roles, responsibilities and priorities and Canadian Grain Commission strategic outcomes

The Harvest Sample Program’s activities and outputs:

  • support key legislated responsibilities of the Canadian Grain Commission
  • align with federal priorities and with the Canadian Grain Commission’s strategic outcome
  • support the Canadian Grain Commission’s organizational priorities

Continued need for the program

There is a significant continued need for the Harvest Sample Program. The samples obtained through the program are essential for supporting the objectives and activities of the Grain Quality Research Program and the Quality Assurance Program.

Complementarity and overlap with similar programs and initiatives

The Harvest Sample Program complements harvest surveys undertaken by other organizations in Canada. It does not duplicate or overlap other sources of grading and assessment in Canada such as the Canadian International Grains Institute (Cigi). Almost all external beneficiaries use the Canadian Grain Commission’s outputs in addition to other sources of harvest quality information.

Effectiveness in achieving intended outcomes

The Harvest Sample Program is successful in achieving its immediate and intermediate outcomes. It is effective in supporting the achievement of the Canadian Grain Commission’s strategic outcome.

Efficiency and economy

The Harvest Sample Program makes efficient use of staff and other resources. However, the cost of mailing sample kits to non-participating registered producers, many of whom have retired, relocated or are deceased, is negatively affecting the program’s efficiency.

Program design and delivery

The current program design is the most suitable based on the needs of the program’s beneficiaries. Transitioning the Harvest Sample Program to a fee-for-service program would result in very significant declines in producer participation, resulting in an inability to meet the internal needs of the Canadian Grain Commission and the needs of external program beneficiaries.

Recommendations

The evaluation found that the Harvest Sample Program achieves its objectives and is delivered in an efficient and cost-effective manner. Opportunities to enhance the program include:

  • continue promotion and marketing of the Harvest Sample Program in order to recruit new producers to submit harvest samples
  • examine possible enhancements to the type and format of quality information available to producers in order to increase participation in the program
  • assess the feasibility of enhancing communication with stakeholders to inform them of when updates to wheat harvest information are available
  • examine potential partnerships with organizations in eastern Canada to obtain alternative sources of harvest samples to address the low response rate among eastern producers
  • investigate the feasibility of a single comprehensive annual harvest quality report that combines the information produced by the Canadian Grain Commission and Cigi

Canadian Grain Commission management has developed management action plans in response to these recommendations.

About this evaluation

This report presents the results of the evaluation of the Harvest Sample Program for the period from April 1, 2010 to November 30, 2015. It was coordinated by the Canadian Grain Commission’s Audit and Evaluation Services and conducted by the consulting firm Ference & Company. This was the first program evaluation for the Canadian Grain Commission and the first evaluation of the Harvest Sample Program.

The Harvest Sample Program provides the quality assurance and grain quality research programs with an annual source of unblended producer samples. This maximizes the range of varieties, environmental factors, and quality characteristics of the samples. The annual harvest quality reports and information generated using the Harvest Sample Program samples also support the Canadian Grain Commission’s obligation to implement a grading system that supports the efficient marketing of grain within and outside of Canada.

The evaluation relied on multiple lines of evidence, including program, document, and literature reviews; interviews with key informants; and surveys with producers.

For more information about this evaluation and its findings, please consult the Evaluation of the Harvest Sample Program report and management action plans online at http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/report-rapport/ehsp-eper/en0.html.

Date modified:

Résumé de l’évaluation du Programme d’échantillons de récolte

La Commission canadienne des grains, organisme fédéral, a été constituée en vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada en 1912. Elle a pour mission « de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d'en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieur et extérieur ».

La Commission canadienne des grains administre le Programme d'échantillons de récolte depuis 1927. Le programme lui permet d'obtenir des renseignements utiles sur les récoltes annuelles, entre autres le classement et la qualité des grains pour la transformation, qu'elle transmet ensuite aux utilisateurs finaux de grains canadiens. La Commission canadienne des grains utilise les échantillons prélevés pour normaliser le classement visuel des grains et pour surveiller et appuyer les programmes d'assurance de la qualité et de recherche sur la qualité des grains. De plus, les producteurs participants reçoivent gratuitement des renseignements non officiels sur le classement et la qualité des grains des échantillons qu'ils ont fournis.

La Commission opère le programme de mars à novembre chaque année. Le programme dispose d'un budget de 750 000 $; cependant, les dépenses réelles varient selon le nombre d'échantillons reçus, les domaines d'intérêt particuliers et les frais de poste.

Constatations de l'évaluation

Harmonisation avec les responsabilités, les priorités et les rôles du gouvernement fédéral et avec le résultat stratégique de la Commission canadienne des grains

Les activités et les résultats du Programme d'échantillons de récolte :

  • appuient les principales responsabilités législatives de la Commission canadienne des grains;
  • s'harmonisent avec les priorités du gouvernement fédéral et avec le résultat stratégique de la Commission canadienne des grains;
  • appuient les priorités organisationnelles de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Besoin continu du programme

Il est très important de poursuivre le Programme d'échantillons de récolte. Les échantillons obtenus par le truchement du programme jouent un rôle essentiel dans le soutien des objectifs et des activités du programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains et du programme d'assurance de la qualité.

Complémentarité et chevauchement avec des programmes et des initiatives semblables

Le Programme d'échantillons de récolte est complémentaire aux enquêtes sur les récoltes entreprises par d'autres organisations au Canada. Il ne dédouble pas ni ne chevauche les activités d'autres sources de classement et d'évaluation des grains du Canada, comme l'Institut international du Canada pour le grain. Presque tous les bénéficiaires externes utilisent les résultats de la Commission canadienne des grains en plus d'autres sources d'information sur la qualité des récoltes.

Efficacité dans l'atteinte des résultats escomptés

Le Programme d'échantillons de récolte a atteint avec succès les résultats immédiats et intermédiaires attendus. Il appuie efficacement la réalisation du résultat stratégique de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Efficience et économie

Le Programme d'échantillons de récolte utilise efficacement le personnel et d'autres ressources. Cependant, les frais d'envoi des trousses d'échantillons à des producteurs inscrits, mais non participants, dont plusieurs se sont retirés des affaires, ont déménagé ou sont décédés, ont une incidence négative sur la rentabilité du programme.

Conception et prestation du programme

La conception actuelle du programme est celle qui répond le mieux aux besoins des bénéficiaires du programme. La transition du Programme d'échantillons de récolte à un programme basé sur le principe d'utilisateur-payeur entraînerait un déclin important du nombre de producteurs participants, qui se traduirait par une incapacité de répondre aux besoins internes de la Commission canadienne des grains et à ceux des bénéficiaires externes du programme.

Recommandations

L'exercice d'évaluation a permis de constater que le Programme d'échantillons de récolte a atteint ses objectifs et que sa prestation est efficace et efficiente. Parmi les possibilités d'améliorer le programme qui ont été relevées, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • continuer à promouvoir le Programme d'échantillons de récolte afin d'inciter de nouveaux producteurs à présenter des échantillons de récolte;
  • examiner les améliorations qui pourraient être apportées en ce qui a trait au type et au format de l'information de qualité mise à la disposition des producteurs dans le but d'accroître la participation au programme;
  • évaluer la possibilité d'améliorer la communication avec les intervenants lorsqu'on doit les informer que des renseignements sur les récoltes de blé ont été mis à jour et sont disponibles;
  • examiner les partenariats possibles avec des organisations de l'Est du Canada afin d'obtenir d'autres sources d'échantillons de récolte, ce qui permettrait de répondre au faible taux de participation des producteurs de l'Est;
  • examiner la possibilité de produire un seul rapport annuel exhaustif sur la qualité des récoltes qui combinerait les renseignements de la Commission canadienne des grains et ceux de l'Institut international du Canada pour le grain.

La Commission canadienne des grains a mis au point des plans d'action de la direction en vue de donner suite à ces recommandations.

À propos de la présente évaluation

Le présent rapport présente les résultats de l'évaluation du Programme d'échantillons de récolte pour la période du 1er avril 2010 au 30 novembre 2015. Les Services d'audit et d'évaluation de la Commission canadienne des grains ont assuré la coordination de l'exercice et la firme de consultants Ference & Company a été mandatée exécuter l'audit. Il s'agissait de la première évaluation de programme effectuée par la Commission canadienne des grains et la première évaluation du Programme d'échantillons de récolte.

L'évaluation a été fondée sur plusieurs sources, notamment sur l'analyse des programmes et des documents, des entrevues d'informateurs clés et des sondages menés auprès des producteurs.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cette évaluation et les résultats connexes, prière de consulter le rapport sur l'Évaluation du Programme d'échantillons de récolte et les plans d'action de la direction à l'adresse suivante : http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/report-rapport/ehsp-eper/fr0.html.

Date de modification :