Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Spoilage and heating of stored agricultural products



Chapter 1 - Changes that occur during storage

Principles

Stored agricultural products are influenced by many factors that determine their keeping quality. These factors include product condition, storage container or structure, length of storage, and type of handling (Sinha 1973). Unlike inert materials such as sand, agricultural products in storage change physically and chemically and need to be managed carefully.

The original condition of a product is probably the most important factor affecting its storage. The product’s moisture content (M.C.) and temperature will influence and even direct events that occur during storage and may sometimes lead to spoilage and self-heating.

Moisture

During storage, moisture within the product reaches an equilibrium with the air within and between the product particles and produces a relative humidity level that may be suitable for the growth and development of deteriorative organisms. In stored seed, the lower limit of moisture content for mold growth is near the upper limit of moisture content in dry, that is, straight grade seed.

Table 1 shows the maximum moisture content levels at which cereal, pulse, and oilseed can be sold as straight grade, as permitted under the Canada Grain Act. The levels are subject to periodic revision. If seed is sold as straight grade and the moisture content levels exceed the values shown in Table 1, a penalty is charged. The amount of the penalty is determined by the amount of moisture content above the acceptable level. Because seed with the moisture content levels shown in Table 1 can be sold without penalty, such values are often assumed to represent safe levels (Moysey and Norum 1975). In practice, though, the safe moisture content levels are one or two percentage points below those given in Table 1. This is because some seed lots may have a higher moisture content or a higher level of damage than others, some may include green weed seed or other debris, and some may have suffered the effects of temperature variation or high temperature drying (see Part II).

Table 1 - Maximum moisture content levels for straight grade seeds*
Grain Maximum moisture content
* Percentage wet weight basis (Canadian Grain Commission 2005)
Barley 14.8
Canola/rapeseed 10.0
Corn/maize 15.5
Domestic buckwheat 16.0
Domestic mustard seed 9.5
Fababeans 16.0
Flaxseed and solin 10.0
Lentils 14.0
Oats 13.5
Peas 16.0
Rye 14.0
Safflower 9.5
Soybean 14.0
Sunflower 9.5
Triticale 14.0
Wheat 14.5

Relative humidity

Biological organisms that cause stored products to deteriorate require different levels of relative humidity for normal development. Generally, the level for bacteria is above 90%, for spoilage molds it is above 70%, and for storage mites it is above 60%. The levels required for insect development range from 30% to 50%. However, specifying only the relative humidity levels is oversimplifying the physical limits of deterioration. Both relative humidity and moisture content are dependent upon temperature. For example, if the temperature of an air sample having a relative humidity level of 50% is increased five degrees from 25°C to 30°C, its relative humidity level will decrease to 38%. If the temperature of the air sample is decreased five degrees from 25°C to 20°C, then the relative humidity level will increase to 69%. The effects and interactions of temperature, relative humidity, and moisture content on stored products and their associated organisms are complex. A concise explanation of the theory of moisture in stored produce is given by Mackay (1967).

Temperature

Important facts concerning temperature are as follows:

  • The high temperatures of grain harvested and binned on a hot day are retained within unaerated grain bulks for many months due to the insulation properties of grain.
  • Temperature and moisture influence enzymatic and biological activities and thus the rate of spoilage.
  • Temperature differences within bulk commodities favor mold development through moisture migration resulting from sinking colder, denser air, followed by rising warmer air and subsequent moisture adsorption near the top surface.

Safe storage guidelines

Moisture content and temperature determine the safe storage period for any grain or oilseed. The canola/rapeseed storage time chart (Fig. 1) predicts the keeping quality of canola/rapeseed over 5 months, under varying temperatures and moistures. If the temperature or moisture content of canola/rapeseed falls within the spoilage area of the chart, take steps to reduce one factor or both. To reduce the moisture content, either delay combining to allow further drying in the swath or artificially dry the seed. To reduce the seed temperature, aerate the bin contents. Safe storage guidelines have been developed to predict the long-term keeping quality of other commodities (Wallace et al. 1983).

Canola/rapeseed storage time chart based on seed moisture and temperature at binning

Figure 1 - Canola/rapeseed storage time chart based on seed moisture and temperature at binning.

Respiration and heat production

Respiration occurs in all living cells. Aerobic respiration, occurring in the presence of oxygen, is essentially responsible for the breakdown of carbohydrates, fats, and proteins to carbon dioxide, water, and energy. The energy liberated during aerobic respiration is used by the cells to fuel metabolic processes and is then released as heat.

Dry mature seeds in storage are largely dormant and have a very low respiration. However, freshly harvested, immature seeds or seeds with a high moisture content have a much higher respiration. This is because the seeds are still metabolically active and molds that are present on the surface and within the seed coats are actively respiring. Heat, which is produced by both seed and mold respiration, is manifested as an increase in grain temperature.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La détérioration et l’échauffement des produits agricoles entreposés



Chapitre 1 – Changements se produisant en cours d’entreposage

Principes

Les produits agricoles entreposés sont influencés par de nombreux facteurs qui déterminent leurs propriétés de bonne ou de mauvaise conservation. Parmi ces facteurs, on peut noter l’état du produit à l’origine, le conteneur ou structure d’entreposage, la durée de l’entreposage et le type de traitement (Sinha, 1973). Contrairement aux matériaux inertes comme le sable, en cours d’entreposage, les produits agricoles subissent des transformations physiques et chimiques, et c’est pourquoi ils doivent être traités avec soin.

L’état dans lequel se trouve le produit à l’origine est probablement le plus important facteur de conservation. Par exemple, la teneur en eau et la température sont des facteurs essentiels de la conservation et, si on n’en tient pas compte, ils peuvent causer la détérioration et l’échauffement spontané des produits entreposés.

Teneur en eau

En cours d’entreposage, l’eau qui se trouve à l’intérieur du produit atteint un équilibre avec l’air qui se trouve dans et entre les particules du produit, ce qui peut produire un certain degré d’humidité relative et cette humidité risque de favoriser la croissance et le développement d’organismes nuisibles. Quant aux graines entreposées, la limite inférieure pour la croissance des moisissures est proche de la limite supérieure de la teneur en eau des graines sèches soit la catégorie régulière.

Le tableau 1 montre la teneur en eau maximale permise par la Loi sur les grains du Canada pour les céréales, les légumes secs et les graines oléagineuses qu’il faut ne pas dépasser pour que ces produits soient vendus dans la catégorie régulière. Les teneurs sont soumises à des évaluations périodiques. Dans le cas où la teneur en eau dépasse la valeur permise (tableau 1) on impose une pénalité dont le montant augmente avec l’excédent de teneur en eau au-dessus du niveau accepté. Parce que les grains qui ont cette teneur en eau peuvent être vendus sans pénalité, on admet souvent que son niveau correspond à de bonnes conditions de conservation (Moysey et Morum, 1975). En pratique cependant, on préfère s’en tenir à un ou deux points de pourcentage au-dessous de ceux qui figurent au tableau 1, afin de ménager une marge de sécurité, car certaines graines peuvent avoir une plus forte teneur en eau ou être en moins bon état que d’autres; il peut aussi exister des poches de mauvaises herbes ou autres débris; il faut enfin tenir compte des effets des variations de température et d’autres facteurs tels qu’une température de séchage élevée (voir Partie II).

Tableau 1 – Niveau maximaux de teneur en eau* pour des graines sèches*
Graines Niveau maximaux de teneur en eau
* En pourcentage de matières humides (Commission canadienne des grains, 1987)
Orge 14.8
Canola/colza 10.0
Maïs 15.5
Sarrasin domestique 16.0
Graine de moutarde domestique 9.5
Féveroles 16.0
Lin 10.0
Lentilles 14.0
Avoine 13.5
Pois 16.0
Seigle 14.0
Carthame 9.5
Soja 14.0
Tournesol 9.5
Triticale 14.0
Blé 14.5

Humidité relative

Pour se développer, les organismes biologiques qui causent des détériorations ont besoin de différents degrés d’humidité relative. Les bactéries, par exemple, se multiplient généralement au dessus de 90 % d’humidité relative, tandis que les moisissures demandent un niveau supérieur à 70 % et les acariens, 60 %. Les limites inférieures d’humidité relative pour le développement des insectes sont de 30 et 50 %. Mais il ne suffit pas de spécifier les limites d’humidité relatives, car cela équivaudrait à une simplification excessive des limites physiques à respecter pour éviter la détérioration des produits agricoles. On ne peut considérer l’humidité relative et la teneur en eau sans tenir compte également de la température. Par exemple, si la température d’un échantillon d’air ayant une teneur d’humidité relative de 50 % est élevée de cinq degrés soit de 25 à 30°C, son humidité relative baissera à 38 %. Par contre, si la température de l’échantillon décroît de 5°C en passant de 25 à 20°C, dans ce cas, l’humidité relative passe de 50 à 69 %. Les effets et interactions de la température, de l’humidité relative et de la teneur en eau sur les produits entreposés et sur les organismes associés sont complexes. Mackay (1967) donne une explication concise de la théorie de l’humidité dans les produits entreposés.

Température

Voici les points importants à retenir en ce qui touche la température :

  • si les grains sont récoltés et ensilés au cours d’une journée de forte chaleur, une température élevée se maintient dans la masse des grains en vrac pendant de nombreux mois, en raison des propriétés d’isolation des grains;
  • cette forte température jointe à l’humidité influence les activités enzymatiques et biologiques, et par conséquent le degré de détérioration;
  • des différences de température dans la masse des denrées entreposées favorisent le développement des moisissures; ces différences sont provoquées par un déplacement d’humidité causé par la descente d’un air froid et dense suivie de la remontée d’un air plus chaud ce qui entraîne l’adsorption de l’humidité dans les couches supérieures.

Règles d’entreposage en vue d’une bonne conservation

Pour les grains ainsi que les graines oléagineuses, la teneur en eau et la température sont des facteurs déterminants de la durée de conservation. Le tableau de la figure 1 permet de prévoir les conditions de conservation de l’huile de canola ou de colza pendant 5 mois suivant les variations de température et de teneur en eau. Si ces deux facteurs tombent dans la zone de détérioration du tableau, il est nécessaire de prendre les mesures qui permettront de réduire l’un des facteurs ou les deux. Pour réduire la teneur en eau, on peut retarder l’entrée en action de la moissonneuse — batteuse afin de permettre à la récolte de continuer de sécher en andain, ou encore on peut faire sécher artificiellement les graines; pour abaisser la température des graines, on peut également aérer le contenu du silo.

Des règles d’entreposage ont été mises au point pour prévoir la conservation à long terme d’autres denrées (Wallace et coll., 1983).

Tableau des curées de conservation du canola/colza en fonction de la teneur en eau et de la température des graines à l’entreposage.

Figure 1 – Tableau des curées de conservation du canola/colza en fonction de la teneur en eau et de la température des graines à l’entreposage.

Respiration et production de chaleur

La respiration se produit dans toutes les cellules vivantes; en présence d’oxygène (respiration aérobie), il se produit essentiellement une décomposition des hydrates de carbone, des graisses ou des protéines en gaz carbonique, en eau et en énergie. Les cellules utilisent l’énergie libérée en cours de respiration pour alimenter les processus métaboliques et cette énergie est libérée sous forme de chaleur.

En cours d’entreposage, les graines sèches et mûres sont surtout en phase de dormance et leur respiration est extrêmement faible. Cependant, des graines fraîchement récoltées et pas encore mûres ou des graines ayant une forte teneur en eau ont une respiration beaucoup plus élevée, car elles sont encore métaboliquement actives; les moisissures qui sont à leur surface et à l’intérieur de ces graines respirent activement. La respiration des graines et des moisissures qui leur sont associées entraîne donc une production de chaleur qui se traduit par une augmentation de température des grains.