Quality of western Canadian malting barley 2013

Annual harvest survey

GRL sampling and survey methodology

The Canadian Grain Commission conducts an annual survey to determine the quality of malting barley grown in the three Prairie Provinces.  The data generated for this report were based on the analysis of representative varietal composite samples selected for malting purposes.  The 2013 malting barley survey was based on 76 varietal composites representing 925,900 tonnes of barley which had been selected for domestic malt processing or for export as malting barley by Cargill Inc., Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Parrish and Heimbecker Co. Ltd., Malteurop, Rahr Malting Co. Ltd., Richardson International, and Viterra Inc. The tonnage included in this survey represent only a portion of the total volume of malting barley selected in Western Canada through the end of October, and does not necessarily reflect the actual amounts selected. Samples were received from the beginning of harvest until the 26th of October.

Malting conditions and methodologies  

Favourable growing conditions across most of the Prairies resulted in barley with lower protein levels and larger, heavier kernels. Excellent germination energies, with little evidence of water sensitivity supported the use of a standard micro-malting schedule with two wet steep cycles, as was used in 2012. The use of the same schedule facilitates year-to-year comparisons. All analytical methods used in this survey to assess the barley, malt and wort quality are listed in the Appendix I.

Malting conditions used with Phoenix Micromalting System in 2013
Steeping 10 h wet steep, 18 h air rest, 8 h wet steep, 12 h air rest @ 13°C
Germination 96 h @ 15°C
Kilning 12h @ 60°C,  6h@ 65°C,  2h @ 75°C,  4h @ 85°C

Malting quality in 2013 - Highlights 

This year’s harvest resulted in malts with excellent quality:

  • High plumpness combined with low protein resulted in very high levels of malt extract.  Generally, the malt extract for the most common malting barley cultivars was higher by about 1.2% compared to the 5-year average values.
  • Well modified malts were readily obtained resulting in low wort β-glucan and good levels of soluble protein and free amino nitrogen.  Enzyme levels (diastatic power and α-amylase) in malts were adequate and close to the long term average. 
  • Despite their large size, kernels took up water easily, and modified rapidly. Good water uptake and adequate steep-out moisture during malting could be associated with somewhat softer endosperm as indicated by relatively low hardness index values in barley.  
  • Slightly higher than average malt losses, as indicated by lower than normal malt yields, suggest that the malts produced in this study were somewhat over-modified.

Quality of barley selected for malting in 2013: general trends and annual statistics

Average protein content in barley selected for malting from 2004-2013

Malting barley selected in 2013 was of above average quality. Protein levels were the lowest seen over the last 10 years.

Graph of protein content for malting barley, 2004-13. Details below.

Details
Average protein content in barley selected for malting from 2004-2013
Years 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Protein 11.7 12.2 12.6 12.3 11.8 11.7 11.9 12.3 11.7 11.2 11.6 11.4 11.9 11.1

Thousand kernel weights of barley selected for malting from 2004-2013

Thousand kernel weights were above long term averages and correlated positively with large diameters of barley kernels. Large kernels with low protein content are generally associated with increased levels of starch and therefore greater potential for high extract. However, excessively large kernels could have an impact on malt quality, particularly on the rate of water hydration and modification during malting.

Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2004-2013
Graph of 1000 kernel weight for malting barley, 2004-13. Details below.
Details
Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2004-2013
Years 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Kernel weight 39.5 42.1 40.1 40.9 43.2 43.1 41.7 39 44.6 44.3 41.7 44.2 41.5 48.2

Plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2004-2013

Kernel plumpness was above long term averages and correlated positively with large diameters of barley kernels. Large kernels with low protein content are generally associated with increased levels of starch and therefore greater potential for high extract. However, excessively large kernels could have an impact on malt quality, particularly on the rate of water hydration and modification during malting.

Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2004-2013
Graph of kernel plumpness % over 6/64 sieve for malting barley, 2004-13. Details below.
Details
Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2004-2013
Years 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Plumpness 87.5 90.7 90 85.5 92.5 90.9 89.5 84 93.8 94.1 92.1 93.2 88.4 94.7

Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting in 2013

Kernel plumpness were above long term averages and correlated positively with large diameters of barley kernels. Large kernels with low protein content are generally associated with increased levels of starch and therefore greater potential for high extract. However, excessively large kernels could have an impact on malt quality, particularly on the rate of water hydration and modification during malting.

Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting in 2013
Graph of average kernel diameter (mm) of 6 barley varieties, 2013. Details below.
Details
Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting in 2013
Variety Diameter
Mean Standard Deviation
Metcalfe 2.62 0.05
Copeland 2.62 0.05
Meredith 2.62 0.04
Newdale 2.58 0.07
Bentley 2.71 0.04
Kindersly 2.66 0.04

Average hardness index of barley varieties selected for malting in 2013

Another unusual characteristic of barley grain this year was relatively low grain hardness. Grain hardness is not routinely measured when evaluating barley grain quality. High grain protein and β-glucan levels are usually positively correlated with high grain hardness indices, whereas malt extract and endosperm modification are usually negatively correlated with grain hardness.  This year’s barley was softer, which can facilitate water uptake during steeping.

Average hardness index of barley varieties selected for malting in 2013
Graph of average hardness index of 6 barley varieties, 2013. Details below.
Details
Average harness index of barley varieties selected for malting in 2013
Variety Hardness
Mean Standard Deviation
Metcalfe 55.5 3.4
Copeland 47.0 2.9
Meredith 51.8 3.5
Newdale 50.2 2.7
Bentley 49.7 1.5
Kindersly 51.2 7.6

RVA results for barley selected for malting in three Western Canada provinces in 2013

Rapid visco analysis is used by barley selectors to identify sound, moderately and strongly pre-germinated barley, and manage their supply accordingly. This year’s RVA results have reflected generally favorable harvest conditions with only localized areas experiencing above average precipitation.  Figure 3.6 shows the distribution of RVA data by province. Among the total of 76 barley samples analyzed this year, 52% of the samples showed very high RVA values, ranging from 120 to 170 RVU (rapid visco units), and indicating a high degree of soundness and a high probability of retaining germination energy during a long-term storage.  Nearly a quarter (23%) of the samples exhibited moderate pre-germination (50-110 RVU) and, therefore, good potential for storability provided proper cool and dry storage conditions. Slightly more than a quarter (26%) of the samples showed the RVA values lower than 50 RVU, primarily coming from Alberta, stressing the need for identification of barley that should be malted promptly unless stored in cold and dry conditions for a short period.

RVA results for barley selected for malting in three Western Canada provinces in 2013
Graph of RVA results in AB, SK, MB for malting barley, 2013. Descriptions above + below.

Risk of germination loss in storage is low for RVA >120; intermediate for 50 < RVA < 120; high for RVA < 50. The box shows the range of RVA values in the middle 50% of the analyzed samples; the horizontal line and the dot inside the box indicate the median and mean, respectively.  The short horizontal lines outside of the box mark the minimum and maximum values.

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien - 2013

Enquête sur la récolte annuelle

Méthodologie d’échantillonnage et d’enquête du LRG

La Commission canadienne des grains mène une enquête annuelle afin de préciser la qualité de l’orge brassicole cultivée dans les trois provinces des Prairies. Les données du présent rapport sont dérivées de l’analyse d’échantillons composites de variétés représentatives sélectionnées pour le maltage. L’enquête 2013 sur l’orge brassicole reposait sur 76 échantillons composites de variétés représentant 925 900 tonnes d’orge retenue pour la malterie au Canada ou pour exportation en orge brassicole par Cargill Inc., Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Parrish and Heimbecker Co. Ltd., Malteurop, Rahr Malting Co. Ltd., Richardson International et Viterra Inc. Le tonnage visé par la présente enquête ne représentait qu’une portion du volume total d’orge brassicole sélectionnée dans l’Ouest canadien jusqu’à la fin d’octobre et ne rend pas nécessairement compte des quantités réelles sélectionnées. Le LRG a reçu des échantillons du début de la récolte jusqu’au 26 octobre.

Tendances générales et données statistiques annuelles  

L’orge brassicole sélectionnée en 2013 était d’une qualité supérieure à la moyenne. La teneur en protéines était la plus basse constatée depuis 10 ans.

Conditions de maltage mises en place en 2013 avec l’appareil de micro-maltage Phoenix
Trempage 10 h d’immersion, 18 h de repos à l’air, 8 h d’immersion, 12 h de repos à l’air à13°C
Germination 96 h à15°C
Touraillage 12 h à 60°C, 6 h à 65°C, 2 h à 75°C, 4 h à 85°C

Qualité brassicole en 2013 : points saillants  

La récolte de cette année a donné des malts d’excellente qualité :

  • Le caractère fortement ventru, allié à la faible teneur en protéines, a donné des teneurs élevées en extrait de malt. Généralement, l’extrait de malt des cultivars d’orge brassicole les plus communs était d’environ 1,2 % supérieur à la moyenne quinquennale.
  • Nous avons obtenu des malts bien désagrégés, donnant un moût présentant un faible taux de bêta-glucane et de bonnes concentrations en protéines solides et d’azote aminé libre. Les taux d’activité enzymatique (pouvoir diastatique et alpha-amylase) des malts étaient adéquats et proches de la moyenne à long terme.
  • Malgré leur grosseur, les grains absorbaient l’eau facilement et se dégradaient rapidement. Une bonne absorption d’eau et un taux d’humidité adéquat au sortir du trempage pendant le maltage peuvent être liés à un albumen légèrement plus mou comme en témoignaient les valeurs relativement faibles de l’indice de dureté de l’orge.
  • Les pertes de malt un peu supérieures à la moyenne, comme en témoignent les rendements en malt inférieurs à la normale, donner à penser que les malts produits dans la présente étude étaient légèrement sur-désagrégés.

Qualité de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage en 2013 : tendances générales et données statistiques annuelles

Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004 à 2013

L’orge brassicole sélectionnée en 2013 était d’une qualité supérieure à la moyenne. La teneur en protéines était la plus basse constatée depuis 10 ans.

Graphique – Teneur en protéines de l’orge brassicole, 2004-2013. Détails en dessous.

Détails
Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004 à 2013
Années 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Protéines 11,7 12,2 12,6 12,3 11,8 11,7 11,9 12,3 11,7 11,2 11,6 11,4 11,9 11,1

Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004 à 2013

Les poids de mille grains et le caractère ventru des grains étaient supérieurs aux moyennes à long terme et correspondaient nettement aux forts diamètres des grains d’orge. Les grains d’orge de fort calibre à faible teneur en protéines sont généralement associés à des concentrations accrues de fécule et par conséquent, à une plus forte possibilité d’une teneur en extraits supérieure. Toutefois, les grains exagérément gros peuvent avoir une incidence sur la qualité du malt et particulièrement sur la capacité d’hydratation et de dégradation durant le maltage.

Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004 à 2013
Graphique – Poids de 1000 grains d’orge brassicole, 2004-2013. Détails en dessous.
Détails
Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004 à 2013
Années 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Poids moyen de 1 000 grains 39,5 42,1 40,1 40,9 43,2 43,1 41,7 39 44,6 44,3 41,7 44,2 41,5 48,2

Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004-2013

Le caractère ventru des grains étaient supérieurs aux moyennes à long terme et correspondaient nettement aux forts diamètres des grains d’orge. Les grains d’orge de fort calibre à faible teneur en protéines sont généralement associés à des concentrations accrues de fécule et par conséquent, à une plus forte possibilité d’une teneur en extraits supérieure. Toutefois, les grains exagérément gros peuvent avoir une incidence sur la qualité du malt et particulièrement sur la capacité d’hydratation et de dégradation durant le maltage.

Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004-2013
Graphique – Caractère ventru (%) de l’orge brassicole, sur tamis de 6/64 po, 2004-2013. Détails en dessous.
Détails
Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2004-2013
Annés 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Caractère ventru moyen 87,5 90,7 90 85,5 92,5 90,9 89,5 84 93,8 94,1 92,1 93,2 88,4 94,7

Diamètre moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour la malterie en 2013

Le caractère ventru des grains étaient supérieurs aux moyennes à long terme et correspondaient nettement aux forts diamètres des grains d’orge. Les grains d’orge de fort calibre à faible teneur en protéines sont généralement associés à des concentrations accrues de fécule et par conséquent, à une plus forte possibilité d’une teneur en extraits supérieure. Toutefois, les grains exagérément gros peuvent avoir une incidence sur la qualité du malt et particulièrement sur la capacité d’hydratation et de dégradation durant le maltage.

Diamètre moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour la malterie en 2013
Graphique – Diamètre moyen (mm) de six variétés d’orge, 2013. Détails en dessous.
Détails
Diamètre moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour la malterie en 2013
Variété Diamètre
Moyenne Écart-type
Metcalfe 2,62 0,05
Copeland 2,62 0,05
Meredith 2,62 0,04
Newdale 2,58 0,07
Bentley 2,71 0,04
Kindersly 2,66 0,04

Indice moyen de dureté des variétés de blé sélectionnées pour la malterie en 2013

Une autre caractéristique inhabituelle des grains d’orge cette année était la dureté relativement faible du grain. Nous ne mesurons pas de routine la dureté du grain lorsque nous évaluons la qualité des grains d’orge. Il y a habituellement une corrélation positive entre les niveaux élevés de protéines et de bêta-glucane du grain et les indices de dureté du grain, tandis que la corrélation est négative entre la dureté du grain et la dégradation de l’extrait de malt et la désagrégation de l’albumen. L’orge de cette année était plus molle, ce qui peut faciliter l’absorption de l’eau pendant le trempage.

Indice moyen de dureté des variétés de blé sélectionnées pour la malterie en 2013
Graphique – Indice moyen de dureté de six variétés d’orge, 2013. Détails en dessous.
Détails
Indice moyen de dureté des variétés de blé sélectionnées pour la malterie en 2013
Variété Indice moyen de dureté
Moyenne Écart-type
Metcalfe 55,5 3,4
Copeland 47,0 2,9
Meredith 51,8 3,5
Newdale 50,2 2,7
Bentley 49,7 1,5
Kindersly 51,2 7,6

Résultats RVA pour l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage dans les trois provinces de l’Ouest canadien en 2013

Les sélectionneurs d’orge utilisent l’analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA) pour distinguer les grains sains de ceux présentant un degré modéré ou élevé de germination précoce, afin de gérer leurs approvisionnements en conséquence. Cette année, les résultats RVA rendaient compte de conditions de récolte généralement favorables, car seules des régions localisées ont connu des précipitations supérieures à la moyenne. La répartition des données RVA par province est présentée. Des 76 échantillons d’orge analysés cette année, 52 % affichaient des valeurs RVA très élevées, allant de 120 à 170 unités RVA, indice que les grains sont très sains et peuvent très certainement conserver leur énergie de germination lors d’un entreposage prolongé. Près du quart (23 %) des échantillons présentaient une germination précoce modérée (50 à 110 unités RVA) et donc un bon potentiel de conservation en conditions appropriées d’entreposage frais et sec. Un peu plus du quart (26 %) des échantillons affichaient des valeurs RVA inférieures à 50 unités et provenaient surtout de l’Alberta, signalant la nécessité de repérer l’orge qui doit être maltée promptement à moins d’être entreposée brièvement au froid et au sec.

Résultats RVA pour l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage dans les trois provinces de l’Ouest canadien en 2013
Graphique – Résultats RVA pour l’orge brassicole récoltée en Alb., en Sask. et au Man., 2013. Descriptions au-dessus et en dessous.

RVU = Unités RVA Le risque de perte de capacité germinative lors de l’entreposage est faible si le nombre d’unités RVA est > 120; intermédiaire si la RVA est de 50 à 120; élevé si la RVA est < 50. La case indique la plage des valeurs RVA dans le 50 % intermédiaires des échantillons analysés; la ligne horizontale et le point à l’intérieur de la case indiquent la médiane et la moyenne respectivement. Les lignes horizontales courtes à l’extérieur de la case indiquent les valeurs minimales et maximales.