Quality of western Canadian malting barley 2015

Growing and harvesting conditions

The soil moisture situation during the fall of 2014 was mixed in the main barley growing areas of Western Canada as excellent subsoil moisture supplies in central and eastern Saskatchewan were counterbalanced by dry conditions in Alberta. Snowfall during the winter was above normal in the northern growing areas, but southern regions were mostly dry. Warmer than normal temperatures and dry conditions during April and May resulted in rapid planting progress. These dry conditions and early seeding activities were a stark contrast to a wet spring and late seeding that occurred in 2014. Nearly half of the barley was planted by May 15th and most of the crop was planted by the end of May. A severe frost in the northern growing areas of the Prairies caused damage to emerged barley plants and some areas needed to reseed a portion of their planted area.

The dry, hot weather continued through the month of June and the first half of July in the western Prairies, which caused stress to barley crops in western Saskatchewan and Alberta. The hot and dry weather that prevailed through the first half of the growing season helped crops to develop, but also contributed to higher protein levels. The hot and dry conditions resulted in considerable crop stress and loss of yield in Alberta and western Saskatchewan. Conversely, eastern growing areas of Saskatchewan and Manitoba received timely rainfall and had minimal stress. These regions reported average to above average yields, although protein levels were still above last year.

Harvest started relatively early due to early seeding and hot growing conditions and approximately 40% of the barley crop was harvested by the end of August. Rainfall during late August and September in the central and northern barley growing areas slowed harvest and affected the quality of remaining barley harvest. Harvest progressed slowly during September and October and finally reached completion during the first week of November. The quality of the barley harvest in October was severely compromised by the wet weather conditions.

Mean temperature difference from normal for April 2015

Map - Temperature difference from normal in Prairies, April 2015. Described below.

Map compiled using the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Map Archive.


Map representing the Prairie Provinces showing mean temperature difference from normal across Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba during the month of April 2015.

Percent of monthly average precipitation received April 26 to May 25, 2015

Map - Monthly average precipitation in Prairies, April/May 2015. Described below.

Map compiled using the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Map Archive.


Map representing the Prairie Provinces showing percent of monthly average precipitation received across the growing regions of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba April 26 to May 25, 2015.

Percent of monthly average precipitation received in August 9 to September 7, 2015

Map - Monthly average precipitation in Prairies, Aug./Sept. 2015. Described below.

Map compiled using the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Map Archive.


Map representing the Prairie Provinces showing percent of monthly average precipitation received across the growing regions of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba August 9 to September 7, 2015.

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien - 2015

Conditions de croissance et de récolte

Les conditions d’humidité du sol à l’automne 2014 ont varié selon les régions de l’Ouest canadien, allant d’excellentes réserves en eau dans le centre et l’est de la Saskatchewan à des conditions sèches en Alberta. Durant l'hiver, les régions du nord ont reçu plus de neige que la normale, mais la plupart des régions du sud ont connu des conditions sèches. Les températures plus chaudes que la normale et les conditions sèches d’avril et de mai ont favorisé des semis hâtifs. Ces conditions contrastent fortement avec les conditions du printemps humide et les semis tardifs de 2014. Presque la moitié de l'orge était déjà semée au 15 mai et la plupart des champs étaient ensemencés à la fin de mai. La forte gelée qui s'est abattue sur les régions du nord des Prairies a endommagé les jeunes plantules d'orge. Dans certaines régions, les producteurs ont dû semer à nouveau une partie des champs.

Les températures sèches et chaudes se sont prolongées tout le mois de juin et durant la première moitié de juillet dans les Prairies, causant un stress aux cultures dans l’ouest de la Saskatchewan et en Alberta. Ces conditions ont favorisé le développement des plants dans la première moitié de la saison, mais ont ensuite augmenté les teneurs en protéines des grains. Le stress considérable subi par les cultures s’est traduit par des pertes de rendement en Alberta et dans l’ouest de la Saskatchewan. En revanche, les régions de l’est de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba ont reçu de la pluie en temps opportun et les cultures ont été peu stressées. Dans ces régions, des rendements supérieurs à la normale ont été rapportés, même si les teneurs en protéines sont encore supérieures à celles de l’an dernier.

Les récoltes ont démarré relativement tôt du fait des semis hâtifs et des conditions chaudes durant la saison de croissance, de sorte qu’à la fin d’août, environ 40 % de l’orge était récoltée. Les précipitations reçues à la fin d’août et en septembre dans les régions du centre et du nord ont ralenti les opérations de récolte et se sont répercutées sur la qualité de l’orge récoltée plus tard. Les récoltes ont progressé lentement en septembre et en octobre et se sont terminées à la première semaine de novembre. La qualité de l’orge récoltée en octobre a été grandement réduite en raison des conditions humides.

Écart des températures moyennes par rapport à la normale en avril 2015

Carte montrant les écarts de la normale de la température moyenne (Prairies) en mai-juin 2014. Détails ci-dessus

Source : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. Archive des cartes.

Carte des provinces des Prairies indiquant températures moyennes par rapport à la normale en Alberta, Saskatchewan et au Manitoba en avril 2015.

Pourcentage de précipitations mensuelles moyennes, du 26 avril au 25 mai 2015

Carte - précipitation moyenne mensuelle (Prairies) en avril/mai 2015. Détails ci-dessus

Source : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. Archive des cartes.

Carte des provinces des Prairies indiquant de pourcentage de précipitations moyennes reçues dans les régions productrices de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, en mai 2015.

Pourcentage de précipitations mensuelles moyennes, du 9 août au 7 septembre 2015

Carte - précipitation moyenne mensuelle (Prairies) en août/sept. 2015. Détails ci-dessus

Source : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. Archive des cartes.

Carte des provinces des Prairies indiquant de pourcentage de précipitations moyennes reçues dans les régions productrices de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba en août 2015