Quality of western Canadian malting barley 2015

Annual Harvest Survey

Sampling and survey methodology

The 2015 malting barley survey was based on 62 varietal composites, representing a total of 1,112,000 tonnes of barley selected for domestic malt processing or for export as malting barley by several grain handling and malting companies: Cargill Inc, Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Rahr Malting Co., Richardson International, Viterra Inc., Malteurop North America Inc. The tonnage included in this survey represents only a portion of the total volume of malting barley selected in Western Canada, and does not necessarily reflect the actual amounts selected. Samples were received from the beginning of harvest until the 5th of November, 2015. All results presented in this report represent weighted averages based on tonnage of composite samples received and analyzed.

Malting conditions and methodologies  

Initial malting trials indicated that sufficient steep out moisture levels were achieved using two wet steep cycles. Despite slightly higher protein levels, kernels took up water easily with total wet steep time of 16 hours, similar to steep time in 2014. All analytical methods used in this survey to assess the barley, malt and wort quality are listed in the Methods.

Malting conditions used with Phoenix Micromalting System in 2015
Steeping 8 h wet steep, 16 h air rest, 8 h wet steep, 12 h air rest @ 13°C
Germination 96 h @ 15°C
Kilning 12h @ 60°C,  6h @ 65°C,  2h @ 75°C,  4h @ 85°C

Malting quality in 2015 - Highlights 

This year’s harvest resulted in malts with good quality:

  • The quality of the 2015 barley crop was challenged by very dry conditions in spring and early summer and above average precipitation in August and September.
  • Thousand kernel weights and kernel plumpness levels were higher than the long term averages.
  • Protein levels in barley grain were higher than levels in 2014 and higher than the long term average values.
  • Barley germination was adequate; however, some water sensitivity was present.
  • RVA testing indicated high incidence of pre-harvest sprouting.
  • Malt made from 2015 barley resulted in extract levels very close to the long term average values and with higher than average levels of diastatic enzymes.
  • Wort was characterized by very low levels of β-glucans, but higher than average levels of soluble proteins, free amino nitrogen (FAN), and colour.
  • Production of good quality malt from the 2015 barley crop may pose some challenges but is achievable through discerning barley selection and timely and skillful processing.

Quality of barley selected for malting in 2015: general trends and annual statistics  

Malting barley selected in 2015 was of average quality overall. The levels of barley proteins in 2015 (12.4%) were higher than in 2014 (11.7%) and higher than the 10-year average (11.7%). Germination energy of barley samples determined during the annual survey was adequate for malting; however moderate water sensitivity was present in some samples. This year’s barley had very high average 1000 kernel weight (45.7 g), higher than in 2014 (44.2 g) and higher than the 10-year average (43.2 g).  Kernel plumpness, a measure of kernels remaining on the 6/64” slotted screen, averaged 94.5% which is considerably higher than the 10-year average (91.2%). The average kernel diameter and kernel weight were also determined using the Single Kernel Characterization System. The results indicated differences among barley varieties with Bentley, CDC Meredith, and AAC Synergy having bigger and heavier kernels than other varieties.

Average protein content in barley selected for malting from 2005-2015

The levels of barley proteins in 2015 (12.4%) were higher than in 2014 (11.7%) and higher than the 10-year average (11.7%).

Graph of protein content for malting barley, 2005-15. Details below.

Details
Average protein content in barley selected for malting from 2005-2015
Years 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 10-year average
Protein 11.7 11.9 12.3 11.7 11.2 11.6 11.4 11.9 11.1 11.7 12.4 11.7

Average thousand kernel weights of barley selected for malting from 2005-2015

This year’s barley had very high average 1000 kernel weight (45.7 grams), higher than in 2014 (44.2 grams) and higher than the 10-year average (43.2 grams)

Graph of 1000 kernel weight for malting barley, 2005-15. Details below.

Details
Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2005-2015
Years 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 10-year average
Kernel weight 43.1 41.7 39 44.6 44.3 41.7 44.2 41.5 48.2 44.2 45.7 43.2

Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2005-2015

Kernel plumpness, a measure of kernels remaining on the 6/64” slotted screen, averaged 94.5% which is considerably higher than the 10-year average (91.2%)

Graph of kernel plumpness % over 6/64 sieve for malting barley, 2005-15. Details below.

Details
Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2005-2015
Years 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 10-year average
Plumpness 90.9 89.5 84 93.8 94.1 92.1 93.2 88.4 94.7 93.3 94.5 91.2

Average kernel diameter and kernal weight of barley varieties selected for malting in 2015

The average kernel diameter and kernel weight were also determined using the Single Kernel Characterization System. The results indicated differences among barley varieties with Bentley, CDC Meredith, and AAC Synergy having bigger and heavier kernels than other varieties.

Graph of average kernel diameter of 7 barley varieties, 2015. Details below.

Graph of average kernel weight of 7 barley varieties, 2015. Details below.

Details
Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting
Variety Kernel weight (mg) Kernel diameter (mm)
Bentley 55.73 2.87
CDC Copeland 49.81 2.6
CDC Kindersley 48.78 2.67
CDC Meredith 51.3 2.56
AC Metcalfe 46.77 2.52
Newdale 47.74 2.43
AAC Synergy 52.55 2.72

Average germination energy of barley selected for malting from 2005-2015

Germination energy of barley samples determined during the annual survey was adequate for malting; however moderate water sensitivity was present in some samples.

Graph of average germination of barley varieties, 2015. Details below.

Details
Average germination of barley selected for malting from 2005-2015
Years 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 10-year average
Germination 97 99 97 99 99 96 99 98 98 96 97 98

RVA results for barley selected for malting in 2013, 2014, and 2015

Graph of RVA results in AB, SK, MB for malting barley, 2015. Description below.

The boxes in the graph show the range of RVA values in the middle 50% of the analyzed samples; the horizontal line and the dot inside the box indicate the median and mean, respectively. The short horizontal lines outside of the box mark the minimum and maximum values.

Pre-germination is the premature sprouting of grain while still in the ear as a consequence of prolonged spells of wet weather when mature grain remains uncut in the field; this event is called ‘pre-harvest sprouting’. One of the enzymes produced very early during germination is α-amylase. Since the level of α-amylase in sound grain is very low compared to its level in the germinating grain, the content of α-amylase in grain can be used as a marker of germination. Rapid visco analysis (RVA) indirectly estimates the amount of α-amylase in barley by measuring the viscosity of ground barley in water.

RVA is used by barley selectors to identify sound, moderately and strongly pre-germinated barley, and to manage their supply accordingly. Samples with final viscosity values >120 (RVU) are considered sound and the probability that they will retain germination energy (GE) after storage is very high. Samples with RVA values 50-120 (RVU) are moderately pre-germinated, whereas samples with RVA values >50 (RVU) are substantially pre-germinated and the probability that they will lose GE during storage is high. They should be malted as soon as possible. To predict safe storage time more accurately, not only the RVA values, but also the storage conditions (T and RH) and the initial moisture content of the grain have to be taken into account.

Among the samples tested in 2015 survey only a few showed high RVA values (>120 RVU). This year’s RVA results have reflected wet harvest conditions, especially in Alberta and Saskatchewan, resulting in high incidence of substantial pre-germination (<50 RVU), similar to 2014, but dramatically different from dry harvest conditions in 2013. The RVA results stress the need for identification of barley with low RVU that should be malted promptly. As indicated in the next sections of this report, pre-germinated barley malted soon after harvest can produce good quality malt.

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien - 2015

Enquête annuelle sur la récolte

Méthode d’échantillonnage et d’enquête

L'enquête sur l'orge brassicole de 2015 est fondée sur 62 échantillons composites de variétés distinctes qui représentent 1 112 000 tonnes d'orge brassicole sélectionnée pour le maltage pour la transformation intérieure ou pour l'exportation par plusieurs sociétés de manutention des grains et brassicoles : Cargill Inc, Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Rahr Malting Co., Richardson International, Viterra Inc., Malteurop North America Inc. Le volume en tonnes indiqué dans le présent rapport ne représente qu’une portion du volume global d'orge brassicole sélectionnée dans l'Ouest canadien, et ne reflète pas nécessairement les quantités réelles qui sont sélectionnées. Les échantillons ont été reçus du début de la récolte jusqu'au 5 novembre 2015. Les résultats qui figurent dans le présent rapport constituent des moyennes pondérées en fonction du volume (en tonnes) d’échantillons composites reçus et analysés.

Conditions et méthodes de maltage  

Les premiers essais de maltage ont indiqué que des taux suffisants d’humidité au décuvage étaient atteints après deux cycles d’immersion. Malgré des teneurs en protéines légèrement supérieures, les grains absorbaient l’eau facilement et le temps d’immersion total de 16 heures est semblable à celui de 2014. L’annexe I décrit toutes les méthodes d’analyses qui ont été utilisées dans le cadre de l’enquête pour évaluer les qualités de l’orge, du malt et du moût.

Conditions de maltage mises en place en 2014 avec l’appareil de micro-maltage Phoenix
Trempage 8 h d’immersion, 16 h de repos à l’air, 8 h d’immersion, 12 h de repos à l’air à 13°C
Germination 96 h à 15 °C
Touraillage 12 h à 60 °C, 6 h à 65 °C, 2 h à 75 °C, 4 h à 85 °C

Qualité brassicole en 2015 : Points saillants  

La récolte de cette année a produit des malts de bonne qualité.

  • La qualité des récoltes d’orge en 2015 a été mise à mal par des conditions très sèches au printemps et au début de l’été et des précipitations au-dessus de la moyenne en août et en septembre.
  • Les valeurs relatives au poids de mille grains et au caractère ventru des grains étaient supérieures à la moyenne.
  • Les teneurs en protéines des grains d’orge étaient supérieures à celles de 2014 et plus élevées que les valeurs moyennes à long terme.
  • La germination de l’orge était adéquate; toutefois, on a noté une certaine sensibilité à l’eau.
  • Les analyses rapides de la viscosité ont indiqué une incidence élevée de la germination sur pied.
  • Le malt produit à partir de l’orge de 2015 a donné des niveaux d’extrait très près des valeurs moyennes à long terme et des teneurs en enzymes diastatiques supérieures à la moyenne.
  • Le moût était caractérisé par des teneurs très faibles en bêta-glucanes, mais supérieures aux teneurs moyennes de protéines solubles, en azote aminé libre et à la couleur.
  • La production de malt de bonne qualité avec l’orge récolté en 2015 peut être quelque peu difficile, mais demeure faisable au moyen d’une sélection d’orge éclairée et d’une transformation habile en temps opportun.

Qualité de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage en 2015 : Tendances générales et statistiques sur la qualité de l'orge brassicole sélectionnée en 2015

Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005 à 2015

Les teneurs en protéines en 2015 (12,4 %) sont supérieures à celles de 2014 (11,7 %) et à la moyenne décennale (11,7 %).

Graphique – Teneur en protéines de l’orge brassicole, 2005-2014. Détails en dessous.

Détails
Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005 à 2015
Années 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Moyenne décennale
Protéines 11,7 11,9 12,3 11,7 11,2 11,6 11,4 11,9 11,1 11,7 12,4 11,7

Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005 à 2015

L'orge de cette année a un poids de 1000 grains moyen très élevé (45,7 g) qui est supérieur à celui de 2014 (44,2 g) et à la moyenne décennale (43,2 g).

Graphique – Poids de 1000 grains d’orge brassicole, 2005-2014. Détails en dessous.

Détails
Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005 à 2015
Années 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Moyenne décennale
Poids moyen de 1 000 grains 43,1 41,7 39 44,6 44,3 41,7 44,2 41,5 48,2 44,2 45,7 43,2

Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005-2015

Le caractère ventru des grains qui est une mesure des grains qui sont retenus par le tamis à fentes de 6/64 pouces, est en moyenne de 94,5 %, ce taux est considérablement supérieur à la moyenne décennale (91,2 %).

Graphique – Caractère ventru (%) de l’orge brassicole, sur tamis de 6/64 po, 2005-2014. Détails en dessous.

Détails
Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005-2015
Annés 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Moyenne décennale
Caractère ventru moyen 90,9 89,5 84 93,8 94,1 92,1 93,2 88,4 94,7 93,3 94,5 91,2

Diamètre moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour le maltage en 2015

Le diamètre et le poids moyen des grains sont aussi déterminés selon le système SKCS (Single Kernel Characterization System).

Graphique – Diamètre moyen (mm) de six variétés d’orge, 2014. Détails en dessous.

Graphique – Poids moyen (mm) de six variétés d’orge, 2014. Détails en dessous.

Détails
Diamètre/Poids moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour le maltage
Variété Poids des grains (mg) Diamètre des grains (mm)
Bentley 2,6 2,51
CDC Copeland 2,61 2,52
CDC Kindersley 2,63 2,51
CDC Meredith 2,58 2,54
AC Metcalfe 2,7 2,58
Newdale 2,67 2,51
AAC Synergy    

Énergie de germination moyenne de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005 à 2015

L'énergie de germination des échantillons d'orge, qui est évaluée aux fins de l'enquête, est adéquate pour le maltage, mais certains échantillons présentent une sensibilité modérée à l'eau.

Graphique – Indice moyen de dureté de six variétés d’orge, 2014. Détails en dessous.

Détails
Germination moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2005-2015
Annés 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Moyenne décennale
Germination moyen 97 99 97 99 99 96 99 98 98 96 97 98

Résultats RVA pour l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage dans les trois provinces de l’Ouest canadien en 2015

Graphique – Résultats RVA pour l’orge brassicole récoltée en Alb., en Sask. et au Man., 2014. Descriptions en dessous.

Les cases montrent l’étendue des valeurs de l’analyse rapide de la viscosité qui se trouvent dans les 50 % du milieu des échantillons analysés; la ligne horizontale et le point à l’intérieur de chaque case indiquent respectivement la médiane et la moyenne. Les courtes lignes horizontales à l’extérieur de chaque case marquent les valeurs minimales et maximales.

La germination prématurée, aussi appelée germination sur pied, se produit lorsque le grain est encore sur l’épi et est causée par des périodes prolongées de temps pluvieux où le grain mûr non récolté séjourne trop longtemps au champ. L’une des enzymes produites très tôt pendant la germination est l’alpha-amylase. Comme la teneur en alpha-amylase d’un grain sain est très faible par comparaison à celle d’un grain en germination, la teneur en alpha-amylase servir d’indicateur de germination. Une analyse rapide de la viscosité estime indirectement la quantité d’alpha-amylase présente dans l’orge, par la mesure de la viscosité de l’orge moulue dans l’eau.

L'analyse rapide de la viscosité est de plus en plus utilisée par les sélectionneurs d'orge pour déterminer les grains sains et les grains qui présentent un degré modéré ou élevé de germination précoce, afin de gérer leurs stocks en conséquence. Les échantillons dont les valeurs de viscosité finales > 120 (RVU) sont considérés sains et la probabilité qu’ils retiennent leur énergie de germination après l’entreposage est très élevée. Les échantillons ayant des valeurs analyse rapide de la viscosité de 50 à 120 (RVU) ont un degré de germination modérément précoce, tandis que les échantillons ayant des valeurs analyse rapide de la viscosité < 50 (RVU) ont un degré de germination substantiellement précoce, et la probabilité qu’ils perdent leur énergie de germination pendant l’entreposage est élevée. Ils devraient être maltés le plus tôt possible. Pour prédire la durée d’entreposage sécuritaire avec plus de précision, il faut tenir compte non seulement des valeurs analyse rapide de la viscosité, mais également des conditions d’entreposage (T et HR) ainsi que de la teneur en eau initiale du grain.

Parmi les échantillons analysés pour l'enquête de 2015, seulement quelques-uns ont révélé des valeurs analyse rapide de la viscosité élevées (>120 RVU). Les résultats analyse rapide de la viscosité de cette année témoignent des conditions de récolte humides, en particulier en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, ce qui a causé une incidence élevée de germination sur pied substantielle (<50 RVU), résultat semblable à celui de 2014, mais qui contraste énormément avec les conditions de récolte sèches de 2013. Les résultats RVA illustrent la nécessité de détecter l’orge à valeur analyse rapide de la viscosité faible, qui devrait être maltée rapidement. Comme mentionné dans les sections suivantes de ce rapport, l’orge à germination prématurée qui est maltée peu après la récolte peut produire un malt de bonne qualité.