Quality of Western Canadian malting barley 2016 - Growing and harvesting conditions

Growing and harvesting conditions

There was a wide range of moisture regimes present in Western Canada in the fall of 2015. The primary feature was a substantial difference between the soil moisture situation in western Saskatchewan and Alberta and the eastern areas of the Prairies. The western areas of the Prairies were coming off of a drought in 2015 and dry soil moisture levels were reported throughout the region. The exception was a portion of central Alberta, which had received additional rainfall during the fall of 2015. The soil moisture situation in the eastern areas was mostly adequate to surplus. The main concern in the eastern regions centered on the potential for planting delays if winter precipitation was above normal. Fortunately for the eastern growing areas, the winter of 2015-16 was mild and drier than normal. The northern growing areas of Saskatchewan were the exception as this region received normal to slightly above normal precipitation during the winter months.

Dry and warm conditions during April and early May of 2016 resulted in rapid planting progress which exceeded the both the normal pace and the rapid progress of the 2015 crop year. Nearly 60 per cent of the barley was planted by the second week of May, which was well ahead of normal. Some of the driest areas of Alberta delayed seeding due to dry moisture conditions, which slowed barley plantings through the end of May.

Normal temperatures and above normal precipitation characterized the 2016 growing season across Western Canada, with most of the western dry areas receiving beneficial moisture by the middle of June. The above normal rainfall continued through July and August, which increased disease potential in the barley crop. Fusarium head blight was a common downgrading factor in barley grown in the eastern regions in 2016.

The barley harvest began in August and was nearly 30% complete by the beginning of September. Record or near record rainfall amounts were received in Saskatchewan and northern Alberta during the months of September and October. These rains caused serious quality deterioration in the un-harvested barley crop. Harvest progress during this period was very slow, although it did manage to reach close to 85% complete by the end of October. Downgrading of the crop due to weathering factors was present in the later harvested crop. Mild, dry weather returned to the Prairie region in early November resulting in some harvest progress, but there still remains a portion of the crop to be harvested in the early winter or spring.

Mean temperature differences from normal for May 2016

Map:Temperature difference from normal in Prairies,May 2016.Described below.
Map representing the Prairie Provinces showing mean temperature difference from normal across Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba during the month of May 2016.

Percent of average precipitation (Prairie Region) from April 1 to September 25, 2016

Map:Monthly average precipitation in Prairies, Apr.1-Sept.25,2016.Described below.
Map representing the Prairie Provinces showing percent of monthly average precipitation received across the growing regions of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba from April 1 to September 25, 2016.
Date modified:

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien en 2016 - Conditions de croissance et de récolte

Conditions de croissance et de récolte

Des régimes d’humidité très variés ont été enregistrés dans l’Ouest canadien à l’automne 2015. La caractéristique principale a été les grandes différences de conditions d’humidité du sol entre les régions dans l’ouest de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta et les régions dans l’est des Prairies. Les régions occidentales se remettaient de la sécheresse de 2015 et accusaient à certains endroits des sols secs, à l’exception d’une partie dans le centre de l’Alberta qui avait reçu des pluies additionnelles à l’automne 2015. L’humidité du sol dans les régions orientales était en majorité adéquate ou excédentaire. Les régions orientales craignaient surtout un retard possible des semis dans le cas où les précipitations hivernales seraient supérieures à la normale, et heureusement pour elles, l’hiver 2015-2016 fut doux et plus sec que la normale. Les régions dans le nord de la Saskatchewan ont eu des conditions distinctes, car elles ont reçu des quantités de précipitations qui allaient de normales à légèrement supérieures à la normale durant l’hiver.

En avril et au début de mai de 2016, le temps sec et chaud a permis une progression des semis qui a été plus rapide que la normale et que le rythme d’avancée des semis en 2015. À la deuxième semaine de mai, près de 60 % des superficies en orge étaient déjà semées, taux très en avance de la normale. Certaines des régions les plus arides de l’Alberta ont accusé des retards de semis en raison des conditions sèches, ce qui a ralenti les opérations jusqu’à la fin de mai.

Dans l’Ouest canadien, la saison de croissance 2016 a été caractérisée par des températures normales et des précipitations supérieures à la normale. Les régions occidentales arides ont reçu, pour la plupart, des pluies bénéfiques à la mi-juin. Des quantités de précipitations supérieures à la normale sont tombées en juillet et en août, ce qui a augmenté le potentiel de maladie dans les cultures. En 2016, la fusariose de l’épi a été un facteur commun de déclassement de l’orge récoltée dans les régions orientales.

Les récoltes d’orge ont commencé en août et au début de septembre, elles avaient été faites sur près de 30 % des superficies. La Saskatchewan et le nord de l’Alberta ont reçu des pluies record ou quasi record en septembre et en octobre. Ces précipitations ont gravement détérioré la qualité de l’orge qui n’était pas encore récoltée. Durant cette période la progression des récoltes a été très lente, bien que presque 85 % du battage était fait à la fin d’octobre. L’orge issue des derniers champs récoltés a été déclassée en raison des conditions météorologiques défavorables. Au début de novembre, le retour du temps sec et doux dans les Prairies a permis à certains producteurs d’avancer leurs récoltes, mais il leur restera encore des superficies à récolter au début de l’hiver ou au printemps.

Écart des températures moyennes par rapport à la normale en mai 2016

Carte montrant les écarts de la normale de la température moyenne (Prairies) en mai 2016.Détails ci-dessus
Carte des provinces des Prairies indiquant l’écart des températures moyennes par rapport à la normale en Alberta, Saskatchewan et au Manitoba en mai 2016.

Pourcentage de précipitations mensuelles moyennes, du 1er avril au 25 septembre 2016

Carte:précipitation moyenne mensuelle (Prairies) en avril/sept.2016.Détails ci-dessus
Carte des provinces des Prairies indiquant le pourcentage de précipitations moyennes reçues dans les régions productrices de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, du 1er avril au 25 septembre 2016.
Date de modification :