Quality of Western Canadian malting barley 2016 - Annual Harvest Survey

Annual Harvest Survey

The 2016 malting barley survey was based on 57 varietal composites, representing about one million tonnes of barley selected for domestic malt processing or for export as malting barley by several grain handling and malting companies: Cargill Inc, Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Rahr Malting Co., Richardson International, Viterra Inc., and Malteurop North America Inc. The tonnage included in this survey represents only a portion of the total volume of malting barley selected in Western Canada and does not necessarily reflect the actual amounts selected. Samples were received from the beginning of harvest until the beginning of November 2016. All results presented in this report represent weighted averages based on tonnage of composite samples received and analyzed.

Quality of barley selected for malting in 2016: general trends and annual statistics

The quality of barley that was selected for malting in 2016 was generally good. The levels of barley proteins in 2016 (11.3%) were substantially lower than in 2015 (12.4%) and lower than the 10-year average (11.7%). Germination energy of barley samples determined during the annual survey was adequate for malting; however moderate water sensitivity was present in some samples. This year’s barley had very high average 1000 kernel weight (46.5 g), higher than in 2015 (45.7 g) and higher than the 10-year average (43.2 g).  Kernel plumpness, a measure of kernels remaining on the 6/64” slotted screen, averaged 93.5%, which is considerably higher than the 10-year average (91.6%). The average kernel diameter and kernel weight were also determined using the Single Kernel Characterization System. The results indicated differences among barley varieties with Bentley and AAC Synergy having bigger and heavier kernels than other varieties tested this year.

Average proteins content in barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016

Chart:Average proteins in barley,2016-2016.Details below

  • Details
    Average proteins content in barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016
    Crop years 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 10 yr avg
    Protein, % 11.9 12.3 11.7 11.2 11.6 11.4 11.9 11.2 11.7 12.4 11.3 11.7

Average germination energy of barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016

Chart:Average germination energy of barley,2006-2016.Details below

  • Details
    Average germination energy of barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016
    Crop years 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 10 yr avg
    Germination energy, 4 ml % 99 97 99 99 96 99 98 98 98 97 97 97.8

Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016

Chart:Average 1000 kernel weight of barley,2006-2016.Details below

  • Details
    Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016
    Crop years 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 10 yr avg
    1000 kernel weight, g 41.7 39.0 44.6 44.3 41.7 44.2 41.5 47.7 44.2 45.7 46.5 43.5

Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016

Chart:Average plumpness of barley,2016-2016.Details below

  • Details
    Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2006 to 2016
    Crop years 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 10 yr avg
    Plumpness, over 6/64" sieve (%) 89.5 84.0 93.8 94.1 92.1 93.2 88.4 93.1 93.3 94.5 93.1 91.6

Average kernel weight of barley selected for malting

Chart:Average kernel weight of barley by variety in 2016.Details below

  • Details
    Average kernel weight of barley varieties selected for malting
    Variety Kernel weight (mg)
    Bentley 52.80
    CDC Copeland 49.47
    CDC Kindersley 47.20
    AC Metcalfe 47.63
    AAC Synergy 49.85

Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting

Chart:Average kernel diameter of barley by variety in 2016.Details below

  • Details
    Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting
    Variety Kernel diameter (mm)
    Bentley 2.72
    CDC Copeland 2.58
    CDC Kindersley 2.58
    AC Metcalfe 2.56
    AAC Synergy 2.65

RVA results for barley selected for malting in 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Graph of RVA results in AB,SK and MB for malting barley,2013,2014,2015 and 2016.Description below
The boxes in the graph show the range of RVA values in the middle 50% of the analyzed samples; the horizontal line and the dot inside the box indicate the median and mean, respectively. The short horizontal lines outside of the box mark the minimum and maximum values.

Pre-germination is the premature sprouting of grain while still in the ear as a consequence of prolonged spells of wet weather when mature grain remains uncut in the field or swathed and not yet combined; this event is called ‘pre-harvest sprouting’. One of the enzymes produced very early during germination is α-amylase. Since the level of α-amylase in sound grain is very low compared to its level in the germinating grain, the content of α-amylase in grain can be used as a marker of germination. Rapid visco analysis (RVA) indirectly estimates the amount of α-amylase in barley by measuring the viscosity of ground barley in water. The results are expressed as viscosity in Rapid Visco Units (RVU) than can be converted to centipoise (cP) (1 RVU = 12 cP).

RVA is used by barley selectors to identify sound, moderately and strongly pre-germinated barley, and to manage their supply accordingly. Samples with final viscosity values > 120 (RVU) are considered sound and the probability that they will retain germination energy (GE) after storage is very high. Samples with RVA values 50-120 (RVU) are moderately pre-germinated, whereas samples with RVA values < 50 (RVU) are substantially pre-germinated and the probability that they will lose GE during storage is high. They should be malted as soon as possible. To predict safe storage time more accurately, not only the RVA values, but also the storage conditions (temperature and relative humidity) and the initial moisture content of the grain have to be taken into account.

Among the samples tested in 2016 survey only a few showed high RVA values (>120 RVU). This year’s RVA results have reflected wet harvest conditions, especially in Alberta and Saskatchewan, resulting in high incidence of substantial pre-germination (<50 RVU), similar to 2014 and 2015, but dramatically different from dry harvest conditions in 2013. The RVA results stress the need for identification of barley with low RVU that should be malted promptly, especially if the moisture content of grain is relatively high. As indicated in the next sections of this report, pre-germinated barley malted soon after harvest can produce good quality malt.

Malting conditions and methodologies

Initial malting trials indicated that sufficient steep out moisture levels were achieved using two wet steep cycles. Despite relatively large kernel weight and diameter, kernels took up water easily with total wet steep time of 12 hours. All analytical methods used in this survey to assess the barley, malt and wort quality are listed in the Methods.

Malting conditions used with the GRL Phoenix Micromalting System in 2016
Steeping 8h wet steep, 16 h air rest, 4 h wet steep, 16 h air rest @ 13°C
Germination 96 h @ 15°C
Kilning 12h @ 60°C,  6h @ 65°C,  2h @ 75°C,  4h @ 85°C

Malting quality in 2016 - Highlights 

  • The selection of barley for malting purposes in 2016 was challenged by the above normal rainfall through July and August, which increased disease potential in the barley crop, and by wet harvest conditions, which increased the incidence of pre-harvest sprouting. However, the quality of barley that was selected for malting was good.
  • Protein levels in barley grain were substantially lower than in 2015 and lower than the long-term average values.
  • Thousand kernel weights and kernel plumpness levels were higher than the long-term averages.
  • Barley germination was adequate; however, some water sensitivity was present.
  • Malt made from 2016 barley resulted in record high extract levels surpassing the long-term average values.
  • Wort was characterized by slightly higher than average levels of β-glucans, but acceptable wort viscosity, and lower than average levels of soluble proteins, free amino nitrogen (FAN), and colour.
  • Production of good quality malt from the 2016 barley crop is achievable through diligent barley selection and timely processing.
Date modified:

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien en 2016 - Enquête annuelle sur la récolte

Enquête annuelle sur la récolte

L’enquête sur l’orge brassicole de 2016 repose sur l’analyse de 57 échantillons composites de variétés, lesquels représentent environ un million de tonnes d’orge ayant été retenue pour le maltage au pays ou après exportation par plusieurs entreprises de manutention des grains et sociétés brassicoles dont Cargill Inc, Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Rahr Malting Co., Richardson International, Viterra Inc. et Malteurop North America Inc. Le tonnage évalué dans le cadre de cette enquête ne représente qu’une partie du volume global d’orge retenue dans l’Ouest canadien et ne représente pas nécessairement le volume réellement retenu pour le maltage. Les échantillons ont été reçus entre le début de la récolte et le début de novembre 2016. Tous les résultats indiqués dans le présent rapport représentent des moyennes pondérées fondées sur le volume d’échantillons composites reçus et analysés.

Tendances générales et statistiques sur la qualité de l'orge retenue pour le maltage en 2016

En général, la qualité de l’orge retenue pour le maltage en 2016 est bonne. La teneur en protéines (11,3 %) est très inférieure à celle de 2015 (12,4 %) et inférieure à la moyenne décennale (11,7 %). Dans le cadre de l’enquête, on a mesuré l'énergie de germination des échantillons d'orge qui était adéquate pour le maltage, cependant certains échantillons présentaient une sensibilité modérée à l'eau. Le poids moyen de 1000 grains de l’orge récoltée en 2016 est très élevé (46,5 g), et supérieur à celui de 2015 (45,7 g) et à la moyenne décennale (43,2 g). Le caractère ventru des grains, une mesure des grains retenus par un tamis à fentes de 6/64 pouces, est d’en moyenne 93,5 %, taux très supérieur à la moyenne décennale (91,6 %). On a aussi déterminé le diamètre et le poids moyens des grains selon le système SKCS (Single Kernel Characterization System). Parmi les variétés analysées cette année, ce sont les variétés Bentley et AAC Synergy qui ont donné les plus gros calibres de grains et les grains les plus lourds.

Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016

Graphique:Teneur en protéines de l’orge brassicole,2006-2016.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016
    Année 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 Moyenne décennale
    Protéines, % 11,9 12,3 11,7 11,2 11,6 11,4 11,9 11,2 11,7 12,4 11,3 11,7

Énergie de germination moyenne de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016

Graphique:Énergie de germination moyenne de l’orge,2006 à 2016.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Énergie de germination moyenne de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016
    Année 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 Moyenne décennale
    Énergie de germination (4 ml, %) 99 97 99 99 96 99 98 98 98 97 97 97,8

Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016

Graphique:Poids de 1000 grains d’orge,2006-2016.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016
    Année 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 Moyenne décennale
    Poids moyen de 1 000 grains, g 41,7 39,0 44,6 44,3 41,7 44,2 41,5 47,7 44,2 45,7 46,5 43,5

Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016

Graphique:Caractère ventru (%) de l’orge,sur tamis de 6/64 po, 2006-2016.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2006 à 2016
    Année 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 Moyenne décennale
    Tamis de 6/64 po (%) 89,5 84,0 93,8 94,1 92,1 93,2 88,4 93,1 93,3 94,5 93,1 91,6

Poids moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour le maltage

Graphique:Poids moyen (mm) de six variétés d’orge,2016.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Poids moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour le maltage
    Variété Poids des grains (mg)
    Bentley 52,8
    CDC Copeland 49,47
    CDC Kindersley 47,2
    AC Metcalfe 47,63
    AAC Synergy 49,85

Diamètre moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour le maltage en 2016

Graphique:Diamètre moyen (mm) de six variétés d’orge,2016.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Diamètre moyen du grain des variétés d'orge retenues pour le maltage en 2016
    Variété Diamètre des grains (mm)
    Bentley 2,72
    CDC Copeland 2,58
    CDC Kindersley 2,58
    AC Metcalfe 2,56
    AAC Synergy 2,65

Résultats RVA pour l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage dans les trois provinces de l’Ouest canadien en 2013, 2014, 2015 et 2016

Graphique:Résultats RVA pour l’orge brassicole récoltée en Alb.,en Sask. et au Man.,2014.Descriptions en dessous
Les cases montrent l’étendue des valeurs de l’analyse rapide de la viscosité qui se trouvent dans les 50 % du milieu des échantillons analysés; la ligne horizontale et le point à l’intérieur de chaque case indiquent respectivement la médiane et la moyenne. Les courtes lignes horizontales à l’extérieur de chaque case marquent les valeurs minimales et maximales.

La germination prématurée, aussi appelée germination sur épi ou sur pied, se produit lorsque les grains qui sont encore sur l’épi commencent à germer lorsqu’ils sont exposés à du temps pluvieux prolongé, ou lorsque l’orge mûre non encore récoltée demeure trop longtemps au champ, soit encore sur pied, soit mise en andains sans avoir été battue. L’alpha-amylase est l’une des premières enzymes produites lors de la germination. Comme la teneur en alpha‑amylase d’un grain sain est très faible comparativement à celle d’un grain en cours de germination, elle est utilisée comme indicateur de germination. Dans la méthode d’analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA), on peut estimer indirectement la teneur en alpha-amylase de l’orge en mesurant la viscosité de l’orge moulue dans l’eau. Les résultats de viscosité sont exprimés en unités RVU (Rapid Visco Units) qui peuvent être converties en centipoises (cP) (1 RVU = 12 cP).

Les sélectionneurs d'orge se servent de plus en plus de l’analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA) pour distinguer les grains sains de ceux qui présentent un taux de germination prématurée modéré et élevé afin de gérer leurs stocks d’orge conséquemment. Les échantillons dont les valeurs finales de viscosité sont > 120 RVU sont considérés comme étant des grains sains qui ont une probabilité très élevée de conserver leur énergie de germination (EG) après l’entreposage. Les valeurs se situant entre 50-120 RVU indiquent un taux de germination prématurée modéré tandis que les valeurs  < 50 RVU indiquent un taux de germination prématurée très élevé et des grains ayant une forte probabilité de perdre leur EG pendant l’entreposage. Ces grains doivent être transformés en malt le plus rapidement possible. Pour prédire avec plus de précision une durée sécuritaire d'entreposage des grains, il faut tenir compte, en plus des valeurs de la RVA, des conditions d'entreposage (température et humidité relative) et du taux d’humidité initial des grains.

Dans l'enquête de 2016, seulement quelques-uns des échantillons analysés avaient des valeurs de RVA élevées (>120 RVU). Les résultats de RVA de cette année témoignent des conditions humides lors des récoltes, en particulier en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, qui se sont traduites par une incidence élevée de germination prématurée (<50 RVU). Les résultats sont semblables à ceux de 2014 et 2015, mais contrastent énormément avec les conditions sèches des récoltes de 2013. Selon les résultats de RVA obtenus, il faut identifier l'orge à faible RVU pour la malter rapidement, en particulier si les grains ont un taux d'humidité relativement élevé. Comme mentionné dans les sections suivantes du présent rapport, l’orge germée prématurément qui est maltée peu après sa récolte peut produire un malt de qualité.

Méthodologies d'échantillonnage et d'enquête

Les premiers essais de maltage ont indiqué que des taux suffisants d’humidité au décuvage étaient atteints après deux cycles d’immersion. Malgré des teneurs en protéines légèrement supérieures, les grains absorbaient l’eau facilement et le temps d’immersion total de 16 heures est semblable à celui de 2015. L’annexe I décrit toutes les méthodes d’analyse qui ont été utilisées dans le cadre de l’enquête pour évaluer les qualités de l’orge, du malt et du moût.

Conditions de maltage mises en place en 2016 avec l’appareil de micro-maltage Phoenix
Trempage 8 h d’immersion, 16 h de repos à l’air, 4 h d’immersion, 16 h de repos à l’air à 13°C
Germination 96 h à 15 °C
Touraillage 12 h à 60 °C, 6 h à 65 °C, 2 h à 75 °C, 4 h à 85 °C

Principaux constats sur la qualité brassicole de l'orge en 2016 

  • Les précipitations supérieures à la normale reçues en juillet et en août 2016 compliquent la sélection de l’orge pour le maltage, car elles ont augmenté le potentiel de maladies dans les cultures, tandis que les conditions humides au temps des récoltes ont augmenté l’incidence de germination prématurée. Toutefois, la qualité de l’orge retenue pour le maltage est bonne.
  • La teneur en protéines de l'orge en 2016 est très inférieure à celles de 2015 et des moyennes à long terme.
  • Le poids de 1000 grains et le caractère ventru des grains sont supérieurs à la moyenne.
  • Le taux de germination est adéquat, même si certains grains ont une certaine sensibilité à l’eau.
  • L’orge récoltée en 2016 donne des teneurs élevées record en extraits de malt qui dépassent les valeurs moyennes à long terme.
  • Le moût est caractérisé par des teneurs en β-glucanes légèrement supérieurs aux moyennes, mais une viscosité du moût acceptable et des teneurs en protéines solubles et en azote aminé libre (FAN) inférieures aux moyennes et une couleur également inférieure à la moyenne.
  • Il est possible d’obtenir un malt de qualité avec l’orge récoltée en 2016 à condition de sélectionner soigneusement l’orge et de la transformer rapidement.
Date de modification :