Quality of Western Canadian malting barley 2016 - Brewing trials

Brewing trials

Brewing trials conducted by the Canadian Malting Barley Technical Centre according to standard brewing conditions indicated that malts made from CDC Copeland and AC Metcalfe performed satisfactorily without posing any specific processing difficulties.

CDC Copeland exhibited comparable conversion time and slightly longer lautering time, but similar brewhouse efficiency compared with 2015 malt. The average wort colour was lighter than last year. The high attenuation limit indicated excellent fermentability of CDC Copeland malt in 2016.

AC Metcalfe exhibited similar conversion time, slightly longer lautering time and lower brewhouse efficiency compared to 2015 malt. The average wort colour was lighter than last year. The high attenuation limit indicated good fermentability of AC Metcalfe malt in 2016, which was comparable to 2015.

Note: Average values of 4 brewing trials performed with malt from 2016 crop

Brewhouse performance of CDC Copeland in pilot brewing trials
Brewing parameters 2016 2015
Conversion time (min.) 16 16
Time to clear (min.) 7 5
Lautering time (min.) 49 46
Brewhouse Efficiency (%) 87.8 88
Wort pH 5.34 5.51
Wort Colour (SRM) 3.89 4.37
Attenuation Limit (%) 88.9 87.6
Brewhouse performance of AC Metcalfe in pilot brewing trials
Brewing parameters 2016 2015
Conversion time (min.) 12 12
Time to clear (min.) 7 7
Lautering time (min.) 49 45
Brewhouse Efficiency (%) 86.5 88.5
Wort pH 5.3 5.37
Wort Colour (SRM) 4.42 5.57
Attenuation Limit (%) 84.9 85

Brewing conditions

  1. 100% all malt brew with 40 kg of malt (water to malt ratio of 3.75:1)
  2. Mashing: mash in at 48 °C; 30-minute hold; temperature raise at 1.5 °C per minute to 65 °C; 30-minute hold (iodine conversion test every minute); temperature raise at 1.5 °C per minute to 77 °C; one-minute hold. Transfer mash to lauter tun with 25 L underlet water.
  3. 10-minute rest in lauter tun followed by a vorlauf (wort clarification) until wort clarity reading is below 100 FTU. First wort collected into kettle followed by a hot water sparge of the grain bed using 125 L of water at 77 °C to a total volume of 275 L in brew kettle.  
  4. Boil for 90 minutes with 9% evaporation rate. Hop additions of Nugget at 0 minutes into boil time and Mount Hood at 85 minutes into boil time.
  5. Cool wort and force ferment overnight using 600 ml of wort and 120 g of lager yeast slurry.
Date modified:

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien en 2016 - Essais de brassage

Essais de brassage

Les essais de brassage effectués par le Centre technique canadien pour l'orge brassicole dans des conditions normales de brassage ont indiqué que les malts issus des variétés CDC Copeland et AC Metcalfe donnent des performances brassicoles satisfaisantes sans poser de difficultés particulières de transformation.

Le malt issu de la variété CDC Copeland récoltée en 2016 a une durée de conversion comparable et une durée d’égouttement légèrement plus longue que le malt de 2015, mais son efficacité de brassage est semblable. En moyenne, son moût est plus pâle que l’an dernier. La limite d’atténuation est élevée, ce qui indique une excellente fermentescibilité pour le malt issu de CDC Copeland.

Le malt issu de la variété AC Metcalfe récoltée en 2016 a une durée de conversion semblable, une durée d’égouttement légèrement plus longue au malt de 2015 et une efficacité de brassage inférieure. En moyenne, la couleur du moût était plus pâle que l’an dernier. La limite d’atténuation élevée indique une bonne fermentescibilité du malt issu de AC Metcalfe en 2016, résultat comparable à celui obtenu en 2015.

Nota : Valeurs moyennes de quatre essais de brassage avec du malt issu d’orge récoltée en 2016

Performance brassicole de l’orge CDC Copeland dans les essais pilotes de brassage
Paramètres brassicoles 2016 2015
Durée de conversion (min.) 16 16
Durée de clarification (min.) 7 5
Durée d’égouttement (min.) 49 46
Efficacité de brassage (%) 87,8 88
pH du moût 5,34 5,51
Couleur du moût (SRM) 3,89 4,37
Limite d’atténuation (%) 88,9 87,6
Performance brassicole de l’orge AC Metcalfe dans les essais pilotes de brassage
Paramètres brassicoles 2016 2015
Durée de conversion (min.) 12 12
Durée de clarification (min.) 7 7
Durée d’égouttement (min.) 49 45
Efficacité de brassage (%) 86,5 88,5
pH du moût 5,3 5,37
Couleur du moût (SRM) 4,42 5,57
Limite d’atténuation (%) 84,9 85

Conditions de brassage

  1. Tous les essais de brassage ont été effectués avec 40 kg de malt (ratio eau/malt de 3,75:1)
  2. Étapes du brassage : amorce du trempage à 48 °C; repos de 30 minutes; hausse de la température à 1,5 °C par minute jusqu’à 65 °C; repos de 30 minutes (réalisation d’un test de conversion de l’iode à toutes les minutes); hausse de la température de 1,5 °C par minute jusqu’à 77 °C; repos d’une minute. Transfert de la trempe dans une cuve-filtre avec 25 L d’eau soutirée.
  3. Repos de 10 minutes dans une cuve-filtre, repassage du vorlauf (clarification du moût) jusqu’à l’obtention d’une lecture de turbidité du moût inférieure à 100 FTU. Collecte du premier moût dans la chaudière, puis lavage à l’eau chaude de la drêche avec 125 L d’eau à 77 °C pour un volume total de 275 L dans la chaudière de brassage.
  4. Ébullition pendant 90 minutes de manière à avoir un taux d’évaporation de 9 %. Ajout de houblon de la variété Nugget à 0 minutes du temps d’ébullition, puis ajout de houblon de la variété Mount Hood à 85 minutes du temps d’ébullition.
  5. Refroidissement du moût et forçage de la fermentation pendant toute une nuit avec 600 ml de moût et 120 g de bouillie de levure à fermentation basse.
Date de modification :