Quality of Western Canadian malting barley 2017 - Annual Harvest Survey

3. Annual Harvest Survey

Sampling and survey methodology

The 2017 malting barley survey was based on varietal composites, representing over two million tonnes of barley selected for domestic malt processing or for export as malting barley by several grain handling and malting companies: Cargill Inc, Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Rahr Malting Co., Richardson International, and Viterra Inc. The tonnage included in this survey represents only a portion of the total volume of malting barley selected in Western Canada and does not necessarily reflect the actual amounts selected. Samples were received from the beginning of harvest until the end of October 2017. All results presented in this report represent weighted averages based on tonnage of composite samples received and analyzed.

Quality of barley selected for malting in 2017: general trends and annual statistics

The quality of barley that was selected for malting in 2017 was excellent. The average levels of barley proteins (11.5%) in 2017 were slightly lower than the 10-year average (11.7%) (Figure 3.1). Barley exhibited excellent germination vigour and energy (Figure 3.2). This year's barley had very high average 1000 kernel weight (44.9 g), higher than the 10-year average (43.9 g) (Figure 3.3). Kernel plumpness, a measure of kernels remaining on the 6/64" slotted screen, averaged 93.6%, which was higher than the 10-year average (92.0%) (Figure 3.4). The average kernel diameter and kernel weight were also determined for individual varieties using the Single Kernel Characterization System. The results, presented in Figure 3.5, indicated differences among barley varieties with Bentley, AAC Synergy, CDC Bow, and AAC Connect having bigger and heavier kernels than other varieties tested this year.

Figure 3.1 Average protein content in barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017

Chart:Average protein in barley,2007-2017.Details below

  • Details
    Average protein content in barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017
    Crop years 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 10 yr avg
    Protein, % 12.3 11.7 11.2 11.6 11.4 11.9 11.2 11.7 12.4 11.3 11.5 11.7

Figure 3.2 Average germination energy of barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017

Chart:Average germination energy of barley,2007-2017.Details below

  • Details
    Average germination energy of barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017
    Crop years 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 10 yr avg
    Germination energy, 4 ml % 97 99 99 96 99 98 98 96 97 97 99 97.6

Figure 3.3 Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017

Chart:Average 1000 kernel weight of barley,2007-2017.Details below

  • Details
    Average 1000 kernel weight of barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017
    Crop years 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 10 yr avg
    1000 kernel weight, g 39.0 44.6 44.3 41.7 44.2 41.5 47.7 44.2 45.7 46.5 44.9 43.9

Figure 3.4 Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017

Chart:Average plumpness of barley,2017-2017.Details below

  • Details
    Average plumpness of barley selected for malting from 2007 to 2017
    Crop years 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 10 yr avg
    Plumpness, over 6/64" sieve (%) 84.0 93.8 94.1 92.1 93.2 88.4 93.1 93.3 94.5 93.1 93.6 92.0

Fig. 3.5 (a) Average kernel weight or two-row barley cultivars selected for malting in 2017

Chart:Average kernel weight of barley by variety in 2017.Details below

Kernel weight were determined using Single Kernel Characterization System.

  • Details
    Average kernel weight of barley varieties selected for malting
    Variety Kernel weight (mg)
    CDC Copeland 45.9
    AC Metcalfe 45.5
    AAC Synergy 48.4
    Newdale 46.0
    Bentley 49.2
    CDC Kindersley 44.4
    CDC Bow 53.6
    AAC Connect 50.1

Fig. 3.5 (b) Average kernel diameter for two-row barley cultivars selected for malting in 2017

Chart:Average kernel diameter of barley by variety in 2017.Details below

Kernel diameter values were determined using Single Kernel Characterization System.

  • Details
    Average kernel diameter of barley varieties selected for malting
    Variety Kernel diameter (mm)
    CDC Copeland 2.52
    AC Metcalfe 2.54
    AAC Synergy 2.58
    Newdale 2.57
    Bentley 2.57
    CDC Kindersley 2.52
    CDC Bow 2.66
    AAC Connect 2.56

Pre-germination is the premature sprouting of grain while still in the ear as a consequence of prolonged spells of wet weather when mature grain remains uncut in the field or swathed and not yet combined; this event is called "pre-harvest sprouting". One of the enzymes produced very early during germination is α-amylase. Since the level of α-amylase in sound grain is very low compared to its level in the germinating grain, the content of α-amylase in grain can be used as a marker of germination. Rapid visco analysis (RVA) indirectly estimates the amount of α-amylase in barley by measuring the viscosity of ground barley in water. The results are expressed as viscosity in Rapid Visco Units (RVU) than can be converted to centipoise (cP) (1 Rapid Visco Unit = 12 cP).

RVA is used by barley selectors to identify sound, moderately and strongly pre-germinated barley, and to manage their supply accordingly. Samples with final viscosity values > 120 (RVU) are considered sound and the probability that they will retain germination energy (GE) after storage is very high. Samples with RVA values 50 to 120 (RVU) are moderately pre-germinated, whereas samples with RVA values < 50 (RVU) are substantially pre-germinated and the probability that they will lose GE during storage is high. They should be malted as soon as possible. To predict safe storage time more accurately, not only the RVA values, but also the storage conditions (temperature and relative humidity) and the initial moisture content of the grain have to be taken into account.

The majority of barley samples tested in 2017 survey was sound as indicated by high RVA values (>120 RVU) as shown in Figure 3.6. This year's high RVA values have been attributed to relatively early harvest and dry harvest conditions in Western Canada.

Figure 3.6 RVA results for barley selected for malting in 2017 in comparison with previous years

Graph of RVA results in AB,SK and MB for malting barley,2014,2015,2016 and 2017.Details below

The boxes in the graph shows the range of RVA values in the middle 50% of the analyzed samples; the horizontal line and the dot inside the box indicate the median and mean, respectively. The short horizontal lines outside of the box mark the minimum and maximum values.

Risk of germination loss in storage
Risk of germination loss in storage RVA Viscosity (RVU)
Low ≥120
Intermediate 50 to 120
High <50

Malting conditions and methodologies

Initial malting trials indicated that, compared to 2016, this year’s barley needed slightly longer immersion periods during steeping to achieve adequate hydration levels. Accordingly, sufficient steep out moisture levels were achieved using two slightly longer wet steep cycles at 14°C. The germination and kilning steps were conducted according to the same schedules as last year. All analytical methods used in this survey to assess the barley, malt and wort quality are listed in Methods.

Malting conditions used with the GRL Phoenix Micromalting System in 2017
Steeping 8 hours wet steep, 16 hours air rest, 7 hours wet steep, 15 hours air rest @ 14°C
Germination 96 hours @ 15°C
Kilning 12 hours @ 60 to 65°C,  6 hours @ 65°C,  2 hours @ 75°C,  5 hours @ 83 to 85°C

Malting quality in 2017 - Highlights 

  • The dry growing season in 2017 resulted in ample harvest of excellent malt quality barley. 
  • Protein levels in barley grain were slightly lower, whereas thousand kernel weights and kernel plumpness levels were higher than the long-term averages.
  • The majority of barley tested in this survey was sound and showed very high germination energy (99%) with little evidence of water sensitivity.
  • High kernel weight and plumpness combined with low protein content resulted in high levels of malt extract.
  • The levels of soluble proteins and free amino nitrogen (FAN) in worts were slightly lower than the long term average values for the most common malting barley cultivars. The levels of enzymes (diastatic power and α-amylase) in malts were adequate and close to the long term average values.
  • Well-modified malts resulted in worts with low viscosity and low level of β-glucans.
Date modified:

Qualité de l'orge brassicole de l'Ouest canadien en 2017 - Enquête annuelle sur la récolte

3. Enquête annuelle sur la récolte

3.1 Méthodologie d’échantillonnage et d’enquête

L’enquête sur l’orge brassicole de 2017 est fondée sur les échantillons composites de variétés représentant plus de deux millions de tonnes d’orge brassicole sélectionnée pour le maltage pour la transformation intérieure ou pour l’exportation par plusieurs sociétés de manutention des grains et brassicoles : Cargill Inc, Canada Malting Co. Ltd., Rahr Malting Co., Richardson International et Viterra Inc. Le tonnage indiqué dans la présente enquête ne représente qu’une portion du tonnage global d’orge brassicole sélectionnée dans l’Ouest canadien, et ne reflète pas nécessairement les quantités réelles qui sont sélectionnées. Les échantillons ont été reçus du début de la récolte jusqu’à la fin octobre 2017. Tous les résultats indiqués dans le présent rapport représentent des moyennes pondérées fondées sur le volume d’échantillons composites reçus et analysés.

3.2. Tendances générales et statistiques annuelles sur la qualité de l’orge brassicole sélectionnée en 2017

En général, la qualité de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage en 2017 est excellente. La teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge (11,5 %) en 2017 a été légèrement inférieure à la moyenne décennale (11,7 %) (figure 3.1). Le grain présente une vigueur et une énergie de germination excellentes (figure 3.2). Le poids de 1 000 grains moyen de l’orge produite cette année est très élevé (44,9 g) et est supérieur à la moyenne décennale (43,9 g) (figure 3.3). La proportion moyenne de grain ventru, qui est une mesure du grain retenu par le tamis à fentes de 6/64 pouces, est de 93,6 %, ce qui est supérieur à la moyenne décennale (92,0 %) (figure 3.4). Le diamètre et le poids moyen du grain de chaque variété sont aussi déterminés selon le système SKCS (Single Kernel Characterization System). Les résultats présentés à la figure 3.5 illustrent les différences entre les diverses variétés. Parmi les variétés analysées cette année, ce sont les variétés Bentley, AAC Synergy, CDC Bow et AAC Connect qui ont donné le grain du calibre et du poids les plus élevés.

Figure 3.1. Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2007 à 2017

Graphique:Teneur en protéines de l’orge brassicole,2007-2017.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Teneur moyenne en protéines de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2007 à 2017
    Année 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Moyenne décennale
    Protéines, % 12,3 11,7 11,2 11,6 11,4 11,9 11,2 11,7 12,4 11,3 11,5 11,7

Figure 3.2. Énergie moyenne de germination de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2007 à 2017

Graphique:Énergie de germination moyenne de l’orge,2007 à 2017.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Énergie moyenne de germination de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2007 à 2017
    Année 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Moyenne décennale
    Énergie de germination (4 ml, %) 97 99 99 96 99 98 98 96 97 97 99 97,6

Figure 3.3. Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2007 à 2017

Graphique:Poids de 1000 grains d’orge,2007-2017.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Poids moyen de 1 000 grains d’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage de 2007 à 2017
    Année 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Moyenne décennale
    Poids moyen de 1 000 grains, g 39,0 44,6 44,3 41,7 44,2 41,5 47,7 44,2 45,7 46,5 44,9 43,9

Figure 3.4. Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge brassicole sélectionnée de 2007 à 2017

Graphique:Caractère ventru (%) de l’orge,sur tamis de 6/64 po, 2007-2017.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Caractère ventru moyen de l’orge brassicole sélectionnée de 2007 à 2017
    Année 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Moyenne décennale
    Tamis de 6/64 po (%) 84,0 93,8 94,1 92,1 93,2 88,4 93,1 93,3 94,5 93,1 93,6 92,0

Figure 3.5 (a) Poids moyen des grains des variétés d’orge à deux rangs sélectionnées pour le maltage en 2017

Graphique:Poids moyen des variétés d’orge,2017.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Poids moyen des grains des variétés d’orge à deux rangs sélectionnées pour le maltage
    Variété Poids des grains (mg)
    CDC Copeland 45,9
    AC Metcalfe 45,5
    AAC Synergy 48,4
    Newdale 46,0
    Bentley 49,2
    CDC Kindersley 44,4
    CDC Bow 53,6
    AAC Connect 50,1

Figure 3.5 (b) Diamètre moyen des grains des variétés d’orge à deux rangs sélectionnées pour le maltage en 2017

Graphique:Diamètre moyen des variétés d’orge,2017.Détails en dessous

  • Détails
    Diamètre moyen des grains des variétés d’orge à deux rangs sélectionnées pour le maltage
    Variété Diamètre des grains (mm)
    CDC Copeland 2,52
    AC Metcalfe 2,54
    AAC Synergy 2,58
    Newdale 2,57
    Bentley 2,57
    CDC Kindersley 2,52
    CDC Bow 2,66
    AAC Connect 2,56

La germination prématurée, aussi appelée germination sur épi ou sur pied, se produit lorsque les grains qui sont encore sur l'épi commencent à germer lorsqu'ils sont exposés à du temps humide, ou lorsque l'orge mûre non encore récoltée demeure trop longtemps au champ, soit encore sur pied, soit mise en andains sans avoir été battue. L'alpha-amylase est l'une des premières enzymes produites lors de la germination. Comme la teneur en alpha-amylase d'un grain sain est très faible comparativement à celle d'un grain en cours de germination, elle est utilisée comme indicateur de germination. Dans la méthode d'analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA), on peut estimer indirectement la teneur en alpha-amylase de l'orge en mesurant la viscosité de l'orge moulue dans l'eau. Les résultats de viscosité sont exprimés en unités RVU (Rapid Visco Units) qui peuvent être converties en centipoises (cP) (1 RVU = 12 cP).

Les sélectionneurs d'orge se servent de l'analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA) pour distinguer les grains sains de ceux qui présentent un taux de germination prématurée modéré et élevé afin de gérer leurs stocks d'orge conséquemment. Les échantillons dont les valeurs finales de viscosité sont > 120 RVU sont considérés comme étant des grains sains qui ont une probabilité très élevée de conserver leur énergie de germination (EG) après l'entreposage. Les valeurs se situant entre 50 et 120 RVU indiquent un taux de germination prématurée modéré tandis que les valeurs < 50 RVU indiquent un taux de germination prématurée considérable et des grains ayant une forte probabilité de perdre leur EG pendant l'entreposage. Ces grains doivent être transformés en malt le plus rapidement possible. Pour prédire avec plus de précision une durée sécuritaire d'entreposage des grains, il faut tenir compte, en plus des valeurs de la RVA, des conditions d'entreposage (température et humidité relative) et de la teneur en eau initiale des grains.

La majorité des échantillons de blé analysés dans le cadre de l'enquête de 2017 étaient sains, comme l'indiquaient leurs valeurs RVA élevées (> 120 RVU). Les valeurs RVA élevées observées cette année ont été attribuées à la récolte relativement hâtive et aux conditions sèches qui ont prévalu durant la période de récolte dans l'Ouest canadien.

Figure 3.6 Résultats RVA de l’orge sélectionnée pour le maltage en 2017, comparés aux résultats des années précédentes

Graphique:Résultats RVA pour l’orge brassicole récoltée en Alb.,en Sask. et au Man.,2017.Descriptions en dessous

Les boîtes dans le diagramme illustrent l’étendue des valeurs de RVA des échantillons analysés qui se situent dans les 50 % médians; la ligne horizontale et le point à l’intérieur de la boîte indiquent respectivement la médiane et la moyenne. Les courtes lignes horizontales à l’extérieur des boîtes délimitent les valeurs minimales et maximales.

Risque de perte de capacité germinative en cours d’entreposage
Risque de perte de capacité germinative en cours d’entreposage Viscosité RVA (unités RVU)
Faible ≥120
Moyen 50 à 120
Élevé <50

Conditions de maltage et méthodologie

Les premiers essais de maltage ont indiqué que l'orge produite cette année, comparativement à celle produite en 2016, nécessitait des périodes d'immersion légèrement plus longues durant le trempage pour atteindre une hydratation adéquate. Des taux suffisants d'humidité au décuvage ont donc été atteints après deux cycles d'immersion à 14 °C légèrement plus longs. Les étapes de germination et de touraillage ont été réalisées selon les mêmes temps que l'année précédente. L'annexe I décrit toutes les méthodes d'analyse qui ont été utilisées dans le cadre de l'enquête pour évaluer les qualités de l'orge, du malt et du moût.

Conditions de maltage mises en place en 2017 avec l’appareil de micro-maltage Phoenix
Trempage 8 heures d'immersion, 16 heures de repos à l'air, 7 heures d'immersion, 15 heures de repos à l'air à 14°C
Germination 96 heures à 15 °C
Touraillage 12 heures à 60 °C à 65 °C, 6 heures à 65 °C, 2 heures à 75 °C, 5 heures à 83 °C à 85 °C

Points saillants sur la qualité de l’orge brassicole en 2017 

  • La saison de culture sèche connue en 2017 a permis la production d'un stock suffisant d'orge brassicole d'excellente qualité. 
  • La teneur en protéine du grain a été légèrement inférieure à la moyenne à long terme, alors que le poids de 1 000 grains et le caractère ventru du grain ont été supérieurs aux moyennes à long terme.
  • La majorité de l'orge analysée dans le cadre de la présente enquête était de bonne qualité et affichait une énergie de germination très élevée (99 %) et une faible sensibilité à l'eau.
  • Le poids et le caractère ventru du grain, combinés à la faible teneur en protéines du grain, ont permis l'obtention de teneurs élevées en extrait de malt.
  • Les teneurs en protéines solubles et en azote aminé libre du moût étaient légèrement inférieures à la moyenne à long terme dans le cas des principales variétés d'orge brassicole cultivées. Les teneurs en enzymes (pouvoir diastasique et alpha-amylase) du malt étaient adéquates et semblables à la moyenne à long terme.
  • Le malt bien désagrégé a donné un moût présentant une faible viscosité et une faible teneur en bêta-glucanes.
Date de modification :