Quality of western Canadian canola 2012

Fatty acid composition

The average level of erucic acid in the 2012 crop was 0.01%, which is identical to what was observed for the last two yeas (0.01%), and similar to the five-year average of 0.02% and below the ten-year average of 0.06%.  These low values are a direct result of the breeding efforts of the Canadian canola industry.

For Canola, No.1 Canada samples the mean α-linolenic acid (C18:3) was 9.6% slightly lower that the means observed in 2011 (9.9%) and the five-year average (9.8%). The α-linolenic acid mean in Saskatchewan (9.8%) was slightly higher that the one in Alberta (9.5%) and higher than the one in Manitoba (9.0%). The hot and dry conditions observed in Manitoba and most of Alberta were responsible for the slightly lower α-linolenic acid content observed in 2012. The level of unsatruration, for example α-linolenic acid, is affected by temperaure; high temperatures leading to lower levels of unsaturation (therefore lower α-linolenic acid) in the oil of canola seeds.

For Canola, No.1 Canada samples the mean oleic acid (C18:1) content of the 2012 crop was 62.5%, slightly higher than what was observed in 2011 (62.1%).  This was also slightly higher than the five-year mean (62.3%).  On average, oleic acid contents were slightly higher in Manitoba (62.8%) and Alberta (62.9%) than in Saskatchewan (62.0%).

In 2012, there was a similar average for linoleic acid (C18:2) when compared to 2011 (19.2 versus 19.1%).  The similarity in average results for oleic aicd, linoleic acid and a-linolenic acid resulted in a similar iodine value when compared to 2011 (113.3 in 2012 versus 113.6 in 2011).

The mean level of saturated fatty acids was 6.6% in 2012 (Table 1). The 2012 average was slightly lower than 2011 (6.8%) and 2010 (6.9%). As in 2011, in 2012 the mean saturated fatty acid levels were similar for the three provinces 6.6% (6.8, 6.8 and 6.7% for Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, respectively in 2011). Total saturates fatty acid contents are usually affected by the temperature, high temperatures leading to higher oil saturation. It is usually expected that total saturated fatty acid content varied between the three provinces, the southern part of the prairies having significantly higher temperatures than the northern regions. However, for two years in row, temperatures and lack of moistures were comparable in the northern and southern parts of the prairies; this could explain the non difference between the three provinces. It also seemed that total saturated fatty acid contents were not susceptible to high temperatures as was the case the previous years.

For the first couples of months of the 2012-2013 shipping seasons, the a-linolenic acid averages (for clean and not commercially clean samples) ranged from 8.5 to 10.5%.  The averages varied from 9.7 to 9.8%.  This is lower than what was observed during last shipping season (10.1%).  When compared to last year’s average, the iodine value averages were lower this year (113.2 to 113.7 units) until November 2012 than what was observed last year (114.0 units).  The level of saturated fatty acids in the November 2012 canola exports remained very similar to the 2011-12 means (6.6-6.7% versus 6.8%).  As last year, it is expected that the levels of erucic acid will remain low for the new shipping season (below 0.1%) since erucic acid contents were very low in the 2012 harvest survey.

No important variations are expected for the fatty acid averages in the 2012-2013 shipping season.

Canola quality data by grade and province – fatty acid composition, total saturate content and iodine value of the oil
  Relative fatty acid composition of the oil (%) Total saturates3 (%) Iodine value4 (Units)
C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3 C22:1
Canola, No. 1 Canada
Manitoba 1.72 62.79 19.40 9.04 0.00 6.60 112.6
Saskatchewan 1.70 62.01 19.47 9.77 0.03 6.55 114.0
AlbertaFootnote 1 1.76 62.94 18.73 9.50 0.00 6.62 112.8
Western CanadaFootnote 2 1.73 62.50 19.17 9.55 0.01 6.58 113.0
Canola, No. 2 Canada
Manitoba 1.72 61.75 19.49 9.74 0.00 6.68 113.8
Saskatchewan 1.70 61.34 19.75 9.89 0.00 6.70 114.3
AlbertaFootnote 1 1.70 61.61 19.48 9.98 0.00 6.64 114.2
Western CanadaFootnote 2 1.70 61.47 19.63 9.90 0.00 6.68 114.2
Canola, No. 3 Canada
Western CanadaFootnote 2 1.70 60.76 20.03 10.14 0.00 6.84 114.9
Canola, Sample Canada
Western CanadaFootnote 2 1.69 61.35 20.21 9.47 0.04 6.63 114.0
Figure 11 – Canola, No. 1 Canada - Erucic acid content of harvest survey samples, 2002–2012
Erucic acid content of Canola no 1, 2002-2012-Graph described above.
Figure 12 – Canola, No. 1 Canada - α-linolenic acid content of harvest survey samples, 2002–2012
α-linolenic acid content of Canola no 1, 2002-2012-Graph described above.
Figure 13 – Canola, No. 1 Canada - Oleic acid content of harvest survey samples, 2002–2012
Oleic acid content of Canola no 1, 2002-2012-Graph described above.
Figure 14 – Canola, No. 1 Canada - Iodine value of harvest survey samples, 2002–2012
Iodine value of Canola no 1, 2002-2012-Graph described above.
Figure 15 – Canola, No. 1 Canada - Total Saturated fatty acid of harvest survey samples, 2002–2012
Total Saturated fatty acid of Canola no 1, 2002-2012-Graph described above.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes part of the Peace River area that is in British Columbia.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Values are weighted averages based on production by province as estimated by Statistics Canada.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Total saturated fatty acids are the sum of palmitic (C16:0), stearic (C18:0), arachidic (C20:0), behenic (C22:0), and lignoceric (C24:0).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Calculated from fatty acid composition.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Qualité du canola de l'Ouest canadien 2012

Composition en acides gras

La teneur moyenne en acide érucique du canola récolté en 2012 est de 0,01 %, soit une valeur identique à celle observée au cours des deux dernières années (0,01 %) et semblable à la moyenne sur cinq ans de 0,02 %, mais en deçà de la moyenne sur dix ans de 0,06 %. Il s’agit d’une conséquence directe des efforts d’amélioration génétique consentis par l’industrie canadienne de canola.

Pour les échantillons de Canola, Canada no 1, la teneur moyenne en acide α-linolénique (C18:3) est de 9,6 %, soit légèrement inférieure à la moyenne observée en 2011 (9,9 %) et à la moyenne sur cinq ans de 9,8 %. La teneur moyenne en acide α-linolénique des échantillons de la Saskatchewan (9,8 %) est légèrement supérieure que celle des échantillons de l’Alberta (9,5 %) et supérieure à celle du Manitoba (9,0 %). Les conditions chaudes et sèches observées au Manitoba et presque toute l’Alberta expliquent cette légère baisse de la teneur en acide α-linolénique de 2012. Le niveau d’insaturation, p. ex., acide α-linolénique, est influencé par la température; des températures élevées entraînent un faible niveau d’insaturation (donc une plus faible teneur en acide  α-linolénique) de l’huile contenue dans les grains de canola.

En 2012, la teneur moyenne en acide oléique (C18:1) est de 62,5 %, soit légèrement supérieure à celle observée en 2011 (62,1 %). Elle était aussi légèrement plus élevée que la moyenne sur cinq ans (62,3 %). En moyenne, la teneur en acide oléique est légèrement supérieure au Manitoba (62,8 %) et en Alberta (62,9 %) qu’en Saskatchewan (62,0 %).

En 2012, la teneur moyenne en acide linoléique (C18:2) est semblable à celle observée en 2011 (19,2 % par rapport à 19,1 %). La similitude des moyennes des deux années en ce qui concerne la teneur en acide oléique, linoléique et α-linolénique a donné un indice d’iode semblable qu’en 2011 (113,3 en 2012 et 113,6 en 2011).

La teneur moyenne en acides gras saturés s’établit à 6,6 % en 2012, soit une valeur inférieure à celles de 2011 (6,8 %) et de 2010 (6,9 %). Comme en 2011, les teneurs moyennes en acides gras saturés sont semblables dans les trois provinces en 2012, soit 6,8 % au Manitoba, 6,8 % en Saskatchewan et 6,7 % en Alberta. Puisqu’elles sont généralement influencées par la température (une température élevée donne une saturation plus élevée de l’huile), on s’attend généralement à certains écarts entre les trois provinces, puisque le Sud des Prairies connaît des températures beaucoup plus chaudes que le Nord. Toutefois, au cours des deux dernières années, les températures et le manque d’humidité ont été comparables dans les régions nord et sud des Prairies. Voilà qui peut expliquer la similitude des valeurs enregistrées dans les trois provinces. En outre, il semble que la teneur globale en acides gras saturés n’a pas été sensible aux températures élevées cette année, contrairement aux années passées.

Au cours des premiers mois de la saison d’expédition de 2012-2013, la teneur moyenne en acide α-linolénique (pour le canola commercialement et non commercialement propre) va de 8,5 % à 10,5 %. Les teneurs moyennes varient de 9,7 % à 9,8 %. Ces valeurs sont inférieures à celle observée l’an dernier (10,1 %). Pour ce qui est de l’indice d’iode, celui de cette année était, jusqu’en novembre 2012, plus faible (de 113,2 à 113,7 unités) que celui de l’an passé (114,0 unités). La teneur en acides gras saturés des exportations de novembre 2012 est très semblable aux moyennes de 2011-2012 (6,6-6,7 % par rapport à 6,8 %). Comme pour l’an passé, la teneur en acide érucique devrait rester aussi faible au cours de la nouvelle saison d’expédition (sous les 0,1 %) puisque les valeurs recueillies lors de l’enquête sur la récolte de 2012 ont été très basses.

Aucun écart important dans la composition en acide gras ne devrait survenir au cours de la saison d’expédition 2012-2013.

Données qualitatives du canola, par grade et par province - Composition en acides gras, teneur totale en gras saturés et indice d'iode de l'huile
  Composition relative en acides gras de l’huile (%) Total, gras saturés3 (%) Indice d’iode4 (Units)
C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3 C22:1
Canola, Canada no 1
Manitoba 1,72 62,79 19,40 9,04 0,00 6,60 112,6
Saskatchewan 1,70 62,01 19,47 9,77 0,03 6,55 114,0
AlbertaFootnote 1 1,76 62,94 18,73 9,50 0,00 6,62 112,8
Western CanadaFootnote 2 1,73 62,50 19,17 9,55 0,01 6,58 113,0
Canola, Canada no 2
Manitoba 1,72 61,75 19,49 9,74 0,00 6,68 113,8
Saskatchewan 1,70 61,34 19,75 9,89 0,00 6,70 114,3
AlbertaFootnote 1 1,70 61,61 19,48 9,98 0,00 6,64 114,2
Ouest canadienFootnote 2 1,70 61,47 19,63 9,90 0,00 6,68 114,2
Canola, Canada no 3
Ouest canadienFootnote 2 1,70 60,76 20,03 10,14 0,00 6,84 114,9
Canola, Échantillon Canada
Ouest canadienFootnote 2 1,69 61,35 20,21 9,47 0,04 6,63 114,0
Figure 11 – Canola, Canada no 1 - Teneur en acide érucique des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2002-2012
Teneur en acide érucique de canola,2002-2012-Graphique décrit au-dessus.
Figure 12 – Canola, Canada no 1 - Teneur en acide α-linolénique des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2002-2012
Teneur en acide α-linolénique de canola,2002-2012-Graphique décrit au-dessus.
Figure 13 – Canola, Canada no 1 - Teneur en acide oléique des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2002-2012
Teneur en acide oléique de canola,2002-2012-Graphique décrit au-dessus.
Figure 14 – Canola, Canada no 1 - Indice d’iode des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2002-2012
Indice d’iode de canola,2002-2012-Graphique décrit au-dessus.
Figure 15 – Canola, Canada no 1 - Total des acides gras saturés des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2002-2012
Total des acides gras saturés de canola,2002-2012-Graphique décrit au-dessus.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Comprend la partie du district de la rivière de la Paix qui se situe en Colombie-Britannique.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Les valeurs sont des moyennes pondérées fondées sur la production par province, selon les estimations de Statistique Canada.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Le total des acides gras saturés est la somme des acides suivants : palmitique (C16:0), stéarique (C18:0), arachidique (C20:0), béhénique (C22:0) et lignocérique (C24:0).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Calculé d’après la composition en acides gras.

Return to footnote 4 referrer