Quality of western Canadian canola 2014

Chlorophyll content

Chlorophyll content averages of producer samples graded Canola, No. 1 Canada were 10, 14 and 14 mg/kg in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, respectively. The overall average for Canola, No. 1 Canada was 13 mg/kg, higher than what was observed for the 2013 harvest (12 mg/kg), but significantly lower than the 17 mg/kg and 16 mg/kg observed in 2012 and 2011, respectively. Individual producer samples of Canola, No. 1 Canada from Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta-Peace River had chlorophyll levels ranging from 4 to 35 mg/kg, 4 to 40 mg/kg and 4 to 46 mg/kg, respectively. The mean chlorophyll content varies greatly from year to year due to environmental conditions. Once again, location had an important effect on chlorophyll levels in the analyzed samples. Crop District 6 from Alberta averaged the highest chlorophyll content for samples graded Canola, No. 1 Canada (18 mg/kg). Saskatchewan Crop District 7 and Alberta Crop District 5 also had chlorophyll content averages higher than 16 mg/kg for samples graded Canola, No. 1 Canada.

Chlorophyll levels for Canola, No. 2 Canada samples averaged 33 mg/kg, much higher than what was observed for the 2013 harvest (27 mg/kg) and similar to the average observed in 2012 (35 mg/kg). Samples graded Canola, No. 3 Canada showed an average chlorophyll content of 68 mg/kg, much higher than the record low observed in 2013 (25 mg/kg) and much higher than the 50 mg/kg observed in 2012.

To be graded Canola, No. 1 Canada, samples must contain no more than 2.00% distinctly green seeds. Distinctly green seed averages were 0.56, 0.55 and 0.68% in Manitoba (0.44% in 2013), Saskatchewan (0.38% in 2013) and Alberta-Peace River (0.51% in 2013) for Canola, No. 1 Canada samples, respectively.

Chlorophyll content of Canadian canola exports is affected by distinctly green seeds and dockage content (no more than 2.5% for commercially clean exports). Dockage averages for Canola, No. 1 Canada was 1.81 and 1.71% for commercially clean cargoes for November and August to November 2014 exports, respectively. Dockage was much higher for for the not-commercially clean exports for August to October 2013 (2.92%). Since August 1st, 2014, the distinctly green seed contents for individual cargoes of Canola, No. 1 Canada ranged from 0.4 to 2.0%. Chlorophyll content averages of Canola, No.1 Canada exports ranged from 9 to 29 mg/kg, with commercially clean exports having a lower chlorophyll content than not commercially clean exports.

Up to now chlorophyll content averages were 23 and 15 mg/kg for exports of Canola, No. 1 Canada in November and in the August-to October period, respectively. This is higher than the average obtained for the 2014 harvest (13 mg/kg), with early exports showing lower chlorophyll contents than later exports (14 in September 2014 versus 23 mg/kg in November 2014). These chlorophyll content variations reflected distinctly green seeds average variations observed between harvest samples (0.59%), exports average (0.85%) and month to month variations (0.47% in August versus 1.56% in November). It is expected that higher distinctly green seeds content will lead to higher chlorophyll content in exports.

It is expected that chlorophyll data for the 2014-15 exports will be higher than chlorophyll data reported for the 2014 harvest. It is also expected that export chlorophyll data will be much higer for the 2014-15 shipping season than results observed during the 2013-14 shipping season. It is likely that a signigicant numbers of Canola, No. 1 Canada exports will have chlorophyll contents higher than 25 mg/kg.

Chlorophyll content – 2014 harvest
Canola quality data by grade and province
  Number of samples Chlorophyll content mg/kg
Mean Minimum Maximum
Canola, No. 1 Canada
Manitoba 335 10 4 35
Saskatchewan 694 14 4 40
AlbertaFootnote 1 559 14 4 46
Western CanadaFootnote 2 1588 13 4 46
Canola, No. 2 Canada
Manitoba 39 37 9 50
Saskatchewan 103 32 5 59
AlbertaFootnote 1 107 32 6 67
Western CanadaFootnote 2 249 33 5 67
Canola, No. 3 Canada
Western CanadaFootnote 2 76 68 8 119
Canola, Sample Canada
Western CanadaFootnote 2 42 45 8 124

Canola, No. 1 Canada - harvest samples, 2000–2014
Chlorophyll content of the seed (mg/Kg,  at 8.5% moisture)

Graph of canola chlorophyll content mean from samples 2000-2014. Details in table below.
Table: Chlorophyll content mean of harvest samples, 2000-2014 - Canola, No. 1 Canada
Chlorophyll content mg/Kg
Year Chlorophyll content mg/Kg
2000 14.4
2001 16.69
2002 13.42
2003 15.0
2004 16.5
2005 13.91
2006 13.71
2007 14.57
2008 11.03
2009 15.38
2010 12.75
2011 15.88
2012 17.43
2013 11.99
2014 13.3

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes part of the Peace River area that is in British Columbia

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Values are weighted averages based on production by province as estimated by Statistics Canada

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Qualité du canola de l'Ouest canadien 2014

Teneur en chlorophylle

La teneur en chlorophylle des échantillons de Canola, Canada no 1 soumis par les producteurs se situait à 10 mg/kg, 14 mg/kg et 14 mg/kg au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta, respectivement. La moyenne globale pour le Canola, Canada no 1 atteint 13 mg/kg, ce qui est plus élevé que la valeur observée en 2013 (12 mg/kg), mais considérablement plus bas que les valeurs de 17 mg/kg et 16 mg/kg constatées en 2012 et 2011, respectivement. Les échantillons individuels de Canola, Canada no 1 soumis par les producteurs variaient de 4 mg/kg à 35 mg/kg (Manitoba), de 4 mg/kg à 40 mg/kg (Saskatchewan), et de 4 mg/kg à 46 mg/kg (Alberta-rivière de la Paix). La teneur moyenne en chlorophylle varie considérablement d'une année à l'autre en raison des conditions environnementales. Encore une fois, l'emplacement a une forte incidence sur la teneur en chlorophylle des échantillons analysés. La teneur moyenne en chlorophylle des échantillons du district agricole 6 de l'Alberta classés Canola, Canada no 1 (18 mg/kg) était la plus élevée. Le district agricole 7 de la Saskatchewan et le district agricole 5 de l'Alberta ont également enregistré des teneurs moyennes en chlorophylle plus élevées que celles de 16 mg/kg observées pour les échantillons classés Canola, Canada no 1.

Les teneurs en chlorophylle des échantillons de Canola, Canada no 2, se situaient en moyenne à 33 mg/kg, soit une valeur beaucoup plus élevée que celle qui a été observée pour la récolte de 2013 (27 mg/kg) et semblable à la moyenne enregistrée en 2012 (35 mg/kg). Les échantillons classés Canola, Canada no 3 affichaient une teneur en chlorophylle moyenne de 68 mg/kg, beaucoup plus élevée que le niveau bas record observé en 2013 (25 mg/kg) et que la teneur de 50 mg/kg enregistrée en 2012.

Pour obtenir le grade Canola, Canada no 1, les échantillons de canola doivent contenir au maximum 2,00 % de graines nettement vertes. La teneur moyenne en graines nettement vertes s'élève à 0,56 %, 0,55 % et 0,68 % au Manitoba (0,44 % en 2013), en Saskatchewan (0,38 % en 2013) et en Alberta-rivière de la Paix (0,51 % en 2013) pour les échantillons de Canola, Canada no 1, respectivement.

La teneur en chlorophylle des exportations canadiennes de canola est influencée par le pourcentage de graines nettement vertes qu'elles contiennent, ainsi que par le taux d'impuretés (pas plus de 2,5 % pour les exportations commercialement propres). Le taux moyen d'impuretés du Canola, Canada no 1 était de 1,81 %, et de 1,71 % pour les exportations de novembre et d'août à novembre 2014, respectivement. Le taux moyen d'impuretés était beaucoup plus élevé pour les exportations non commercialement propres d'août à octobre 2013 (2,92 %). Depuis le 1er août 2014, la teneur en graines nettement vertes des cargaisons individuelles de Canola, Canada no 1, variait de 0,4 % à 2,0 %. Les teneurs moyennes en chlorophylle des exportations de Canola, Canada no 1 variaient de 9 mg/kg à 29 mg/kg, les exportations commercialement propres ayant une teneur en chlorophylle inférieure à celle des exportations non commercialement propres.

Jusqu'à présent, les teneurs moyennes en chlorophylle se situent à 23 mg/kg et 15 mg/kg pour les exportations de Canola, Canada no 1 en novembre et pour la période d'août à octobre, respectivement. Il s'agit de pourcentages plus élevés que la moyenne observée pour 2014 (13 mg/kg), les premières exportations affichant des teneurs en chlorophylle inférieures à celles des exportations subséquentes (14 mg/kg en septembre 2014 par opposition à 23 mg/kg en novembre 2014). Ces variations des teneurs en chlorophylle correspondent aux variations des moyennes des teneurs en graines nettement vertes observées en comparant les échantillons de récolte (0,59 %), la moyenne enregistrée pour les exportations (0,85 %) et les variations d'un mois à l'autre (0,47 % en août par comparaison à 1,56 % en novembre). On prévoit que la teneur plus élevée en graines nettement vertes mènera à une teneur en chlorophylle des exportations plus élevée.

Il est prévu que les données sur la teneur en chlorophylle des exportations de 2014-2015 seront plus élevées que les données sur la teneur en chlorophylle déclarées pour la récolte de 2014. On s'attend également à ce que les données sur la teneur en chlorophylle des exportations soit beaucoup plus élevée pour la saison d'expédition de 2014-2015 que les résultats observés au cours de la saison d'expédition de 2013-2014. Il est probable que des nombres importants d'exportations de Canola, Canada no 1 auront des teneurs en chlorophylle plus élevées que 25 mg/kg.

Teneur en chlorophylle - Données qualitatives du canola, par grade et par province – Enquête sur la récolte de 2014
  Nombre d'échantillons Teneur en chlorophylle, mg/kg
moyenne minimum maximum
Canola, Canada no 1
Manitoba 335 10 4 35
Saskatchewan 694 14 4 40
AlbertaNote de bas de page 1 559 14 4 46
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page 2 1588 13 4 46
Canola, Canada no 2
Manitoba 39 37 9 50
Saskatchewan 103 32 5 59
AlbertaNote de bas de page 1 107 32 6 67
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page 2 249 33 5 67
Canola, Canada no 3
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page 2 76 68 8 119
Canola, Échantillon Canada
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page 2 42 45 8 124

Canola, Canada no 1 - Teneur en chlorophylle de la graine des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2000-2014

Graphique du teneur en chlorophylle du Canola des échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte, 2000-2014. Détails ci-dessous.
Tableau : Canola, Canada no 1 - Teneur moyenne en chlorophylle des échantillons de récolte, 2000-2014
Teneur en chlorophylle (mg/kg)
Année Teneur en chlorophylle (mg/kg)
2000 14,4
2001 16,69
2002 13,42
2003 15,0
2004 16,5
2005 13,91
2006 13,71
2007 14,57
2008 11,03
2009 15,38
2010 12,75
2011 15,88
2012 17,43
2013 11,99
2014 13,3

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Comprend la partie du district de la rivière de la Paix qui se situe en Colombie-Britannique.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les valeurs sont des moyennes pondérées fondées sur la production par province, selon les estimations de Statistique Canada.

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 2