Quality of western Canadian canola 2016 - Chlorophyll content

Chlorophyll content

Chlorophyll content averages of producer samples graded Canola, No. 1 Canada were 10, 11 and 13 milligrams/kilogram in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta-British Columbia, respectively (Table 3).  The overall average for Canola, No. 1 Canada was 11 milligrams/kilogram, similar to what was observed for the 2015 harvest (12 milligrams/kilogram) (Figure 9).  This is slightly lower than the calculated 5 year average (14 milligrams/kilogram).  Individual producer samples of Canola, No. 1 Canada from Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta-British Columbia had chlorophyll levels ranging from 4 to 27 milligrams/kilogram, 4 to 38 milligrams/kilogram and 4 to 41 milligrams/kilogram, respectively.  The mean chlorophyll content varies greatly from year to year (Figure 9) due to environmental conditions. Once again, location had an important effect on chlorophyll levels in the analyzed samples.  

Chlorophyll levels for Canola, No. 2 Canada samples averaged 23 milligrams/kilogram, much lower than what was observed for the 2015 harvest (31 milligrams/kilogram).  Samples graded Canola, No. 3 Canada showed an average chlorophyll content of 15 milligrams/kilogram, lower than what was observed in 2015 (45 milligrams/kilogram), confirming that the down grading from Canola, No. 2 Canada to Canola, No. 3 Canada was not due to seed immaturity.

Figure 9 Canola, No. 1 Canada - harvest samples, 2000 to 2016 - Chlorophyll content of the seed (milligrams/kilogram, as is moisture content)

Chlorophyll content of the seed.Details below

  • Details
    Chlorophyll content of the seed (milligrams/kilogram, as is moisture content), 2000 to 2016
    Year Chlorophyll content of the seed
    (milligrams/kilogram, as is moisture content)
    2016 Data
    2015 12.0
    2014 13.3
    2013 12.0
    2012 17.4
    2011 15.9
    2010 12.8
    2009 15.4
    2008 11.0
    2007 14.6
    2006 13.7
    2005 13.9
    2004 16.5
    2003 15.0
    2002 13.4
    2001 16.7
    2000 14.4

To be graded Canola, No. 1 Canada, samples must contain no more than 2.00% distinctly green seeds. Distinctly green seed averages were 0.57, 0.37 and 0.60% in Manitoba (0.56% in 2015), Saskatchewan (0.45% in 2015) and Alberta-British Columbia (0.57% in 2015) for Canola, No. 1 Canada samples, respectively. 

The chlorophyll content of Canadian canola exports is affected by distinctly green seeds and dockage content (no more than 2.5% for commercially clean exports).  Dockage averages for Canola, No. 1 Canada was 1.77 and 1.79% for commercially clean cargoes for December and August to December 2016 exports, respectively, whereas the dockage average for the non-commercially clean August to December 2016 exports was 2.72%.  Since August 1st, 2015, the distinctly green seed contents for individual cargoes of Canola, No. 1 Canada ranged from 0.2 to 0.8% and the chlorophyll content averages ranged from 10 to 17 milligrams/kilogram.  These chlorophyll content variations reflected the distinctly green seed variations within the exports (0.2 to 0.8%) and between harvest distinctly green averages (0.47%) and export distinctly green averages (0.43 to 0.5%); the higher distinctly green seeds content and the higher chlorophyll content in exports (Table 6).

It is expected that chlorophyll data for the 2016 to 2017 exports might be lower than chlorophyll average reported for the 2015 to 2016 shipping season. 

Table 3 Chlorophyll content - 2016 harvest - Canola quality data by grade and province
Number of samples Chlorophyll content, milligrams/kilogram
Mean Minimum Maximum
Canola, No. 1 Canada
Manitoba 417 10 4 27
Saskatchewan 806 11 4 38
Alberta-British ColumbiaFootnote1 604 13 4 41
Western CanadaFootnote2 1827 11 4 41
Canola, No. 2 Canada
Manitoba 12 18 8 33
Saskatchewan 15 22 10 54
Alberta-British ColumbiaFootnote1 24 25 5 49
Western CanadaFootnote2 51 23 5 54
Canola, No. 3 Canada
Western CanadaFootnote2 11 15 6 45
Canola, Sample Canada
Western CanadaFootnote2 26 17 4 51
Date modified:

Qualité du canola de l’Ouest canadien en 2016 - Teneur en chlorophylle

Teneur en chlorophylle

Les teneurs moyennes en chlorophylle des échantillons de canola Canada no 1 fournis par les producteurs du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de la région Alberta-Colombie-Britannique sont respectivement de 10 milligrammes/kilogramme, de 11 milligrammes/kilogramme et de 13 milligrammes/kilogramme. La teneur moyenne des échantillons globaux s'établit à 11 milligrammes/kilogramme, donnée semblable à celle de 2015 (12 milligrammes/kilogramme) (figure 9), mais légèrement inférieure à celle de la moyenne quinquennale calculée (14 milligrammes/kilogramme). Les teneurs en chlorophylle des échantillons individuels de canola Canada no 1 reçus des producteurs varient de 4 à 27 milligrammes/kilogramme au Manitoba, de 4 à 38 milligrammes/kilogramme en Saskatchewan et de 4 à 41 milligrammes/kilogramme dans la région Alberta-Colombie-Britannique. La teneur moyenne en chlorophylle est une donnée qui varie beaucoup d’une année à l'autre (figure 9) selon les conditions ambiantes. Encore une fois, le lieu géographique a influé fortement sur la teneur en chlorophylle des échantillons analysés.

La teneur moyenne en chlorophylle des échantillons de canola Canada no 2 de 2016 est de 23 milligrammes/kilogramme, résultat très inférieur à celui de 2015 (31 milligrammes/kilogramme), et celle du canola Canada no 3 s'établit à 15 milligrammes/kilogramme, valeur inférieure à celle de 2015 (45 milligrammes/kilogramme). Ces résultats viennent confirmer que le déclassement du canola du grade Canada no 2 au grade Canada no 3 n'est pas attribuable aux graines de canola immatures.

Figure 9 Canola, Canada no 1 - Teneur en chlorophylle de la graine des échantillons de récolte, de 2000 à 2016 (milligrammes/kilogramme, taux d'humidité tel quel)

Teneur en chlorophylle de la graine.Détails ci-dessous

  • Détails
    Teneur en chlorophylle de la graine des échantillons de récolte, de 2000 à 2016 (milligrammes/kilogramme, taux d'humidité tel quel)
    Année Teneur en chlorophylle de la graine (milligrammes/kilogramme, taux d'humidité tel quel)
    2016 Données
    2015 12,0
    2014 13,3
    2013 12,0
    2012 17,4
    2011 15,9
    2010 12,8
    2009 15,4
    2008 11,0
    2007 14,6
    2006 13,7
    2005 13,9
    2004 16,5
    2003 15,0
    2002 13,4
    2001 16,7
    2000 14,4

Selon les normes de classement du grade canola Canada no 1, les échantillons contiennent au plus 2,00 % de graines nettement vertes (DGR). En 2016, le taux moyen de graines nettement vertes dans les échantillons de canola Canada no 1 s'élève respectivement à 0,57 %, à 0,37 % et à 0,60 % au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et dans la région Alberta-Colombie-Britannique, contre 0,56 %, 0,45 % et 0,57 % en 2015.

La teneur en chlorophylle des exportations canadiennes de canola est influencée par le taux de graines nettement vertes et le taux d'impuretés (lequel ne doit pas excéder 2,5 % dans les exportations commercialement propres). Le taux moyen d'impuretés du canola Canada no 1 s'établissait respectivement à 1,77 % et à 1,79 % dans les cargaisons commercialement propres de canola en décembre 2016 et sur la période d'août à décembre 2016, tandis que celui dans les cargaisons non commercialement propres était de 2,72 % sur la période d'août à décembre 2016. Depuis le 1er août 2015, la teneur en graines nettement vertes dans les cargaisons individuelles de canola Canada no 1 varie de 0,2 % à 0,8 % tandis que la teneur moyenne en chlorophylle varie de 10 à 17 milligrammes/kilogramme. Les variations de la teneur en chlorophylle témoignent des variations du taux de graines nettement vertes dans les exportations (0,2 % à 0,8 %) et des écarts de taux moyens de graines nettement vertes dans les échantillons de récolte (0,47 %) et les exportations (de 0,43 à 0,5 %). Plus le taux de graines nettement vertes est élevé dans les exportations, plus la teneur en chlorophylle de ces dernières sera élevée.

Il se pourrait que les teneurs moyennes en chlorophylle des exportations de la saison 2016-2017 soient inférieures à celles de la saison d'expédition 2015-2016.

 

Programme d’échantillons de récolte 2016 – Données sur la qualité du canola, par grade et par province – Teneur en chlorophylle
Nombre d’échantillons Teneur en chlorophylle (milligrammes/kilogramme)
Moyenne Minimum Maximum
Canada no 1
Manitoba 417 10 4 27
Saskatchewan 806 11 4 38
AlbertaNote de bas de page1 604 13 4 41
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page2 1827 11 4 41
Canada no 2
Manitoba 12 18 8 33
Saskatchewan 15 22 10 54
Alberta-Colombie-BritanniqueNote de bas de page1 24 25 5 49
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page2 51 23 5 54
Canada no 3
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page2 11 15 6 45
Canola, Échantillon Canada
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page2 26 17 4 51
Date de modification :