Audit of Contracting

1.0 Executive summary

1.1 From October to December, 2014, Audit and Evaluation Services conducted a core control audit (an audit of certain common management controls identified by the Office of the Comptroller General) on the Policy on Contracting. All Canadian Grain Commission purchasing is centralized at headquarters in Winnipeg, with the Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management team in the Finance and Administration division managing most purchases. Certain contracts (construction, leases) are managed by the Facilities unit, which is also within Finance and Administration.

1.2 The objective of the audit was to ensure the current procurement process at the Canadian Grain Commission is in compliance with the Policy on Contracting, the Financial Administration Act, and other related instruments, as well as to assess the quality of controls that help to ensure compliance. Audit and Evaluation Services analyzed recent contract and lease files and conducted various interviews to determine if the criteria established by the Office of the Comptroller General (Appendix A) was met.

Conclusion

1.3 The Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management team executes a large number of contracts and other contract instruments (ex. purchase orders, call-up of standing offer). The team is knowledgeable and guides Canadian Grain Commission management in making good procurement decisions. Procurement strategies for contracts reviewed during the audit were sound and resulted in vendors being selected in a fair and transparent manner. To further enhance controls, Audit and Evaluation Services identified opportunities for improvement related to documentation and file management.

1.4 Audit and Evaluation Services also identified opportunities to improve both file and project management related to lease files included in the contract sample. The Facilities group has already implemented these recommendations to keep better records of lease-related decisions.

1.5 Although this was primarily a compliance audit, Audit and Evaluation Services made additional observations while executing the audit steps. Two of these observations resulted in recommendations that were identified as being “high impact,” as follows:

  • Budget managers should be responsible for authorizing payments (section 34) rather than Procurement staff (ref. 3.9); and
  • Management should seek guidance on Canadian Grain Commission’s signing authority related to leases (ref. 3.13).

1.6 Management has provided action plans for each recommendation. Management has, however, decided to rely on mitigating controls and accept the residual risk of not fully implementing two of the recommendations made in this report (Ref: 3.9, 3.27). Audit and Evaluation Services encourages management to continue to monitor these areas to ensure sufficient controls remain in place.

Statement of Assurance

1.7 In the professional judgment of the Chief Audit Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence gathered to support the accuracy of the opinion provided and contained in this report. The opinion is based on a comparison of the conditions as they existed at the time, as described in the audit scope, against pre-established audit criteria. The opinion is applicable only to the entity examined. This audit engagement was planned and conducted to be in accordance with the Internal Auditing Standards for the Government of Canada.

Summary of recommendations and management action plans

1.8 The following is a summary of recommendations contained in this report with management’s action plans to address the topics identified. Please see Appendix B for a description of the recommendation impact (high, medium, low).

Summary of recommendations and management action plans
High Impact
Reference Recommendations Management action plans
3.9 We recommend that Financial Administration Act Section 34 authorization for payment for all purchases be obtained from the responsible budget manager, rather than Procurement. Management disagrees with this recommendation and Procurement will remain the Section 34 authorization for purchases as there are compensating controls that exist to minimize risk to the organization. The budget manager signs off on the purchase requisition and Procurement only signs off on Section 34 if the invoice amount has a variance that is either less than 10% or less than $1,000 higher than the signed purchase requisition. If the variance is beyond this threshold, the budget manager signs off on the invoice. This is monitored by both Procurement staff and Accounting Operations. The compensating controls are documented in our blanket signing authority document.
The Manager of Accounting Operations will email both Procurement and Accounting Operations staff to remind them of these requirements and will identify issues of non-compliance. Status: To be implemented by August 31, 2015.
3.13 We recommend that Management consult with central agencies (Treasury Board Secretariat, Public Works and Government Services Canada) and  the Canadian Grain Commission’s legal counsel if necessary, to assess  the Canadian Grain Commission’s signing authority for future lease situations and determine if further actions or disclosures are required in respect of a recent lease Management agrees with this recommendation and has received clarification from Public Works and Government Services Canada on our leasing authorities. There are no further disclosures required for the recent lease.
Status: Complete.
Summary of recommendations and management action plans
Medium Impact
Reference Recommendations Management action plans
3.5 Although the contracts sampled were in compliance with the Contracting Policy for the strategies chosen, the control required to show compliance was not complete. Having appropriate justification documents provides proof that the Canadian Grain Commission’s decisions were sound and the best procurement strategy was chosen. We recommend that all of the following documents and notes, as applicable, be kept on file (either in the contract file or with the purchase order) for support and future reference:
  • Sole source justification;
  • Justification for not using a mandatory standing offer;
  • A note stating that the contract is fulfilling a Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business or Green Procurement requirement.
Management agrees with this recommendation and the Manager of Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management will ensure that the procedure will be enhanced to amend the Purchase Requisition to include: (Check offs for Y/N or N/A)
  • Standing Offer
  • Competitive
  • Sole source
  • Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Businesses
  • Green Procurement
Sole source justifications will be included for goods exceeding $10,000 and professional services exceeding $5,000.
Status: To be implemented by November 30, 2015.
3.10 If Management elects to continue delegating Section 34 signing authority to Procurement (item 3.9), we recommend that the restriction on signing both the “formal” contract and the Section 34 authorization be enforced and monitored by Accounting Operations. Management agrees with this recommendation and the Manager of Accounting Operations will enforce that there should be different individuals signing the formal contract and the Section 34 authorizations and identify issues of non-compliance. The current Blanket Authority has been amended to clarify the signing requirement with respect to service contracts and will be monitored as part of the transaction processing function in Accounting Operations, and additionally as part of the S. 33 review.
Status: Complete
3.17 We recommend that the Facilities group retains the necessary documentation to support all actions related to leasing arrangements and construction contracts that are not managed by Public Works and Government Services Canada. Management agrees with this recommendation and the Manager of Accounting Operations will enforce that there should be different individuals signing the formal contract and the Section 34 authorizations and identify issues of non-compliance. The current Blanket Authority has been amended to clarify the signing requirement with respect to service contracts and will be monitored as part of the transaction processing function in Accounting Operations, and additionally as part of the S. 33 review.
Status: Complete
3.27 In order to ensure compliance with proactive disclosure requirements, we recommend that until such time as the Canadian Grain Commission’s financial system can facilitate reporting of contracts, Procurement implements a control procedure to ensure all contracts and amendments are tracked, regardless of value. Contracts that do not require disclosure because of exceptions to the Contracting Policy should be indicated as such on the tracking. Management agrees with this recommendation; however we have accepted certain risks in the interim as the Canadian Grain Commission is in the process of implementing a new financial system effective April 2016 and we assume that there will be enhanced controls in the system to facilitate automated proactive disclosure reporting.
The Manager of Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management will ensure that proactive disclosure reporting requirements are defined and implemented in the new system for automated reporting.
Status: To be implemented by June 30, 2016.
In the interim the Manager of Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management will ensure that Procurement will continue to track contracts more than $10,000 on a manual spreadsheet. The senior procurement officers will review the quarterly reports for completion. The Manager of Procurement, Contracting, and Materiel Management will reconcile the report to the Procurement Review Board’s minutes and approve and sign off on the proactive disclosure reports before posting.
Status: To be implemented by October 31, 2015.
Summary of recommendations and management action plans
Low Impact
Reference Recommendations Management action plans
3.18 We recommend that the Facilities group, along with the Project Management Office, ensures that Canadian Grain Commission project management procedures are followed for all facilities projects, including updated project documents and records related to projects. Management agrees with this recommendation and the Manager of Administration will ensure that the Facilities group, along with the Project Management group follow Canadian Grain Commission project management procedures for all facilities projects, including updated project documents and records related to projects.
Status: Complete.
3.22 We recommend that the Procurement and Accounting Operations units of Finance have one central file for contracts. This would prevent missing files, eliminate duplicates, and encourage the units to determine a tracking system that works for both of their reference numbers. Management agrees with this recommendation and the Manager of Accounting Operations will ensure that the Accounting Operations unit maintain central contract files with complete documentation and invoices.
Status: To be implemented by December 31, 2015.
3.28 We recommend that Procurement proactively disclose any omitted contracts at the earliest opportunity. Management agrees with this recommendation and the Manager of Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management will report missing contracts identified in this report and audit.
Status: To be implemented by October 31, 2015.

Audit des marchés

1.0 Sommaire

1.1 D’octobre à décembre 2014, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont procédé à un audit des contrôles de base (un audit de certains contrôles de gestion fréquents établis par le Bureau du contrôleur général) fondé sur la Politique sur les marchés. Tous les achats de la Commission canadienne des grains sont centralisés au siège, à Winnipeg, et l’équipe des Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel de la Division des finances et de l’administration gère la plupart des achats. Certains marchés (construction, baux) sont gérés par l’unité des Installations, qui fait également partie des Finances et de l’Administration.

1.2 L’audit visait à s’assurer que le processus d’approvisionnement actuel de la Commission canadienne des grains est conforme à la Politique sur les marchés, à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et à d’autres instruments connexes ainsi qu’à évaluer la qualité des contrôles qui aident à veiller à la conformité. Les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont analysé des dossiers récents de marchés et de baux et ont mené diverses entrevues afin de déterminer si les critères établis par le Bureau du contrôleur général (annexe A) ont été respectés.

Conclusion

1.3 L’équipe des Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel exécute un grand nombre de marchés et d’autres instruments contractuels (p. ex. des bons de commande, des commandes subséquentes à des offres à commandes). L’équipe est bien informée et guide la direction de la Commission canadienne des grains afin qu’elle prenne de bonnes décisions en matière d’approvisionnement. Les stratégies d’approvisionnement relatives aux marchés examinés durant l’audit étaient saines et ont entraîné une sélection équitable et transparente des fournisseurs. Afin d’améliorer davantage les contrôles, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont cerné des possibilités d’amélioration relativement à la documentation et à la gestion des dossiers.

1.4 Les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont également déterminé qu’il était possible d’améliorer la gestion des dossiers et des projets relativement aux dossiers de baux inclus dans l’échantillon de marchés. Le groupe des Installations a déjà mis en œuvre ces recommandations afin de tenir de meilleurs dossiers sur les décisions relatives aux baux.

1.5 Même s’il s’agissait principalement d’un audit de la conformité, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont formulé des observations supplémentaires pendant l’exécution des étapes de l’audit. Deux de ces observations se sont soldées par des recommandations qui ont été désignées comme ayant une « incidence élevée »; il s’agit des suivantes :

  • Les gestionnaires de budget devraient être responsables de l’autorisation des paiements (article 34) au lieu du personnel des Approvisionnements (renvoi 3.9);
  • La direction devrait conseil en ce qui a trait au pouvoir de signature de la Commission canadienne des grains relativement aux baux (renvoi 3.13).

1.6 La direction a fourni les plans d’action liés à chaque recommandation. Toutefois, elle a décidé de compter sur des contrôles d’atténuation et d’accepter le risque résiduel lié à la mise en œuvre incomplète de deux des recommandations formulées dans le présent rapport (renvois 3.9 et 3.27). Les Services d’audit et d’évaluation encouragent la direction à continuer de surveiller ces aspects afin que des contrôles suffisants soient en place.

Énoncé d’assurance

1.7 Selon le jugement professionnel du dirigeant principal de l’audit, des procédures d'audit suffisantes et appropriées ont été suivies et des données ont été recueillies pour appuyer l’exactitude des conclusions du présent rapport. Ces conclusions sont fondées sur une comparaison des conditions telles qu'elles existaient à l'époque, comme il est décrit dans la portée de l'audit, avec les critères d'audit préétablis. Elles ne s'appliquent qu’à l'entité auditée. L'audit a été planifié et effectué conformément aux Normes relatives à la vérification interne au sein du gouvernement du Canada.

Résumé des recommandations et plans d’action de la direction

1.8 Le tableau suivant résume les recommandations contenues dans le présent rapport, ainsi que les plans d’action qu'entend suivre la direction pour aborder les questions soulevées. Voir l’annexe B pour obtenir une description de l’incidence des recommandations (élevée, moyenne, faible).

Résumé des recommandations et plans d’action de la direction
Incidence élevée
Renvoi au rapport Recommandations Plans d’action de la direction
3.9 Nous recommandons que l’autorisation de paiement au titre de l’article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques soit obtenue du gestionnaire de budget responsable plutôt que du responsable des Approvisionnements pour tous les achats. La direction n’est pas d’accord avec cette recommandation, et l’équipe des Approvisionnements continuera d’accorder les autorisations au titre de l’article 34 pour les achats, puisqu’il existe des contrôles compensatoires qui réduisent le risque pour l’organisation. Le gestionnaire de budget approuve les demandes d’achat, et l’équipe des Approvisionnements ne donne son approbation au titre de l’article 34 que si le montant de la facture est inférieur de 10 % ou s’il est supérieur de moins de 1 000 $ à celui de la demande d’achat approuvée. Si l’écart dépasse ce seuil, le gestionnaire de budget approuve la facture. Cette approbation est surveillée par les membres des équipes d’Approvisionnements et des Opérations comptables. Les contrôles compensatoires sont documentés dans notre document-cadre sur le pouvoir de signature.
Le gestionnaire des Opérations comptables enverra membres des équipes d’Approvisionnements et des Opérations comptables un courriel pour leur rappeler ces exigences et recensera les problèmes de non-conformité.
Statut : à mettre en œuvre d’ici le 31 août 2015.
3.13 Nous recommandons que la direction consulte les organismes centraux (Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada) et le conseiller juridique de la Commission canadienne des grains, au besoin, afin d’évaluer le pouvoir de signature de la Commission relativement aux situations de loyer à venir et de déterminer si d’autres mesures ou divulgations sont requises à l’égard d’un bail récent. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation et a reçu de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada des clarifications concernant nos pouvoirs relatifs aux baux. Aucune autre divulgation n’est requise à l’égard du récent bail.
Statut : achevé.
Résumé des recommandations et plans d’action de la direction
Incidence moyenne
Renvoi au rapport Recommandations Plans d’action de la direction
3.5 Même si l’échantillon de marchés examinés était conforme à la Politique sur les marchés relativement aux stratégies choisies, le contrôle requis pour faire la preuve de la conformité était incomplet. La tenue de documents de justification appropriés permet de prouver que les décisions de la Commission canadienne des grains étaient saines et que la meilleure stratégie d’approvisionnement a été choisie. Nous recommandons que tous les documents et les notes qui suivent, s’il y a lieu, soient conservés dans les dossiers (dans le dossier du marché ou avec le bon de commande) à des fins d’appui et de consultation ultérieure :
  • justification du fournisseur unique;
  • justification de la non-utilisation d’une offre à commandes obligatoire;
  • note selon laquelle le marché vise à satisfaire une exigence relative à la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones ou à l’approvisionnement écologique. Sole source justification;
La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation, et le gestionnaire d’Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel veillera à ce que la procédure soit améliorée de manière à modifier la demande d’achat afin qu’elle comprenne ce qui suit : (cases à cocher pour O/N ou S.O.)
  • Offre à commandes
  • Processus concurrentiel
  • Fournisseur unique
  • Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones
  • Approvisionnement écologique
Les justifications du choix d’un fournisseur unique seront incluses dans le cas des biens dont la valeur dépasse 10 000 $ et des services professionnels dont le prix dépasse 5 000 $.
Statut : à mettre en œuvre d’ici le 30 novembre 2015
3.10 Si la direction choisit de continuer à déléguer à l’équipe des Approvisionnements son pouvoir de signature au titre de l’article 34 (point 3.9), nous recommandons que la restriction à l’égard de la signature des marchés « officiel » et de l’autorisation au titre de l’article 34 soit appliquée et surveillée par l’équipe des Opérations comptables. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation, et le gestionnaire des Opérations comptables insistera sur le fait que des personnes différentes devraient signer les marchés officiels et accorder les autorisations au titre de l’article 34 et repérer les problèmes de non-conformité. L’autorisation générale actuelle a été modifiée de manière à clarifier les exigences en matière de signature relativement aux contrats de service et fera l’objet d’une surveillance dans le cadre de la fonction de traitement des transactions aux Opérations comptables ainsi que dans le cadre de l’examen des autorisations en vertu de l’article 33.
Statut : achevé.
3.17 Nous recommandons que le groupe des Installations conserve les documents nécessaires pour appuyer toutes les mesures relatives aux baux et aux contrats de construction qui ne sont pas gérés par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation, et le gestionnaire de l’Administration s’assurera que le groupe des Installations conserve tous les documents nécessaires relativement aux baux dans les dossiers.
Statut : achevé.
3.27 Afin d’assurer la conformité avec les exigences en matière de divulgation proactive, nous recommandons, jusqu’à ce que le système financier de la Commission canadienne des grains puisse faciliter l’établissement de rapports sur les marchés, que l’équipe des Approvisionnements mette en œuvre une procédure de contrôle permettant de veiller à ce que les contrats et les modifications fassent l’objet d’un suivi, quelle que soit la valeur du contrat. Les marchés qui ne requièrent pas de divulgation en raison d’exceptions à la Politique sur les marchés devraient être désignés comme tels dans le logiciel de suivi. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation; toutefois, dans l’intervalle, nous avons accepté certains risques, car la Commission canadienne des grains est en train de mettre en œuvre un nouveau système financier qui entrera en fonction en avril 2016. Nous présumons que ce système contiendra des contrôles améliorés qui faciliteront la production automatisée de rapports sur la divulgation proactive.
Le gestionnaire d’Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel s’assurera que les exigences en matière d’établissement de rapports sur la divulgation proactive sont définies et mises en œuvre dans le nouveau système aux fins de la production automatisée des rapports.
Statut : à mettre en œuvre d’ici le 30 juin 2016.
Dans l’intervalle, le gestionnaire d’Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel veillera à ce que les membres de son équipe continuent de faire le suivi des marchés de plus de 10 000 $ sur une feuille de calcul manuelle. Les agents principaux des approvisionnements examineront les rapports trimestriels pour s’assurer qu’ils sont complets. Le gestionnaire d’Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel rapprochera les rapports et les procès-verbaux des réunions du Comité d’examen des acquisitions et approuvera et signera les rapports sur la divulgation proactive avant leur affichage.
Statut : à mettre en œuvre d’ici le 31 octobre 2015.
Résumé des recommandations et plans d’action de la direction
Incidence faible
Renvoi au rapport Recommandations Plans d’action de la direction
3.18 Nous recommandons que le groupe des Installations et le bureau de la gestion de projet veillent à ce que les procédures de gestion de projet de la Commission canadienne des grains soient respectées dans le cas de tous les projets liés aux installations, y compris la mise à jour des documents de projets et des dossiers relatifs aux projets. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation, et le gestionnaire de l’Administration s’assurera que le groupe des Installations et le groupe de la Gestion de projet suivent les procédures de gestion de projet de la Commission canadienne des grains dans le cas des projets liés aux installations, y compris la mise à jour des documents de projets et des dossiers relatifs aux projets.
Statut : achevé.
3.22 Nous recommandons que les équipes des Approvisionnements et des Opérations comptables des Finances tiennent un dossier central pour les marchés. Ce dossier préviendrait les dossiers manquants, éliminerait les chevauchements et encouragerait les unités à établir un système de suivi qui fonctionne pour les deux numéros de renvoi. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation, et le gestionnaire des Opérations comptables s’assurera que son unité tient un dossier central pour les marchés contenant tous les documents et toutes les factures.
Statut : à mettre en œuvre d’ici le 31 décembre 2015.
3.28 Nous recommandons que l’équipe des Approvisionnements effectue la divulgation proactive de tout marché omis à la première occasion. La direction est d’accord avec cette recommandation, et le gestionnaire d’Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel signalera les marchés manquants recensés dans le présent rapport d’audit.
Statut : à mettre en œuvre d’ici le 31 octobre 2015.