Audit of Contracting

2.0 Introduction

Authority for Audit

2.1 The mission of the Internal Audit function of Audit and Evaluation Services is to provide independent and objective assurance services designed to add value and improve the Canadian Grain Commission’s operations. Internal Audit helps the Canadian Grain Commission accomplish its objectives by bringing a systematic, disciplined approach to assess and improve the effectiveness of risk management, control and governance processes.

2.2 The 2014-2017 Risk-Based Audit Plan approved by the Chief Commissioner in May, 2014 included “core control audits” to be performed at times over the three-year period. The Office of the Comptroller General at the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat has published audit criteria for several core management controls that are common across the government, one of these being the Contracting Policy. This audit provided the opportunity to assess the purchase contract processes and ensure that they are in conformance with the Contracting Policy, the Financial Administration Act, and other related instruments.

Background

2.3 The purchasing for the Canadian Grain Commission is centralized in head office in Winnipeg. The Procurement, Contracting and Materiel Management unit within the Finance and Administration division is responsible for all asset management in addition to managing all purchasing of goods and services for the Canadian Grain Commission. It is also responsible for providing support and advice to internal clients relating to procurement.

2.4 Within the Administration unit of the Finance and Administration division, the Facilities Management Officer is responsible for managing construction contracts and leases for all of the locations the Canadian Grain Commission occupies.

2.5 Public Works and Government Services Canada provides its services to federal departments and agencies, including the Canadian Grain Commission. Public Works and Government Services Canada provides procurement services such as issuing standing offers and supply arrangements as well as acting as the central purchasing agency when goods or services exceed a department’s threshold. Public Works and Government Services Canada’s Real Property Branch offers its vast portfolio of real estate expertise to the government and clients. The majority the Canadian Grain Commission’s large contracts, leases, and construction projects are executed by Public Works and Government Services Canada, with input from the Canadian Grain Commission.

Audit Objectives

2.6 The objective of the audit was to assess compliance with the applicable Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s policies as outlined in the Office of the Comptroller General’s Core Controls Audit Criteria (Appendix A). The areas that were assessed for each contract (as applicable) included:

  • Non-competitive procurement
  • Procurement strategy
  • Competitive procurement
  • Expenditure initiation
  • Contract management
  • Account verification
  • Contract payment
  • Proactive disclosure
  • Payable at year end.

2.7 Audit and Evaluation Services also assessed the quality of controls related to the compliance areas listed in the audit criteria. Effective controls can help ensure continued compliance with the various policies and related instruments.

Audit Scope

2.8 The scope of the audit included review and assessment of purchase contracts made by the Canadian Grain Commission for goods, services, and leases for compliance to various policies. Construction contracts were also in scope for this audit; however, the Canadian Grain Commission did not enter into any construction contracts within the audit time period.

2.9 A sample of contracts was selected from the period of July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014, inclusive. Two contracts from the first quarter of 2013-14 (April – June 2013) were also included in the sample because they were listed in the Canadian Grain Commission’s Quarter 2, 2013-14 proactive disclosure.

2.10 Transactions made on Procurement purchase cards were excluded from the scope of this audit because there are relatively few contract-related purchases on the cards and the dollar values are low.

Approach and Methodology

2.11 The audit methodologyused by Audit and Evaluation Services is based on guidance provided by the Institute of Internal Auditors and the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada. The standards for internal audit are articulated in the Institute of Internal Auditors’ International Professional Practices Framework and the Treasury Board Secretariat’s Policy on Internal Audit.

2.12 The audit focused mainly on compliance in the contracting activities of the procurement process at the Canadian Grain Commission. The audit was conducted from October to December, 2014. Procedures performed during the examination phase included:

  • Generating a population of contracts and selecting a sample.
  • Interviewing various staff from the following teams:
    • Procurement, Contracting, and Materiel Management to obtain an understanding of the processes and procedures in place for initiating and managing a contract.
    • Accounting Operations to learn how the payment portion of the contract is handled after the goods or services have been received.
    • Facilities Management to review the process of arranging a lease and a construction contract.
  • Testing each sample against the Office of the Comptroller General’s Core Control Audit Criteria (Appendix A) for compliance.

2.13 At the conclusion of the examination phase, recommendations for management were developed in areas where opportunities for control improvements were identified. Recommendations in this report have been categorized to reflect their potential impact. The criteria established for determining the impact is outlined in Appendix B. The impact is indicated following the text of each recommendation.

Audit des marchés

2.0 Introduction

Autorité d'audit

2.1 La mission de la fonction d'audit interne des Services d'audit et d'évaluation consiste à offrir des services de certification indépendants et objectifs. Ces services sont conçus pour améliorer les activités de la Commission canadienne des grains et y ajouter de la valeur. L'audit interne permet à la Commission canadienne des grains d’atteindre ses objectifs en adoptant une approche systématique et rigoureuse pour évaluer et améliorer l’efficacité des processus de gestion des risques, de contrôle et de gouvernance.

2.2 Le plan d’audit fondé sur les risques de 2014-2017 approuvé par le commissaire en chef en mai 2014 comprenait les « audits des contrôles de base » à effectuer à certains moments au cours de la période triennale. Le Bureau du contrôleur général du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a publié les critères d’audit applicables à plusieurs contrôles de gestion de base qui sont communs à l’ensemble du gouvernement, l’un d’eux étant la Politique sur les marchés. Le présent audit nous a donné la possibilité d’évaluer les processus relatifs aux contrats d’achat et de nous assurer qu’ils sont conformes à la Politique sur les marchés, à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et à d’autres instruments connexes.

Contexte

2.3 Les achats de la Commission canadienne des grains sont centralisés à son siège de Winnipeg. L’unité d’Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel de la Division des finances et de l’administration est responsable de la gestion de tous les actifs, en plus de gérer l’achat de tous les biens et les services pour la Commission canadienne des grains. De plus, elle est responsable de la prestation de soutien et de la formulation de conseils à matière d’approvisionnement à l’intention des clients internes.

2.4 Au sein de l’unité de l’Administration de la Division des finances et de l’administration, l’agent responsable de la gestion des installations doit gérer les contrats de construction et les baux pour tous les lieux occupés par la Commission canadienne des grains.

2.5 Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada fournit ses services à des ministères et organismes fédéraux, y compris la Commission canadienne des grains. Ce ministère offre des services d’approvisionnement, comme des offres à commandes et des accords d’approvisionnement, et agit à titre d’organisme d’achats central lorsque la quantité de biens ou de services dépasse le seuil d’un ministère. La Direction générale des biens immobiliers de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada met son vaste portefeuille d’experts en immobilier à la disposition du gouvernement et des clients. La majorité des marchés, des baux et des projets de construction importants de la Commission canadienne des grains sont exécutés par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, avec la contribution de l’organisme.

Objectifs de l’audit

2.6 Le présent audit visait à évaluer la conformité avec les politiques applicables du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada décrites dans les critères d’audit des contrôles de base du Bureau du contrôleur général (annexe A). Voici les aspects qui ont été évalués pour chaque marché (s’il y a lieu) :

  • Approvisionnement sans concurrence
  • Stratégie d’approvisionnement
  • Approvisionnement concurrentiel
  • Engagement des dépenses
  • Gestion des marchés
  • Vérification des comptes
  • Paiement en vertu du contrat
  • Divulgation proactive
  • Créditeurs à la fin de l’exercice.

2.7 Les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont également évalué la qualité des contrôles liés aux domaines de conformité énoncés dans les critères d’audit. Des contrôles efficaces peuvent aider à assurer la continuité de la conformité avec les diverses politiques et avec les instruments connexes.

Portée de l’audit

2.8 La portée de l’audit comprenait un examen et une évaluation de la conformité avec les diverses politiques des contrats d’achat passés par la Commission canadienne des grains relativement à des biens, à des services et à des baux. De plus, le présent audit englobait les contrats de construction; toutefois, la Commission canadienne des grains n’en a conclu aucun durant la période visée par l’audit.

2.9 Un échantillon de marchés de la période du 1er juillet 2013 au 30 juin 2014 inclusivement a été sélectionné. Deux marchés du premier trimestre de 2013-2014 (d’avril à juin 2013) ont également été inclus dans l’échantillon parce qu’ils figuraient dans la divulgation proactive du deuxième trimestre de 2013-2014 de la Commission canadienne des grains.

2.10 Les transactions effectuées sur les cartes d’achat de l’équipe des Approvisionnements ont été exclues de la portée de l’audit parce que relativement peu d’achats liés aux marchés ont été effectués au moyen des cartes et que leur valeur était faible.

Approche et méthode

2.11 La méthode d'audit utilisée par les Services d'audit et d'évaluation est fondée sur les directives fournies par l'Institute of Internal Auditors et le Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada. Les normes d'audit interne sont énoncées dans l’International Professional Practices Framework (cadre international de référence des pratiques professionnelles) de l'Institute of Internal Auditors et la Politique sur la vérification interne du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

2.12 L’audit portait principalement sur la conformité des activités de passation de marchés du processus d’approvisionnement de la Commission canadienne des grains. Il s’est déroulé d’octobre à décembre 2014. Voici certaines des procédures suivies durant l’examen :

  • Générer une population de contrats et sélectionner un échantillon.
  • Interroger divers employés des équipes suivantes :
    • Approvisionnements, contrats et gestion du matériel afin de mieux comprendre les processus et les procédures en place pour passer et gérer un marché.
    • Opérations comptables afin d’apprendre comment la partie des paiements du marché est traitée après la réception des biens ou des services.
    • Gestion des installations afin d’examiner le processus permettant de conclure un bail et un contrat de construction.
  • Mettre à l’épreuve chaque échantillon par rapport aux critères d’audit des contrôles de base du Bureau du contrôleur général (annexe A) pour vérifier la conformité.

2.13 À la fin de la phase d'examen, des recommandations ont été formulées à l'intention de la direction dans les domaines où l'on avait relevé des possibilités d'amélioration des contrôles. Les recommandations contenues dans le présent rapport ont été classées par catégories en fonction de leur incidence éventuelle. Les critères établis pour déterminer l’incidence sont énoncés à l'annexe B. L’incidence est indiquée après chaque recommandation.