Audit of Contracting

3.0 Findings and Recommendations

Observation 1: Procurement strategies (Criteria 1, 2, 3)

Justification for strategy chosen

3.1 Various strategies are used by procurement to obtain goods or services for the Canadian Grain Commission. While competitive procurement can often provide the greatest opportunity for best value to the Crown, there are many other strategies that can be used effectively in different situations. Sole sourcing is an allowable method of procurement when certain conditions are met. Other initiatives that are considered include Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Businesses and Green Procurement, in which suppliers may be selected based on factors other than price alone. In all cases, the choice of strategy, especially when non-competitive, needs to be clearly justified.

3.2 To simplify some purchasing requirements and leverage government-wide purchasing power, Public Works and Government Services Canada has a list of mandatory standing offers that applies to all departments. Should a department require any of the items on the list, a standing offer must be used first before any other procurement strategy, unless otherwise justified.

3.3 Within the audit sample there were examples of each of these procurement strategies. In all cases, Procurement used sound strategies and selected the vendors in a fair and transparent manner. Although Audit and Evaluation Services concluded that Procurement’s decisions to use non-competitive strategies were justified, these decisions were not always supported by documentation in the files. Of the 5 contracts in the sample that were sole-sourced by the Canadian Grain Commission only 2 had justification on file. In another sample, the justification for not using a mandatory standing offer was not documented.

Documentation in a contract file

3.4 Because there is no listing of all of the Canadian Grain Commission’s contracts (see Observation 4), Audit and Evaluation Services selected the sample of contracts from the population of purchase orders and the proactive disclosure listing for the audit time frame. Of the sample of 27 contracts selected, only 12 had actual contract files that could be used for testing against the audit criteria. The remainder only had purchase orders as documentation, which are filed along with the invoice in the Accounting Operations unit’s files. The 15 contracts that could not be tested included call-ups on standing offers, contracts that meet Green Procurement and Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Businesses requirements, and sole-sourced contracts that are allowable under the Government Contracting Regulations. It was not clear throughout the audit why some contracts were documented in a contract file, and others were treated as “just purchase orders” with no further documentation.

Recommendations:

3.5 Although the contracts sampled were in compliance with the Contracting Policy for the strategies chosen, the control required to show compliance was not complete.Having appropriate justification documents provides proof that the Canadian Grain Commission’s decisions were sound and the best procurement strategy was chosen. We recommend that all of the following documents and notes, as applicable, be kept on file (either in the contract file or with the purchase order) for support and future reference: 

  • Sole source justification;
  • Justification for not using a mandatory standing offer;
  • A note stating that the contract is fulfilling a Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Businesses or Green Procurement requirement.

(Impact: medium)

Objective 2: Signing authority (Criteria 4, 6)

Procurement signing authority and segregation of duties

3.6 The Canadian Grain Commission purchase requisition requires the signature of the budget manager to indicate an unencumbered balance is available to pay for the purchase (Financial Administration Act Section 32) and a “pre-authorization” for payment (Financial Administration Act Section 34). Although not budget managers, Canadian Grain Commission management granted the Procurement team blanket authority for Section 34 in an effort to help expedite the payment process. This authority allows Procurement, with restrictions, to sign Section 34 on behalf of any budget manager, acknowledging receipt of the purchased item in good order and authorizing payment. Prior to implementing this authority all invoices had to be sent to the appropriate budget manager for approval signatures, and documents were sometimes lost or delayed.

3.7 Because Procurement is also the contract signing authority, Accounting Operations enforces restrictions surrounding Procurement’s blanket authority, preventing them from signing Section 34 in cases where they have already signed the contract on behalf of the end user. There were 2 instances within the sample of 12 “formal” contracts (where there was a contract document separate from the purchase order) where this segregation of duties was not maintained. In the cases where no separate contract document was used and the purchase order served as the contract, it was common for Procurement to sign both the purchase order and the Section 34 authorization.

3.8 The primary reason for granting Procurement blanket Section 34 signing authority is convenience which does not support principles of strong controls over purchasing and payment. Because the procurement area in any organization is inherently high risk, efforts to maintain adequate segregation of duties at all times should be made. Only the budget manager should approve payment for his or her collator.

Recommendations:

3.9 We recommend that Financial Administration Act Section 34 authorization for payment for all purchases be obtained from the responsible budget manager, rather than Procurement.

(Impact: high)

3.10 If management elects to continue delegating Section 34 signing authority to Procurement, we recommend that the restriction on signing both the “formal” contract and the Section 34 authorization be enforced and monitored by Accounting Operations.

(Impact: medium)

Canadian Grain Commission signing authority for lease transactions

3.11 Leases and construction contracts are managed by the Administration unit (Facilities group) of Finance rather than Procurement. Public Works and Government Services Canada manages the majority of Canadian Grain Commission’s leases and construction contracts; however, recently Canadian Grain Commission has taken a more active file management role in relation to a lease of laboratory space. This included signing the lease agreement with the lessor.

3.12 Because this particular lease had not been proactively disclosed, Audit and Evaluation Services researched whether the lease required proactive disclosure. During the course of research it was revealed that both Canadian Grain Commission representatives and Public Works and Government Services Canada are uncertain of Canadian Grain Commission’s authority to enter into a lease agreement. As the laboratory does not include office or residential space, it is currently unclear whether the lease falls under the Federal Real Property Act, the Contracting Policy, or another instrument. Consequently, it is also unclear what Canadian Grain Commission’s signing authority is in this situation and whether proactive disclosure was required.

Recommendations:

3.13 We recommend that Management consult with Central Agencies (Treasury Board Secretariat, Public Works and Government Services Canada) and Canadian Grain Commission’s legal counsel if necessary to assess Canadian Grain Commission’s signing authority for future lease situations and determine if further actions or disclosures are required in respect of a recent lease.

(Impact: high)

Objective 3: File Management (Criterion 5)

Facilities

3.14 As discussed in Observation 2, the Canadian Grain Commission has taken an active role in managing a recent laboratory lease. Although leases are not specifically covered under the Contracting Policy, the same principles for file management should apply. For instance, Audit and Evaluation Services expected that the leasing file for the laboratory space would contain justification for selection of the lessor demonstrating why the selection provided the best value. There was little documentation in the facilities file illustrating how decisions and approvals occurred related to this investment. Through research, Audit and Evaluation Services determined there were a number of due diligence steps that preceded the selection of the laboratory location, but due to departure of several employees that were originally involved in the project, some information and knowledge have been lost.

3.15 Other key information such as financing approvals, subsequent to the original project plan approval, were not captured through the Canadian Grain Commission’s project management process. The Project Management Office did not have any updates after the project was initiated in May 2013, although email evidence and meeting minutes confirm the laboratory lease project was discussed at the Executive Management Committee several times since then.

3.16 Laboratory environments are required by the Canadian Grain Commission for some core mandate and revenue-generating activities; consequently, it is possible the Facilities group will be working with other laboratory lease or construction files in the future. It is important that all relevant documentation be retained in the file to ensure the transaction can be reviewed by Canadian Grain Commission management, Internal Audit, or Central Agencies if required. Examples of documentation may include:

  • Project management information (project plans, project charter, status updates, close-out documents)
  • Project approvals and financing decisions and arrangements
  • Legal review of documents (leases, contracts, etc.)
  • Details about competitive or non-competitive process (options, analysis, justification).

Recommendation:

3.17 We recommend that the Facilities group retains the necessary documentation to support all of the actions related to leasing arrangements and construction contracts that are not managed by Public Works and Government Services Canada.

(Impact: medium)

3.18 We recommend that the Facilities group, along with the Project Management Office, ensures that Canadian Grain Commission project management procedures are followed for all facilities projects, including updated project documents and records related to projects.

(Impact: low)

Procurement and accounting operations

3.19 The Procurement unit is responsible for setting up and managing contracts as well as reporting any contracts meeting the minimum proactive disclosure requirements on the Canadian Grain Commission website. Contracts are referenced by the unit using the standing offer agreement, purchase order, or contract number.

3.20 The Accounting Operations unit’s responsibilities include accounts payable and capital related transactions. With regard to contracts the unit is responsible for paying associated invoices, using the invoice number as reference for these payments.

3.21 The two units use different reference numbers to identify the contract files making matching invoices to the contract number or purchase order difficult. The documents within the contract files (or even sections of some documents) can become separated as they moved from desk to desk throughout each unit of Finance. The risk associated with this is the possibility of important files going missing or being misfiled; for example, during the audit one of the sample files could not be located for several weeks. Having one central file would prevent documents from going missing and eliminate the need for Procurement to make duplicate copies of many of the files. Holding duplicate records in the files does not align with Canadian Grain Commission’s Records and Information Management guidelines.

Recommendation:

3.22 We recommend that the Procurement and Accounting Operations units of Finance have one central file for contracts. This would prevent missing files, eliminate duplicates, and encourage the units to determine a tracking system that works for both of their reference numbers

(Impact: low)

Objective 4: Proactive disclosure (Criterion 8)

3.23 As a federal government department, the Canadian Grain Commission is expected to maintain transparency at all times. This open government initiative is part of the federal government's efforts to help Canadian citizens hold the government and its departments accountable for how taxpayer money is spent. One such measure is the mandatory proactive disclosure of contracts exceeding $10,000 by all departments and agencies.

3.24 The Procurement team uses a spreadsheet to track ongoing contracts within each quarter that need to be disclosed on the Canadian Grain Commission website. For the contracts in the sample there were several small errors found in the disclosed information. One service contract worth $205,000 was not disclosed because it had inadvertently been omitted from the spreadsheet. Separate testing by Finance of the Canadian Grain Commission’s Internal Controls over Financial Reporting (Policy on Internal Control) for the 2014-15 fiscal year also identified a concern over the completeness of the proactive disclosure report, and Audit and Evaluation Services was advised that at least one other contract, worth $90,000 was also missed.

3.25 During the course of the audit, Audit and Evaluation Services sought clarification from the Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada on which types of contracts require proactive disclosure and was advised that contracts for the fit-up of an office are excluded. The contract noted in 3.24 above was executed as a regular service contract by Procurement, not a construction or lease-related contract, which would be managed by Facilities. However, as the services provided related to leasehold improvements there is a possibility it may not have required disclosure.

3.26 Canadian Grain Commission’s financial system does not include a specific contracting module, which makes it necessary to use spreadsheets or other manual methods to track Canadian Grain Commission’s purchase contracts. As the Procurement team only tracks contracts over $10,000, there is currently no complete inventory of active contracts. Tracking all contracts would create a routine to help ensure no contracts are missed when completing the quarterly disclosure report and assist with monitoring. It would also capture amendments that cause lower-value contracts to reach the disclosure threshold, which are difficult to identify with Canadian Grain Commission’s current financial system.

Recommendation:

3.27 In order to ensure compliance with proactive disclosure requirements, we recommend that until such time as the Canadian Grain Commission’s financial system can facilitate reporting of contracts, Procurement implements a control procedure to ensure all contracts and amendments are tracked, regardless of value. Contracts that do not require disclosure because of exceptions to the Contracting Policy should be indicated as such on the tracking.

(Impact: medium)

3.28 We recommend that Procurement proactively disclose any omitted contracts at the earliest opportunity.

(Impact: low)

Audit des marchés

3.0 Conclusions et recommandations

Observation 1 : Stratégies d’approvisionnement (critères 1, 2 et 3)

Justification de la stratégie choisie

3.1 Diverses stratégies sont utilisées par les responsables des approvisionnements pour obtenir des biens ou des services pour la Commission canadienne des grains. Si l’approvisionnement concurrentiel offre souvent la plus grande possibilité d’obtenir le meilleur rapport qualité-prix pour l’État, les autres stratégies qui peuvent être utilisées efficacement dans diverses situations sont nombreuses. L’attribution d’un contrat à un fournisseur exclusif est une méthode d’approvisionnement permise lorsque certaines conditions sont remplies. Parmi les autres initiatives à envisager, mentionnons la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones et l’approvisionnement écologique, selon lesquels il est possible de sélectionner des fournisseurs en fonction d’autres facteurs que le prix seulement. Dans tous les cas, le choix de la stratégie, surtout si elle est sans concurrence, doit être clairement justifié.

3.2 Pour simplifier certaines exigences en matière d’achat et miser sur le pouvoir d’achat à l’échelle du gouvernement, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada tient une liste des offres à commandes obligatoires qui s’appliquent à tous les ministères. Si un ministère a besoin d’articles figurant dans la liste, il doit d’abord utiliser une offre à commandes avant toute autre stratégie d’approvisionnement, sauf justification contraire.

3.3 L’échantillon de l’audit contenait des exemples de chacune de ces stratégies d’approvisionnement. Dans tous les cas, les responsables du groupe d’Approvisionnements ont utilisé des stratégies saines et ont sélectionné les fournisseurs de façon juste et transparente. Même si les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont conclu que les décisions de l’équipe concernant le recours à des stratégies sans concurrence étaient justifiées, ces décisions n’étaient pas toujours appuyées par des documents aux dossiers. Des cinq marchés de l’échantillon de contrats attribués à un fournisseur exclusif par la Commission canadienne des grains, seulement deux étaient assortis d’une justification. Dans un autre échantillon, la justification de la non-utilisation d’une offre à commandes obligatoire n’avait pas été étayée.

Documentation au dossier du marché

3.4 Comme il n’existe aucune liste des marchés de la Commission canadienne des grains (voir l’observation 4), les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont sélectionné l’échantillon de marchés dans la population des bons de commande et la liste de divulgation proactive pour la période visée par l’audit. De l’échantillon de 27 marchés sélectionnés, seuls 12 marchés étaient assortis d’un vrai dossier qui pouvait être mis à l’épreuve selon les critères d’audit. Les dossiers des autres marchés ne contenaient que le bon de commande qui accompagne la facture dans les dossiers de l’unité des Opérations comptables. Les 15 marchés qui n’ont pas pu être mis à l’épreuve comprenaient des commandes subséquentes à des offres à commandes, des contrats qui répondent aux exigences de la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones et de l’approvisionnement écologique et des contrats attribués à un fournisseur exclusif qui sont permis au titre du Règlement sur les marchés de l’État. Au cours de l’audit, nous n’avons pas pu déterminer clairement pourquoi certains des marchés étaient documentés dans un dossier, alors que d’autres étaient traités comme « de simples bons de commande » sans autre documentation.

Recommandation :

3.5 Même si l’échantillon de marchés examinés était conforme à la Politique sur les marchés relativement aux stratégies choisies, le contrôle requis pour faire la preuve de la conformité était incomplet. La tenue de documents de justification appropriés permet de prouver que les décisions de la Commission canadienne des grains étaient saines et que la meilleure stratégie d’approvisionnement a été choisie. Nous recommandons que tous les documents et les notes qui suivent, s’il y a lieu, soient conservés dans les dossiers (dans le dossier du marché ou avec le bon de commande) à des fins d’appui et de consultation ultérieure : 

  • justification du fournisseur unique;
  • justification de la non-utilisation d’une offre à commandes obligatoire;
  • note selon laquelle le marché vise à satisfaire une exigence relative à la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones ou à l’approvisionnement écologique.

(Incidence : moyenne)

Observation 2 : Pouvoir de signature (critères 4 et 6)

Pouvoir de signature et séparation des tâches relativement à l’approvisionnement

3.6 Les demandes d’achat de la Commission canadienne des grains nécessitent la signature du gestionnaire de budget afin d’indiquer qu’un solde non grevé est disponible pour payer l’achat (article 32 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques) et qu’il y a une « préautorisation » du paiement (article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques). Même s’ils ne sont pas gestionnaires de budget, la direction de la Commission canadienne des grains a accordé aux membres de l’équipe des Approvisionnements une autorisation générale relativement à l’article 34 dans un effort visant à accélérer le processus de paiement. Ce pouvoir limité permet aux responsables des Approvisionnements de signer des documents au titre de l’article 34 au nom de tout gestionnaire de budget afin d’accuser réception de l’article acheté en bon état et d’autoriser le paiement. Avant la mise en œuvre de ce pouvoir, toutes les factures devaient être envoyées au gestionnaire de budget compétent afin qu’il donne son approbation par une signature, et des documents étaient parfois perdus ou leur réception, retardée.

3.7 Comme les responsables des Approvisionnements détiennent également le pouvoir de signer les contrats, les Opérations comptables appliquent les limites relativement à l’autorisation générale de ces responsables, qui les empêchent d’apposer leur signature au titre de l’article 34 dans les cas où ils ont déjà signé le contrat au nom de l’utilisateur final. L’échantillon de 12 marchés « officiels » (où il existait un document contractuel distinct du bon de commande) contenait deux cas où cette séparation des tâches n’avait pas été respectée. Dans les cas où aucun document contractuel distinct n’avait été utilisé et où le bon de commande servait de contrat, il était fréquent que les responsables des Approvisionnements aient signé le bon de commande et l’autorisation au titre de l’article 34.

3.8 La principale raison pour laquelle l’autorisation générale de signature au titre de l’article 34 a été accordée aux responsables des Approvisionnements est la commodité, ce qui n’appuie pas les principes de contrôles stricts sur les achats et les paiements. Comme le secteur des Approvisionnements de toute organisation présente, en soi, des risques élevés, il faudrait se forcer de respecter une bonne séparation des tâches en tout temps. Seul le gestionnaire de budget devrait approuver les paiements en fonction de son compilateur.

Recommandations

3.9 Nous recommandons que l’autorisation de paiement au titre de l’article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques soit obtenue du gestionnaire de budget responsable plutôt que du responsable des Approvisionnements pour tous les achats.

(Incidence : élevée)

3.10 Si la direction choisit de continuer à déléguer à l’équipe des Approvisionnements son pouvoir de signature au titre de l’article 34 (point 3.9), nous recommandons que la restriction à l’égard de la signature des marchés « officiels » et de l’autorisation au titre de l’article 34 soit appliquée et surveillée par l’équipe des Opérations comptables.

(Incidence : moyenne)

Pouvoir de signature de la Commission canadienne des grains pour les transactions liées à des baux

3.11 Les baux et les contrats de construction sont gérés par l’unité de l’Administration (groupe des Installations) des Finances plutôt que par les Approvisionnements. Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada gère la majorité des baux et des contrats de construction de la Commission canadienne des grains; toutefois, la Commission a récemment assumé un rôle de gestion de dossiers plus actif relativement à un loyer de laboratoire. Ce rôle comprenait la signature du bail avec le locataire.

3.12 Comme ce bail particulier n’avait pas fait l’objet d’une divulgation proactive, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont cherché à savoir s’il devait faire l’objet d’une telle divulgation. Dans le cadre des recherches, il a été révélé que les représentants de la Commission canadienne des grains et ceux de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada ne sont pas certains du pouvoir de la Commission de conclure un bail. Comme le laboratoire ne comprend pas de bureau ou d’espace résidentiel, actuellement, on n’arrive pas à déterminer clairement si le bail est visé par la Loi sur les immeubles fédéraux et les biens réels fédéraux, par la Politique sur les marchés ou par un autre instrument. Par conséquent, on n’arrive pas non plus à déterminer quel est le pouvoir de signature de la Commission canadienne des grains dans cette situation et si la divulgation proactive était requise.

Recommandation :

3.13 Nous recommandons que la direction consulte les organismes centraux (Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada) et le conseiller juridique de la Commission canadienne des grains, au besoin, afin d’évaluer le pouvoir de signature de la Commission relativement aux situations de loyer à venir et de déterminer si d’autres mesures ou divulgations sont requises à l’égard d’un bail récent.

(Incidence : élevée)

Observation 3 : Gestion des dossiers (critère 5)

Installations

3.14 Comme nous l’avons mentionné dans l’observation 2, la Commission canadienne des grains a assumé un rôle actif relativement à la gestion d’un récent loyer de laboratoire. Même si les baux ne sont pas régis précisément par la Politique sur les marchés, les mêmes principes devraient s’appliquer relativement à la gestion des dossiers. Par exemple, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation s’attendaient à ce que le dossier du bail du laboratoire contienne une justification de la sélection du locataire montrant pourquoi la sélection offrait le meilleur rapport qualité-prix. Le dossier des installations contenait peu de documents illustrant comment les décisions et les approbations avaient eu lieu relativement à cet investissement. Grâce à des recherches, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont déterminé qu’un certain nombre d’étapes de diligence raisonnable avaient précédé la sélection du lieu du laboratoire, mais que, en raison du départ de plusieurs employés qui, au départ, avaient participé au projet, certaines informations et connaissances avaient été perdues.

3.15 D’autres renseignements clés, comme les approbations financières, postérieures à l’approbation du plan de projet initial, n’ont pas été saisis dans le cadre du processus de gestion de projet de la Commission canadienne des grains. Le bureau de la gestion de projet n’avait apporté aucune mise à jour après le lancement du projet en mai 2013, quoique des données probantes (courriels) et des procès-verbaux de réunions confirment que le projet de loyer de laboratoire a été abordé plusieurs fois à l’occasion des réunions du Comité de direction depuis.

3.16 La Commission canadienne des grains a besoin d’environnements de laboratoire pour mener certaines activités liées à son mandat de base et activités productives; par conséquent, il est possible que le groupe des Installations travaille avec d’autres baux de laboratoire ou dossiers de construction à l’avenir. Il importe que tous les documents pertinents soient conservés dans le dossier pour s’assurer que la transaction peut être examinée par la direction de la Commission canadienne des grains, par les responsables des audits internes ou par des organismes centraux, au besoin. Voici des exemples de documents :

  • Renseignements relatifs à la gestion de projet (plans de projet, charte du projet, rapports d’étape, documents de clôture)
  • Approbations de projet et décisions et modalités relatives au financement
  • Examen juridique de documents (baux, contrats, etc.)
  • Détails concernant le processus concurrentiel ou sans concurrence (options, analyse, justification).

Recommandations :

3.17 Nous recommandons que le groupe des Installations conserve les documents nécessaires pour appuyer toutes les mesures relatives aux baux et aux contrats de construction qui ne sont pas gérés par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.

(Incidence : moyenne)

3.18 Nous recommandons que le groupe des Installations et le bureau de la gestion de projet veillent à ce que les procédures de gestion de projet de la Commission canadienne des grains soient respectées dans le cas de tous les projets liés aux installations, y compris la mise à jour des documents de projets et des dossiers relatifs aux projets.

(Incidence : faible)

Approvisionnements et Opérations comptables

3.19 L’unité des Approvisionnements est responsable de l’établissement et de la gestion des marchés ainsi que de la déclaration de tout contrat répondant aux exigences minimales en matière de divulgation proactive sur le site Web de la Commission canadienne des grains. L’unité utilise le numéro de l’offre à commandes, du bon de commande ou du contrat comme numéro de référence du marché.

3.20 Parmi les responsabilités de l’unité des Opérations comptables, mentionnons les comptes créditeurs et les transactions relatives aux capitaux. En ce qui concerne les marchés, l’unité est responsable de payer les factures qui s’y rattachent en utilisant le numéro de facture comme référence pour ces paiements.

3.21 Les deux unités utilisent des numéros de référence différents pour renvoyer aux dossiers de marchés, ce qui rend difficile le jumelage de la facture avec le numéro de contrat ou de bon de commande. Les documents contenus dans les dossiers de marchés (voire les sections de certains documents) peuvent être séparés lorsqu’ils passent d’un bureau à un autre dans chacune des unités des Finances. Le risque associé à cette situation est la possibilité qu’il manque des dossiers importants ou qu’ils soient mal classés; par exemple, durant l’audit, il a été impossible de localiser un des dossiers de l’échantillon pendant plusieurs semaines. La tenue d’un dossier central préviendrait la perte de documents et supprimerait le besoin pour l’unité des Approvisionnements de faire des copies de nombreux dossiers. La tenue de documents en double dans les dossiers va à l’encontre des lignes directrices de la Commission canadienne des grains sur la gestion des dossiers et de l’information.

Recommandation :

3.22 Nous recommandons que les équipes des Approvisionnements et des Opérations comptables des Finances tiennent un dossier central pour les marchés. Ce dossier préviendrait les dossiers manquants, éliminerait les chevauchements et encouragerait les unités à établir un système de suivi qui fonctionne pour les deux numéros de renvoi.

(Incidence : faible)

Observation 4 : Divulgation proactive (critère 8)

3.23 En tant qu’organisme fédéral, la Commission canadienne des grains est censée demeurer transparente en tout temps. Cette initiative de gouvernement ouvert fait partie des efforts déployés par le gouvernement pour aider les citoyens canadiens à tenir le gouvernement et ses ministères responsables de la façon dont l’argent des contribuables est dépensé. L’une de ces mesures est la divulgation proactive obligatoire par tous les ministères et organismes des marchés dépassant 10 000 $.

3.24 L’équipe des Approvisionnements utilise une feuille de calcul pour faire le suivi durant chaque trimestre des marchés en vigueur qui doivent être divulgués sur le site Web de la Commission canadienne des grains. Dans le cas des marchés de l’échantillon, les renseignements divulgués contenaient plusieurs petites erreurs. Un contrat de service d’une valeur de 205 000 $ n’a pas été divulgué parce qu’il avait été omis de la feuille de calcul par inadvertance. Une mise à l’épreuve distincte des contrôles internes sur les rapports financiers (Politique sur la vérification interne) de la Commission canadienne des grains par les Finances pour l’exercice 2014-2015 a également soulevé une préoccupation quant au caractère complet du rapport sur la divulgation proactive, et les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont été avisés qu’au moins un autre marché (d’une valeur de 90 000 $) manquait à l’appel.

3.25 Au cours de l’audit, les Services d’audit et d’évaluation ont demandé au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada des clarifications sur les types de contrats qui requièrent une divulgation proactive et ont été avisés que ceux qui sont liés à l’aménagement d’un bureau sont exclus. Le marché mentionné au paragraphe 3.24 ci-dessus a été exécuté comme un contrat de service régulier par le personnel de l’équipe des Approvisionnements, et non pas comme un contrat de construction ou lié à un bail, qui aurait été géré par l’équipe des Installations. Toutefois, comme les services fournis étaient liés à des améliorations apportées à une tenure à bail, il est possible que la divulgation n’ait pas été requise.

3.26 Le système financier de la Commission canadienne des grains ne comprend pas de module propre aux marchés, ce qui rend nécessaire le recours à des feuilles de calcul ou à d’autres méthodes manuelles pour assurer le suivi des contrats d’achat de l’organisme. Comme l’équipe des Approvisionnements n’a fait le suivi que des marchés dont la valeur est supérieure à 10 000 $, elle ne tient actuellement aucun inventaire complet des marchés actifs. Le suivi de tous les marchés créerait une routine qui permettrait de recenser tous les marchés au moment de rédiger le rapport trimestriel sur la divulgation et faciliterait la surveillance. De plus, il permettrait de saisir les modifications qui font que des marchés de faible valeur atteignent le seuil de la divulgation; ces cas sont difficiles à repérer dans le système financier actuel de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Recommandations :

3.27 Afin d’assurer la conformité avec les exigences en matière de divulgation proactive, nous recommandons, jusqu’à ce que le système financier de la Commission canadienne des grains puisse faciliter l’établissement de rapports sur les marchés, que l’équipe des Approvisionnements mette en œuvre une procédure de contrôle permettant de veiller à ce que les contrats et les modifications fassent l’objet d’un suivi, quelle que soit la valeur du contrat. Les marchés qui ne requièrent pas de divulgation en raison d’exceptions à la Politique sur les marchés devraient être désignés comme tels dans le logiciel de suivi.

(Incidence : moyenne)

3.28 Nous recommandons que l’équipe des Approvisionnements effectue la divulgation proactive de tout marché omis à la première occasion.

(Incidence : faible)