Audit of the Eastern Regional Office

2.0 Introduction

Authority for Audit

2.1 The mission of the Internal Audit function of Audit and Evaluation Services is to provide independent and objective assurance services designed to add value and improve the Canadian Grain Commission’s operations. Internal Audit helps the Canadian Grain Commission accomplish its objectives by bringing a systematic, disciplined approach to assess and improve the effectiveness of risk management, control and governance processes.

2.2 The audit of the Eastern Regional Office was included in the 2013-2016 Audit and Evaluation Services Risk-Based Audit Plan that was approved by the Commission following a recommendation by the Departmental Audit Committee in November 2013. The audit was planned in order to provide assurance to the Chief Commissioner on the controls over a number of critical functions that are carried out at the Eastern Regional Office. Several new processes have recently been implemented following legislative and organization-wide changes. The audit provided an opportunity to assess the status and effectiveness of these new processes.

Background

2.3 The Eastern Regional Office in Montréal is one of two Canadian Grain Commission regional offices operating within the Industry Services (IS) division. Following a recent re-organization of the Industry Services division, the regional office now provides management and administration for Montreal, Thunder Bay, Churchill, Chatham, Baie-Comeau, Port-Cartier, and Quebec City service centres. There are analytical labs at the regional office in Montréal and Thunder Bay service centre that perform a variety of grain sample testing services for the Eastern region.

2.4 The Canadian Grain Commission’s IS Industry Service regional offices carry out inspection activities, weighing oversight, and administrative functions such as billing. A large number of regional office procedures are documented, executed, and monitored through Industry Services’ Quality Management System. The billing process is described in the Canadian Grain Commission’s Billing Instructions Manual which incorporates Canadian Grain Commission’s new user fee codes and schedules that came into effect on August 1, 2013.

Audit Objectives

The objectives of this audit were:

2.5 To assess the adequacy and effectiveness of internal controls related to the performance of services and invoicing of revised user fees;

2.6 To assess the adequacy and effectiveness of internal controls related to the administration of overtime in the Eastern region;

2.7 To determine whether management controls and risk management are in place to enable effective and efficient operations in achieving organizational objectives; and

2.8 To assess the adequacy and effectiveness of internal controls over data security, including electronic and pre-printed documents. The criteria for assessment related to the specific objectives and sub-objectives of the audit are contained in Appendix A – Audit Criteria.

Audit Scope

The scope of the audit included:

2.9 Review and assessment of the design effectiveness of those controls relating to invoicing, overtime, overall management and data security.

2.10 Tests of operating effectiveness for selected controls where appropriate from the period of August 1, 2013 up to and including the date of the on-site examination (week of January 13, 2014), with certain transactions included up to and including February 27, 2014.

2.11 Review of judgmentally selected financial data from the period of April 1, 2013 to October 31, 2013 with certain transactions included up to and including February 27, 2014.

2.12 The audit excluded the operations of the Eastern Region Service Centres but did include all Eastern region activities that are administered (processed) by the Eastern Regional Office in Montreal. Therefore, some samples for testing were selected from service centre locations because the documentation resides in Montreal.

2.13 The audit also excluded analytical procedures within the Montreal and Thunder Bay labs, although day-to-day management of the Montreal lab was included.

2.14 In addition to the above noted objectives and scope, Audit and Evaluation Services performed procedures on behalf of the Finance division relating to the requirements of the Policy on Internal Control, specifically testing of Internal Controls over Financial Reporting. Audit and Evaluation Services also coordinated audit activities with the Industry Services Quality Management System audit simultaneously taking place in Montreal. The work performed for all three of the projects was used as a basis for the information and conclusions found in this report.

Approach and Methodology

2.15 The audit methodology used by Audit and Evaluation Services is based on guidance provided by the Institute of Internal Auditors and the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada. The standards for internal audit are articulated in the Institute of Internal Auditor’s International Professional Practices Framework and the Treasury Board Secretariat’s Policy on Internal Audit.

2.16 The audit focused on reviewing the operations of the Eastern regional office and was conducted from January to March, 2014. It, included an onsite visit to the regional office in Montréal the week of January 13, 2014. Procedures performed during the examination phase included:

  • Interviews of the regional management team and other selected employees to obtain an understanding of the processes and procedures in place at Eastern regional office.
  • Observation of employees conducting their daily responsibilities both at the Eastern regional office and one of Canadian Grain Commission’s terminal offices.
  • Review and inspection of documentation and other relevant information to support the audit objectives noted above.
  • Assessment of design effectiveness of controls currently in place as well as current operational processes to address gaps or deficiencies noted, where applicable.

2.17 At the conclusion of the examination phase, recommendations for management were developed in areas where opportunities for control improvements were identified. Recommendations in this report have been categorized to reflect their potential impact on the regional office. The criteria established for determining the impact is outlined in Appendix B. The impact is indicated following the text of each recommendation.

Audit du bureau régional de l’Est

2.0 Introduction

Autorité d'audit

2.1 La mission de la fonction d'audit interne des Services d'audit et d'évaluation consiste à offrir des services de certification indépendants et objectifs. Ces services sont conçus pour améliorer les activités de la Commission canadienne des grains et y ajouter de la valeur. L'audit interne permet à la Commission canadienne des grains d’atteindre ses objectifs en adoptant une approche systématique et rigoureuse pour évaluer et améliorer l’efficacité des processus de gestion des risques, de contrôle et de gouvernance.

2.2 L'audit du bureau régional de l'Est a été inclus dans le plan d'audit fondé sur les risques de 2013-2016 des Services d'audit et d'évaluation. La Commission a approuvé le plan d'audit à la suite d’une recommandation formulée par le Comité ministériel de vérification en novembre 2013. L'audit a été planifié afin de fournir l'assurance au commissaire en chef que les fonctions critiques exécutées par le bureau régional de l'Est font l'objet de contrôles. Plusieurs nouveaux processus ont été mis en œuvre récemment à la suite de changements législatifs et organisationnels. L’audit a donné l’occasion d’évaluer l’état et l’efficacité de ces nouveaux processus.

Contexte

2.3 Le bureau régional de l’Est à Montréal est l’un de deux bureaux régionaux de la Commission canadienne des grains relevant de la Division des services à l’industrie. Depuis la récente restructuration de la Division des services à l'industrie, le bureau régional offre des services de gestion et d’administration à Montréal, à Thunder Bay, à Churchill, à Chatham, à Baie-Comeau, à Port-Cartier et aux centres de services de Québec. Au bureau régional à Montréal et au centre de services à Thunder Bay, des laboratoires d'analyse exécutent une variété de services d'analyse des échantillons de grains pour la région de l'Est.

2.4 Les bureaux régionaux des Services à l'industrie de la Commission canadienne des grains effectuent des inspections, des activités de surveillance de la pesée et des fonctions administratives comme la facturation. Un grand nombre de procédures des bureaux régionaux sont documentées, exécutées et suivies par l’entremise du Système de gestion de la qualité des Services à l’industrie. La facturation est décrite dans le Manuel d'instructions de facturation de la Commission canadienne des grains, lequel comprend les nouveaux codes et barèmes des frais d'utilisations qui sont entrés en vigueur le 1er août 2013.

Objectifs de l'audit

L'audit visait à :

2.5 Évaluer la pertinence et l’efficacité des contrôles internes relatifs à l’exécution des services et à la facturation des frais d’utilisation révisés;

2.6 Évaluer la pertinence et l’efficacité des contrôles internes relatifs à l’administration des heures supplémentaires dans la région de l’Est;

2.7 Déterminer si les contrôles de gestion et la gestion des risques sont en place pour permettre des opérations efficaces et efficientes dans la réalisation des objectifs organisationnels.

2.8 Évaluer la pertinence et l’efficacité des contrôles internes relatifs à la sécurité des données, notamment les documents électroniques et préimprimés. Les critères d'évaluation liés à chaque objectif et sous-objectif de l'audit sont présentés à l’annexe A – Critères d'audit.

Portée de l'audit

Voici la portée de l'audit :

2.9 Examiner et évaluer l'efficacité de la conception des contrôles relatifs à la facturation, aux heures supplémentaires, à la gestion générale et à la sécurité des données.

2.10 Vérifier l'efficacité de certains contrôles, le cas échéant, pour la période allant du 1er août 2013 jusqu'à la date de l'examen sur place (semaine du 13 janvier 2014), et jusqu'au 27 février 2014 inclusivement pour certaines transactions.

2.11 Examiner des données financières sélectionnées de manière discrétionnaire pour la période allant du 1er avril 2013 jusqu'au 31 octobre 2014 et jusqu'au 27 février 2014 inclusivement pour certaines transactions.

2.12 L’audit a exclu les opérations des centres de services de la région de l’Est, mais a inclus toutes les activités de la région de l’Est qui sont administrées (traitées) par le bureau régional de l'Est à Montréal. Par conséquent, certains échantillons à analyser ont été sélectionnés des centres de services parce que les documents connexes sont conservés à Montréal.

2.13 L'audit a aussi exclu les procédures d'analyse des laboratoires de Montréal et de Thunder Bay, mais les activités de gestion courantes du laboratoire de Montréal ont été incluses.

2.14 En plus des objectifs et de la portée susmentionnés, les Services d'audit et d'évaluation ont exécuté au nom de la Division des finances des procédures liés aux exigences de la Politique sur le contrôle interne, en particulier la vérification des contrôles internes pour les rapports financiers. Les Services d'audit et d'évaluation ont aussi coordonné leurs activités d'audit avec celles de l'audit du système de gestion de la qualité des Services à l'industrie qui se déroulait en même temps à Montréal. L'information et les conclusions du présent rapport reposent sur les travaux réalisés dans le cadre des trois projets.

Approche et méthodologie

2.15 La méthodologie d'audit utilisé par les Services d'audit et d'évaluation est fondée sur les directives fournies par l'Institut des vérificateurs internes et le Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada. Les normes d'audit interne sont énoncées dans le Cadre de référence des pratiques professionnelles de l'Institut des vérificateurs internes et la Politique de vérification interne du Conseil du Trésor.

2.16 L'audit a mis l'accent sur l'examen des opérations du bureau régional de l'Est et a été effectué de janvier à mars 2014. Il a compris une visite sur place au bureau régional à Montréal pendant la semaine du 13 janvier 2014. Les activités menées durant l’étape d’examen sont les suivantes :

  • Des entretiens avec l'équipe de gestion régionale et d'autres employés sélectionnés pour mieux comprendre les processus et les procédures en place au bureau régional de l'Est.
  • L'observation des employés qui vaquaient à leurs tâches quotidiennes au bureau régional de l'Est à l'un des bureaux de silo terminal de la Commission canadienne des grains.
  • Un examen et une inspection des documents et autres renseignements pertinents pour appuyer les objectifs d'audit mentionnés ci-dessus.
  • L'évaluation de l'efficacité de la conception des contrôles en place et des processus opérationnels actuels pour combler les lacunes ou manquements constatés, le cas échéant.

2.17 À la fin de la phase d'examen, des recommandations ont été formulées à l'intention de la direction dans les domaines où l'on avait relevé des possibilités d'amélioration des contrôles. Les recommandations contenues dans le présent rapport ont été classées par catégories en fonction de leurs incidences éventuelles sur le bureau régional. Les critères établis pour déterminer les incidences sont énoncés à l'annexe B. Les incidences sont indiquées après chaque recommandation.