Financial statements, March 31, 2014

2. Independent auditors' report

Date: May 23, 2014

We have audited the accompanying financial statements of the Canadian Grain Commission Revolving Fund, which comprise the statement of financial position as at March 31, 2014 and the statements of operations, accumulated surplus and cash flow for the year then ended, and the related notes, which comprise a summary of significant accounting policies and other explanatory information.

Management’s responsibility for the financial statements

Management is responsible for the preparation and fair presentation of these financial statements in accordance with Section 6.4 of the Treasury Board of Canada’s Policy on Special Revenue Spending Authorities, and for such internal control as management determines is necessary to enable the preparation of financial statements that are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.

Auditor’s responsibility

Our responsibility is to express an opinion on these financial statements based on our audit. We conducted our audit in accordance with Canadian generally accepted auditing standards. Those standards require that we comply with ethical requirements and plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements are free from material misstatement.

An audit involves performing procedures to obtain audit evidence about the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. The procedures selected depend on the auditor’s judgment, including the assessment of the risks of material misstatement of the financial statements, whether due to fraud or error. In making those risk assessments, the auditor considers internal control relevant to the entity’s preparation and fair presentation of the financial statements in order to design audit procedures that are appropriate in the circumstances, but not for the purpose of expressing an opinion on the effectiveness of the entity’s internal control. An audit also includes evaluating the appropriateness of accounting policies used and the reasonableness of accounting estimates made by management, as well as evaluating the overall presentation of the financial statements.

We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our audit opinion.

Opinion

In our opinion, the financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the Canadian Grain Commission Revolving Fund as at March 31, 2014 and the results of its operations and its cash flow for the year then ended in accordance with Section 6.4 of the Treasury Board of Canada’s Policy on Special Revenue Spending Authorities.

Emphasis of matter

Without modifying our opinion, we draw attention to note 2 to the financial statements, which describes the basis of accounting. The financial statements are prepared solely for the information and use of the Canadian Grain Commission and the Treasury Board of Canada for reporting on the use of the Fund’s authority. The financial statements are not intended to be and should not be used by anyone other than the specified users or for any other purpose.

Other matter

The financial statements of the Canadian Grain Commission Revolving Fund for the year ended March 31, 2013 were audited by another auditor whose report, dated May 21, 2013, expressed an unmodified opinion on those statements.

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Chartered Professional Accountants, Licensed Public Accountants

États financiers, le 31 mars 2014

2. Rapport de l’auditeur indépendant

Date : Le 23 mai 2014

Nous avons effectué l’audit des états financiers ci-joints du Fonds renouvelable de la Commission canadienne des grains, qui comprennent l’état de la situation financière au 31 mars 2014 et les états des résultats, de l’excédent accumulé et des flux de trésorerie pour l’exercice clos à cette date, ainsi que les notes annexes, constituées d’un résumé des principales méthodes comptables et d’autres informations explicatives.

Responsabilité de la direction pour les états financiers consolidés

La direction est responsable de la préparation et de la présentation fidèle de ces états financiers conformément à l’alinéa 6.4 des politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor du Canada sur les autorisations spéciales de dépenser les recettes, ainsi que du contrôle interne qu’elle considère comme nécessaire pour permettre la préparation d’états financiers exempts d’anomalies significatives, que celles-ci résultent de fraudes ou d’erreurs.

Responsabilité des auditeur

Notre responsabilité consiste à exprimer une opinion sur les états financiers, sur la base de notre audit. Nous avons effectué notre audit selon les normes d’audit généralement reconnues du Canada. Ces normes requièrent que nous nous conformions aux règles de déontologie et que nous planifiions et réalisions l’audit de façon à obtenir l’assurance raisonnable que les états financiers ne comportent pas d’anomalies significatives.

Un audit implique la mise en œuvre de procédures en vue de recueillir des éléments probants concernant les montants et les informations fournies dans les états financiers. Le choix des procédures relève du jugement des auditeurs, et notamment de leur évaluation des risques que les états financiers comportent des anomalies significatives, que celles-ci résultent de fraudes ou d’erreurs. Dans l’évaluation de ces risques, les auditeurs prennent en considération le contrôle interne de l’entité portant sur la préparation et la présentation fidèle des états financiers afin de concevoir des procédures d’audit appropriées aux circonstances, et non dans le but d’exprimer une opinion sur l’efficacité du contrôle interne de l’entité. Un audit comporte également l’appréciation du caractère approprié des méthodes comptables retenues et du caractère raisonnable des estimations comptables faites par la direction, de même que l’appréciation de la présentation d’ensemble des états financiers.

Nous estimons que les éléments probants que nous avons obtenus sont suffisants et appropriés pour fonder notre opinion d’audit.

Opinion

À notre avis, les états financiers donnent, dans tous leurs aspects significatifs, une image fidèle de la situation financière du Fonds renouvelable de la Commission canadienne des grains au 31 mars 2014, ainsi que de ses résultats  et de ses flux de trésorerie pour l’exercice clos à cette date conformément à l’alinéa 6.4 des politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor du Canada sur les autorisations spéciales de dépenser les recettes.

Restrictions quant à l’utilisation

Sans pour autant modifier notre opinion, nous attirons l’attention sur la note 2 des états financiers, qui décrit le référentiel comptable appliqué. Les états financiers ont été préparés uniquement à titre d’information et pour être utilisés par la Commission canadienne des grains et le Conseil du Trésor du Canada afin de communiquer l’utilisation de l’autorisation du Fonds. Ces états financiers ne sont pas destinés à être utilisés, et ne doivent pas l’être, par des personnes autres que les utilisateurs déterminés, ni à aucune autre fin que la ou les fins auxquelles ils ont été établis.

Autre point

Les états financiers de la Commission canadienne des grains pour l’exercice clos le 31 mars 2013 ont été audités par un autre auditeur qui a exprimé sur ces états une opinion non modifiée le 21 mai 2013.

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Comptables professionnels agréés, experts-comptables autorisés