Financial statements, March 31, 2014

7.1. Notes to financial statements: Authority and purpose

The Canadian Grain Commission Revolving Fund ["CGC", the "Revolving Fund" or the "Fund"] derives its authority from the Canada Grain Act. The Canadian Grain Commission's mandate as set out in the Act is to, in the interest of grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain, regulate grain handling in Canada and to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets.

The Canadian Grain Commission Revolving Fund was established under Appropriation Act No. 6, 1994-1995. The Fund has a continuing non-lapsing authority from Parliament to make payments out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund for working capital, capital acquisitions and temporary financing of accumulated operating deficits, the total of which cannot exceed $2,000,000 at any time.

In the fall of 2012, two initiatives were announced that have impacted the services and organizational structure of the Canadian Grain Commission. Firstly, Bill C-45, containing proposed amendments to the Canada Grain Act, was introduced in Parliament. Secondly, on November 1, 2012, the Canadian Grain Commission launched consultations on Canadian Grain Commission user fees that reflected an updated Canada Grain Act and streamlined Canadian Grain Commission operations. Bill C-45 received Royal Assent on December 14, 2012. The amendments to the Canada Grain Act came into force on August 1, 2013. Updated user fees took effect August 1, 2013 concurrent with changes to the Canada Grain Act. In response to both the legislative changes and restructured user fees, the Canadian Grain Commission has adjusted its workforce [Note 6], organizational design, and operations.

Fiscal year 2013-14 is a transition year for the Canadian Grain Commission. The revised funding model which came into effect on August 1, 2013 is based on full cost recovery through user fees and ongoing appropriations. Until the implementation of this model, the Canadian Grain Commission was funded through its ongoing appropriations, fees collected and special appropriation.

In accordance with the Government’s policy on self-insurance, the Canadian Grain Commission does not carry its own insurance. The Canadian Grain Commission is not subject to income tax.

États financiers, le 31 mars 2014

7.1. Notes afférentes aux états financiers : Pouvoirs et mandat

Le Fonds renouvelable de la Commission canadienne des grains [« CCG », le « Fonds renouvelable » ou le « Fonds »] détient ses pouvoirs en vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada. Aux termes de la loi, la Commission canadienne des grains a le mandat d’établir et de maintenir des normes visant la qualité du grain canadien et de réglementer la manutention du grain au Canada dans l’intérêt des producteurs de grain, ainsi que d’assurer l’approvisionnement en denrées fiables du marché intérieur et des marchés à l’exportation.

Le Fonds renouvelable de la Commission canadienne des grains a été constitué en vertu de la Loi de crédits n° 6 pour 1994-1995. Le Fonds a reçu du Parlement l’autorisation permanente d’effectuer, à même le Trésor public, des paiements aux fins du fonds de roulement, de l’acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles et du financement temporaire des déficits de fonctionnement accumulés, lesquels ne peuvent, en aucun temps, totaliser plus de 2 000 000 $.

À l’automne 2012, on annonçait deux initiatives qui ont touché les services et la structure organisationnelle de la Commission canadienne des grains. En premier lieu, le projet de loi C-45, qui contient des modifications à la Loi sur les grains du Canada, a été présenté devant le Parlement. En second lieu, le 1er novembre 2012, la Commission canadienne des grains a lancé des consultations sur les nouveaux droits d’utilisation découlant de la nouvelle Loi sur les grains du Canada et a rationalisé les activités de la Commission canadienne des grains. Le projet de loi C-45 a reçu la sanction royale le 14 décembre 2012. Les modifications à la Loi sur les grains du Canada sont entrées en vigueur le 1er août 2013. Les droits d’utilisation mis à jour sont entrés en vigueur le 1er août 2013, soit à la même date que les modifications à la Loi sur les grains du Canada. Par suite des modifications législatives et de la restructuration des droits d’utilisation, la Commission canadienne des grains a procédé à une rationalisation de son personnel (note 6), de sa structure organisationnelle et de ses activités.

L’exercice 2013-2014 est un exercice de transition pour la Commission canadienne des grains. Le modèle de financement révisé entré en vigueur le 1er août 2013 repose sur un recouvrement intégral des coûts par le biais des droits d’utilisation et des crédits continus. Avant la mise en œuvre de ce modèle, le financement de la Commission canadienne des grains provenait de crédits continus, de recettes et de crédits spéciaux.

Conformément à la politique du gouvernement sur l’autoassurance, la Commission canadienne des grains ne détient pas de police d’assurance. La Commission canadienne des grains n’est pas assujettie à l’impôt sur les bénéfices.