Quarterly Financial Report for the period ended June 30, 2016

Statement Outlining Results, Risks and Significant Changes in Operations, Personnel and Programs (Unaudited)

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has been prepared by Canadian Grain Commission management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and is in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, mandate and program activities

The Canadian Grain Commission was established in 1912 and is the federal government department responsible for administering the provisions of the Canada Grain Act.

The Canadian Grain Commission’s mandate as set out in the Canada Grain Act is to, “in the interests of the grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets.”

The Canadian Grain Commission's vision is "To be a world class, science-based quality assurance provider." The Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food is responsible for the Canadian Grain Commission.

In order to effectively pursue its mandate, the Canadian Grain Commission aims to achieve the following strategic outcome: Canada’s grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are properly compensated for grain deliveries to licensed grain companies.

The Canadian Grain Commission's Program Alignment Architecture has five programs. The Quality Assurance Program, Quantity Assurance Program, Grain Quality Research Program, and Producer Protection Program each contributes to making progress to the sole strategic outcome. The Internal Services program supports all other programs within the Canadian Grain Commission.

Further details on the Canadian Grain Commission’s authority, mandate and program activities may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main Estimates.

1.2  Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting (modified cash) and a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities. The accompanying Statement of Budgetary Authorities compares the department's spending authorities granted by Parliament to those used by the department. Information in the Statement of Authorities is consistent with that in the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through Appropriations Acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending for specific purposes.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. 

The Canadian Grain Commission uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements included in the Departmental Performance Reports. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament are on an expenditure basis (modified cash) of accounting.

1.3 Canadian Grain Commission financial structure

The Canadian Grain Commission funding structure is based on budgetary authorities that are comprised of both statutory and voted (non-statutory) authorities. The statutory authorities include employee benefit plan authority for appropriation-funded personnel costs and Canadian Grain Commission revolving fund authority, which allows the Canadian Grain Commission to re-spend fees that it has collected. The voted authority is Vote 1 – Program Expenditures, which includes annual appropriation authority and any one time ad hoc appropriation authority for the fiscal year.

A revolving fund was set up for the Canadian Grain Commission in 1995 with the expectation that the Canadian Grain Commission would be largely self-funded through fees for service. Prior to August 1, 2013, Canadian Grain Commission user fees had not increased since 1991 despite continually increasing  operating costs. As a result, overall cost recovery had fallen from approximately 90 percent in the early 1990s to between 50 and 60 percent. The Canadian Grain Commission’s falling cost recovery level caused the Canadian Grain Commission to rely on ad hoc government appropriation from 1999 to 2014 to fund operations on an annual basis.

In fall 2012, the Canadian Grain Commission initiated a process to modernize user fees to align with amendments to the Canada Grain Act introduced in Parliament as part of Bill C-45. Bill C-45 received Royal Assent on December 14, 2012. Amended legislation and updated user fees came into force concurrently on August 1, 2013. These changes eliminated the need for annual ad hoc funding going forward.

Planned spending for fiscal year 2016-17 is based on operations under an amended Canada Grain Act and updated user fees. The Canadian Grain Commission plans to recover approximately 91 percent of its costs through user fees. User fees will increase based on inflation as published in November 2012 in the Canadian Grain Commission’s User Fee Consultation and pre-proposal notification. Planned full time equivalents are 404 during fiscal year 2016-17.

During 2015-16, the Canadian Grain Commission commenced a review of the user fees structure as part of the organizations five year user fees review cycle. The review will ensure that user fees accurately reflect the costs of providing services and reflect updated grain volume projections and the uncertainty associated with such projections. User fees consultations are planned during 2016-17. Updated user fees are expected to be in place by April 1, 2018.

2. Highlights of fiscal year to date

This section highlights any significant items that affected the year-to-date results and/or contributed to the net change in resources available for the year and actual expenditures. It should be read in conjunction with the Statement of Budgetary Authorities and the Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object, which can be found at the end of this report.

Authorities available and used for the period ended June 30, 2016 (in millions of dollars)

Authorities available and used for the period ended June 30, 2016. Details below.

*Authority available based on amounts approved through the Estimates process. Amounts detailed in Statement of Authorities.

Authorities available and used for the period ended June 30, 2016, text version
Authorities available and used for the period ended June 30, 2016 (in millions of dollars)
Sources of funds Annual Authority available* Authority used year to date
2016 to 2017 2015 to 2016 2016 to 2017 2015 to 2016
Statutory (Revolving fund revenue) 56.368 55.062 12.646 11.839
Statutory (Access to accumulated surplus and employee benefits plan) 0.606 0.591 0.152 0.149
Vote 1 (Appropriation including Ad hoc) 4.776 4.884 0.884 0.877
Total 61.750 60.537 13.682 12.865
*Authority available based on amounts approved through the Estimates process. Amounts detailed in Statement of Authorities.

2.1 Authority available analysis

As reflected in the Statement of Budgetary Authorities, the department's total authority available for use (net of Revolving Fund revenue) in the fiscal year as at June 30, 2016 is $5.382 million, as compared to $5.475 million as at June 30, 2015. The authorities available between the fiscal years are consistent.

With the implementation of revised user fees to support its sustainable funding model, the Canadian Grain Commission forecasts an increase of $1.306 million in its revolving fund gross revenues authorities due to inflation adjustments for user fees. This increase does not affect the change in the Canadian Grain Commission budgetary authorities.

2.2 Authority used analysis

As reflected in the Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object, the department’s total budgetary authority used in the quarter ended June 30, 2016 is ($6.904 million), as compared to ($2.510 million) as at the quarter ended June 30, 2015. The decrease of $4.394 million in total budgetary authority used can be attributed to:

  1. the overall increase of $5.211 million in revenues collected in the quarter ended June 30, 2016 primarily due to increase in accounts receivable as at the end of period 12 as compared to the previous; and
  2. the overall increase of $0.817 million in expenditures is as a result of the following significant variances:
    1. Professional and special services increased by $0.644 million as compared to the same quarter last year due to the costs associated with the implementation of the SAP financial system. These costs should have been recorded paid against the payable at year end account. The correction will be reflected in the Quarter 2 report; 
    2. Rental costs increased by $0.233 million as compared to the same quarter last year due to the timing of software license purchases; and 
    3. Acquisition of machinery and equipment decreased by $0.284 million as compared to the same period last year primarily due WIFI equipment purchased in 2015-16.

As reflected in both the Statement of Budgetary Authorities and the Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object, overall expenditures, with consideration to the above changes, are consistent between fiscal periods.

3. Risks and uncertainties

The Canadian Grain Commission receives funding through both voted appropriations and fees related to the handling of grain. Service fee revenue is largely based on grain volumes handled - a volume which fluctuates from year to year. The Canadian Grain Commission revolving fund is utilized as effectively as possible. The annual budget is also re-profiled throughout the year to deal with shifting needs and priorities, including planning for and accommodating a potential 20 percent swing in projected grain volumes.

In fall 2012, the Canadian Grain Commission initiated a process to modernize user fees to align with amendments to the Canada Grain Act introduced in Parliament as part of Bill C-45. Bill C-45 received Royal Assent on December 14, 2012. Amended legislation and updated user fees came into force concurrently on August 1, 2013. These changes eliminated the need for annual ad hoc funding going forward and created a more stable environment for integrated people and business management. A stable funding environment may reduce overall organizational risk and allow the Canadian Grain Commission to continue to successfully deliver its program activities and achieve its strategic outcome.

While updated user fees took effect on August 1, 2013, there continues to be external pressure and corresponding risks related to the Canadian Grain Commission’s funding structure. This risk was identified in the 2015-16 Report on Plans and Priorities and was successfully mitigated during the reporting period. For example, the Canadian Grain Commission:

  • Commenced a review of its fee structure to ensure that user fees accurately reflect the costs of providing services and updated grain volume projections, as well as  the uncertainty associated with these projections; and
  • Worked closely with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and other government departments to prepare for user fees consultations planned during 2016-17 and to ensure the user fees amendment process, as per the User Fees Act, is completed in a timely manner.

4. Significant changes to operations, personnel and programs

From fiscal year 2012-13 to fiscal year 2015-16, the Canadian Grain Commission transformed itself into a streamlined and financially sustainable organization. This is due to certain activities being eliminated and other activities being adjusted and/or implemented to allow the Canadian Grain Commission to continue to achieve its mandate and manage risk. Changes resulted in a reduction in operational spending of $21.835 million between 2012-13 and 2015-16.

Planned operational spending began to stabilize at approximately $60.537 million in 2015-16. This includes $5.475 million from annual appropriation and projected spending of approximately $55.062 million of revenue earned through user fees as adjusted for inflation. Planned human resource requirements decreased from approximately 731 full time equivalents (as at March 31, 2013) to 404 full time equivalents by the end of 2015-16.

During the fourth quarter of 2015-16, Jim Smolik assumed the position of Acting Chief Commissioner upon the retirement of Elwin Hermanson.  It is expected that a process will be initiated to fill the Chief Commission position this fiscal year. Nathan Gerelus was appointed Director, Industry Services.

Significant changes to operations, personnel and programs are not anticipated in 2016-17.

Approval by Senior Official

Approved by:

Jim Smolik
Acting Chief Commissioner
Winnipeg, Manitoba
August 25, 2016

Cheryl Blahey
Chief Financial Officer
Winnipeg, Manitoba
August 25, 2016

Statements of Budgetary Authorities (unaudited)

Statements of Budgetary Authorities (unaudited) for the period ended June 30, 2016
Sources of funds Fiscal year 2016-17 Fiscal year 2015-16
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year-to date at quarter end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year-to date at quarter end
(in thousands of dollars) (in thousands of dollars)
Vote 1 Appropriation including Ad hoc 4,776 884 884 4,884 877 877
Statutory Authorities Revolving Fund Gross Expenditures 56,368 12,646 12,646 55,062 11,839 11,839
Revolving Fund Gross Revenues (56,368) (20,586) (20,586) (55,062) (15,375) (15,375)
Revolving Fund Net Expenditures 0 (7,940) (7,940) 0 (3,536) (3,536)
Employee Benefit Plan 606 152 152 591 149 149
Total Statutory Authorities 606 (7 788) (7 788) 591 (3 387) (3 387)
Total Budgetary Authorities 5,382 (6,904) (6,904) 5,475 (2,510) (2,510)
Due to rounding, totals may not add to totals shown.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited) for the period ended June 30, 2016
Sources of funds Fiscal year 2016-17 Fiscal year 2015-16
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year-to date at quarter end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year-to date at quarter end
(in thousands of dollars) (in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures Personnel 42,616 9,818 9,818 41,674 9,738 9,738
Transportation and communication 2,892 720 720 3,510 646 646
Information 318 52 52 199 25 25
Professional and special services 3,059 902 902 3,212 259 259
Rentals 6,684 1,615 1,615 5,156 1,383 1,383
Repairs and maintenance 993 263 263 930 275 275
Utilities, materials and supplies 852 123 123 1,605 127 127
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 4,336 125 125 4,251 409 409
Other subsidies and payments 0 63 63 0 3 3
Total expenditures 61,750 13,682 13,682 60,537 12,865 12,865
Revolving fund revenue (to be credited to vote) (56,368) (20,586) (20,586) (55,062) (15,375) (15,375)
Total budgetary authorities 5,382 (6,904) (6,904) 5,475 (2,510) (2,510)
Due to rounding, totals may not add to totals shown.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Return to first footnote * referrer

Rapport financier trimestriel pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016

État des résultats, des risques et des changements importants touchant les activités, le personnel et les programmes (non audité)

1. Introduction

Il convient de lire le présent rapport en conjonction avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Préparé par la direction de la Commission canadienne des grains, comme l'exige le paragraphe 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, il est présenté dans le format et le mode prescrits par la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'un audit ou d'un examen externe.

1.1 Pouvoirs, mandat et activités de programme

La Commission canadienne des grains a été créée en 1912. Elle est le ministère fédéral qui administre les dispositions de la Loi sur les grains du Canada.

Aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada, la Commission canadienne des grains a « pour mission de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d'en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieur et extérieur ».

La vision de la Commission canadienne des grains est d’« Être un fournisseur de classe mondiale en matière de services d’assurance de la qualité fondés sur la science ». Le ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire est responsable de la Commission canadienne des grains.

En vue de réaliser son mandat, la Commission canadienne des grains s'efforce d'atteindre le résultat stratégique suivant : Les grains du Canada sont salubres, fiables et commercialisables, et les producteurs de grains canadiens sont dûment rémunérés pour les livraisons de grains aux entreprises céréalières agréées.

L’architecture d’alignement des programmes de la Commission canadienne des grains comporte cinq programmes. Le Programme d'assurance de la qualité, le Programme d'assurance de la quantité, le Programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains et le Programme de protection des producteurs contribuent à l’unique résultat stratégique de la Commission canadienne des grains. Le programme des Services internes appuie les autres programmes de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Plus de détails sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes de la Commission canadienne des grains sont présentés dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses (comptabilité de caisse modifiée) et un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins en matière d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation du pouvoir de dépenser. Dans l’État des autorisations budgétaires joint au présent rapport, on compare les pouvoirs de dépenser du ministère accordés par le Parlement à ceux utilisés par le ministère. L’information présentée dans l’État des autorisations est conforme à celle du Budget principal des dépenses et du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de la Loi de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles approuvées, ou par le truchement de lois, sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice.

La Commission canadienne des grains utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers ministériels annuels, qui sont inclus dans les rapports ministériels sur le rendement. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont sous la forme d’une méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses (comptabilité de caisse modifiée).

1.3 Structure financière de la Commission canadienne des grains

La structure de financement de la Commission canadienne des grains est axée sur les autorisations budgétaires, qui sont composées d’autorisations législatives et d’autorisations votées (non législatives). Les autorisations législatives comprennent l'autorisation du régime d'avantages sociaux pour les postes financés par les crédits et l'autorisation du fonds renouvelable de la Commission canadienne des grains, qui permet à la Commission canadienne des grains de dépenser les droits qu'elle a perçus. L’autorisation votée est le Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programme, qui comprend les crédits parlementaires annuels et tout autre crédit parlementaire ponctuel unique pour l’exercice financier.

Un fonds renouvelable a été établi pour la Commission canadienne des grains en 1995 dans l’espoir que l’organisation puisse s’autofinancer en grande partie par les droits perçus pour ses services. Jusqu’au 1er août 2013, les droits d'utilisation de la Commission canadienne des grains étaient demeurés inchangés depuis 1991, malgré l’augmentation continue des frais d'exploitation. Ainsi, le taux global de recouvrement des coûts, qui était d’environ 90 p. 100 au début des années 1990, avait chuté à entre 50 et 60 p. 100. En raison de la baisse de son taux de recouvrement des coûts, la Commission canadienne des grains a eu besoin de crédits parlementaires ponctuels pour assurer le financement annuel de ses activités, de 1999 à 2014.

À l’automne 2012, la Commission canadienne des grains a entrepris un processus visant à moderniser les frais d’utilisation de façon à les harmoniser aux modifications apportées à la Loi sur les grains du Canada déposées au Parlement dans le cadre du projet de loi C-45. Le projet de loi C-45 a reçu la sanction royale le 14 décembre 2012. Les modifications législatives et les frais d’utilisation actualisés sont entrés en vigueur simultanément le 1er août 2013, éliminant le besoin d’assurer un financement ponctuel annuel à l’avenir.

Les dépenses prévues pour l’exercice 2016-2017 sont fondées sur des activités menées au titre d’une Loi sur les grains du Canada modifiée et de nouveaux frais d’utilisation. La Commission canadienne des grains prévoit récupérer environ 91 p. 100 de ses coûts par l’imposition de frais d’utilisation. Ceux-ci augmenteront en fonction de l’inflation, comme il est indiqué dans le document Consultation sur les frais d'utilisation et avis de proposition préliminaire publié par la Commission canadienne des grains en novembre 2012. Les équivalents temps plein prévus sont de 404 pour l’exercice 2016-2017.

Au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, la Commission canadienne des grains a entrepris un examen de son barème des droits dans le cadre du cycle d’examen quinquennal des frais d’utilisation de l’organisation. L’examen fera en sorte que les frais d’utilisation reflètent fidèlement les coûts de la prestation des services, les prévisions actualisées des volumes de grain, ainsi que l’incertitude associée à de telles prévisions. Des consultations sur les frais d’utilisation doivent avoir lieu en 2016-2017. Les frais d’utilisation actualisés doivent entrer en vigueur d’ici le 1er avril 2018.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers cumulatifs

La présente section fait ressortir les points importants qui ont eu des répercussions sur les résultats cumulatifs ou qui ont contribué à la variation nette des ressources disponibles pour l’année et des dépenses réelles. Elle devrait être lue de concert avec l’État des autorisations budgétaires et les Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant figurant à la fin du présent rapport.

Autorisations disponibles et utilisées pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016 (en millions de dollars)

Autorisations disponibles et utilisées pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016. Détails ci-après.

*Autorisations disponibles d'après les montants approuvés dans le cadre du processus du Budget des dépenses. Montants détaillés dans l'État des autorisations budgétaires.

Autorisations disponibles et utilisées pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016, version textuelle
Autorisations disponibles et utilisées pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016 (en millions de dollars)
Sources de financement Disponibles* Utilisées, cumul
2016 à 2017 2015 à 2016 2016 à 2017 2015 à 2016
Législatives (Revenus du fonds renouvelable) 56,368 55,062 12,646 11,839
Législatives (Accès à l'excédent accumulé et régime d'avantages sociaux des employés) 0,606 0,591 0,152 0,149
Crédit 1 (Crédits parlementaires, y compris les crédits ponctuels) 4,776 4,884 0,884 0,877
Total 61,750 60,537 13,682 12,865
* Autorisations disponibles d'après les montants approuvés dans le cadre du processus du Budget des dépenses. Montants détaillés dans l'État des autorisations budgétaires.

2.1 Analyse des autorisations disponibles

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans l'État des autorisations budgétaires, les autorisations disponibles pour le ministère au cours de l'exercice, en date du 30 juin 2016 (sans tenir compte des revenus du fonds renouvelable), s'élèvent à 5,382 millions de dollars, comparativement à 5,475 millions de dollars au 30 juin 2016. Les autorisations disponibles sont constantes d’un exercice à l’autre.

Par suite de la mise en œuvre de la révision des frais d'utilisation sous-tendant son modèle de financement durable, la Commission canadienne des grains prévoit une augmentation de 1,306 million de dollars des recettes brutes de son fonds renouvelable en raison du rajustement des frais d’utilisation en fonction de l’inflation. Cette augmentation n'a aucune incidence sur les modifications aux autorisations budgétaires de la Commission canadienne des grains.

2.2 Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans les Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant, le total des autorisations budgétaires utilisées de du ministère pour le trimestre s'étant terminé le 30 juin 2016 est de (6,904 millions million de dollars), comparativement à (2,510 millions de dollars) pour le trimestre s'étant terminé le 30 juin 2015. La baisse de 4,394 millions de dollars des autorisations budgétaires utilisées totales s’explique comme suit.

  1. La hausse globale des revenus générés au cours du trimestre prenant fin le 30 juin 2016, à raison de 5,211 millions de dollars, principalement attribuable à une augmentation des débiteurs à la fin de la période 12, comparativement à l’exercice précédent;
  2. La hausse globale des dépenses, à raison de 0,817 million de dollars, attribuable aux écarts considérables suivants :
    1. Une hausse de 0,644 million de dollars des services professionnels et spéciaux par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, en raison des coûts associés à la mise en œuvre du système financier SAP. Ces coûts auraient dû être inscrits comme étant imputés au compte créditeur à la fin de l’exercice. La correction sera effectuée dans le rapport du deuxième trimestre;
    2. Une hausse de 0,233 million des coûts de location par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, en raison du moment de l’achat de licences de logiciels;
    3. une baisse de 0,284 million de dollars des dépenses liées à l’acquisition de machinerie et de matériel par rapport à la même période l’exercice précédent, qui s’explique par l’achat de matériel Wi-Fi en 2015-2016.

Comme il est indiqué dans l'État des autorisations budgétaires et les Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant, les dépenses globales sont constantes d'un exercice à l'autre, une fois les changements pris en compte.

3. Risques et incertitudes

La Commission canadienne des grains obtient du financement par l'entremise d'autorisations votées et de droits relatifs à la manutention du grain. Les recettes tirées des droits exigés pour les services sont axées en grande partie sur le volume de grain manutentionné, qui varie d'une année à l'autre. Le fonds renouvelable de la Commission canadienne des grains est utilisé de la façon la plus efficace possible. On réaménage le budget au cours de l'année afin de l'adapter en fonction des changements au niveau des besoins et des priorités, notamment en planifiant et en prenant les mesures nécessaires en vue de fluctuations de 20 p. 100 quant au volume de grain prévu.

À l’automne 2012, la Commission canadienne des grains a lancé un processus de modernisation des frais d’utilisation afin de les harmoniser aux modifications à la LGC présentées au Parlement dans le cadre du projet de loi C-45. Le projet de loi C-45 a reçu la sanction royale le 14 décembre 2012. Les modifications législatives et les frais d’utilisation actualisés sont entrés en vigueur simultanément le 1er août 2013. Ces changements ont éliminé le besoin de financement ponctuel annuel à l’avenir et créé un environnement plus stable pour la gestion intégrée des ressources humaines et des activités. Un environnement de financement stable pourrait réduire les risques organisationnels globaux et permettre à la Commission canadienne des grains de continuer à exécuter de façon efficace ses activités de programme et d’atteindre son résultat stratégique.

Malgré l’entrée en vigueur des frais d’utilisation actualisés, le 1er août 2013, il continue d'y avoir des pressions de l'extérieur et des risques correspondants liés à la structure de financement de la Commission canadienne des grains. On avait signalé ce risque dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2015-2016, et il a été atténué au cours de la période visée par le rapport. Par exemple, la Commission canadienne des grains :

  • a entrepris un examen de son barème des droits pour s’assurer que ceux-ci reflètent fidèlement les coûts de la prestation des services les prévisions actualisées des volumes de grain, ainsi que l’incertitude associée à de telles prévisions;
  • a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec AAC et d’autres ministères en vue de préparer la tenue de consultations sur les frais d’utilisation en 2016-2017 et de faire en sorte que le processus de modification des frais d’utilisation, conformément à la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation, soit achevé en temps opportun.

4. Changements importants relatifs aux activités, au personnel et aux programmes

De l’exercice 2012-2013 à l’exercice 2015-2016, la Commission canadienne des grains s'est transformée en une organisation rationalisée et financièrement viable. Ce résultat s’explique par l’élimination de certaines activités et le rajustement ou la mise en œuvre d’autres activités pour permettre à l’organisme de continuer à s'acquitter de son mandat et de gérer les risques. Les changements ont entraîné une diminution des dépenses opérationnelles de 21,835 millions de dollars de l’exercice 2012-2013 à l’exercice 2015-2016.

Les dépenses opérationnelles prévues ont commencé à se stabiliser autour de 60,537 millions de dollars en 2015-2016. Ce montant comprend 5,475 millions de dollars de crédits annuels et des dépenses projetées d’approximativement 55,062 millions de dollars provenant des recettes issues des frais d’utilisation, après un rajustement en fonction de l’inflation. Les exigences relatives aux ressources humaines ont passé d’environ 731 équivalents temps plein (ETP) au 31 mars 2013 à 404 ETP à la fin de l’exercice 2015-2016.

Pendant le quatrième trimestre de 2015-2016, Jim Smolik a été nommé commissaire en chef intérimaire lors du départ à la retraite d’Elwin Hermanson. On s’attend à ce qu’un processus de dotation du poste de commissaire en chef soit lancé au cours de l’exercice. Nathan Gerelus a été nommé directeur des Services à l’industrie.

On ne prévoit aucun changement important relatif aux activités, au personnel et aux programmes en 2016-2017.

Approbation d’un cadre supérieur

Approuvé par :

Jim Smolik
Commissaire en chef, intérimaire
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
Le 25 août 2016

Cheryl Blahey
Chef de la direction financière
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
Le 25 août 2016

État des autorisations budgétaires (non audité)

État des autorisations budgétaires (non audité) pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016
Sources de financement Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice prenant fin le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice prenant fin le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul à la fin du trimestre
(en milliers de dollars) (en milliers de dollars)
Crédit 1 Crédits parlementaires, y compris les crédits ponctuels 4 776 884 884 4 884 877 877
Autorisations législatives : Dépenses brutes du fonds renouvelable 56 368 12 646 12 646 55 062 11 839 11 839
Recettes brutes du fonds renouvelable (56 368) (20 586) (20 586) (55 062) (15 375) (15 375)
Dépenses nettes du fonds renouvelable 0 (7 940) (7 940) 0 (3 536) (3 536)
Régime d'avantages sociaux des employés 606 152 152 591 149 149
Autorisations législatives totales 606 (7 788) (7 788) 591 (3 387) (3 387)
Autorisations budgétaires totales 5 382 (6 904) (6 904) 5 475 (2 510) (2 510)
Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, il est possible que leur somme ne corresponde pas au total indiqué.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non audité)

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non audité) pour la période se terminant le 30 juin 2016
Sources de financement Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice prenant fin le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice prenant fin le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul à la fin du trimestre
(en milliers de dollars) (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Personnel 42 616 9 818 9 818 41 674 9 738 9 738
Transport et communication 2 892 720 720 3 510 646 646
Renseignements 318 52 52 199 25 25
Services professionnels et spéciaux 3 059 902 902 3 212 259 259
Locations 6 684 1 615 1 615 5 156 1 383 1 383
Réparations et entretien 993 263 263 930 275 275
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 852 123 123 1 605 127 127
Acquisition de machinerie et de matériel 4 336 125 125 4 251 409 409
Autres subventions et paiements 0 63 63 0 3 3
Dépenses totales 61 750 13 682 13 682 60 537 12 865 12 865
Revenus du fonds renouvelable (à verser au crédit législatif) (56 368) (20 586) (20 586) (55 062) (15 375) (15 375)
Autorisations budgétaires totales 5 382 (6 904) (6 904) 5 475 (2 510) (2 510)
Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, il est possible que leur somme ne corresponde pas au total indiqué.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Inclut seulement les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page *