2014–15 - Report on Plans and Priorities

Minister's Message

The Honourable Gerry Ritz

I am pleased to submit to Parliament and Canadians the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC)’s Report on Plans and Priorities 2014–15.

In 2013-14, the Government followed through on our commitment to modernize the Canada Grain Act to better reflect the needs of today’s grain sector. The amendments focused on the immediate needs of eliminating unnecessary mandatory services, reducing costs in the grain handling system, and streamlining the operations of the CGC.

These efforts, however, were just the first step. Moving forward, I ask that the CGC, in collaboration with my portfolio, continue to modernize its activities and the legislative framework to improve Canada’s grain quality assurance system and update producer protections. Future reforms will be brought forward at the earliest opportunity.

I invite you to read this report to learn more about the CGC’s plans and priorities for the 2014–15 fiscal year.

The Honourable Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P,
Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Chief Commissioner's Message

Elwin Hermanson

Welcome to the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC)’s Report on Plans and Priorities 2014–15. Through its activities, the CGC supports a competitive, efficient grain sector and upholds Canada’s international and domestic reputation for consistent and reliable grain quantity, quality and safety. In addition, the CGC protects the rights of Canadian grain producers when they deliver grain to licensed grain handling companies.

Since 1912, the CGC has been the federal agency responsible for setting standards of quality and regulating Canada’s grain handling system. While the CGC celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2012, the CGC’s Grain Research Laboratory (GRL) celebrates its 100th anniversary this year. The CGC’s GRL is an integral part of Canada’s grain quality assurance system as research conducted at the laboratory is the foundation for Canada’s grading system. Over the past century, the GRL has established a reputation for excellence and innovation in grain research.

The CGC is operating in a time of rapid change in global and domestic grain industries. On August 1, 2013, amendments to the Canada Grain Act came into force. Amendments to the CGC’s user fees also took effect August 1, 2013, concurrent with changes to the Canada Grain Act. To respond to and align with the legislative changes and restructured user fees, the CGC’s workforce, organizational design, and operations continue to be adjusted going forward.

We are committed to modernizing our activities, our legislative framework, and our funding model to ensure the long-term success of Canada’s grain quality assurance system and to add optimal value for Canadian grain producers and the grain sector. As Chief Commissioner, I look forward to the CGC’s ongoing exemplary work to effectively meet the needs of producers, the industry and Canadians in general. I invite you to read this report to learn more about theCGC’s plans and priorities for fiscal year 2014–15.

Elwin Hermanson
Chief Commissioner
Canadian Grain Commission

Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2014-2015

Message du Ministre

L'honorable Gerry Ritz

Je suis heureux de présenter au Parlement et aux Canadiens et Canadiennes le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2014 2015 de la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG).

En 2013-2014, le gouvernement a donné suite à son engagement de moderniser la Loi sur les grains du Canada afin de mieux tenir compte des besoins du secteur des grains d'aujourd'hui. Les modifications étaient axées sur la nécessité immédiate d’éliminer les services obligatoires superflus, de réduire les coûts au sein du réseau de manutention des grains, et de rationaliser les opérations de la CCG.

Toutefois, il ne s’agissait là que d’une première étape. Je demande à la CCG de poursuivre, en collaboration avec mon portefeuille, la modernisation de ses activités et du cadre législatif afin d'améliorer le système d’assurance de la qualité des grains du Canada et d’actualiser les mécanismes de protection des producteurs. D’autres réformes seront mise en œuvre dès que possible.

Je vous invite à lire le présent rapport qui vous renseignera davantage sur les plans et les priorités de la CCG pour l'exercice 2014 2015.

L'honorable Gerry Ritz, C.P., député,
Ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire

Message du commissaire en chef

Elwin Hermanson

Je suis heureux de vous présenter le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) pour l'exercice 2014 2015. Dans le cadre de ses activités, la CCG soutient un secteur céréalier efficace et compétitif et maintient la réputation internationale et nationale dont jouit le Canada pour ce qui est de la constance et de la fiabilité de la qualité, de la quantité et de la salubrité du grain qu'il produit. En outre, la CCG protège les droits des producteurs de grains canadiens lorsqu'ils livrent leur grain à des entreprises agréées de manutention du grain.

Depuis 1912, la CCG est l'organisme fédéral chargé d'établir les normes de qualité et de réglementer le réseau de manutention des grains du Canada. Tandis que la CCG a célébré son 100e anniversaire en 2012, son Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains (LRG) célèbre son 100e anniversaire cette année. Le LRG de la CCG fait partie intégrante du système d'assurance de la qualité des grains du Canada puisque les recherches qui y sont effectuées sont le fondement du système de classement des grains du Canada. Au cours du dernier siècle, le LRG s'est forgé une réputation d'excellence et d'innovation en matière de recherches sur les grains.

La CCG œuvre dans un contexte de changements rapides au sein de l'industrie céréalière, tant à l'échelle mondiale qu'au pays. Le 1er août 2013, les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les grains du Canada sont entrées en vigueur. Parallèlement, les nouveaux frais d'utilisation ont également pris effet à cette date. En réaction aux modifications législatives et à la restructuration des frais d'utilisation, la CCG adaptera son effectif, sa conception organisationnelle et ses opérations en vue de les harmoniser avec ces changements.

Nous sommes déterminés à moderniser nos activités, notre cadre législatif et notre modèle de financement afin d'assurer le succès à long terme du système d'assurance de la qualité des grains du Canada et d'ajouter une valeur optimale pour les producteurs canadiens de grains et le secteur céréalier. En ma qualité de commissaire en chef, je suis impatient de voir la CCG continuer à exercer un rôle exemplaire afin de répondre efficacement aux besoins des producteurs, de l’industrie et de l’ensemble de la population canadienne. Je vous invite à lire le présent rapport qui vous renseignera davantage sur les plans et les priorités de la CCG pour l'exercice 2014-15.

Elwin Hermanson
Commissaire en chef
Commission canadienne des grains