Wheat, Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS)

Order number 2021-18-4


  1. The Canadian Grain Commission (the "Commission") has authority under section 16(1) of the Canada Grain Act (the "Act") to establish, by regulation, grades and grade names for western and eastern grain.
  2. Grades and grade names established by the Commission for some grains, in the Canada Grain Regulations, provide for different classes which are, under section 2 of the Act, a variety or varieties of grain designated by order of the Commission.
  3. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), who is responsible for the registration and cancelation of varieties, including designating varieties to a region, has notified the Commission that it has registered the variety Redcliff. As a result, the Commission has designated this variety to be in the CWRS class.
  4. The decision in respect of this order was made at a meeting of quorum of the Commission on April 20, 2022. Two of three Commissioners constitutes a quorum of the Commission.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Commission Order No. 2021-18-3 - Wheat, Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS) issued February 16, 2022, is revoked and replaced with this order.
  2. The Commission establishes the class Wheat, Western Red Spring (CWRS) and designates the varieties of wheat listed below to be in the CWRS class.
  • AAC Alida
  • AAC Bailey
  • AAC Brandon
  • AAC Broadacres
  • AAC Cameron
  • AAC Connery
  • AAC Elie
  • AAC Hockley
  • AAC Hodge
  • AAC Jatharia
  • AAC LeRoy
  • AAC Magnet
  • AAC Prevail
  • AAC Redberry
  • AAC Redstar
  • AAC Russell
  • AAC Starbuck
  • AAC Tisdale
  • AAC Viewfield
  • AAC W1876
  • AAC Warman
  • AAC Wheatland
  • AC Barrie
  • AC Cadillac
  • AC Elsa
  • AC Intrepid
  • AC Splendor
  • Bolles
  • Carberry
  • Cardale
  • CDC Abound
  • CDC Adamant
  • CDC Alsask
  • CDC Bounty
  • CDC Bradwell
  • CDC Go
  • CDC Hughes
  • CDC Imagine
  • CDC Kernen
  • CDC Landmark
  • CDC Ortona
  • CDC Pilar CLPlus
  • CDC Plentiful
  • CDC Silas
  • CDC Skrush
  • CDC Stanley
  • CDC Succession CLPlus
  • CDC Teal
  • CDC Thrive
  • CDC Titanium
  • CDC Utmost
  • CDC VR Morris
  • Coleman
  • Daybreak
  • Donalda
  • Ellerslie
  • Fieldstar
  • Glenn
  • Go Early
  • Goodeve
  • Helios
  • Infinity
  • Jake
  • Journey
  • Laura
  • Lovitt
  • Noor
  • Parata
  • Peace
  • Prodigy
  • Redcliff
  • Rednet
  • Resolve
  • Roblin
  • Shaw
  • Sheba
  • Somerset
  • Stettler
  • Superb
  • SY Brawn
  • SY Cast
  • SY Chert
  • SY Crossite
  • SY Donald
  • SY Gabbro
  • SY Manness
  • SY Natron
  • SY Obsidian
  • SY Slate
  • SY Sovite
  • SY Torach
  • SY 433
  • SY479 VB
  • SY637
  • Thorsby
  • Tracker
  • Waskada
  • WR859 CL
  • Zealand
  • 5500HR
  • 5600HR
  • 5601HR
  • 5602HR
  • 5604HR CL

This order comes into effect on the later of the crop year commencing August 1, 2021 or the signing date, and is in effect until July 31, 2022, unless revoked earlier.

This order may be executed and delivered via facsimile or PDF and in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original and all or which taken together shall be deemed to constitute one and the same instrument, and it shall not be necessary in making proof of this order to produce or account for more than one such counterpart.

Doug Chorney
Chief Commissioner

Patty Rosher
Assistant Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague

Signed on: April 20, 2022

In accordance with Section 28 of the Canada Grain Act, varieties not designated by the Canadian Grain Commission to a specific class or varieties which are not a registered variety under the Seeds Act will only be eligible for the lowest grade for that kind of grain.

Date modified: