Grains regulated under the Canada Grain Act

  • Barley
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat
  • Canary seed
  • Canola
  • Chickpeas
  • Corn
  • Faba beans
  • Flaxseed
  • Lentils
  • Mixed grain
  • Mustard seed
  • Oats
  • Peas
  • Rapeseed
  • Rye
  • Safflower seed
  • Soybeans
  • Sunflower seed
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

Grains that are regulated under the Canada Grain Act Footnote 1 are:

  • Protected by security held by the Canadian Grain Commission. If a licensee refuses or fails to pay for a grain delivery, the producer can make a claim against security. If the crop is not one of the grains on the list, it is not protected by security.
  • Included in the Official Grain Grading Guide, which presents all grade names and specifications in grade determinants tables
  • Eligible for producer requests for an inspection called Subject to Inspector’s Grade and Dockage
  • Included in the producer car program

Crops that are not on the list are not regulated under the Canada Grain Act. Examples include: forages, spices, camelina, solin, Brassica carinata (known as Ethiopian mustard), quinoa, spelt and KAMUT® khorasan wheat.

Related links

Date modified: