Quality of western Canadian flaxseed 2011

Weather and production review

Weather review, seeding and growing conditions

This year's growing season was characterized by extremes in weather conditions across the western prairies. In May and June the southern parts of the prairies experienced excessive amounts of precipitation with greater than 60 mm of rain in some areas, flooding out important flax growing regions of southern Manitoba and south eastern Saskatchewan. In contrast the central and northern parts of the Prairie Provinces remained relatively dry with less than 30-40 mm of precipitation. The average monthly mean temperatures for May was 1-2 degrees below average in the southern part of the prairies while central and north western Alberta experienced 1-2 degrees above normal temperatures.

In July and August, the southern regions were relatively warm and dry with less than 20 mm of precipitation while central and northern regions were cool and wet with 20-30 mm of precipitation in some areas and 60 mm precipitation in north central Alberta.

The month of September was 3-4 degrees above normal monthly mean temperatures, but a severe frost was reported in mid September. The warm dry weather continued into October allowing for 90 percent of harvest to be completed by the first week of October.

Weather and Crop Surveillance department of the Canadian Wheat Board and AAFC provided the majority of the detailed weather review for the 2011 crop year.

Production and grade information

Western Canadian farmers seeded 281 thousand hectares to flaxseed in 2011 (Table 3), which is a decrease when compared to 2010 (374 thousand hectares). The 2011 yield estimate of 1,300 kg/ha was higher than the yield reported in 2010 (1,200 kg/ha) and higher than the 10-year mean of 1,205 kg/ha. Western Canada flaxseed production had an overall decrease to 368 thousand metric tonnes when compared to last year's 423, thousand metric tonnes. Flaxseed production decreased in Manitoba to 38 thousand metric tonnes, Saskatchewan to 279 thousand metric tonnes but in Alberta production increased to 51 thousand metric tonnes when compared to 2010 production values as shown in Field Crop Reporting Series No. 8, November estimates. Saskatchewan accounted for 76% of flaxseed production while Manitoba and Alberta had 10% and 14%, respectively.

Over 98% of the samples received for the 2011 CGC Harvest Survey were graded as Flaxseed, No. 1 CW.

Table 3. Seeded area and production for western Canadian flaxseed
Province Seeded area Production1 Average production2
2011 2010 2011 2010 2001-2010
thousand hectares thousand tonnes thousand tonnes
1 Source: Field Crop Reporting Series, No. 8, December 6, 2011; Statistics Canada
2 Source: Field Crop Reporting Series, revised final estimates for 2001-2010
Manitoba 38 71 38 81 162
Saskatchewan 217 287 279 311 567
Alberta 26 16 51 31 29
Western Canada 281 374 368 423 758

Qualité du lin de l’Ouest canadien en 2011

Bilan des conditions météorologiques et de production

Conditions météorologiques, semis et croissance

En 2011, la saison de croissance du lin s'est caractérisée par des conditions météorologiques extrêmes dans l'ensemble des Prairies. En mai et juin, les régions du Sud des Prairies ont connu des pluies abondantes, qui ont dépassé les 60 mm à certains endroits et inondé d'importantes régions productrices de lin dans le Sud du Manitoba et le Sud-Est de la Saskatchewan. À l'opposé, les régions du Centre et du Nord des Prairies sont demeurées relativement sèches, ayant reçu moins de 30-40 mm de pluie. En mai, les températures moyennes étaient de 1 ou 2 degrés inférieures à la normale dans le Sud des Prairies, alors qu'elles étaient de 1 ou 2 degrés supérieures à la normale dans le Centre et le Nord-Ouest de l'Alberta

En juillet et août, le temps a été relativement chaud et sec dans les régions du Sud, qui ont reçu moins de 20 mm de pluie. De leur côté, les régions du Centre et du Nord ont connu du temps frais et humide. Il est tombé entre 20 et 30 mm de pluie à certains endroits et jusqu'à 60 mm dans le Centre-Nord de l'Alberta

En septembre, les températures ont atteint 3 ou 4 degrés de plus que la normale pour ce mois, mais une forte gelée est survenue à la mi-septembre. Le temps chaud et sec s'est poursuivi jusqu'en octobre, ce qui a permis à la récolte d'être à 90 % terminée avant la première semaine d'octobre.

Le Service de météorologie et de surveillance des récoltes de la Commission canadienne du blé et AAC ont fourni la plupart des renseignements sur les conditions météorologiques pour l’enquête sur la campagne de 2011.

Information sur la production et les grades

Les agriculteurs de l'Ouest canadien ont ensemencé 281 000 hectares (ha) en lin en 2011 (tableau 3), soit beaucoup moins que les 374 000 hectares ensemencés en 2010. Le rendement de 2011 est estimé à 1 300 kg/ha, ce qui est supérieur au rendement de 2010 (1 200 "kg/ha) et à la moyenne décennale (1 205 kg/ha). Dans l'ensemble, la production totale de lin de l'Ouest canadien a diminué par rapport à 2010 : de 423 000 tonnes métriques, elle est passée à 368 000 tonnes métriques. Le Manitoba n'en a produit que 38 000 tonnes métriques et la Saskatchewan, que 279 000 tonnes métriques, soit une baisse par rapport à 2010, tandis que l'Alberta a augmenté sa production à 51 000 tonnes métriques, comme l'indiquent les estimations de novembre de Statistique Canada parues dans la Série de rapports sur les grandes cultures no 1 8. La Saskatchewan est responsable de 76 % de la production de lin, alors que le Manitoba et l'Alberta sont à l'origine de 10 % et de 14 % de cette production, respectivement.

Plus de 98 % des échantillons reçus par la CCG dans le cadre de l'enquête sur la récolte de 2011 étaient constitués de Lin, Ouest canadien no 1.

Tableau 3. Superficie ensemencée et production de lin dans l’Ouest canadien
Province Superficie ensemencée Production1 Production moyenne2
2011 2010 2011 2010 2001-2010
en milliers d’hectares en milliers de tonnes en milliers de tonnes
1 Source : Série de rapports sur les grandes cultures,no 8, 6 décembre 2011; Statistique Canada.
2 Source : Série de rapports sur les grandes cultures, estimations finales révisées pour 2001-2010.
Manitoba 38 71 38 81 162
Saskatchewan 217 287 279 311 567
Alberta 26 16 51 31 29
Ouest canadien 281 374 368 423 758