Quality of western Canadian flaxseed 2012

Weather and production review

Weather review, seeding and growing conditions

This year’s growing season was characterized by extremes in weather conditions across the Western Prairies, which included excess moisture, heat stress and extreme winds.

Seeding occurred earlier than normal in most of the flax growing regions (Southern Manitoba and South Eastern Saskatchewan) due to warmer and dryer conditions in April and May.  Extreme winds in early May caused wind damage to newly emerged seedlings in parts of the Prairie Provinces. 

Hot dry conditions persisted though out most of the growing season with daily maximum temperatures ranging from +25 degrees Celsius to +34 degrees Celsius in July and August and less than 10 mm of precipitation when compared to average monthly precipitation in July and August. 

The warm and dry conditions continued through out August allowing for harvest to commence earlier than normal.  Well over 50% of the flax crop was harvested by mid September. 

Weather maps for the whole growing season can be found at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada web site.

Production and grade information

Western Canadian farmers seeded 397 thousand hectares of flaxseed in 2012 (Table 3), which is an increase when compared to 2011 (300 thousand hectares).  The 2012 yield estimate of 1,300 kg/ha was lower than the yield reported in 2011 (1,400 kg/ha) and higher than the 10-year mean of 1,238 kg/ha.  Western Canada flaxseed production had an overall increase of 100 thousand metric tonnes when compared to last year’s 389, thousand metric tonnes. Flaxseed production increased in Manitoba to 66 thousand metric tonnes, Saskatchewan to 381 thousand metric tonnes but in Alberta production decreased to 42 thousand metric tonnes when compared to 2011 production values as shown in Statistics Canada Table 001-0010- Estimated areas, yield, production.  Saskatchewan accounted for 78% of flaxseed production while Manitoba and Alberta had 14% and 9%, respectively.

Over 97% of the samples received for the 2012 CGC Harvest Survey were graded as Flaxseed, No.1 CW.

Table 3. Seeded area and production for western Canadian flaxseed
Province Seeded area Production1 Average production
2012 2011 2012 2011 2002-2011
thousand hectares thousand tonnes thousand tonnes
Manitoba 63 55 66 55 148
Saskatchewan 314 217 381 279 546
Alberta 20 28 42 55 42
Western Canada 397 300 489 389 727

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Source: Statistics Canada. Table 001-0010 - Estimated areas, yield, production and average farm price of principal field crops, in metric units, annual, CANSIM (database).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Qualité du lin de l’Ouest canadien en 2012

Bilan des conditions météorologiques et conditions de production

Conditions météorologiques, semis et croissance

Cette année, la saison de croissance du lin s’est caractérisée par des conditions météorologiques extrêmes dans l’ensemble des Prairies, notamment l’humidité excessive, le stress thermique et les vents extrêmes.

À cause du temps chaud et sec en avril et mai, l’ensemencement a eu lieu plus tôt que d’habitude dans la plupart des régions productrices de lin (Sud du Manitoba et Sud-Est de la Saskatchewan). Les vents extrêmes qui ont sévi en mai ont endommagé les plantules dans certaines parties des provinces des Prairie s.

Le temps chaud et sec a persisté pendant la majeure partie de la saison de croissance. En juillet et en août, les températures maximales quotidiennes ont varié de 25 à 34 °C,  et les précipitations ont atteint moins de 10 mm, ce qui est inférieur aux précipitations mensuelles moyennes pour ces deux mois. 

Le temps chaud et sec tout au long du mois d’août a permis de commencer la récolte plus tôt que d’habitude.  À la mi-septembre, on avait déjà récolté bien plus de la moitié des superficies de lin.

Les cartes météorologiques pour l’ensemble de la saison de croissance se trouvent à la site web Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Information sur la production et les grades

En 2012, les agriculteurs de l’Ouest canadien ont ensemencé 397 000 hectares (ha) en lin (tableau 3), une augmentation par rapport aux 300 000 hectares ensemencés en 2011. Le rendement de 2012 est estimé à 1 300 kg/ha, ce qui est inférieur au rendement de 2011 (1 400 kg/ha) et supérieur à la moyenne décennale (1 238 kg/ha). Dans l’ensemble, la production totale de lin de l’Ouest canadien a augmenté de 100 tonnes métriques par rapport à 2011, où elle avait atteint 389 000 tonnes métriques. Comparativement à 2011, la production de lin a augmenté au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan, pour atteindre 36 000 tonnes métriques et 381 000 tonnes métriques, respectivement, mais elle a diminué en Alberta, atteignant 42 000 tonnes métriques, comme il est indiqué dans le tableau 001-0010 de Statistique Canada (Estimation de la superficie, du rendement, de la production et du prix moyen à la ferme des principales grandes cultures, en unités métriques). La Saskatchewan est responsable de 78 % de la production de lin, alors que le Manitoba et l’Alberta sont à l’origine de 14 % et de 9 % de cette production, respectivement.

Plus de 97 % des échantillons reçus par la Commission canadienne des grains dans le cadre de l’enquête sur la récolte de 2012 étaient constitués de Lin, OC no 1.

Tableau 3 – Superficie ensemencée et production de lin dans l’Ouest canadien
Province Superficie ensemencée Production1 Production moyenne
2012 2011 2012 2011 2002-2011
en milliers d’hectares en milliers de tonnes en milliers de tonnes
Manitoba 63 55 66 55 148
Saskatchewan 314 217 381 279 546
Alberta 20 28 42 55 42
Ouest canadien 397 300 489 389 727

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Source: Statistique Canada. Tableau 001-0010 - Estimation de la superficie, du rendement, de la production et du prix moyen à la ferme des principales grandes cultures, en unités métriques, annuel, CANSIM (base de données).

Return to footnote 1 referrer