Quality of western Canadian flaxseed 2013

Quality data by province and western Canada

Tables 4 and 5 show detailed information on the quality of top grade western Canadian flaxseed harvested in 2013. Of the flax samples submitted to the Grain Research Laboratory, 97% were graded as No. 1 Canada Western and 3% consisted of No. 2 Canada Western, No. 3 Canada Western and Sample grade. The number of harvest survey samples collected from each province may not represent the actual production or grade distribution. However, there were sufficient samples to provide good quality information for each province. To calculate western Canadian averages, provincial averages are weighted by the Statistics Canada production estimate and an estimate of grade distribution.

Oil and protein content give quantitative estimates of the value of the seed as a source of oil and of the resulting meal as a source of protein for animal feed. Alpha-linolenic acid is an omega-3 fatty acid which literature has shown can play an important role in maintaining good health in humans and animals. It is the main factor for the increasing use of whole and ground flaxseed in cereals and baked goods, and flaxseed oil in salads. Flaxseed is also used in animal feeds, for example, in chicken to produce omega-3 eggs.

Iodine value is a measure of the overall unsaturation of the oils and can be calculated from the fatty acid composition. Oils with higher iodine values, i.e., with more unsaturation, polymerize more rapidly in the presence of air. In flax, iodine value is directly related to the amount of alpha-linolenic acid present in the oil. Alpha-linolenic acid is one of the most important quality factors for industrial use as it is responsible for most of flaxseed oil’s drying properties.

Table 4. Flaxseed, No. 1 Canada Western - Quality data for 2013 harvest survey
Province No. of samples tested Oil contentFootnote1, % Protein contentFootnote 2, % Iodine value
Mean Min. Max. Mean Min. Max. Mean Min. Max.
MB 34 45.6 42.6 48.0 22.4 18.9 27.1 190.6 179.0 200.0
SK 123 46.0 41.3 48.4 20.7 16.4 25.2 189.2 180.0 201.0
AB 13 45.6 41.5 49.2 22.8 20.2 25.8 191.9 182.0 199.0
W. CanadaFootnote3 170 45.9 41.3 49.2 21.2 16.4 27.1 189.7 179.0 201.0
Table 5. Flaxseed, No. 1 Canada Western - Fatty acid composition and free fatty acids content of 2013 harvest survey
Province Number of samples Free fatty acid composition, %Footnote4 Free fatty acids
C16:0 C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3
MB 34 5.0 3.4 19.1 15.2 56.5 0.17
SK 123 5.2 3.3 19.7 15.1 55.8 0.12
AB 13 5.0 3.7 18.2 14.5 57.7 0.15
W. CanadaFootnote3 170 5.2 3.3 19.5 15.1 56.0 0.13

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Dry matter basis

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

N x 6.25; dry matter basis

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Mean values are weighted averages based on estimated production by province (Statistics Canada).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Percentage of total fatty acids in the oil including palmitic (C16:0), stearic (C18:0), oleic (C18:1), linoleic (C18:2), and linolenic (C18:3)

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Qualité du lin de l’Ouest canadien en 2013

Données qualitatives par province et pour l’Ouest canadien

Les tableaux 4 et 5 contiennent des renseignements détaillés sur la qualité du lin de l’Ouest canadien du grade supérieur récolté en 2013. Des échantillons de lin soumis au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains, 97 % ont obtenu le grade Lin, Ouest canadien no 1, et 3 % des échantillons ont été classé Lin, OC no 2, Lin, OC no 3 ou Lin, Échantillon. Le nombre d’échantillons reçus de chaque province ne reflète pas nécessairement de manière fidèle la production et la répartition des grades. Cependant, la Commission canadienne des grains disposait d’un nombre suffisant d’échantillons pour obtenir des données représentatives de la qualité du lin dans chaque province. Pour calculer les valeurs moyennes de l’Ouest canadien, les moyennes provinciales sont pondérées à partir de la production estimée par Statistique Canada et d’une estimation de la répartition des grades.

Les teneurs en huile et en protéines donnent une indication du rendement des graines en huile et de la valeur protéique du tourteau destiné à l’alimentation animale. L’acide a-linolénique est un acide gras oméga-3 auquel on attribue des bienfaits pour la santé humaine et animale. C’est le principal facteur rendant compte de l’augmentation de l’utilisation du lin entier et moulu dans les céréales et les produits de boulangerie-pâtisserie et de l’huile de lin dans les salades. Le lin est également utilisé dans l’alimentation des animaux, par exemple le poulet, pour produire des œufs à teneur en oméga-3.

L’indice d’iode renseigne sur l’insaturation générale des huiles; cet indice est calculé à partir de la composition en acides gras. Les huiles qui présentent des indices d’iode plus élevés, c’est-à-dire une insaturation plus importante, se polymérisent plus rapidement lorsqu’elles sont exposées à l’air. Dans le lin, l’indice d’iode est directement lié à la quantité d’acide a-linolénique présente dans l’huile. L’acide a-linolénique est l’un des facteurs de qualité des plus importants pour les usages industriels, étant responsable de l’essentiel des propriétés siccatives de l’huile de lin.

Tableau 4 – Lin, Ouest canadien no 1 - Données qualitatives de l’Enquête sur la récolte de 2013
Province Nombre d’échantillons Teneur en huileNote de bas de page1, % Teneur en protéinesNote de bas de page 2, % Indice d’iode
Moyenne Min. Max. Moyenne Min. Max. Moyenne Min. Max.
MB 34 45,6 42,6 48,0 22,4 18,9 27,1 190,6 179,0 200,0
SK 123 46,0 41,3 48,4 20,7 16,4 25,2 189,2 180,0 201,0
AB 13 45,6 41,5 49,2 22,8 20,2 25,8 191,9 182,0 199,0
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page3 170 45,9 41,3 49,2 21,2 16,4 27,1 189,7 179,0 201,0
Tableau 5 – Lin, Ouest canadien no 1 - Composition en acides gras et teneur en acides gras libres, Enquête sur la récolte de 2013
Province Nombre d’échantillons Composition en acides gras, %Note de bas de page4 Acides gras libres
C16:0 C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3
MB 34 5,0 3,4 19,1 15,2 56,5 0,17
SK 123 5,2 3,3 19,7 15,1 55,8 0,12
AB 13 5,0 3,7 18,2 14,5 57,7 0,15
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page3 170 5,2 3,3 19,5 15,1 56,0 0,13

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Base sèche.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

N x 6,25; base sèche.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Pourcentage du total des acides gras présents dans l’huile, y compris les acides suivants : palmitique (C16:0), stéarique (C18:0), oléique (C18:1), linoléique (C18:2) et linolénique (C18:3).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les valeurs moyennes sont des moyennes pondérées en fonction de la production estimée par province (Statistique Canada).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4