Quality of western Canadian flaxseed 2015

Quality data by province and western Canada

Tables 4 and 5 show detailed information on the quality of top grade western Canadian (CW) flaxseed harvested in 2015. Of the flaxseed samples submitted to the Grain Research Laboratory, 98% were graded as No. 1 Canada Western with the remaining 2% consisting of No. 2 Canada Western, and Sample grade. The number of harvest samples collected from each province may not represent the actual production or grade distribution. However, there were sufficient samples to provide good quality information for each province. To calculate western Canadian averages, provincial averages are weighted by the Statistics Canada production estimate and an estimate of grade distribution.

Oil and protein content give quantitative estimates of the value of the seed as a source of oil and of the resulting meal as a source of protein for animal feed. Alpha-linolenic acid is an omega-3 fatty acid which literature has shown can play an important role in maintaining good health in humans and animals (Flax Council of Canada). It is the main factor in the increased use of whole and ground flaxseed in cereals and baked goods, and flaxseed oil in salads. Flaxseed is also used in animal feeds, for example in chicken to produce omega-3 eggs.

Iodine value is a measure of the overall unsaturation of the oil and can be calculated from the fatty acid composition. Oils with higher iodine values, that is, with more unsaturation, polymerize more rapidly in the presence of air. In flaxseed, iodine value is directly related to the amount of alpha-linolenic acid present in the oil. Alpha-linolenic acid is one of the most important quality factors for industrial use as it is responsible for most of flaxseed oil’s drying properties.

Table 4. Flaxseed, No. 1 Canada Western - Quality data for 2015 harvest
Province Number of samples tested Oil contentFootnote 1, % Protein contentFootnote 2, % Iodine value
Mean Min. Max. Mean Min. Max. Mean Min. Max.
Manitoba 37 44.7 40.6 47.7 23.5 18.8 26.1 190.1 182.5 203.5
Saskatchewan 215 45.7 42.5 49.6 22.2 18.0 26.5 191.6 176.3 201.6
Alberta 39 45.9 41.7 49.1 23.7 17.7 26.2 191.9 181.9 198.4
Western CanadaFootnote 3 291 45.7 40.6 49.6 22.5 17.7 26.5 191.5 176.3 203.5
Table 5. Flaxseed, No. 1 Canada Western - Fatty acid composition and free fatty acids content of 2015 harvest
Province Number of samples Free fatty acid composition, %Footnote 4 Free fatty acids
C16:0 C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3
Manitoba 37 5.0 3.8 18.9 14.9 56.5 0.4
Saskatchewan 215 5.0 3.4 18.9 14.5 57.4 0.2
Alberta 39 5.0 3.5 18.2 15.3 57.2 0.2
Western CanadaFootnote 3 291 5.0 3.5 18.8 14.6 57.2 0.2

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Dry matter basis

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

N x 6.25; dry matter basis

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Mean values are weighted averages based on estimated production by province (Statistics Canada).

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Percentage of total fatty acids in the oil including palmitic (C16:0), stearic (C18:0), oleic (C18:1), linoleic (C18:2), and linolenic (C18:3)

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Qualité du lin de l’Ouest canadien en 2015

Données qualitatives par province et pour l’Ouest canadien

Les tableaux 4 et 5 fournissent des données détaillées sur la qualité des grades supérieurs de lin de l’Ouest canadien (OC) récolté en 2015. Des échantillons soumis au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains, 98 % ont été classés Ouest canadien no 1, et les 2 % restants ont été classés Ouest canadien no 2 et Échantillon Canada. Le nombre d’échantillons reçus de chaque province ne reflète pas nécessairement de manière fidèle la production ou la répartition des grades. La Commission canadienne des grains disposait toutefois d’assez d’échantillons pour produire de bonnes données sur la qualité dans chaque province. Pour calculer les valeurs moyennes de l’Ouest canadien, on applique aux moyennes provinciales un facteur de pondération basé sur la production estimée par Statistique Canada et sur une estimation de la répartition des grades.

Les teneurs en huile et en protéines donnent une indication quantitative du rendement des graines en huile et de la valeur protéique du tourteau destiné à l’alimentation animale. L’acide α-linolénique est un acide gras oméga-3 auquel on attribue des bienfaits pour la santé humaine et animale (Flax Council of Canada). C’est le principal facteur expliquant l’augmentation de l’utilisation du lin entier et moulu dans les céréales et les produits de boulangerie-pâtisserie, et de l’huile de lin dans les salades. Le lin est également ajouté aux aliments pour animaux, notamment à ceux des poules pondeuses pour produire des œufs à teneur en oméga-3.

L’indice d’iode renseigne sur l’insaturation générale des huiles. Il est possible de le calculer à partir de la composition en acides gras. Les huiles qui ont un indice d’iode plus élevé, c’est-à-dire, qui sont plus insaturées, se polymérisent plus rapidement dans l’air. Dans le lin, l’indice d’iode est directement lié à la quantité d’acide α-linolénique présente dans l’huile. L’acide α-linolénique est l’un des facteurs de qualité les plus importants pour les usages industriels, car il est à l’origine de l’essentiel des propriétés siccatives de l’huile de lin.

Tableau 4 – Lin, Ouest canadien no 1 - Données sur la qualité de la récolte de 2015
Province Nombre d’échantillons
analysés
Teneur en huileNote de bas de page 1, % Teneur en protéinesNote de bas de page 2, % Indice d’iode
Moyenne Min. Max. Moyenne Min. Max. Moyenne Min. Max.
Manitoba 37 44,7 40,6 47,7 23,5 18,8 26,1 190,1 182,5 203,5
Saskatchewan 215 45,7 42,5 49,6 22,2 18,0 26,5 191,6 176,3 201,6
Alberta 39 45,9 41,7 49,1 23,7 17,7 26,2 191,9 181,9 198,4
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page 3 291 45,7 40,6 49,6 22,5 17,7 26,5 191,5 176,3 203,5
Tableau 5 – Lin, Ouest canadien no 1 - Composition en acides gras et teneur en acides gras libres de la récolte de 2015
Province Nombre d’échantillons Composition en acides gras, %Note de bas de page 4 Acides gras libres
C16:0 C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3
Manitoba 37 5,0 3,8 18,9 14,9 56,5 0,4
Saskatchewan 215 5,0 3,4 18,9 14,5 57,4 0,2
Alberta 39 5,0 3,5 18,2 15,3 57,2 0,2
Ouest canadienNote de bas de page 3 291 5,0 3,5 18,8 14,6 57,2 0,2

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Base sèche.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

N x 6,25; base sèche.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Pourcentage du total des acides gras présents dans l’huile, y compris les acides suivants : palmitique (C16:0), stéarique (C18:0), oléique (C18:1), linoléique (C18:2) et linolénique (C18:3).

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les valeurs moyennes sont des moyennes pondérées en fonction de la production estimée par province (Statistique Canada).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4