Quality of western Canadian flaxseed 2016 - Quality data by province and western Canada

Quality data by province and western Canada

Tables 4 and 5 show detailed information on the quality of top grade western Canadian (CW) flaxseed harvested in 2016. Of the flaxseed samples submitted to the Grain Research Laboratory, 86% were graded as No. 1 Canada Western with the remaining 14% consisting of No. 2 Canada Western, No. 3 Canada Western and Sample grade. The number of harvest samples collected from each province may not represent the actual production or grade distribution. However, there were sufficient samples to provide good quality information for each province. To calculate western Canadian averages, provincial averages are weighted by the Statistics Canada production estimate and an estimate of grade distribution.

Oil and protein content give quantitative estimates of the value of the seed as a source of oil and of the resulting meal as a source of protein for animal feed. Alpha-linolenic acid is an omega-3 fatty acid which literature has shown can play an important role in maintaining good health in humans and animals Footnote1. It is the main factor in the increased use of whole and ground flaxseed in cereals and baked goods, and flaxseed oil in salads. Flaxseed is also used in animal feeds, for example in chicken to produce omega-3 eggs.

Iodine value is a measure of the overall unsaturation of the oil and can be calculated from the fatty acid composition. Oils with higher iodine values, i.e., with more unsaturation, polymerize more rapidly in the presence of air. In flaxseed, iodine value is directly related to the amount of alpha-linolenic acid present in the oil. Alpha-linolenic acid is one of the most important quality factors for industrial use as it is responsible for most of flaxseed oil’s drying properties.

Table 4, Quality data for 2016 western Canadian flaxseed
Grade Number of
samples
Oil contentFootnote2, % Protein contentFootnote3, % Iodine content, %
Mean Min. Max. Mean Min. Max. Mean Min. Max.
No. 1 CW 192 45.6 41.4 49.7 21.8 17.2 25.6 192.2 178.7 203.5
Manitoba 34 45.2 42.0 48.4 22.2 18.6 24.9 190.3 182.5 197.5
Saskatchewan 132 45.6 41.4 49.7 21.5 17.2 24.9 192.6 178.7 203.5
Alberta 26 45.5 42.0 48.1 23.3 18.5 25.6 192.4 181.9 197.2
No. 2 CW 15 45.6 41.7 49.8 21.4 18.5 24.8 192.4 186.6 198.0
No. 3 CW 16 45.6 42.4 48.2 21.3 18.3 23.3 193.0 185.0 200.1
Sample 1 44.5 - - 17.8 - - 196.5 - -
Table 5, Fatty acid composition and free fatty acids content of 2016 Canadian flaxseed
Grade Number of
samples
Fatty acid compositionFootnote4, % Free fatty acids
C16:0 C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3
No. 1 CW 192 5.2 3.5 18.1 14.7 57.8 0.19
Manitoba 34 5.3 3.7 18.2 15.2 56.6 0.37
Saskatchewan 132 5.2 3.4 18.0 14.5 58.1 0.14
Alberta 26 5.0 3.4 18.0 14.8 57.7 0.18
No. 2 CW 15 5.1 3.6 18.0 14.3 58.1 0.25
No. 3 CW 16 5.2 3.3 17.5 15.1 57.9 0.34
Sample 1 5.2 3.0 16.5 14.4 60.1 1.85
Date modified:

Qualité du lin de l’Ouest canadien - Données qualitatives par province et pour l’Ouest canadien

Données qualitatives par province et pour l’Ouest canadien

Les tableaux 4 et 5 fournissent des précisions sur la qualité des grades supérieurs de lin de l'Ouest canadien (OC) récolté en 2016. Parmi les échantillons de lin soumis au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains, 86 % ont été classés OC no 1, alors que le reste des échantillons ont été classés OC no 2, OC no 3 et Échantillon. Le nombre d’échantillons reçus de chaque province ne reflète pas nécessairement de manière fidèle la production ou la répartition des grades. Toutefois, la CCG disposait d’un nombre suffisant d’échantillons pour produire de bonnes données qualitatives pour chaque province. Pour le calcul des valeurs moyennes de l’Ouest canadien, on applique aux moyennes provinciales un facteur de pondération fondé sur les productions estimatives de Statistique Canada et sur la répartition estimative des grades.

Les teneurs en huile et en protéines du lin donnent une indication quantitative du rendement des graines en huile et de la valeur protéique du tourteau destiné à l’alimentation animale. L’acide α-linolénique est un acide gras oméga-3 qui serait bon pour la santé humaine et animale Footnote1. C’est la principale raison pour laquelle on constate une utilisation accrue de graines de lin entières et moulues dans les céréales et les produits de boulangerie, et de l’huile de lin dans les salades. Le lin est également ajouté aux aliments pour animaux, notamment à ceux des poules pondeuses pour produire des œufs à teneur en oméga-3.

L’indice d’iode renseigne sur l’insaturation générale des huiles. Il est possible de le calculer à partir de la composition en acides gras. Les huiles qui ont un indice d’iode plus élevé, c.-à-d. qui sont plus insaturées, se polymérisent plus rapidement dans l’air. Dans le lin, l’indice d’iode est directement lié à la quantité d’acide α-linolénique présente dans l’huile. L’acide α-linolénique est l’un des facteurs de qualité les plus importants pour les usages industriels, car il est à l’origine de l’essentiel des propriétés siccatives de l’huile de lin.

Tableau 4, Données sur la qualité du lin récolté dans l'Ouest canadien en 2016
Grade Nombre
d’échantillon
Teneur en huileFootnote2, % Teneur en protéinesFootnote3, % Indice d’iode, %
Moy. Min. Max. Moy. Min. Max. Moy. Min. Max.
No 1 Lin OC 192 45,6 41,4 49,7 21,8 17,2 25,6 192,2 178,7 203,5
Manitoba 34 45,2 42,0 48,4 22,2 18,6 24,9 190,3 182,5 197,5
Saskatchewan 132 45,6 41,4 49,7 21,5 17,2 24,9 192,6 178,7 203,5
Alberta 26 45,5 42,0 48,1 23,3 18,5 25,6 192,4 181,9 197,2
Lin OC no 2 15 45,6 41,7 49,8 21,4 18,5 24,8 192,4 186,6 198,0
Lin OC no 3 16 45,6 42,4 48,2 21,3 18,3 23,3 193,0 185,0 200,1
Échantillon 1 44,5 - - 17,8 - - 196,5 - -
Tableau 5, Composition en acides gras et teneur en acides gras libres du lin récolté dans l’Ouest canadien en 2016
Grade Nombre
d’échantillons
Composition en acides grasFootnote4, (%) Acides gras libres (%)
C16:0 C18:0 C18:1 C18:2 C18:3
No 1 Lin OC 192 5,2 3,5 18,1 14,7 57,8 0,19
Manitoba 34 5,3 3,7 18,2 15,2 56,6 0,37
Saskatchewan 132 5,2 3,4 18,0 14,5 58,1 0,14
Alberta 26 5,0 3,4 18,0 14,8 57,7 0,18
Lin OC no 2 15 5,1 3,6 18,0 14,3 58,1 0,25
Lin OC no 3 16 5,2 3,3 17,5 15,1 57,9 0,34
Échantillon 1 5,2 3,0 16,5 14,4 60,1 1,85
Date de modification :