Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Sampling and testing protocol for flaxseed exported in containers to Brazil

January 20, 2011

Objective

The purpose of this protocol is to describe the system of sampling, testing and documentation for the control of FP967 (CDC Triffid) in flaxseed container shipments exported from Canada to Brazil. Sampling activities described herein will be performed by either certified or accredited companies, and testing activities will be conducted by approved laboratories. All will follow procedures determined and overseen by the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC).

Background

According to Brazilian Law No. 11.105 of March 24, 2005, the introduction and use of any genetically modified organism (GMO) in food, feed, processing or introduction into the environment depends on prior risk assessment and favorable opinion of the National Technical Biosafety Committee in Brazil, as well as specific authorization of the board of registration and inspection authority.

After detecting the presence of unauthorized GMO flaxseed in Brazil in shipments of flaxseed imported from Canada in 2009, Brazilian authorities established the mandatory sampling of all the flaxseed from Canada, with the rejection or destruction of lots with the detection of GMO presence.

In order to control the export of flaxseed to Brazil, the Canadian government, through the CGC, proposes this protocol based on the sampling and analysis of lots of flaxseed exported to Brazil. These lots will be controlled by certified documentary evidence of the lack of detection of FP967 flaxseed in the shipment, and this documentation will be sent to Brazil along with the exported goods.

1. Container loading logistics

Description of commercial handling and movement of flax shipped in containers

Flaxseed may be shipped in containers in bags, totes or in bulk. The containers may be loaded at an inland location or at transload facilities near the ports of Montreal or Vancouver.

Flaxseed can be shipped from inland locations to transload facilities in three ways:

  1. bulk in hopper bottom grain railcars
  2. bags in box railcars
  3. bags in domestic intermodal containers by rail or by truck

When flaxseed arrives at transload facilities, there are three methods of transloading:

  1. bulk from railcar to bulk container
  2. bulk to bagging equipment and then bags to container
  3. bags in railcar or domestic intermodal container to international containers

Container sampling options

Containers are loaded at many different locations and types of facilities. The following are options for sampling containers:

Bulk flaxseed:

  • stream sample taken prior to container loading, either into a bin or as the flaxseed is loaded from a bin into a container
  • stream samples can be taken by a CGC-approved automatic sample, or an approved manual method

Bagged flaxseed:

  • stream sample taken prior to bagging, either into a bin or as the flaxseed is moved from the container to the bagging equipment, or
  • samples taken from a randomly selected bags using a bag trier. These samples can be taken from bags before or as the container is loaded, or from lots of bagged product stored on pallets.

2. Commercial procedures

Producer delivery samples

A sample will be taken by grain handling company personnel from each producer delivery into the commercial handling system. Samples will be retained for a period of no less than six months from the date of delivery. The CGC provides guidance on sampling methods to the Canadian grain industry in its official Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide [1].

Container sampling and testing

A sample will be taken by personnel of third party accredited companies or personnel of grain companies that have been certified and trained by CGC, following protocols set out in their CGC-Certified Container Sampling Program (see section 3).

These composite samples will be tested for the presence of FP967 by an ISO 17025 accredited laboratory on the list of “ISO 17025 Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments for the Presence of FP967 ” [2] using the method described in 6b. If a composite sample tests positive for the presence of FP967, all bins, bagged or container lots testing positive represented by that sample will be diverted from the non-GM flaxseed supply. Individual grain handling companies will retain documentation pertaining to each bin, bagged or container lot and test result.

3. CGC Certified container sampling and accredited sampler program

The CGC will certify grain handling companies’ sampling systems and sampling procedures of third party accredited sampling companies provided they meet the requirements of the CGC Sampling System Standard. Verification that grain companies’ sampling systems meet these requirements will be conducted by CGC-accredited third party auditing firms. Verification of third party accredited sampling companies’ sampling systems will be conducted by CGC officials. Verification audits will be conducted annually.

The CGC will train grain company staff samplers, third party samplers and third party auditors on appropriate sampling methods for bins, bagged lots and containers based on the Sampling Methods and Procedures Guide. The competency of samplers and auditors will be verified by a written test and a practical evaluation.

The CGC will oversee the accredited third party auditors and samplers through annual audits that will verify the compliance with the requirements of the CGC Sampling System Standard. The oversight of the third party auditors will include a CGC technical review of each audit report submitted to the CGC. The CGC will also require that third party audit and sampling firms are accredited by an accreditation body which is a member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) to either ISO/IEC Guide 65:1996 or ISO/IEC 17011:2004.

4. Requirements for testing laboratories

Laboratories undertaking testing for the commercial handling system may only be approved if they operate and have been assessed in accordance with the ISO 17025 standard on ‘General requirements for competence and testing and calibration laboratories’ and if the proposed test method falls within the scope of the above assessment.

The CGC will maintain a list of “ISO 17025 Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments for the Presence of FP967” [3] on its website. Laboratories designated on this list will handle and prepare samples in accordance with ISO accredited procedures. Laboratories will employ the construct-specific method verified by the European Community Reference Laboratory.

5. Industry procedures for exports: Sampling

  1. Sampling method – All containers containing flaxseed destined for export under this protocol will be sampled by CGC-trained staff of grain handling companies or third party accredited sampling companies following documented and audited procedures that meet the requirements of the CGC Sampling System Standard.
  2. Sample size – For lots of flaxseed exceeding 500 metric tons, a minimum sample size of 50 kilograms will be taken. For lots between 50 metric tons and 500 metric tons, a sample equal to 0.01% of the lot size will be taken. For lots less than 50 metric tons, a minimum sample size of 5 kilograms will be taken. These sample sizes are in accordance with European Commission Recommendation 2004/787/EC [4].
  3. Multiple Container Lots – consignments up to a maximum of 10 individual containers may be combined into a single lot for sampling, testing, and documentation purposes.
  4. Sample reduction, submission and retention – Samples will be divided using a Boerner-type divider for submission. Two 2.5 kilogram samples will be prepared. One 2.5 kilogram sample for testing will be expedited to a laboratory on the list of “ISO 17025 Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments for the Presence of FP967”. [5]

6. Laboratory procedures for exports: Testing by ISO 17025 laboratories

  1. Testing preparation – Laboratory personnel will draw four 60 gram sub-samples from the single 2.5 kilogram laboratory sample.Each 60 gram sub-sample represents approximately 10,000 individual flax seeds, which is capable of achieving a level of detection of 0.01%.
  2. Testing procedures – The approved laboratory will test four 60 gram sub-samples taken from the single 2.5 kilogram laboratory sample. One DNA extraction will be made from each sub-sample using the Fast ID Genomic DNA Extraction Kit. Two PCR analyses will be carried out for each DNA extraction. The construct-specific method, verified by the EU Community Reference Laboratory, will be used for the qualitative PCR assay [6].
  3. Testing results – A lot shall be considered negative when all four 60 gram sub-samples test negative.

7. CGC procedures for exports: Documentation

The CGC will prepare an official Letter of Analysis on CGC letterhead based on an analysis report forwarded by an approved laboratory, which may include a Type 1 Submitted Sample Inspection Certificate [7]. The Letter of Analysis will be presented to the Canadian flaxseed exporter, who will in turn provide it directly to the appropriate Brazilian authorities. The Letter of Analysis will include a statement as follows:

The tested sample was submitted to [Insert Laboratory Name] for testing on behalf of the shipper by a company that the CGC recognizes as having met the requirements of a certified sampling program.

[Insert Laboratory Name] operates and has been assessed in accordance with the ISO 17025 standard on ‘General requirements for competence and testing and calibration laboratories’, and the testing method employed falls within the scope of that assessment.

[Insert Laboratory Name], has tested the sample representing the container lot and determined it to be negative for the presence of FP967 (CDC Triffid) based on the verified testing procedures outlined in Section 6 of the Sampling and Testing Protocol for Canadian Flax Exported in Containers. The lab report is attached.

8. Information sharing, review and questions

Canadian officials will regularly share information with Brazilian officials concerning the investigation into the presence of FP967 (CDC Triffid) in the Canadian flaxseed supply.

This protocol may be reviewed jointly upon the request of the Canadian or Brazilian government at any time.

Questions pertaining to this protocol should be directed to the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada at 204-983-2780 or 800-853-6705.


Footnotes

[1] Sampling systems handbook and approval guide (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/guides-guides/ssh-mse/sshm-mmse-eng.htm)

[2] Laboratories proficient in testing flaxseed samples (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/gmflax-lingm/ltfs-lcael-eng.htm)

[3] Laboratories proficient in testing flaxseed samples (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/gmflax-lingm/ltfs-lcael-eng.htm)

[4] OJ L 348, 24/11/2004, p 0018-0026

[5] Laboratories proficient in testing flaxseed samples (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/gmflax-lingm/ltfs-lcael-eng.htm)

[6] http://gmo-crl.jrc.ec.europa.eu/flax.htm

[7] Type 1 certificate will include a statement that reads: A sample said to be representative of the lot or consignment identified above has been submitted to the CGC for grading on behalf of the shipper by a loading facility that the CGC recognizes as having met the requirements of a certified sampling program.

Alternative format

The Canadian Grain Commission's Sampling and testing protocol for flaxseed exported in containers to Brazil is also available in PDF format:

Sampling and testing protocol for flaxseed exported in containers to Brazil (PDF, 58 kb)

Refer to our PDF help page for information on how to view, print and download PDF documents.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant le lin canadien exporté par conteneurs vers le Brésil

20 janvier 2011

Objectif

Le but du présent protocole est de décrire la procédure d’échantillonnage, d’essai et de documentation à suivre pour assurer le contrôle de la variété de lin FP967 (CDC Triffid) dans les expéditions par conteneurs de lin canadien vers le Brésil. Les activités d’échantillonnage décrites aux présentes seront exécutées par des entreprises certifiées ou accréditées, et les analyses seront effectuées par des laboratoires accrédités. Tous respecteront les procédures établies et contrôlées par la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG).

Renseignements généraux

Aux termes de la loi brésilienne no 11.105 du 24 mars 2005, l’introduction d’organismes génétiquement modifiés (OGM) dans la nourriture, les aliments pour animaux ou l’environnement, ou leur utilisation dans les activités de traitement, repose sur une évaluation préalable des risques et l’opinion favorable de la Commission technique nationale de biosécurité du Brésil, ainsi que sur l’autorisation du bureau d’enregistrement et de l’autorité responsable de l’inspection.

En 2009, après avoir décelé la présence de graines de lins contenant des OGM non autorisés au Brésil dans des chargements de lin importé du Canada, les autorités brésiliennes ont mis en place des mesures d’échantillonnage de tout le lin provenant du Canada. Ces mesures prévoient le refus ou la destruction des lots dans lesquels on détecte la présence d’OGM.

En vue de contrôler les exportations de lin vers le Brésil, le gouvernement canadien, par l’entremise de la CCG, propose le présent protocole fondé sur l’échantillonnage et l’analyse des lots de lin exportés vers le Brésil. Ces lots seront contrôlés à l’aide de documents certifiant que la présence de la variété de lin FP967 n’a pas été décelée dans le chargement, et les documents seront envoyés au Brésil avec les marchandises exportées.

1. Logistique liée au chargement des conteneurs

Description de la manutention et du mouvement du lin expédié par conteneurs

Les graines de lin peuvent être expédiées par conteneurs dans des sacs, des récipients souples ou en vrac. Les conteneurs peuvent être chargés à partir d’un emplacement intérieur ou d’installations de transbordement situées près du port de Montréal ou de Vancouver.

Le lin peut être envoyé des emplacements intérieurs aux installations de transbordement de trois façons :

  1. en vrac dans des wagons à fond à trémie;
  2. dans des sacs dans des wagons couverts;
  3. dans des sacs, dans des conteneurs universels en service intérieur par train ou par camion.

Lorsque le lin arrive aux installations de transbordement, il peut être déchargé de trois façons :

  1. en vrac du wagon au conteneur en vrac;
  2. en vrac vers l’équipement d’ensachage, puis dans des sacs vers le conteneur;
  3. dans des sacs dans les wagons ou le conteneur universel en service intérieur vers les conteneurs internationaux.

Options d’échantillonnage des conteneurs

Les conteneurs sont chargés à de nombreux emplacements et types d’installations. Voici les diverses façons de prélever des échantillons dans les conteneurs :

Lin en vrac :

  • un échantillon du flot d’écoulement prélevé avant le chargement du conteneur, soit dans une cellule ou lorsque le lin est chargé d’une cellule au conteneur;
  • des échantillons du flot d’écoulement peuvent être prélevés par un échantillonneur automatique approuvé par la CCG ou par une méthode manuelle approuvée.

Lin ensaché :

  • un échantillon du flot d’écoulement prélevé avant l’ensachage, soit dans une cellule ou lorsque le lin est transféré du conteneur à l’équipement d’ensachage, ou
  • des échantillons prélevés dans des sacs choisis au hasard à l’aide d’une sonde à sacs. Ces échantillons peuvent être prélevés dans les sacs avant ou pendant le chargement du conteneur, ou dans des lots du produit ensaché stockés sur des palettes.

2. Procédures commerciales

Échantillonnage des produits livrés par les producteurs

Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains prélèvera un échantillon de grains dans chaque livraison que les producteurs destinent au réseau de manutention des grains. Les échantillons seront conservés pendant au moins six mois à compter de la date de livraison. La CCG offre à l’industrie céréalière canadienne des directives sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage dans un ouvrage officiel intitulé Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation [1].

Échantillonnage des conteneurs et essai

Le personnel d’une entreprise accréditée indépendante ou le personnel de la société céréalière qui a été accrédité et formé par la CCG prélèvera un échantillon en suivant les protocoles précisés dans son programme d’échantillonnage certifié de conteneurs par la CCG (voir le point 3).

Les échantillons composites seront ensuite analysés à l’aide de la méthode décrite au point 6 b) par un laboratoire accrédité selon la norme ISO 17025 figurant sur la liste des Laboratoires accrédités selon la norme ISO 17025 autorisés à analyser les expéditions de lin pour détecter la présence de la variété FP9672 [2] afin d’y déceler la présence de la variété de lin FP967. Lorsque les résultats de l'analyse révèlent la présence de lin transgénique FP967 dans un échantillon composite, l’ensemble des cellules, sacs ou conteneurs des lots représentés dans cet échantillon seront retirés du réseau d'approvisionnement en lin exempt de matières génétiquement modifiée. Chaque entreprise de manutention des grains sera tenue de conserver la documentation ayant trait à chaque cellule, sac ou conteneur d’où proviennent ces lots ainsi qu’aux résultats d’analyse.

3. Programmes d’échantillonnage accrédités et certifiés de conteneurs de la CCG

La CCG certifiera les systèmes de manutention et les procédures d’échantillonnage des entreprises de manutention des grains provenant d’une entreprise d’échantillonnage indépendante accréditée pourvu qu’ils répondent aux exigences du Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage de la CCG. Il incombera à une firme de vérification indépendante accréditée par la CCG de s’assurer que les systèmes d’échantillonnage des sociétés céréalières se conforment à ces exigences. Quant à la vérification des systèmes d’échantillonnage des autres entreprises d’échantillonnage accréditées, elle sera effectuée par les représentants de la CCG. Ces vérifications seront menées tous les ans.

La CCG formera les échantillonneurs des sociétés céréalières et des entreprises indépendantes ainsi que les vérificateurs indépendants aux méthodes d’échantillonnage appropriées à partir des cellules, des lots ensachés et des conteneurs, en se fondant sur les Guide des procédures et méthodes d’échantillonnage de la CCG. La compétence des échantillonneurs et des vérificateurs sera vérifiée dans le cadre d’un examen écrit et d’une évaluation pratique.

La CCG supervisera les échantillonneurs et vérificateurs accrédités indépendants dans le cadre de vérifications annuelles qui permettront d’assurer le respect des exigences contenues dans le Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage de la CCG. L’encadrement des vérificateurs indépendants comprendra un examen technique, par la CCG, de chaque rapport de vérification qui lui est présenté. La CCG exigera également que les entreprises de vérification et d’échantillonnage indépendantes soient accréditées selon le Guide ISO/IEC 65:1996 ou la norme ISO/TEC 17011:2004 par un organisme d’accréditation membre de l’International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

4. Exigences imposées aux laboratoires d'essai

Les laboratoires qui procèdent aux analyses des grains provenant du réseau de manutention ne peuvent être désignés à ce titre que si une évaluation a permis de certifier qu'ils fonctionnent selon la norme ISO 17025, Exigence générale concernant la compétence des laboratoires d'étalonnages et d'essais, et que la méthode d'essai qu'ils se proposent d'utiliser entre dans le cadre de cette évaluation.

La CCG tiendra à jour une liste des Laboratoires accrédités selon la norme ISO 17025 autorisés à analyser les expéditions de lin pour détecter la présence de la variété FP9672 [3] sur son site Web. Les laboratoires désignés figurant sur cette liste manipuleront le lin et prépareront des échantillons conformément aux procédures certifiées ISO. Ils suivront la méthode d’analyse spécifique de la construction vérifiée par le laboratoire de référence de la Communauté européenne.

5. Procédures de l’industrie concernant les exportations : échantillonnage

  1. Méthode d’échantillonnage – Les conteneurs renfermant du lin destiné à l’exportation aux termes du présent protocole feront l’objet d’un échantillonnage par le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains ou de l’entreprise d’échantillonnage accréditée indépendante formé par la CCG, qui verra à suivre les procédures documentées et vérifiées qui répondent aux exigences du Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage de la CCG.
  2. Taille des échantillons – Pour les lots de lin de plus de 500 tonnes métriques, un échantillon d’au moins 50 kilogrammes sera prélevé. Pour les lots de 50 à 500 tonnes métriques, un échantillon équivalant à 0,01 % de la taille du lot sera prélevé. Enfin, pour les lots de moins de 50 tonnes métriques, un échantillon d’au moins 5 kilogrammes sera prélevé. Ces tailles d’échantillon sont conformes à la Recommandation de la Commission 2004/787/EC [4].
  3. Lots de conteneurs multiples – Les envois d’au plus 10 conteneurs peuvent être regroupé en un seul lot pour les besoins de l’échantillonnage, de l’analyse et de la documentation.
  4. Réduction, présentation et conservation des échantillons – Les échantillons seront divisés à l’aide d’un diviseur Boerner avant d’être soumis à une analyse. Deux échantillons de 2,5 kilogrammes seront préparés. L’un d’eux sera envoyé à un laboratoire figurant sur la liste des Laboratoires accrédités selon la norme ISO 17025 autorisés à analyser les expéditions de lin pour détecter la présence de la variété FP9672 [5].

6. Procédures des laboratoires concernant les exportations : analyse par les laboratoires accrédités selon la norme ISO 17025

  1. Préparation des analyses – Le personnel du laboratoire tirera quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes de l'unique échantillon de laboratoire de 2,5 kilogrammes. Chacun de ces sous-échantillons compte environ 10 000 graines de lin, ce qui donne une concentration de détection de 0,01 %.
  2. Procédures d’analyse – Le laboratoire accrédité analysera quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes prélevés de l'unique échantillon de laboratoire de 2,5 kilogrammes. Il procédera à une extraction de l’ADN du grain dans chaque sous-échantillon à l’aide de la trousse Fast ID Genomic DNA Extraction Kit. Deux analyses de la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) seront effectuées sur chacune de ces extractions. La méthode d’analyse spécifique de la construction, vérifiée par le laboratoire de référence de la Communauté européenne, sera utilisée dans le cadre de l’analyse PCR qualitative [6].
  3. Résultats des analyses – Un lot sera considéré comme exempt de matières transgéniques lorsque les résultats d’analyse des quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes seront négatifs.

7. Procédures de la CCG concernant les exportations : documentation

La CCG rédigera une lettre d’analyse officielle sur papier en-tête de la CCG selon le rapport d’analyse reçu d’un laboratoire accrédité, notamment un certificat d’échantillon soumis de type 1 [7]. Cette lettre d’analyse sera présentée à l’exportateur de lin canadien, qui la remettra ensuite directement aux autorités compétentes du Brésil. Elle renfermera l’énoncé suivant

L’échantillon à analyser à été soumis au [insérer le nom du laboratoire] pour le compte de l’expéditeur par une entreprise reconnue par la CCG comme répondant aux exigences d’un programme d’échantillonnage certifié.

Le [insérer le nom du laboratoire] a fait l’objet d’une évaluation et fonctionne selon la norme ISO 17025, Exigence générale concernant la compétence des laboratoires d’étalonnages et d’essais, et la méthode d’analyse qu’il utilise entre dans le cadre de cette évaluation.

Le [insérer le nom du laboratoire] a fait l’objet d’une évaluation et fonctionne selon la norme ISO 17025, Exigence générale concernant la compétence des laboratoires d’étalonnages et d’essais, et la méthode d’analyse qu’il utilise entre dans le cadre de cette évaluation.

8. Échange d’information, révision et questions

Les responsables canadiens communiqueront de façon régulière avec les responsables brésiliens en ce qui concerne l’enquête sur la présence la variété de lin FP967 (CDC Triffid) dans les stocks de lin canadien.

Le présent protocole peut faire l’objet d’une révision conjointe en tout temps, à la demande du gouvernement canadien ou du gouvernent brésilien.

Toute question portant sur le présent protocole doit être adressée à l’inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, au 204-983-2780 ou au 1-800-853-6705.


Notes en bas de page

[1] Manuel des systèmes d'échantillonnage et du Guide d'approbation (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/guides-guides/ssh-mse/sshm-mmse-fra.htm)

[2] Laboratoires compétents en l’analyse d’échantillons de lin (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/gmflax-lingm/ltfs-lcael-fra.htm)

[3] Laboratoires compétents en l’analyse d’échantillons de lin (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/gmflax-lingm/ltfs-lcael-fra.htm)

[4] OJ L 348, 24/11/2004, p 0018-0026

[5] Laboratoires compétents en l’analyse d’échantillons de lin (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/gmflax-lingm/ltfs-lcael-fra.htm)

[6] http://gmo-crl.jrc.ec.europa.eu/flax.htm

[7] Le certificat de type 1 contiendra un énoncé qui se lit comme suit : Un échantillon déclaré représentatif du lot ou de l’envoi susmentionné a été soumis à la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) pour en établir le classement au nom de l’expéditeur par une installation de chargement reconnue par la CCG comme répondant aux exigences d’un programme d’échantillonnage certifié.

Média substitut

Le Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant le lin canadien exporté par conteneurs vers le Brésil est aussi disponible en format PDF :

Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant le lin canadien exporté par conteneurs vers le Brésil (PDF, 63 Ko)

Veuillez consulter la page d'aide qui renferme des renseignements sur la façon de visualiser, imprimer et télécharger les fichiers PDF.