Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Sampling and testing protocol for bulk shipments of Canadian flaxseed exported to Japan for feed or industrial use

Purpose

The purpose of this protocol is to describe the system of sampling, testing, and documentation pertaining to the presence of FP967 (CDC Triffid) in bulk vessel shipments of Canadian flaxseed to Japan for feed and industrial use. This protocol outlines the activities that will be undertaken by the Canadian flaxseed industry, and the Canadian Grain Commission.

Background

Based on the Japanese “Law ensuring the safety and improving the quality of feed”, Japan permits the use and import of genetically modified crops as feed, only where the safety of the feed is confirmed.

Upon receiving the report of a Low Level Presence incident with unauthorized genetically modified flaxseed this year, Japan’s Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries strongly requested that Canada’s flaxseed industry implement appropriate preventive measures. Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries further requested that in the case that a Low Level Presence incident will occur, that Canada take the necessary risk management measures promptly.

Canada’s flaxseed industry in cooperation with the Canadian Government is committed to take immediate measures including loading tests in cooperation with the relevant trading companies in order to prevent the export of unauthorized genetically modified crops to Japan.

Following a period of time (to be determined by Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries) wherein compliance with the Protocol is demonstrated, the Food and Agricultural Material Inspection Center (FAMIC) may choose not to conduct monitoring tests for vessels where negative certificates are provided, and where the validity of the loading test for certification has been confirmed by the Government of Canada.

Commercial handling system procedures

  1. Producer delivery samples - A sample will be taken by grain handling company personnel from each producer delivery into the commercial handling system. Samples will be retained for a period of no less than six months from the date of delivery. The Canadian Grain Commission provides guidance on sampling methods to the Canadian grain industry in its official Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide.
  2. Composite railcar samples and testing – All flaxseed for bulk shipments moves from primary elevators to port position by railcars. At time of loading, each railcar will be sampled, and composite samples representing not more than 5 railcars will be prepared. The Canadian Grain Commission provides guidance on sampling methods to the Canadian grain industry in its official Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide. These composite samples will be tested for the presence of FP967 by a laboratory that has successfully completed a proficiency test administered by the Canadian Grain Commission and listed on the Canadian Grain Commission web site (Laboratories proficient in testing flaxseed samples). If a composite sample tests positive for the presence of FP967, all railcars testing positive will be diverted from the Japanese flaxseed supply. Individual grain handling companies will retain documentation pertaining to each rail shipment and test result.

Requirements for testing laboratories

Laboratories undertaking testing for the commercial handling system may only be designated on the Canadian Grain Commission website if they have successfully completed the FP967 proficiency testing program administered by the Canadian Grain Commission in order to meet the requirements of Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries.

The Canadian Grain Commission will maintain a list of laboratories which have successfully completed the proficiency test on its web site.

Canadian Grain Commission procedures for exports

Sampling

  1. Sampling method – All bulk vessels loading flaxseed destined for the Japanese processing or feed market will be sampled by Canadian Grain Commission personnel with an approved automatic diverter-type sampler in accordance with the Canadian Grain Commission Vessel Loading Work Instruction and the official Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide.
  2. Sample size – For lots of flaxseed exceeding 500 metric tons, a minimum sample size of 50 kilograms will be taken. For lots between 50 metric tons and 500 metric tons, a sample equal to 0.01% of the lot size will be taken. For lots less than 50 metric tons, a minimum sample size of 5 kilograms will be taken.
  3. Composite samples by vessel lot – For all bulk shipments by vessel, Canadian Grain Commission personnel will prepare a representative composite sample for each lot of the vessel. Sampling and testing by lot allows for identification and segregation of any lot that potentially tests positive.
  4. Sample preparation and retention – Canadian Grain Commission personnel will reduce samples and prepare one representative 2.5 kilogram sample for testing and one identical 2.5 kilogram sample for retention and future reference. Both 2.5 kilogram samples will be sealed with official Canadian Grain Commission seals and seal numbers will be documented. Samples will be retained for no less than six months.

Testing

  1. Testing preparation – Samples for testing will be expedited to the Canadian Grain Commission Grain Research Laboratory. Laboratory personnel will draw four 60 gram sub-samples from the single 2.5 kilogram laboratory sample. Each subsample represents approximately 10,000 individual flax seeds, which is capable of achieving a level of detection of 0.01%.
  2. Testing procedures – The Canadian Grain Commission Grain Research Laboratory will test four 60 gram sub-samples taken from the single 2.5 kilogram laboratory sample. One DNA extraction will be made from each sub-sample using the "Fast ID Genomic DNA Extraction Kit". Two PCR analyses will be carried out for each DNA extraction. The construct-specific method, verified by the European Union Community Reference Laboratory, will be used for the qualitative and quantitative PCR assays.
  3. Testing results - A lot shall be negative when all four 60 gram subsamples test negative within the 1% tolerance.

Documentation

The Canadian Grain Commission will prepare an official Letter of Analysis on Canadian Grain Commission letterhead to accompany other Canadian Grain Commission quality certification which may include a Certificate Final or an Official Inspection Certificate. The Letter of Analysis will be presented to the Canadian flaxseed exporter, who will in turn provide it directly to the appropriate Japanese authorities.

The Letter of Analysis will include the following statement:

The Canadian Grain Commission officially sampled the cargo of flaxseed (Linseed) identified above and has applied the Canadian Grain Commission seal #xxxxxx to the official sample. The Canadian Grain Commission Grain Research Laboratory has tested the official sample with this Canadian Grain Commission seal number. The official sample has tested below 1 percent (%) based on the verified testing procedures outlined in Section 6 of the Sampling and Testing Protocol for Bulk Shipments of Canadian Flaxseed Exported to Japan for Feed or Industrial Use. The lab report is attached.

Canadian Grain Commission investigation into the presence of FP967

The Canadian Grain Commission is conducting an investigation into the presence of FP967 within the Canadian flaxseed supply. The Canadian Grain Commission will share results of this investigation with Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries at regular intervals.

Termination of loading test requirement

The Canadian Government and Canada’s flaxseed industry understand that the Canadian Government and Canada’s flaxseed industry may submit an application with relevant information to the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Animal Products Safety Division for termination of the testing requirements. The division will determine whether the loading test can be terminated based on the submitted information and, if necessary, an opinion from the Agricultural Material Council (GM committee). The Government of Canada and Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries will exchange information and discussions regarding the termination of testing in the future.

Review date

This protocol may be reviewed and revised at any time. The Government of Canada will notify Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries officials if revisions are sought.

Questions

Questions pertaining to this protocol should be directed to the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada at (204) 983-2780 or (800) 853-6705.

Alternative format

The Canadian Grain Commission's Sampling and testing protocol for bulk shipments of Canadian flaxseed exported to Japan for feed or industrial use is also available in PDF format:

Sampling and testing protocol for bulk shipments of Canadian flaxseed exported to Japan for feed or industrial use (PDF, 39 kb)

Refer to our PDF help page for information on how to view, print and download PDF documents.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant les chargements en vrac de lin canadien exporté vers le Japon à des fins d’alimentation animale ou d’applications industrielles

But

Le but du présent protocole est de décrire la procédure d’échantillonnage, d’essai et de documentation à suivre concernant la présence de la variété de lin FP967 (CDC Triffid) dans les chargements en vrac de lin canadien destiné au Japon à des fins d’alimentation animale ou d’applications industrielles. Ce protocole souligne les activités qui seront entreprises par l’industrie canadienne du lin et la Commission canadienne des grains.

Contexte

Selon la loi japonaise « qui veille à la salubrité et l’amélioration de la qualité de l’alimentation animale », le Japon autorise l’utilisation et l’importation de cultures génétiquement modifiées (GM) comme alimentation animale, mais seulement là où la salubrité de l’alimentation animale est confirmée.

Cette année, après avoir reçu le rapport soulignant la faible concentration de lin génétiquement modifié non autorisé, le Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries du Japon a fortement insisté que l’industrie canadienne du lin applique des mesures préventives appropriées. De plus, le Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries a demandé que le Canada prenne les mesures nécessaires de gestion des risques dans les plus brefs délais si un incident de faible concentration de lin se produisait.

L’industrie canadienne du lin, de concert avec le gouvernement canadien, s’engage à prendre des mesures immédiates, y compris les essais au chargement, en collaboration avec les sociétés commerciales pertinentes, afin de freiner l’exportation de cultures génétiquement modifiées non autorisées au Japon.

Par suite d’une certaine période (à être déterminée par le Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries), au cours de laquelle on fait preuve d’observation du protocole, le Food and Agricultural Inspection Center (FAMIC) pourrait décider de ne pas effectuer des essais de surveillance des navires dans les instances où l’on fournit des certificats confirmant l’absence de cultures génétiquement modifiées non autorisées et là où la validité de l’essai au chargement visant la certification a été confirmée par le gouvernement du Canada.

Procédures de manutention des grains

  1. Échantillonnage des produits livrés par les producteurs - Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains prélèvera un échantillon de grains dans chaque livraison que les producteurs destinent au réseau de manutention des grains. Les échantillons seront conservés pendant au moins six mois à compter de la date de livraison. La Commission canadienne des grains offre à l’industrie céréalière canadienne des directives sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage dans un ouvrage officiel intitulé Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation.
  2. Échantillonnage composite des wagons et analyse - L’ensemble des chargements en vrac du lin est transporté par wagons des silos primaires aux ports d’exportation. Au moment du chargement, un échantillon sera prélevé dans chaque wagon, puis des échantillons composites représentant au plus cinq wagons seront préparés. La Commission canadienne des grains offre à l’industrie céréalière canadienne des directives sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage dans un ouvrage officiel intitulé Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation. Les échantillons composites seront ensuite analysés dans un laboratoire qui a réussi aux épreuves de compétence administrées par la Commission canadienne des grains et qui figure sur la liste dans le site Web de la Commission canadienne des grains (Laboratoires compétents en l’analyse d’échantillons de lin). Lorsque l’analyse révèle effectivement la présence de lin transgénique FP967 dans un échantillon composite, tous les wagons représentés dans cet échantillon seront déroutés de l’approvisionnement en lin destiné au Japon. Chaque entreprise de manutention des grains sera tenue de conserver la documentation ayant trait aux expéditions ferroviaires et aux résultats d’analyse.

Exigences imposées aux laboratoires d’essai

Les laboratoires qui procèdent aux analyses des grains provenant du réseau de manutention ne peuvent être désignés à ce titre dans le site Web de la Commission canadienne des grains que s’ils ont réussi au programme de vérification de la compétence portant sur la variété FP967 administré par la Commission canadienne des grains afin de satisfaire aux exigences du Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries.

La Commission canadienne des grains tiendra à jour une liste des laboratoires qui ont réussi aux épreuves de compétence dans son site Web.

Procédures de la Commission canadienne des grains concernant les exportations

Échantillonnage

  1. Méthode d’échantillonnage – Le personnel de la Commission canadienne des grains prélèvera des échantillons dans tous les navires de chargement en vrac de lin destiné au marché de transformation ou d’alimentation animale du Japon à l’aide d’un échantillonneur à bec déflecteur approuvé, conformément à l’Instruction de travail de la Commission canadienne des grains sur le chargement des navires et le Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation officiel.
  2. Taille des échantillons – Pour les lots de lin de plus de 500 tonnes métriques, un échantillon d’au moins 50 kilogrammes sera prélevé. Pour les lots de 50 à 500 tonnes métriques, un échantillon équivalant à 0,01 % de la taille du lot sera prélevé. Enfin, pour les lots de moins de 50 tonnes métriques, un échantillon d’au moins 5 kilogrammes sera prélevé.
  3. Échantillons composites par cale – Pour tous les chargements en vrac par navire, le personnel de la Commission canadienne des grains préparera un échantillon composite représentatif de chaque cale du navire. La procédure d’échantillonnage et d’essai par cale permet l’identification et la ségrégation de tout lot pouvant renfermer des matières transgéniques.
  4. Préparation et conservation des échantillons – Le personnel de la Commission canadienne des grains réduira les échantillons et préparera un échantillon représentatif de 2,5 kilogrammes à des fins d’analyse ainsi qu’un échantillon identique de 2,5 kilogrammes à des fins de conservation et de référence future. Le sceau officiel de la Commission canadienne des grains sera apposé sur les deux échantillons, puis les numéros de sceau seront consignés. Les échantillons seront conservés pendant au moins six mois.

Essai

  1. Préparation des analyses – Les échantillons à analyser seront expédiés au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains de la Commission canadienne des grains. Le personnel du LRG tirera quatre sous‑échantillons de 60 grammes de l’unique échantillon de laboratoire de 2,5 kilogrammes. Chacun de ces sous‑échantillons compte environ 10 000 graines de lin, ce qui donne une concentration de détection de 0,01 %.
  2. Procédures d’essai – Le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains analysera quatre sous‑échantillons de 60 grammes prélevés de l’unique échantillon de laboratoire de 2,5 kilogrammes. Il procédera à une extraction de l’ADN du grain dans chaque sous‑échantillon à l’aide de la trousse "Fast ID Genomic DNA Extraction Kit". Deux analyses de la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) seront effectuées pour chacune de ces extractions. La méthode d’analyse spécifique de la construction, vérifiée par le laboratoire communautaire de référence de l’Union européenne, sera utilisée dans le cadre de l’analyse PCR qualitative.
  3. Résultats des analyses – Un lot sera considéré comme étant négatif lorsque les résultats d’analyse des quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes se situent en dedans de la tolérance de 1 %.

Documentation

La Commission canadienne des grains rédigera une lettre d’analyse officielle sur papier en‑tête de la Commission canadienne des grains pour accompagner toute autre certification de qualité qu’elle délivre, notamment un certificat final ou un certificat d’inspection officielle. Cette lettre d’analyse sera présentée à l’exportateur de lin canadien, qui la remettra ensuite directement aux autorités compétentes du Japon.

La lettre d’analyse renfermera l’énoncé suivant :

La Commission canadienne des grains a prélevé un échantillon officiel de la cargaison de lin (lin cultivé) mentionnée ci‑dessus et lui a apposé le sceau no xxxxxx. Le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains de la Commission canadienne des grains a analysé l’échantillon officiel correspondant à ce numéro de sceau et n’a détecté la présence de la variété de lin FP967 (CDC Triffid) au-delà de 1 pour cent (%) selon les procédures d’essai vérifiées décrites à l’article 6 du Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant le lin canadien exporté vers le Japon à des fins d’alimentation animale ou d’applications industrielles. Ci‑joint le rapport de laboratoire.

Enquête de la Commission canadienne des grains sur la présence de la variété de lin FP967

La Commission canadienne des grains mène actuellement une enquête sur la présence de la variété de lin FP967 dans les stocks de lin canadien. Elle communiquera les résultats de cette enquête au Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries à intervalles réguliers.

Annulation de l’exigence d’essai au chargement

Le gouvernement canadien et l’industrie canadienne du lin comprennent que le gouvernement canadien et l’industrie canadienne du lin peuvent présenter une demande renfermant les informations pertinentes à la Animal Products Safety Division du Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries pour annulation des exigences d’essai. La division déterminera si l’essai au chargement peut être annulé en fonction des informations présentées et, au besoin, de l’avis du Agricultural Material Council (comité GM). Le gouvernement du Canada et le Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries échangeront des informations et tiendront des discussions sur l’annulation d’essai à l’avenir.

Date de révision

Le présent protocole peut faire l’objet d’un examen et d’une révision en tout temps. Le gouvernement du Canada informera les autorités du Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries de toute révision envisagée.

Questions

Toute question portant sur le présent protocole doit être adressée à l’inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, au 204-983-2780 ou au 1-800-853-6705.

Média substitut

Le Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant les chargements en vrac de lin canadien exporté vers le Japon à des fins d’alimentation animale ou d’applications industrielles est aussi disponible en format PDF :

Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant les chargements en vrac de lin canadien exporté vers le Japon à des fins d’alimentation animale ou d’applications industrielles (PDF, 48 Ko)

Veuillez consulter la page d'aide qui renferme des renseignements sur la façon de visualiser, imprimer et télécharger les fichiers PDF.