Sampling and testing protocol for Canadian flaxseed exported to the European Union

Update: April 28, 2014

1. Purpose

The purpose of this protocol is to describe the system of sampling, testing, and documentation pertaining to the presence of FP967 (CDC Triffid) in shipments of Canadian flaxseed to the European Union (EU).

2. Background

In July 2009 a commercial laboratory in the EU detected a low level presence of genetically modified (GM) material in a shipment of Canadian flaxseed to the EU. In September 2009 the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) confirmed a trace amount of GM material in some Canadian flaxseed shipments.

There are currently no varieties of GM flaxseed registered in Canada. FP967, a GM flaxseed variety, received regulatory feed and environmental safety authorizations in 1996, and food safety authorizations in 1998, but was never released for commercial production. No varieties of GM flaxseed have received regulatory approvals in the EU. EU regulations allow zero tolerance of non-approved GM events.

3. Commercial handling system procedures

a. Producer delivery samples

A sample will be taken by grain handling company personnel from each producer delivery into the commercial handling system. Samples will be retained for a period of no less than six months from the date of delivery. The Canadian Grain Commission provides guidance on sampling methods to the Canadian grain industry in its official Sampling systems handbook and approval guide.

b. Composite railcar samples and testing

All flaxseed moves from primary elevators to port position by railcars. At time of loading, each railcar will be sampled, and composite samples representing not more than 5 railcars will be prepared. The Canadian Grain Commission provides guidance on sampling methods to the Canadian grain industry in its official Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide. These composite samples will be tested for the presence of FP967 by a laboratory on the list of Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments to the European Union using the method described in 6b. If a composite sample tests positive for the presence of FP967, all railcars testing positive represented by that sample will be diverted from the EU flaxseed supply. Individual grain handling companies will retain documentation pertaining to each rail shipment and test result.

c. Commercial segregation and quality management

All Canadian grain handling companies exporting bulk flaxseed to the EU are either ISO or HACCP certified. Companies will employ internal quality management systems and practices to guard against cross contamination of positive flaxseed and negative flaxseed lots.

4. Requirements for testing laboratories

Laboratories undertaking testing for the commercial handling system may only be designated if they operate and have been assessed in accordance with the ISO 17025 standard on ‘General requirements for competence and testing and calibration laboratories’ and if the proposed test method falls within the scope of the above assessment.

The Canadian Grain Commission will maintain a list of “Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments to the European Union” on its website. Laboratories designated on this list will handle and prepare samples in accordance with ISO 17025 accredited procedures. Laboratories will employ the construct-specific method verified by the European Community Reference Laboratory.

5. Canadian Grain Commission procedures for exports: Sampling and sealing silos

a. Prior to railcar unloading

  • Grain handling company personnel will seal all silos in the elevator containing flaxseed not tested under this Protocol or that has tested positive using a uniquely numbered seal, and record the silo and seal numbers.
  • Grain handling company personnel will provide to the Canadian Grain Commission a list of silos in the elevator designated for negative flaxseed destined to the EU and confirm those silos are empty prior to use.

b. Unloading railcars, sealing silos, sampling and testing

  • Grain handling companies will provide a list of the rail cars that test negative to the Canadian Grain Commission and the Canadian Grain Commission will compile and maintain that list.
  • Grain handling company personnel will sample all railcars unloading flaxseed destined for export to the EU with an approved automatic diverter-­type sampler in accordance with the official Sampling Systems Handbook and Approval Guide.
  • For lots of flaxseed exceeding 500 metric tons, a minimum sample size of 50 kilograms will be taken. For lots between 50 metric tons and 500 metric tons, a sample equal to 0.01% of the lot size will be taken. For lots less than 50 metric tons, a minimum sample size of 5 kilograms will be taken. These sample sizes are in accordance with European Commission Recommendation 2004/787/EC (OJ L 348, 24/11/2004, p 0018- 0026).
  • Grain handling company personnel will monitor grain flow from each railcar unload to each designated silo. Grain handling company personnel will seal full silos with a uniquely numbered seal and record the silo and seal number.
  • Grain handling company personnel will prepare two 2.5 kilogram composite samples for each silo. One sample will be forwarded to an ISO 17025 accredited laboratory on the list of “Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments to the European Union”.
  • ISO 17025 laboratories will test the sample in accordance with the procedures outlined in section 6 of this Protocol, and notify the grain handling company whether each silo tests positive or negative for the presence of FP967. Any silo for which the composite sample tests positive will be diverted from the EU flaxseed supply.

c. Loading lake vessels

  • Grain handling company personnel will provide to the Canadian Grain Commission the Lake Vessel Name at time of loading.
  • Canadian Grain Commission will confirm that this vessel has not been used to transport untested or positive tested flax in the prior twelve months
  • Grain handling company personnel will provide to the Canadian Grain Commission a list of silos to be loaded to lake vessels and confirm that they have tested negative and that the seals remain intact.
  • Grain handling company personnel will break the seal on each negative silo, monitor the grain flow paths and confirm to the Canadian Grain Commission that only flaxseed from designated silos is loaded to the lake vessel during the loading of the lake vessel.
  • Grain handling company personnel will confirm to the Canadian Grain Commission that seals on positive or non-protocol flaxseed are intact prior, during and after lake vessel loading.

d. Prior to unloading lake vessels

  • Grain handling company personnel will seal all silos in the elevator containing flaxseed not tested under this protocol or that tested positive using a uniquely numbered seal, and record the silo and seal numbers.
  • Grain handling company personnel will provide to the Canadian Grain Commission a list of silos in the elevator designated for negative flaxseed destined to the EU and confirm those silos are empty prior to use.

e. Unloading of lake vessels

  • Grain handling company personnel will monitor grain flow from each lake vessel, to each designated silo. Grain handling company personnel will seal full silos with a uniquely numbered seal and record the silo and seal number.

f. Loading ocean vessels

  • Grain handling company personnel will provide to the Canadian Grain Commission a list of silos to be loaded to EU ocean vessels and confirm that they tested negative and that the seals remain intact.
  • Grain handling company personnel will break the seal on each negative silo, monitor grain flow paths and confirm to the Canadian Grain Commission that only flaxseed from designated silos is loaded to the ocean vessel during the loading of the ocean vessel.
  • Grain handling company personnel will confirm to the Canadian Grain Commission that seals on positive or non-protocol flaxseed are intact prior, during, and after ocean vessel loading.

 

6. Procedures for exports: Testing by ISO 17025 laboratories

a. Testing preparation

Samples for testing will be expedited to a laboratory on the list of Laboratories Approved for Testing Flaxseed Shipments to the European Union. Laboratory personnel will draw four 60 gram sub-samples from the single 2.5 kilogram laboratory sample. Each 60 gram sub-sample represents approximately 10,000 individual flax seeds, which is capable of achieving a level of detection of 0.01%.

b. Testing procedures

Laboratory personnel will test four 60 gram sub-samples taken from the single 2.5 kilogram laboratory sample. One DNA extraction will be made from each sub-sample using the Fast ID Genomic DNA Extraction Kit. Two PCR analyses will be carried out for each DNA extraction. The construct-specific method, verified by the European Union Community Reference Laboratory, will be used for the qualitative PCR assay. (European Union Reference Laboratory, Detection of flax CDC Triffid (FP967))

c. Testing results

A lot shall be considered negative when all four 60 gram sub-samples test negative.

7. Canadian Grain Commission procedures for exports: Documentation

The Canadian Grain Commission will prepare an official Letter of Analysis on Canadian Grain Commission letterhead to accompany other Canadian Grain Commission quality certification which may include a Certificate Final or an Official Inspection Certificate. The Letter of Analysis will be presented to the Canadian flaxseed exporter, who will in turn provide it directly to the appropriate EU authorities. The Letter of Analysis will include a statement as follows:

Prior to the loading of the vessel identified above, the grain handling company sampled the flaxseed (Linseed) destined to storage silos and then sealed each silo.

A sample representative of each silo was prepared and sealed by grain handling company personnel and forwarded to [Insert Laboratory Name] for testing. [Insert Laboratory Name] operates and has been assessed in accordance with the ISO 17025 standard on ‘General requirements for competence and testing and calibration laboratories’, and the testing method employed falls within the scope of that assessment.

The samples, as reported by (Insert Laboratory Name), tested negative for the presence of FP967 (CDC Triffid) based on the verified testing procedures outlined in section 6 of the Sampling and Testing Protocol for Canadian Flax Exported to the European Union. The lab report is attached.

The attached silo list has been prepared by the grain handling company and designates the silos that were utilized for the shipment identified above.

8. Reporting on the Presence of FP967

Canada will share results of those controls described in this Protocol with the European Commission at regular intervals.

9. Review

The requirements of this protocol will be reviewed on an annual basis beginning in 2014 and the protocol may be terminated by mutual consent if, during that period, no detection of CDC Triffid has been reported.

10. Questions

Questions pertaining to this protocol should be directed to the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada at (204) 983-2780 or (800) 853-6705.

Alternative format

The Canadian Grain Commission's sampling and testing protocol for Canadian flaxseed exported to the European Union is also available in PDF format:

Sampling and testing protocol for Canadian flaxseed exported to the European Union (PDF, 75 kb)

Refer to our PDF help page for information on how to view, print and download PDF documents.

Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant le lin canadien exporté vers l’Union européenne

Mise à jour : Le 28 avril 2014

1. But

Le but du présent protocole est de décrire la procédure d’échantillonnage, d’essai et de documentation à suivre concernant la présence de la variété de lin FP967 (CDC Triffid) dans les chargements de lin canadien destinés à l’Union européenne (UE).

2. Contexte

En juillet 2009, un laboratoire commercial de l’UE a décelé la présence d’une faible concentration de matières génétiquement modifiées dans une cargaison de lin canadien destinée à l’UE. En septembre de la même année, la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) a confirmé la présence de quantités infimes de lin transgénique dans certains chargements de lin canadien.

Aucune variété de lin génétiquement modifié n’est enregistrée au Canada à l’heure actuelle. La variété de lin FP967, variété de lin transgénique, a reçu les approbations réglementaires attestant de sa sécurité à des fins d’utilisation dans les aliments pour animaux et de sa sécurité pour l’environnement en 1996, puis les approbations garantissant son innocuité en tant qu’aliment en 1998, mais elle n’a jamais servi à la production commerciale. Aucune variété de lin transgénique n’a reçu d’approbations réglementaires dans l’UE. Lorsqu’il s’agit de matières génétiquement modifiées non approuvées, les règlements de l’UE prévoient la tolérance zéro.

3. Procédure de manutention des grains

a. Échantillonnage des produits livrés par les producteurs

Le personnel de l'entreprise de manutention des grains prélèvera un échantillon de grains dans chaque livraison que les producteurs destinent au réseau de manutention des grains. Les échantillons seront conservés pendant au moins six mois à compter de la date de livraison. La Commission canadienne des grains offre à l’industrie céréalière canadienne des directives sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage dans un ouvrage officiel intitulé Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation.

b. Échantillonnage composite des wagons et analyse

L'ensemble du lin est transporté par wagons des silos primaires aux ports d'exportation. Au moment du chargement, un échantillon sera prélevé dans chaque wagon, puis des échantillons composites représentant au plus cinq wagons seront préparés. La Commission canadienne des grains  offre à l’industrie céréalière canadienne des directives sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage dans un ouvrage officiel intitulé Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation.Les échantillons composites seront ensuite analysés à l’aide de la méthode décrite au point 6 b) par un laboratoire figurant sur la Liste des laboratoires autorisés à analyser les cargaisons de lin destinées à l’UE afin d’y déceler la présence de la variété de lin FP967. Lorsque les résultats de l’analyse révèlent la présence de lin transgénique FP967 dans un échantillon composite, tous les wagons représentés dans cet échantillon seront retirés du réseau d’approvisionnement en lin destiné à l’UE. Chaque entreprise de manutention des grains sera tenue de conserver la documentation ayant trait aux expéditions ferroviaires et aux résultats d’analyse.

c. Systèmes de gestion de la qualité et de ségrégation

Toutes les entreprises canadiennes de manutention des grains qui exportent du lin en vrac vers l’UE sont accréditées selon la norme ISO ou HACCP. Les entreprises auront recours à des systèmes et à des pratiques internes de gestion de la qualité afin de se prémunir contre toute contamination croisée entre les lots contenant du lin transgénique et ceux qui n’en contiennent pas.

4. Exigences imposées aux laboratoires d'essai

Les laboratoires qui procèdent aux analyses des grains provenant du réseau de manutention ne peuvent être désignés à ce titre que si une évaluation a permis de certifier qu’ils fonctionnent selon la norme ISO 17025, Exigence générale concernant la compétence des laboratoires d’étalonnages et d’essais, et que la méthode d’essai qu’ils se proposent d’utiliser entre dans le cadre de cette évaluation.

La Commission canadienne des grains  tiendra à jour une liste des laboratoires autorisés à analyser les cargaisons de lin destinées à l’UE sur son site Web. Les laboratoires désignés figurant sur cette liste manipuleront le lin et prépareront des échantillons conformément à la procédure certifiée selon la norme ISO 17025. Ils suivront la méthode d’analyse spécifique de la construction vérifiée par le laboratoire de référence de la Communauté européenne.

5. Procédure visant les exportations : échantillonnage et scellage des silos

a. Avant le déchargement des wagons

  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains scellera, à l’aide d’un sceau portant un numéro unique, tous les silos contenant du lin non analysé aux termes du présent protocole ou dont l’analyse a permis de déceler la présence de lin transgénique, puis elle consignera par écrit le numéro du silo et celui du sceau.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains fournira à la Commission canadienne des grains  une liste des silos désignés pour contenir du lin destiné à l’UE qui est exempt de lin transgénique et confirmera que ces silos sont vides avant leur remplissage.

b. Déchargement des wagons, scellage des silos, échantillonnage et analyse

  • Les entreprises de manutention des grains fourniront à la Commission canadienne des grains  une liste des wagons qui sont exempts de lin transgénique, et la Commission canadienne des grains compilera la liste et la tiendra à jour.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains prélèvera des échantillons dans tous les wagons desquels est déchargé du lin destiné à l’UE à l’aide d’un échantillonneur à bec déflecteur approuvé, conformément au Manuel des systèmes d’échantillonnage et du Guide d’approbation officiel.
  • Pour les lots de lin de plus de 500 tonnes métriques, un échantillon d’au moins 50 kilogrammes sera prélevé. Pour les lots de 50 à 500 tonnes métriques, un échantillon équivalant à 0,01 % de la taille du lot sera prélevé. Enfin, pour les lots de moins de 50 tonnes métriques, un échantillon d’au moins 5 kilogrammes sera prélevé. Ces tailles d’échantillon sont conformes à la Recommandation de la Commission 2004/787/EC (OJ L 348, 24/11/2004, p 0018-0026).
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains surveillera le débit du grain qui est déchargé de chaque wagon et transféré dans chaque silo désigné. Il scellera ensuite les silos remplis à l’aide d’un sceau portant un numéro unique, puis consignera par écrit le numéro du silo et celui du sceau.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains préparera deux échantillons composites de 2,5 kilogrammes pour chaque silo. L’un d’eux sera envoyé à un laboratoire accrédité selon la norme ISO 17025 figurant sur la liste des Laboratoires autorisés à analyser les cargaisons de lin destinées à l’Union européenne.
  • Les laboratoires accrédités selon la norme ISO 17025 analyseront l’échantillon en suivant la procédure décrite au point 6 du présent protocole, et aviseront l’entreprise de manutention des grains des résultats obtenus pour chaque silo quant à la détection ou non de la variété de lin FP967. Tout silo contenant du lin transgénique selon les résultats d’analyse de l’échantillon composite sera exclu du réseau d’approvisionnement en lin de l’UE.

c. Chargement des laquiers

  • Au moment du chargement, le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains fournira le nom du laquier à la Commission canadienne des grains.
  • La Commission canadienne des grains confirmera que le laquier n’a pas servi à transporter du lin non analysé ou du lin dont l’analyse a permis de déceler la présence de lin transgénique au cours des douze mois précédents.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains fournira à la Commission canadienne des grains une liste des silos contenant le grain qui sera chargé sur les laquiers et confirmera qu’ils ne contiennent pas de lin transgénique et que les sceaux sont intacts.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains brisera le sceau de chaque silo exempt de matières génétiquement modifiées, surveillera l’acheminement du grain et confirmera à la Commission canadienne des grains que seul le lin provenant des silos désignés est chargé à bord du laquier.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains confirmera à la Commission canadienne des grains que les sceaux apposés sur les silos contenant du lin transgénique ou du lin non analysé aux termes du protocole sont intacts avant, pendant et après le chargement des laquiers.

d. Avant le déchargement des laquiers

  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains scellera, à l’aide d’un sceau portant un numéro unique, tous les silos contenant du lin non analysé aux termes du présent protocole ou dont l’analyse a permis de déceler la présence de lin transgénique, puis elle consignera par écrit le numéro du silo et celui du sceau.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains fournira à la Commission canadienne des grains une liste des silos désignés pour contenir du lin destiné à l’UE qui est exempt de lin transgénique et confirmera que ces silos sont vides avant leur remplissage.

e. Déchargement des laquiers

  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains surveillera le débit du grain qui est déchargé de chaque laquier et transféré dans chaque silo désigné. Il scellera ensuite les silos remplis à l’aide d’un sceau portant un numéro unique, puis consignera par écrit le numéro du silo et celui du sceau.

f. Chargement des navires transocéaniques

  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains fournira à la Commission canadienne des grains une liste des silos contenant le grain qui sera chargé sur les navires transocéaniques à destination de l’UE et confirmera qu’ils ne contiennent pas de lin transgénique et que les sceaux sont intacts.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains brisera le sceau de chaque silo exempt de matières génétiquement modifiées, surveillera l’acheminement du grain et confirmera à la Commission canadienne des grains que seul le lin provenant des silos désignés est chargé à bord du navire transocéanique.
  • Le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains confirmera à la Commission canadienne des grains que les sceaux apposés sur les silos contenant du lin transgénique ou du lin non analysé aux termes du protocole sont intacts avant, pendant et après le chargement des navires transocéaniques.

6. Procédure visant les exportations : analyse par les laboratoires accrédités selon la norme ISO 17025

a. Préparation des analyses

Les échantillons à analyser seront expédiés à un laboratoire figurant sur la liste des Laboratoires autorisés à analyser les cargaisons de lin destinées à l’Union européenne. Le personnel du laboratoire tirera quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes de l’unique échantillon de laboratoire de 2,5 kilogrammes. Chacun de ces sous-échantillons compte environ 10 000 graines de lin, ce qui donne une concentration de détection de 0,01 %.

b. Procédure d’analyse

Le personnel du laboratoire analysera quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes prélevés de l'unique échantillon de laboratoire de 2,5 kilogrammes. Il procédera à une extraction de l’ADN du grain dans chaque sous-échantillon à l’aide de la trousse Fast ID Genomic DNA Extraction Kit. Deux analyses de la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) seront effectuées sur chacune de ces extractions. La méthode d’analyse spécifique de la construction, vérifiée par le laboratoire de référence de la Communauté européenne, sera utilisée dans le cadre de l’analyse PCR qualitative. (Laboratoire de référence de la Communauté européenne, Detection of flax CDC Triffid (FP967) (anglais seulement)).

c. Résultats des analyses

Un lot sera considéré comme exempt de matières transgéniques lorsque les résultats d’analyse des quatre sous-échantillons de 60 grammes seront négatifs.

7. Procédure visant les exportations : documentation

La CCG rédigera une lettre d’analyse officielle sur papier en-tête de la Commission canadienne des grains pour accompagner toute autre certification de qualité qu’elle délivre, notamment un certificat final ou un certificat d’inspection officielle. Cette lettre d’analyse sera présentée à l’exportateur de lin canadien, qui la remettra ensuite directement aux autorités compétentes de l’UE. La lettre d’analyse renfermera l’énoncé suivant :

Avant le chargement du navire susmentionné, l’entreprise de manutention des grains a prélevé un échantillon officiel de la cargaison de lin (lin cultivé) destinée aux silos de stockage, puis a scellé chacun de ces silos.

Un échantillon représentatif de chaque silo a été préparé et scellé par le personnel de l’entreprise de manutention des grains, puis acheminé au [insérer le nom du laboratoire] pour fins d’analyse. Le [insérer le nom du laboratoire] a fait l’objet d’une évaluation et fonctionne selon la norme ISO 17025, Exigence générale concernant la compétence des laboratoires d’étalonnages et d’essais, et la méthode d’analyse qu’il utilise entre dans le cadre de cette évaluation.

Comme le signale le (insérer le nom du laboratoire), les échantillons ne contiennent aucun grain de la lignée de lin FP967 (CDC Triffid), selon la procédure d’analyse vérifiée décrite au point 6 du Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai pour le lin canadien exporté vers l’Union européenne. Ci-joint le rapport de laboratoire.

La liste des silos ci-jointe a été rédigée par l’entreprise de manutention des grains et précise les silos qui ont été utilisés pour la cargaison susmentionnée.

8. Signalement de la présence de la variété de lin FP967

À intervalles réguliers, le Canada communiquera à la Commission européenne les résultats des contrôles décrits dans le présent protocole.

9. Examen

Les exigences du présent protocole feront l’objet d’un examen annuel.

10. Questions

Toute question portant sur le présent protocole doit être adressée à l’inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, au 204-983-2780 ou au 1-800-853-6705.

Média substitut

Le protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai de la Commission canadienne des grains visant le lin canadien exporté vers l’Union européenne est aussi disponible en format PDF :

Protocole d’échantillonnage et d’essai visant le lin canadien exporté vers l’Union européenne (PDF, 54 Ko)

Veuillez consulter la page d'aide qui renferme des renseignements sur la façon de visualiser, imprimer et télécharger les fichiers PDF.