Members - Barley and other cereals sub-committee

In 2001 the Canadian Grain Commission created four sub-committees reporting to the Western Standards Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Canadian Grain Commission. Since then, the sub-committees have served their purpose in bringing forward commodity concerns related to the grading system and facilitating input from all grain industry stakeholders in order to provide advice and formulate recommendations to the Western Standards Committee.

Since that time the grain industry has evolved including changes to marketing freedom and the creation of new organizations within the grain industry. As a result of this evolution, it became necessary to re-evaluate the composition and membership of the sub-committees to further improve their efficiencies and effectiveness. Changes to the sub-committee membership have taken place and are now more reflective of the grain industry’s present and future needs.

List of members

This list of members is current as of June 2018.

Chair

Dale Matchett
(Terminal Elevators Association)
Malting Barley Merchant, Richardson International
2800 – One Lombard Place
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0X8
Telephone: 204-934-5305
Fax: 204-956-0287
Email: dale.matchett@richardson.ca

Representing the Canadian Grain Commission

Craig Smith (Vice-chair)
(Canadian Grain Commission)
Inspection Specialist
900-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-984-6431
Fax: 204-983-7550
Email: craig.smith@grainscanada.gc.ca

Marta Izydorczyk
(Canadian Grain Commission)
Research Scientist, Barley and Malt Research
1364-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-983-1300
Email: marta.izydorczyk@grainscanada.gc.ca

Representing barley and other cereals producers

Brian Otto
(Barley Council of Canada)
Post Office Box 419
Warner, Alberta T0K 2L0
Telephone: 403-647-7661
Email: botto@mrcable.ca

Fred Greig
(Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association)
Post Office Box 190
Reston, Manitoba R0M 1X0
Telephone: 204-877-3813
Email: fgreig@mymts.net

Shawna Mathieson
(Prairie Oat Growers Association)
Post Office Box 20106
Regina, Saskachewan S4P 4J7
Telephone: 306-530-8545
Email: smathieson@poga.ca

Brent Konstapel
(Alberta Barley Commission)
P.O Box 117
Spirit River, AB T0H 3G0
Telephone: 780-864-5131
Email: bkonstapel@barleydirector.com

Allen Kuhlmann
(Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission)
Bay 6A - 3602 Taylor Street East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7H 5H9
Telephone: 306-582-2001
Email: skuhlmann@sasktel.net

Representing industry

Elinor Friesen
(Processor)
Richardson International
2800 – One Lombard Place
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0X8
Telephone: 204-934-5008
Email: elinor.friesen@richardson.ca

Jeff Mayo
(Country Elevators Association)
Parrish & Heimbecker
1400 – 201 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, MB  R3B 3K6
Phone:  204-987-4329
Cell : 204-981-6305
Email :  jmayo@pandh.ca

Lorelle Selinger
(Brewing and Malting Barley Research Institute)
Post Office Box 1150
Biggar, Saskatchewan S4T 7T9
Telephone: 306-948-3500
Email: lorelle_selinger@cargill.com

Peter Watts
(Canadian Malting Barley Technical Centre)
303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G7
Telephone: 204-984-4399
Cell: 204-795-3208
Email: pwatts@cmbtc.com

Jason McGillivray
CGOEA (Exporter of Grain)
Scoular Canada Ltd.
Suite 1110
10201 Southport Rd SW
Calgary, Alberta T2W 4X9
Telephone: 403-720-9050
Cell: 403-837-9697
Email: jmcgillivray@scoular.com