Members - Oilseeds sub-committee

In 2001 the Canadian Grain Commission created four sub-committees reporting to the Western Standards Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Canadian Grain Commission. Since then, the sub-committees have served their purpose in bringing forward commodity concerns related to the grading system and facilitating input from all grain industry stakeholders in order to provide advice and formulate recommendations to the Western Standards Committee.

Since that time the grain industry has evolved including changes to marketing freedom and the creation of new organizations within the grain industry. As a result of this evolution, it became necessary to re-evaluate the composition and membership of the sub-committees to further improve their efficiencies and effectiveness. Changes to the sub-committee membership have taken place and are now more reflective of the grain industry’s present and future needs.

List of members

This list of members is current as of Spring 2018.


Aaron Brown (Industry)
(Canadian Grain and Oilseeds Exporters Association)
ADM Agri-Industries Company
Suite 900-167 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0V3
Telephone: 204-982-8122

Representing the Canadian Grain Commission

Craig Smith (Vice-Chair)
Canadian Grain Commission
Inspection Specialist, Industry Services
800-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-984-6431
Fax: 204-983-7550

Véronique Barthet
(Canadian Grain Commission)
Program Manager, Oilseeds
1312-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-984-5174
Fax: 204-983-0724

Representing oilseeds producers

Eric Fridfinnson
(Flax Council Of Canada)
Post Office Box 877
Arborg, Manitoba R0C 0A0
Telephone: 204-376-5180
Fax: 204-376-5217

James McKinlay
(Ontario Canola Growers Association)
Post Office Box 106, 206 Toronto St. S
Markdale, Ontario N0C 1H0
Telephone: 519-599-6236

Clayton Harder
(Canadian Canola Growers Association)
180 McKay Road
Narol, MB R1C 0A5
Telephone: 204-470-3021

Representing industry

Chad Molesky
(Terminal Elevators Association)
Merchandising Manager, Viterra Inc.
2625 Victoria Avenue
Regina, Saskatchewan S4T 7T9
Telephone: 306-569-4011
Fax: 306-569-4715

Nadia Singh
(Country Elevator Association)
Richardson International
2800 - One Lombard Place
Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3B 0X8
Telephone: 204-934-5278

Jennifer Marchand
(Canadian Oilseeds Processors Association)
PO Box 190
Clavet, Saskatchewan S0K 0Y0
Telephone: 204-668-5156

Curtis Rempel
(Canola Council Of Canada)
400-167 Lombard Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0T6
Telephone: 204-982-2109