Members - Pulses sub-committee

In 2001 the Canadian Grain Commission created four sub-committees reporting to the Western Standards Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Canadian Grain Commission. Since then, the sub-committees have served their purpose in bringing forward commodity concerns related to the grading system and facilitating input from all grain industry stakeholders in order to provide advice and formulate recommendations to the Western Standards Committee.

Since that time the grain industry has evolved including changes to marketing freedom and the creation of new organizations within the grain industry. As a result of this evolution, it became necessary to re-evaluate the composition and membership of the sub-committees to further improve their efficiencies and effectiveness. Changes to the sub-committee membership have taken place and are now more reflective of the grain industry’s present and future needs.

List of members

This list of members is current as of February 2017.

Representing the Canadian Grain Commission

Derek Bunkowsky, Vice-Chair
(Canadian Grain Commission)
Inspection Specialist
900-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-297-8541

Ning Wang
(Canadian Grain Commission)
Research Scientist, Pulse Crops
1616-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-983-2154

Representing pulse producers

Jean Harrington, Chair
(Saskatchewan Pulse Growers)
Post Office Box 1341
500n Progress Ave
Outlook, Saskatchewan S0L 2N0
Telephone: 306-867-9974

Rodney Volk
(Alberta Pulse Growers)
Box 21
Burdett, AB T0K 0J0
Telephone: 403-308-8455

Frank Labelle
(Manitoba Pulse Growers Association Inc.)
Post Office Box 914
Carman, Manitoba R0G 0J0
Telephone: 204-745-6488
Cell: 204-751-3748

Todd Austin
(Grain Farmers of Ontario)
Manager, Marketing
679 Southgate Drive
Guelph, Ontario N1G 4S2
Telephone: 519-767-4118
Fax: 519-767-9713

Ramzy Yelda
(Producteurs de grains du Québec)
555, boul. Roland-Therrien, bureau 505
Longueuil, Québec J4H 4G4
Telephone: 450-679-0530

Representing industry

Kevin Price
(Canadian Grain & Oilseed Exporters Association)
Suite 390 – 375 Water Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5C6
Telephone: 604-681-8675, extension 1

Lynne Sweeney
(Terminal Elevators Association)
2800-One Lombard Place
Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3B 0X8
Telephone: 204-934-5911

Tanvir Zaidi
(Canadian Special Crops Association)
Globeways Canada
2570 Matheson Blvd E
Mississauga, ON L4W 4Z3
Telephone: 905-712-1010

Rolf Mantei
(Canadian Oilseed Processors Association)
Bunge Canada
2190 South Service Road West
Oakville, Ontario L6L 5N1
Telephone: 905-825-7911

Quinton Stewart
(Country Elevator Association)
Senior Merchandiser Pulses, Viterra
2625 Victoria Avenue
Regina, Saskatchewan S4T 7T9