Members - Western Standards Committee

Composition of committee

The committee is made up of:

  • 12 grain producers
  • 3 Canadian Grain Commission staff
    • a commissioner
    • a grain inspector
    • a scientist
  • 2 members nominated by the Deputy Minister of Agriculture
  • 2 grain processors
  • 3 grain exporters
  • 3 others appointed by the Canadian Grain Commission

If you have any concerns related to the grading system, contact the member organization that represents you to have your concerns forwarded to the Western Standards Committee.

List of members

This list of members is current as of October 2017.

Chair

Patti Miller
Canadian Grain Commission
Chief Commissioner
600-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-983-2735
Fax: 204-983-2751
Email: patti.miller@grainscanada.gc.ca

Representing the Canadian Grain Commission

Gino Castonguay
Canadian Grain Commission
Chief Grain Inspector for Canada
900-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-983-2780
Fax: 204-983-0248
Email: gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca

Dave Hatcher
Canadian Grain Commission
Program Manager, Wheat Enzymes & Asian Products
1625-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Telephone: 204-290-7538
Email: dave.hatcher@grainscanada.gc.ca

Representing Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Doug Winmill
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
421 Downey Road, Floor 3, Room 301
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan  S7N 4L8
Telephone: 306-385-4936
Fax: 306-385-4943
Email: doug.winmill@inspection.gc.ca

Felicitas Katepa-Mupondwa
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
440 University Ave, Floor 3, Room 342A
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4N6
Telephone: 902-370-1397
Fax: 902-370-1444
Email: felicitas.katepa-mupondwa@agr.gc.ca

Representing processors of grain

Lorelle Selinger
Brewing and Malting Barley Research Institute
Post Office Box 1150
Biggar, Saskatchewan S0K 0M0
Telephone: 306-948-3500
Email: Lorelle_Selinger@cargill.com

Rick Steinke
Canadian National Millers Association
ADM Milling
7 Higgins Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0A1
Telephone: 204-925-2107
Fax: 204-947-1788
Email: rick.steinke@adm.com

Representing exporters of grain

Murad Al-Katib
Canadian Special Crops Association
Alliance Grain Traders Inc.
Post Office Box 30029
Regina, Saskatchewan S4N 7K9
Telephone: 306-525-4490
Email: murad@saskcan.com

Joan Anderson
Canadian Grain and Oilseed Exporters Association
8561 Roblin Blvd
Headingley, MB R4J 1B3
Telephone: 204-896-1434
Email: janderson@cremer.ca

Adrian Man
Canola Council of Canada
Richardson International Limited
2800 – One Lombard Place
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0X8
Telephone: 204-934-5575
Email: adrian.man@richardson.ca

Representing producers of western grain

Eric Fridfinnson
Flax Council of Canada
Post Office Box 877
Arborg, Manitoba R0C 0A0
Telephone: 204-376-5180
Fax: 204-376-5217
Email: efridfin@lakenet.ca

Fred Greig
Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association
Post Office Box 190
Reston, Manitoba R0M 1X0
Telephone: 204-877-3813
Email: fgreig@mymts.net

Jean Harrington
Saskatchewan Pulse Growers
Post Office Box 1341, 500 Progress Avenue
Outlook, Saskatchewan S0L 2N0
Telephone: 306-867-9974
Email: jharrington.pfb@sasktel.net

vacant

Rodney Volk
Alberta Pulse Growers
Box 21
Burdett, AB T0K 0J0
Telephone: 403-308-8455
Email: rvolk@pulse.ab.ca

Allen Kuhlmann
Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission
Bay 6A – 3602 Taylor Street East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7H 5H9
Telephone: 306-582-2001
Fax: 306-244-4497
Email: skuhlmann@sasktel.net

Scott Lehr
Alberta Winter Wheat Producers Commission
Post Office Box 342
Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 7G1
Telephone: 403-502-1119
Fax: 403-529-9198
Email: slehr10@gmail.com

Vacant
Alberta Barley Commission

Ernie Sirski
Manitoba Pulse Growers Association
Post Office Box 121
Dauphin, Manitoba R7N 2T9
Email: esirski@explorenet.com

Dennis Thiessen
Grain Growers of Canada
Post Office Box 2965
Steinbach, Manitoba R5G 1P3
Email: denemfarms@gmail.com

Ken Rosaasen
Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
Suite 310-111 Research Drive,
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 3R2
Telephone: 306-242-8103
Email: kenandelsie@baudoux.ca

Clayton Harder
Canadian Canola Growers Association
180 McKay Road
Narol, MB R1C 0A5
Telephone: 204-470-3021
Email: clayrharder@hotmail.com

Additional members

Kevin Hursh
Inland Terminal Association of Canada
566 Adilman Drive
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 7H5
Telephone: 306-933-0138
Email: kevin@hursh.ca

Trent Rude
Terminal Elevator Association
Viterra
2625 Victoria Avenue
Regina, Saskatchewan S4T 7T9
Telephone: 306-569-6697
Email: trent.rude@viterra.com

Darren Highfield
Country Elevators Association
Paterson Grain
22nd Floor, 333 Main Street
Winnipeg, MB R3C 4E2
Phone: 204-934-5911
Email: dhighfield@patersongrainc.com