Identifying wheat and barley seed affected by fusarium head blight

Photographic guide to identifying wheat and barley seed affected by fusarium head blight and seed symptoms mistaken for fusarium head blight.

  • Fusarium head blight

    Fusarium head blight

    Fusarium head blight is a fungal disease of small grain cereals. In North America, the three species of fungus most often responsible for the disease are Fusarium avenaceum, F. graminearum, and F. culmorum. F. graminearum and F. culmorum may produce a number of fungal toxins, called mycotoxins, in the grain. The most commonly produced mycotoxin is deoxynivalenol, also known as vomitoxin. Economic losses from fusarium head blight arise from yield and grade reductions as well as problems associated with the presence of mycotoxins.

    In wheat, subsceptibility to fusarium head blight peaks at flowering and declines as the grain matures. Durum wheats are more susceptible to fusarium head blight than are the common wheats. Fusarium infection occurs only if there is precipitation during the period of susceptibility. Early infection results in shriveled, chalky white seeds or sterile florets. Many of the shriveled, light seeds are lost during combining, although some may remain in the harvested grain. Those seeds remaining are referred to as fusarium damaged kernels or fusarium damaged kernels in Canada and scabby kernels in the United States. The grading systems in Canada and the U.S. allow only a small number of fusarium damaged kernels in grain destined for milling and other human uses.

    In barley and oats, symptoms of fusarium head blight are often difficult to find. In most years, few infected seeds display the fungal sporodochia or perithecia which are typical symptoms of seed infection in these crops. The symptoms become more common during wet harvests. Blackpoint is often present on barley seeds affected by fusarium head blight, but the resulting discolouration is not specific to Fusarium. Blackpoint is also associated with infection by Helminthosporium sativum, a cause of common root rot. Deoxynivalenol, often associated with fusarium damaged kernels, is one of the milder mycotoxins. Non-ruminants, such as hogs, are the most sensitive to the presence of deoxynivalenol in their diets. A typical response is reduced feed consumption resulting in slower weight gain. The presence of detectable amounts of deoxynivalenol in a barley sample can lead to its rejection as malting barley.

    Monitoring

    Since 1984, when a few fields in southeastern Manitoba were found to have high levels of fusarium damaged kernels caused by F. graminearum, researchers at the Grain Research Laboratory have been monitoring grain samples from western Canada for the presence of fusarium damaged kernels and identifying the fungal species responsible. The fungal species of most concern is F. graminearum, an aggressive pathogen and a capable deoxynivalenol producer. F. graminearum appears to have spread westward from southern Manitoba, and is now an important pathogen in Manitoba and eastern Saskatchewan. However, it is only at very low levels outside of this area.

    Presence of fusarium damaged kernels is not always associated with the presence of deoxynivalenol, but depends upon which species produced the fusarium damaged kernels.

    Definitions

    DON (Deoxynivalenol)
    The mycotoxin most commonly produced by some of the fungal species which cause fusarium head blight. Also known as vomitoxin.
    FDK
    Fusarium damaged kernels. They are called scabby kernels in the U.S.
    FHB
    Fusarium head blight. This fungal disease of small grain cereals is caused by several species of Fusarium. In North America, the three species most often responsible for the disease are F. graminearum, F. culmorum, and F. avenaceum.
    Mycelium
    A fibrous, thread-like mass of fungal growth.
    Perithecia
    Bluish black fungal structures that produce a spore called an ascospore. The presence of these structures on the seed indicates that the seed was infected by F. graminearum.
    Pycnidia
    Small, black, spore-producing structures produced by a variety of fungi. The spores formed in these structures are called pycnidiospores. Pycnidia are not formed by Fusarium species.
    Sporodochia
    Masses of fungal spores. In Fusarium species they are typically orange. The spores in these frequently slimy masses are called conidiospores. All Fusarium species that cause fusarium head blight produce sporodochia.
  • Fusarium head blight on wheat

    Fusarium head blight on wheat

    Fusarium head blight on wheat, Orange sporodochia

    Fusarium head blight on wheat, Orange sporodochia are formed at the base of the glumes, as shown. Infected spikelets ripen prematurely.

    Fusarium head blight on wheat. Bluish black perithecia

    Fusarium head blight on wheat, Bluish black perithecia are occasionally formed on the head.

    Red Spring

    Red spring wheat, left to right, Sound red spring wheat seed, Not a Fusarium Damaged Kernel, FDK with light symptoms, FDK with severe symptoms

    From left to right

    Sound red spring wheat seed.

    Not a Fusarium Damaged Kernel. This seed does not have sufficient seed discolouration or fibrous fungal growth, also called mycelial growth, to qualify as a fusarium damaged kernel according to the Canadian Grain Commission Official Grain Grading Guide

    Fusarium damaged kernels with light symptoms. Mycelial growth is visible around the germ and in the broad crease, and the seed looks shriveled and chalky white.

    Fusarium damaged kernels with severe symptoms. Abundant mycelial growth is visible on both seed surfaces, with some pink discolouration at the germ. The seed has a shriveled, chalky white appearance.

    Amber Durum

    Amber Durum, Sound durum wheat seed

    Sound durum wheat seed.

    Amber Durum, Moderate symptoms of FDK

    Moderate symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels. Mycelial growth is visible at the germ and crease. Other symptoms are the wrinkled seed coat, broad crease and bronzy colour.

    Amber Durum, Severe symptoms of FDK

    Severe symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels. Mycelial growth is abundant, the seed coat is wrinkled, the crease is broadened, and the colour is bronzy.

    Prairie Spring

    Prairie Spring, Sound Canada Prairie Spring Red wheat seed

    Sound Canada Prairie Spring Red wheat seed.

    Prairie Spring, Moderate symptoms of FDK

    Moderate symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels. Mycelial growth is visible at the germ and crease. Other symptoms are a wrinkled seed coat, a broad crease and a chalky white appearance.

    Prairie Spring, Severe symptoms of FDK

    Severe symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels. Abundant mycelial growth is found at the germ and crease. The seed coat is wrinkled, the crease is broadened, and the appearance is chalky white with pink at the germ.

    White Winter

    White Winter, Sound white winter wheat seed

    Sound white winter wheat seed.

    White Winter, Moderate symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels

    Moderate symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels. Mycelial growth is visible at the germ and crease. Other symptoms are a wrinkled seed coat, a broad crease and a whitish colour.

    White Winter, Severe symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels

    Severe symptoms of fusarium damaged kernels. The seed coat is wrinkled, the crease is broadened, and the appearance is pink and chalky white.

  • Fusarium head blight on barley

    Fusarium head blight on barley

    Fusarium head blight on barley

    Fusarium head blight on barley. Symptoms on barley heads are more subtle than on wheat. Orange sporodochia may be seen at the base of infected florets as well as some dark discolouration. Heads occasionally have perithecia present.

    Sound hulless barley seed.

    Sound hulless barley seed.

    Hulless light symptoms

    Hulless with light symptoms. Mycelial growth is visible in the crease and the germ. The perithecia and sporodochia characteristic of fusarium head blight in covered barley are absent in hulless barley because of removal of the hull where these structures are normally found. In this respect, damaged kernels of hulless barley more closely resemble fusarium damaged kernels of wheat.

    Hulless moderate symptoms

    Hulless with moderate symptoms. Mycelial growth is more apparent, with some dark discolouration of the seed and reduced seed size.

    Hulless severe symptoms

    Hulless with severe symptoms. Seeds are thin, with some dark discolouration and abundant mycelial growth.

    Sound barley seed

    Sound barley seed.

    Sound barley seed Black perithecia

    Black perithecia. Bluish black perithecia encrust the seed surface. The dark discolouration of this seed and the seed in the next image is also typical of infection of barley seed by fusaria and other pathogens.

    Sound barley seed Orange sporodochia

    Orange sporodochia. These orange spore masses may be formed by a number of Fusarium species, some of which do not produce deoxynivalenol.

  • Seed symptoms mistaken for fusarium head blight

    Seed symptoms mistaken for fusarium head blight

    Wheat

    Wheat Midge damage with mould

    Midge damage with mould. Feeding by the larva of the orange wheat blossom midge can result in shrunken, misshapen seeds. Depending upon the growing conditions, midge-damaged seeds may become visibly mouldy. A whitish fungal mycelia can result in seeds similar in appearance to seeds formed as a result of fusarium head blight. This type of fungal growth is frequently that of Septoria nodorum or one of the fusaria.

    Wheat Asteromella species

    Asteromella species. This fungus is recovered from seeds with a somewhat chalky appearance and visible mycelial growth. The seeds characteristically have an orangish translucence and black pycnidia on the surface, frequently at the brush end. In culture, Asteromella sp. grow very quickly and form a dense, white mycelial growth.

    Wheat Septoria nodorum

    Septoria nodorum. Infection of the seed by this fungus, which causes glume blotch in wheat, can result in a seed visually indistinguishable from those formed by fusarium head blight. This type of seed appears primarily in Saskatchewan and Alberta durum wheat. However, no samples yet examined have shown a great number of these seeds present.

    Barley

    Barley Fungal pycnidia

    Fungal pycnidia. These pycnidia are smaller and more discreet than the perithecia of F. graminearum.

    Barley Helminthosporium

    Helminthosporium species. The net blotch fungus Helminthosporium teres (and sometimes the leaf stripe fungus H. graminea) is frequently recovered from barley seeds that display an orange discolouration at the basal end. Unlike the discolouration of sporodochia associated with fusarium head blight, this discolouration is internal, and cannot be scraped off the seed.

    Barley Sooty moulds species

    Sooty moulds. The dark, sooty moulds, usually species of Alternaria and Cladosporium, present on barley seed in years of wet harvests may be mistaken for perithecia. The sooty moulds, however, are fibrous and easily scraped off.

Date modified:

Identification des grains de blé et d'orge endommagés par la fusariose de l'épi

Guide photographique pour l’identification des graines de blé et d’orge touchées par la fusariose de l’épi ainsi que des symptômes pouvant être confondus avec ceux de la fusariose.

  • La fusariose de l'épi

    La fusariose de l'épi

    La fusariose de l'épi est une maladie des céréales à petit grain causée par un champignon. En Amérique du Nord, les trois espèces de champignons qui causent le plus souvent cette maladie sont le Fusarium avenaceum, le F. graminearum et le F. culmorum. Le F. graminearum et le F. culmorum peuvent libérer dans le grain plusieurs types de toxines propres aux champignons, appelées mycotoxines. La mycotoxine la plus fréquemment produite par les champignons du genre Fusarium est le désoxynivalénol (DON), également appelé vomitoxine. La fusariose de l'épi a un impact économique important, car elle réduit le rendement des cultures et la qualité des grains et cause en outre divers problèmes liés à la présence des mycotoxines.

    Chez le blé, la sensibilité à la fusariose atteint un sommet pendant la floraison puis diminue à mesure que le grain mûrit. Les blés durs sont plus sensibles à la fusariose que les blés communs. L'infection fusarienne n'est possible que s'il pleut pendant la période de sensibilité de la céréale. Si elle survient tôt dans la saison, elle provoque l'apparition de fleurs stériles ou de grains ratatinés de couleur blanc craie. Bon nombre de ces grains légers et ratatinés tombent au sol pendant la moisson, mais certains peuvent demeurer parmi les grains récoltés et sont alors appelés « grains fusariés ». En anglais, ces grains sont appelés fusarium damaged kernels (FDK) au Canada et scabby kernels aux États-Unis. Les systèmes de classement en vigueur au Canada et aux États-Unis ne tolèrent qu'un petit nombre de grains fusariés dans le blé destiné à la mouture ou à d'autres usages humains.

    Chez l'orge et l'avoine, les symptômes de la fusariose de l'épi sont souvent difficiles à observer. Chez ces deux espèces, la présence de sporodochies ou de périthèces est caractéristique de la maladie, mais, la plupart des années, ces deux types d'organes fongiques ne sont visibles que sur un petit nombre de grains atteints. Cependant, leur présence est beaucoup plus fréquente si la moisson a été faite par temps humide. Les grains d'orge fusariés présentent souvent des points noirs, mais cette coloration particulière peut aussi résulter d'une infection par l'Helminthosporium sativum, un des agents du piétin commun. Le désoxynivalénol, souvent présent dans les grains fusariés, est une mycotoxine relativement bénigne. Les animaux non ruminants, comme le porc, sont les plus sensibles à la présence de désoxynivalénol dans leur ration alimentaire, qui provoque souvent chez ces animaux une réduction de la consommation alimentaire et, par conséquent, un ralentissement du gain de poids. La présence d'une quantité détectable de désoxynivalénol dans un échantillon d'orge peut entraîner son rejet comme orge brassicole.

    Surveillance

    En 1984, des taux élevés de grains fusariés causés par le F. graminearum ont été observés dans le sud-est du Manitoba, ce qui a conduit les chercheurs du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains à entreprendre un programme de surveillance consistant à analyser des échantillons de grains de l'Ouest canadien quant à la présence de grains fusariés et à déterminer, le cas échéant, quelle espèce de champignon a causé la maladie. L'espèce la plus préoccupante à cet égard est le F. graminearum, pathogène virulent qui produit beaucoup de désoxynivalénol. Le F. graminearum semble s'être propagé vers l'ouest à partir du sud du Manitoba, et il est maintenant un pathogène important dans cette province ainsi que dans l'est de la Saskatchewan. À l'extérieur de cette zone, on n'en rencontre que de très faibles taux.

    La présence de grains fusariés n'est pas toujours associée à celle de désoxynivalénol, qui peut varier selon l'espèce de Fusarium ayant causé la maladie.

    Définitions

    DON (désoxynivalénol)
    Mycotoxine la plus souvent produite par certains des champignons causant la fusariose de l'épi. Le DON est également appelé « vomitoxine ».
    Grain fusarié
    Grain endommagé par la fusariose de l'épi. Appelé en anglais « fusarium damaged kernel » au Canada et « scabby kernel » aux États-Unis.
    Fusariose de l'épi
    Maladie des céréales à petit grain causée par diverses espèces de champignons du genre Fusarium. En Amérique du Nord, les trois espèces causant le plus souvent la maladie sont le F. graminearum, le F. culmorum et le F. avenaceum.
    Mycélium
    Masse fibreuse constituée de filaments (hyphes) du champignon.
    Périthèce
    Corps noir bleuté formé par certains champignons et produisant des spores appelées « ascospores ». La présence de périthèces sur un grain indique que celui-ci a été infecté par le Fusarium graminearum.
    Pycnide
    Petit corps noir formé par certains champignons et produisant des spores appelées « pycnidiospores ». Les champignons du genre Fusarium ne produisent pas de pycnides.
    Sporodochie
    Masse de spores formée par certains champignons. Chez les Fusarium, les sporodochies sont normalement orangées, souvent visqueuses, et constituées de spores appelées « conidiospores ». Toutes les espèces de Fusarium pouvant causer la fusariose de l'épi produisent des sporodochies.
  • Fusariose de l'épi chez le blé

    Fusariose de l'épi chez le blé

    Fusariose de l'épi chez le blé. Les sporodochies orangées du champignon sont visibles à la base des glumes

    Fusariose de l'épi chez le blé. Les sporodochies orangées du champignon sont visibles à la base des glumes. Les épillets infectés murissent prématurément.

    Fusariose de l'épi chez le blé. Des périthèces noir bleuté se forment occasionnellement sur l'épi

    Fusariose de l'épi chez le blé. Des périthèces noir bleuté se forment occasionnellement sur l'épi.

    Blé roux de printemps

    Blé roux de printemps, de gauche à droite, Grain sain de blé roux de printemps, Grain non considéré comme grain fusarié, Grain présentant des symptômes légers de fusariose, Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose

    De gauche à droite.

    Grain sain de blé roux de printemps.

    Grain non considéré comme grain fusarié. La couleur du grain n'est pas suffisamment altérée et il n'y a pas suffisamment de mycélium sur le grain pour que celui-ci soit considéré comme un grain fusarié selon le Guide officiel du classement des grains de la Commission canadienne des grains.

    Grain présentant des symptômes légers de fusariose. Du mycélium est visible autour du germe et dans le sillon, qui est élargi; le grain est blanc craie et a un aspect ratatiné.

    Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose. Le mycélium est abondant sur les deux faces du grain, et le germe présente un peu de coloration rose; le grain est blanc craie et a un aspect ratatiné.

    Blé dur ambré

    Blé dur ambré, Grain sain de blé dur

    Grain sain de blé dur.

    Blé dur ambré, Grain présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose

    Grain présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose. Du mycélium est visible sur le germe et dans le sillon. Le péricarpe est plissé, le sillon est élargi, et la coloration est bronzée.

    Blé dur ambré, Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose

    Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose. Le mycélium est abondant, le péricarpe est plissé, le sillon est élargi, et la coloration est bronzée.

    Blé de printemps Canada prairie

    Blé de printemps Canada prairie, Grain sain de blé roux de printemps Canada Prairie

    Grain sain de blé roux de printemps Canada Prairie.

    Blé de printemps Canada prairie, Grain présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose

    Grain présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose. Du mycélium est visible sur le germe et dans le sillon. Le péricarpe est plissé, le sillon est élargi, et le grain est blanc craie.

    Blé de printemps Canada prairie, Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose

    Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose. Le mycélium est abondant sur le germe et dans le sillon, le péricarpe est plissé, le sillon est élargi, et le grain est blanc craie avec du rose sur le germe.

    Blé blanc d'hiver

    Blé blanc d'hiver, Grain sain de blé blanc d'hiver

    Grain sain de blé blanc d'hiver.

    Blé blanc d'hiver, Grain présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose

    Grain présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose. Du mycélium est visible sur le germe et dans le sillon, le péricarpe est plissé, le sillon est élargi, et la coloration est blanchâtre.

    Blé blanc d'hiver, Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose

    Grain présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose. Le péricarpe est plissé, le sillon est élargi, et la coloration est rose et blanc craie.

  • Fusariose de l'épi chez l'orge

    Fusariose de l'épi chez l'orge

    Fusariose de l'épi chez l'orge

    Fusariose de l'épi chez l'orge. Les symptômes sont moins évidents chez l'orge que chez le blé. Des sporodochies orangées peuvent être observées à la base des fleurs infectées, et une coloration foncée peut être présente. Les épis portent occasionnellement des périthèces.

    Grain sain d'orge nue

    Grain sain d'orge nue.

    Grain d'orge nue présentant des symptômes légers de fusariose

    Grain d'orge nue présentant des symptômes légers de fusariose. Du mycélium est visible dans le sillon et sur le germe. Les périthèces et les sporodochies caractéristiques des grains fusariés d'orge vêtue ne sont pas présents chez l'orge nue, puisque ces structures se rencontrent normalement sur les enveloppes du grain. À cet égard, les grains fusariés d'orge nue ressemblent plutôt à des grains fusariés de blé.

    Grain d'orge nue présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose

    Grain d'orge nue présentant des symptômes modérés de fusariose. Le mycélium est plus apparent, et le grain présente un peu de noircissement et une taille réduite.

    Grain d'orge nue présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose

    Grain d'orge nue présentant des symptômes graves de fusariose. Le grain est étroit et présente un peu de coloration foncée, et le mycélium est abondant.

    Grain sain d'orge vêtue

    Grain sain d'orge vêtue.

    Grain avec périthèces

    Grain avec périthèces. Des périthèces noir bleuté encroûtent la surface du grain. La coloration foncée de ce grain et du grain illustré en h) est également typique d'une infection du grain d'orge par des Fusarium et d'autres pathogènes.

    Grain avec sporodochies

    Grain avec sporodochies. Ces masses de spores orangées peuvent être produites par diverses espèces de Fusarium, dont certaines ne produisent pas de désoxynivalénol.

  • Graines présentant des symptômes pris pour la fusariose par erreur

    Graines présentant des symptômes pris pour la fusariose par erreur

    Blé

    Blé, Grain cécidomyié avec moisissure

    Grain cécidomyié avec moisissure. En se nourrissant, la larve de la cécidomyie orangée du blé peut provoquer un ratatinement et une déformation du grain de blé. Dans certaines conditions, le grain cécidomyié peut en outre présenter une moisissure bien visible. Si le mycélium de cette moisissure est blanchâtre, il peut conférer au grain un aspect semblable à celui d'un grain fusarié. Ce type de mycélium est souven produit par le Septoria nodorum ou par une des espèces de Fusarium.

    Blé, Grain de blé infecté par un champignon du genre Asteromella

    Grain de blé infecté par un champignon du genre Asteromella. Ce champignon est parfois détecté chez des grains d'aspect plutôt crayeux portant du mycélium visible. Normalement, ces grains présentent une surface translucide un peu orangée et des pycnides noires souvent réunies à l'extrémité apicale du grain, où se trouve la brosse. En culture, l'Asteromella sp. se développe très rapidement en un mycélium blanc et dense.

    Blé, Grain de blé infecté par le Septoria nodorum

    Grain de blé infecté par le Septoria nodorum. Ce champignon, agent de la tache des glumes du blé, peut rendre le grain impossible à distinguer visuellement d'un grain fusarié. Ce type d'infection se rencontre principalement chez le blé dur, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta. Cependant, aucun des échantillons analysés jusqu'à présent ne renfermait un grand nombre de grains infectés par le S. nodorum.

    Orge

    Orge, Grain d'orge portant des pycnides

    Grain d'orge portant des pycnides. Les pycnides, produites par d'autres genres de champignons, sont plus petites et moins visibles que les périthèces produits par le Fusarium graminearum.

    Orge, Grain d'orge infecté par un champignon du genre Helminthosporium

    Grain d'orge infecté par un champignon du genre Helminthosporium. On trouve fréquemment l'agent de la rayure réticulée (H. teres), et parfois celui de la strie foliaire (H. graminea), dans les grains d'orge présentant une coloration orangée à leur extrémité basale. Contrairement à la coloration orangée des sporodochies fusariennes, cette coloration est interne, et on ne peut pas l'enlever en grattant.

    Orge, Grain d'orge avec moisissures fuligineuses

    Grain d'orge avec moisissures fuligineuses. Ces moisissures foncées qui ressemblent à de la suie sont généralement produites par des champignons des genres Alternaria ou Cladosporium et se rencontrent sur les grains d'orge récoltés par temps très humide. Elles peuvent être confondues avec des périthèces, mais elles sont fibreuses et faciles à détacher en grattant.

Date de modification :