Storage of grain on the ground

The Canadian Grain Commission wishes to remind licensees that paragraph 16(a) of the Canada Grain Regulations requires that the operator of a licensed elevator store all grain received in an elevator building.

The Canadian Grain Commission will, in most circumstances, exempt a facility from the regulation prohibiting storage of grain on the ground if a written request for an exemption is submitted to the Canadian Grain Commission, advising the kind of grain to be stored on the ground and the date grain to be stored on the ground is to be received.

Upon delivery of the grain to be stored on the ground, an elevator receipt, grain receipt, or cash purchase ticket must be issued. The responsibilities of elevator operators are the same for both grain stored on the ground and for grain stored in an elevator building.
Once all grain that has been stored on the ground is shipped, the elevator operator must advise the Canadian Grain Commission in writing. A new exemption is required for any grain subsequently stored on the ground.

Requests for exemptions and follow-up information regarding shipping of grain are to be sent to:

Cari Miller
Executive Division
600-303 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
Tel.: 204 983-3081
Fax: 204 983-2751
Email: cari.miller@grainscanada.gc.ca

The Canadian Grain Commission may monitor shipments from exempted facilities for quality problems. Failure to request an exemption for grain stored on the ground may result in license suspension. If you have any questions or comments please contact the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada at (204) 983-2780.

Gino Castonguay
Chief Grain Inspector for Canada

Date modified:

Entreposage du grain sur le sol

La Commission canadienne des grains souhaite rappeler aux titulaires de licence que l'alinéa 16a) du Règlement sur les grains du Canada exige que l'exploitant d'une installation agréée stocke la totalité du grain reçu dans les bâtiments de son installation.

La Commission canadienne des grains, dans la majorité des cas, exemptera un établissement de la disposition réglementaire interdisant le stockage du grain sur le sol si une demande écrite d'exemption lui est présentée, l'informant du type de grain qui sera stocké sur le sol et de la date de réception du grain en question.

À la livraison du grain à stocker sur le sol, un récépissé ou accusé de réception du grain ou un bon de paiement doit être délivré. Les responsabilités des exploitants d'installations sont les mêmes, que le grain soit stocké sur le sol ou dans les bâtiments de l'installation.

Après expédition de la totalité du grain qui a été entreposé sur le sol, l'exploitant de l'installation doit en informer par écrit la Commission canadienne des grains. Une nouvelle exemption est requise pour tout grain subséquemment stocké sur le sol.

Les demandes d'exemption et les renseignements de suivi concernant l'expédition du grain doivent être envoyés à :
Cari Miller
Direction
303, rue Main, pièce 600
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 3G8
Tél.: 204-983-3081
Téléc. : 204-983-2751
Courriel : cari.miller@grainscanada.gc.ca

La Commission canadienne des grains pourrait faire un contrôle des expéditions faites à partir des installations exemptées pour dépister les problèmes de qualité. La non-présentation d'une demande d'exemption pour le grain stocké sur le sol peut entraîner une suspension de la licence. Si vous avez des questions ou des observations à formuler, veuillez communiquer avec l'inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada au 204-983-2780.

Gino Castonguay
Inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada

Date de modification :