Direct Hit Shipments program update

Direct hit shipments are defined as shipments of Canadian grains, oilseeds and/or pulses which are transferred directly from trucks and/or railcars to a vessel for direct export through a licensed terminal elevator without added processing or storage.

Background

The Canadian Grain Commission has allowed direct hit shipments since the early 1980s with formal Direct Hit program requirements in place since 1990. The current Direct Hit program was effective August 1, 2002 and includes requirements related to: official Canadian Grain Commission inspection and weighing, storage space, monitoring, equipment, certification, fees, and alternatives for meeting the general requirements.

Given amendments to the Canada Grain Act to eliminate official Canadian Grain Commission inward inspection and weighing services at licensed terminal elevators, as of August 1, 2013, the Canadian Grain Commission will no longer provide inspection or weighing services on receipt of grain, including producer cars, into licensed terminal elevators. The responsibility for inward inspection and inward weighing requirements at licensed terminal elevators will move from the Canadian Grain Commission to the private sector.

As a consequence of this legislative change, section 47 (Direct Hit Shipments) of the Canada Grain Regulations will be amended as follows:

47. The operator of a licensed terminal elevator may receive grain without causing it to be inspected and weighed and without issuing an elevator receipt for it if the grain is transferred directly from a railway car or other conveyance to a ship and is officially inspected and weighed on transfer to the ship.

Paragraphs 47(a) and 47(b) are repealed.

Although the amended legislation will still allow licensed terminal elevators to handle grain consistent with the 2002 Direct Hit Program requirements, these types of shipments will be negotiated and carried out under commercial handling agreements. As such, as of August 1, 2013 the Canadian Grain Commission Direct Hit Program 2002, Notice of Direct Hit Shipment form (IW-10), and schedule of Direct Hit Service Fees cease to be in effect and are replaced by the following requirements for licensed terminal elevators undertaking a direct hit grain shipment:

  1. Reporting: Canadian Grain Commission Licensed Terminal Elevator Reporting Requirements (May 9, 2013), under the authority of paragraphs 116(l) and (p) of the Canada Grain Act and section 27 of the Canada Grain Regulations, encompassing data pertaining to terminal elevator receipts, shipments, and stocks in storemust be met for both individual railcar receipts and vessel loadings.
  2. Sampling: There is no right to request an official reinspection on individual railcar samples/grades as there are no single railcar samples. Direct hit shipment commercial handling agreements should include this stipulation.
  3. Weighing: Canadian Grain Commission Weighing Oversight and Certification Program requirements must be met, including when inward weigh scales are used for outward weighing to an export vessel.

Sampling and weighing systems used for direct hit shipments must meet all Canadian Grain Commission requirements and be certified by the Canadian Grain Commission.

Direct export shipments to destinations other than to the United States require official outward inspection performed by the Canadian Grain Commission and weighing conducted in accordance with Canadian Grain Commission Weighing Oversight and Certification Program requirements.

Contact

If you have any questions about direct hit shipments post August 1, 2013 please contact either Randy Dennis, Chief Grain Inspector for Canada at 204 983-2780 (Email: gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca) or Brent Andrews, Chief of Weighing at 204 229-0128 (Email: brent.andrews@grainscanada.gc.ca).

Gino Castonguay
Chief Grain Inspector for Canada

Brent Andrews
Chief of Weighing

Date modified:

Mise à jour concernant le Programme d’expédition directe

Il y a expédition directe lorsque les grains, les oléagineux ou les légumineuses du Canada sont transbordés directement des camions ou des wagons à un navire sans subir de traitement ou d’entreposage, à des fins d’exportation directe par l’entremise d’un silo terminal agréé.

Contexte

La Commission canadienne des grains autorise les expéditions directes depuis le début des années 1980; les exigences relatives aux expéditions directes sont entrées vigueur en 1990. L'actuel Programme d'expédition directe est en place depuis le 1er août 2002 et comprend des exigences relatives à l'inspection et à la pesée officielles par la Commission canadienne des grains, à l'espace d'entreposage, à la surveillance, à l'équipement, à la certification, au barème des droits et aux options pour satisfaire aux exigences générales.

Étant donné les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les grains du Canada en vue d'éliminer les services d'inspection et de pesée officielles à l'arrivage par la Commission canadienne des grains aux silos terminaux agréés, à compter du 1er août 2013, la Commission canadienne des grains n'offrira plus de services d'inspection ou de pesée à l'arrivée des grains, y compris des wagons de producteur, aux silos terminaux agréés. La responsabilité de l'inspection et de la pesée à l'arrivage aux silos terminaux agréés a été transférée de la Commission canadienne des grains au secteur privé.

En raison de ce changement législatif, l'article 47 (Expédition directe) du Règlement sur les grains du Canada sera modifié de la façon suivante :

47.  L'exploitant d'une installation terminale agréée peut recevoir du grain sans le soumettre à l'inspection ni à la pesée et sans délivrer un récépissé pour le grain, si le grain est transbordé directement d'un wagon ou d'un autre véhicule à un navire et fait l'objet d'une inspection et d'une pesée officielles au moment de son transbordement.

Les paragraphes 47(a) et 47(b) sont abrogés.

Bien que la loi modifiée autorise toujours les silos terminaux agréés à manutentionner du grain conformément aux exigences du Programme d'expédition directe de 2002, de telles expéditions seront négociées et exécutées au titre d'accords de manutention. Par conséquent, à compter du 1er août 2013, l'Avis d'expédition directe (IW-10) du Programme d'expédition directe de 2002 de la Commission canadienne des grains et le Barème des droits pour les expéditions directes ne seront plus valables et seront remplacés par les exigences ci-dessous relatives à la prise en charge des expéditions directes de grains par les silos terminaux agréés :

  1. Production de rapports : Les obligations en matière de production de rapports des silos terminaux agréés (9 mai 2013) aux termes des paragraphes 116(l) et (p) de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et de l'article 27 du Règlement sur les grains du Canada, lesquelles portent sur les récépissés, les expéditions et les stocks des silos terminaux agréés, doivent être respectées pour les arrivages de wagon et les chargements de navire.
  2. Échantillonnage : Il n'existe aucun droit de demander une réinspection officielle pour les échantillons/grades d'un wagon, car il n'y a pas d'échantillon de wagon simple. Les accords de manutention des expéditions directes devraient comprendre cette disposition.
  3. Pesée : Les exigences du Programme de surveillance et de certification de la pesée de la Commission canadienne des grains doivent être respectées, notamment lorsque les balances utilisées pour la pesée à l'arrivage servent à la pesée de sortie des chargements de navire destinés à l'exportation.

Les systèmes d'échantillonnage et de pesée utilisés pour les expéditions directes doivent respecter toutes les exigences de la Commission canadienne des grains et être certifiés par la Commission canadienne des grains.

Les expéditions directes vers des destinations autres que les États-Unis doivent faire l'objet d'une inspection officielle à la sortie par la Commission canadienne des grains et être pesées conformément aux exigences du Programme de surveillance et de certification de la pesée de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Personne-ressource

Si vous avez des questions sur les expéditions directes après le 1er août 2013, veuillez communiquer avec Randy Dennis, inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, au 204-983-2780 (courriel : gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca) ou avec Brent Andrews, chef de la pesée, au 204-229-0128  (courriel : brent.andrews@grainscanada.gc.ca).

Gino Castonguay
Inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada

Brent Andrews
Chef de la pesée

Date de modification :