Application of Mineral Oil (MO) on Raw Feed Grain

The following memorandum provides supporting information to implement the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) Order respecting application of mineral oil (MO) to grain.

Scope

The Canadian Grain Commission Order is applicable to the application of MO to feed grain at licensed terminal elevators in Canada. Feed grain is raw grain designated as a grain for the purposes of the Canada Grain Act (CGA) that is solely intended for use as feed for livestock, as that term is defined in the Feeds Act. Livestock includes poultry.

The Canadian Grain Commission Order does not permit:

  • Application of MO to grain intended for any other market outside of the feed market including human consumption, alcohol and/or ethanol;
  • Application of MO at any location other than licensed terminal elevators in Canada (e.g. primary elevators, feed mills, or processing facilities); or
  • Any dust suppressant other than food grade MO (e.g. canola, corn or soybean oil, or water).

Authority

The Canadian Grain Commission’s authority on dust suppression is pursuant to the CGA and Canada Grain Regulations (CGR). Subsection 104(d) of the CGA requires operators of licensed elevators to have Canadian Grain Commission permission to ‘mix with any grain in the elevator any material other than grain’.

The Canadian Grain Commission has permitted licensed terminal elevators to apply food grade MO to feed grain only at a maximum of 0.02% by weight as an aid in dust suppression during the receipt, handling and/or discharge of grain, in accordance with the terms and conditions of the Order.

Prohibition

Under section 104(d), it is prohibited for any operator of a licensed elevator to mix any material with grain, except other grain, unless it is permitted by the Canadian Grain Commission. Under section 105(c), it is prohibited for any person to sell, store or obtain inspection of grain that is ‘so treated, mixed or dealt with as to conceal its true characteristics’. Application of water to grain may have the effect of concealing its true characteristics. Application of water to grain has not been permitted by the Canadian Grain Commission.

Mineral Oil Specifications

MO applied to feed grain must meet food grade specifications as prescribed by Health Canada.

Section B.01.045 of the Food and Drug Regulations (FDR) requires that food additives that do not have specifications set out in Part B of the FDR meet the most recent specifications set out in the Food Chemicals Codex or the Combined Compendium of Food Additive Specifications. The Food Chemicals Codex is a compendium of standards for purity and identity for food ingredients, including food additives, published by the United States Pharmacopeia Convention. The Combined Compendium of Food Additive Specifications is prepared by the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)/World Health Organization (WHO) Expert Committee on Food Additives and published by the FAO of the United Nations.

Questions related to the specifications as prescribed should be directed to Health Canada or the supplier of the MO.

Request Process

In order to have the Order apply, licensed terminal elevators must make a request to the Canadian Grain Commission. The following information is required as part of the request process and the necessary form is attached:

  • Date of application;
  • Terminal elevator making the request;
  • A description and schematic of all equipment to be used in the application of MO (e.g. storage tanks, oil pumps, lines, regulators, meters, application nozzles) including the number of application nozzles and the location where the application nozzles will be installed;
  • Locations where the MO will be applied at the terminal elevator
    • on receipt of grain
    • during the handling and/or cleaning of grain, and/or
    • on discharge of grain;
  • Number of intended MO applications to grain (e.g. one application or multiple applications);
  • A detailed description of the measures in place for the terminal elevator operator to verify, on an ongoing basis, even application and that application rates of MO are within permitted tolerances;
  • Identification of visual monitors and/or devices that are accessible to Canadian Grain Commission staff for periodic verification of the application of MO;
  • The intended application rate for each application of MO expressed in a percentage by weight;
  • The nature and type of records that will be maintained and made available to the Canadian Grain Commission upon request;
  • A copy of documentation of the properties and specifications of the intended MO which demonstrate that the MO meets food grade specifications; and
  • Density values of the intended MO.

Upon receipt of an email acknowledgement from the Canadian Grain Commission that a request for the application of MO is complete, the Canadian Grain Commission Order will permit the operator of the licensed terminal elevator to apply MO to grain, in accordance with the terms and conditions of the Order.

Requests should be submitted to Gino Castonguay, Chief Grain Inspector for Canada, at gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Form: I-401 Terminal elevator application on the proposed use of mineral oil on feed grain (PDF, 64 kb)

Responsibilities of the Terminal Grain Elevator

Equipment and Devices

The applicant must install and maintain equipment for application of MO in accordance with manufacturer’s guidelines. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that all equipment, product and storage tanks meet any civic, provincial or federal legislative and regulatory requirements.

Application of Mineral Oil

Under the terms of the Order, MO may be applied to feed grain upon receipt of grain into a terminal elevator, during the handling and/or cleaning of grain, and/or upon discharge of grain from a terminal elevator. However, the application of MO must be performed prior to official sampling and weighing upon discharge of grain from the terminal elevator.

It is the terminal elevator’s responsibility to ensure that MO is applied in a manner that provides for thorough mixing and promotes even coating of grain streams. If a terminal elevator chooses to apply two or more smaller quantities of MO to the same lot of grain, the sum of all applications shall not exceed 0.02% by weight of the grain.

Terminal elevators must perform the necessary operations and procedures to mitigate cross contamination of MO onto grains intended for markets outside of the feed market.

Reporting and Recordkeeping

Terminal elevators are required to report to the Canadian Grain Commission in the following manner:

Notification

Prior to loading a vessel with grain treated with MO, the terminal elevator operator must submit to the Canadian Grain Commission a notification, in the form provided, containing the following information:

  • Date of notification;
  • Vessel identification;
  • Type of grain to which MO is applied;
  • Confirmation, with supporting documentation, that the purchaser of grain accepts the application of MO; and
  • Confirmation, with supporting documentation, that the grain will be exclusively used for animal feed.

Notification is to be provided to the respective Regional Manager of Inspection Services at:

Form: I-402 Terminal elevator notification to the Canadian Grain Commission on intent to apply mineral oil to feed grain (PDF, 42 kb)

Reporting of Grain Tonnages and MO Application Rate

Upon completion of each grain lot applied with MO, terminal elevators must provide to the Canadian Grain Commission a report of grain tonnages loaded and the average MO application rate. Grain volumes must be reported in metric tonnes and MO application rates in percentage to the weight of grain loaded.

If any anomalies with the application of MO are experienced at any point in the MO application process, such anomalies must be reported to the Canadian Grain Commission.

Reports are to be submitted to the respective Regional Manager of Inspection Services at:

Form: I-403 Terminal elevator reporting of grain tonnage and mineral oil application rates to feed grain (PDF, 39 kb)

Records

Records shall be maintained in a form readily available for inspection by the Canadian Grain Commission and must include:

  • MO application rates applied upon receipt, during handling, cleaning and/or upon discharge of grain in order that application rates and tonnage can be provided to the Canadian Grain Commission upon vessel hold completion;
  • Volumes of MO purchased;
  • Quality properties and specifications of MO purchased; and
  • Maintenance and/or replacement of equipment used in the application of MO.

All records shall be kept for a minimum of 2 years.

Monthly Reporting

The following information shall be collected, recorded, and reported to the Canadian Grain Commission on a monthly interval:

  • Name of the terminal elevator;
  • Total tonnage of grain to which MO was applied during the month;
  • Quantity, in litres, of MO applied to that tonnage of grain during the month;
  • Copies of all documentation indicating the MO supplier’s name, address and date of delivery, litres of MO supplied, and product data to demonstrate that the MO meets food grade specifications in Canada and density values; and
  • Average application rate of MO applied expressed in percentage by weight of grain.

The information for each month shall be provided no later than seven (7) calendar days from the end of that month (e.g. information for January shall be reported no later than 7 calendar days into February.)

Monthly reports are to be submitted to Gino Castonguay, Chief Grain Inspector for Canada, at gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Form: I-404 Terminal elevator monthly report on the application of mineral oil to feed grain (PDF, 36 kb)

Certificate Final

The Canadian Grain Commission will report on the Certificate Final that the grain being exported has MO applied. The statement on the Certificate Final will include that food grade MO has been applied to the grain and will specify the average rate of application, expressed in percentage by weight of grain, as reported to the Canadian Grain Commission by the terminal elevator.

Monitoring and Enforcement

The Canadian Grain Commission will review all monthly submission reports submitted by terminal elevators to ensure compliance to this policy. Authorized Canadian Grain Commission representatives must be permitted access to terminal elevator premises and records on request for compliance purposes.

In addition, the Canadian Grain Commission may, on an ad-hoc basis, analyze a portion of the sample obtained during the official sampling, to verify that the amount of MO compounds present is within compliance. If Canadian Grain Commission monitoring indicates that MO compound levels are not within acceptable tolerances, terminal elevators will be notified.

Inquiries

Questions related to this memorandum should be directed to: Gino Castonguay, Chief Grain Inspector for Canada, at (204) 983-2780 or gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca.

This memorandum will remain in effect until July 31, 2018, or such earlier date as it may be revoked.

Date modified:

Application d’huile minérale au grain fourrager brut

La présente note de service à l’industrie fournit des renseignements sur la mise en œuvre de l’arrêté de la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) concernant l’application d’huile minérale au grain.

Portée

L’arrêté de la CCG vise l’application d’huile minérale au grain dans les silos terminaux agréés au Canada. Le grain fourrager est un grain brut désigné comme grain aux fins de la Loi sur les grains du Canada qui est uniquement destiné à être utilisé comme fourrage pour le bétail, tel que ce terme est défini dans la Loi sur les aliments du bétail. Le bétail comprend la volaille.

L’arrêté de la CCG ne permet pas :

  • l’application d’huile minérale au grain destiné à tout autre marché en dehors du marché fourrager, y compris l’alimentation humaine, l’alcool et/ou l’éthanol;
  • l’application d’huile minérale dans tout endroit autre que les silos terminaux agréés au Canada (p. ex., silos primaires, provenderies ou installations de transformation); ou
  • l’utilisation de tout dépoussiérant autre que l’huile minérale de qualité alimentaire (p. ex., huile de canola, huile de maïs ou de soja, ou eau).

Autorisation

L’autorisation de la CCG en matière d’élimination des poussières est conforme à la Loi sur les grains du Canada et au Règlement sur les grains du Canada.. Le paragraphe 104(d) de la Loi sur les grains du Canada stipule que les exploitants de silos agréés doivent obtenir l’autorisation de la CCG pour « mélanger à du grain entreposé dans l’installation toute matière autre que du grain ».

La CCG a autorisé les silos terminaux agréés à appliquer de l’huile minérale de qualité alimentaire au grain fourrager pour un maximum de 0,02 % en poids comme moyen d’élimination des poussières pendant la réception, la manutention et/ou le déchargement du grain, conformément aux modalités de l’arrêté.

Interdiction

En vertu de l’article 104(d), il est interdit à l’exploitant d’une installation de mélanger à du grain entreposé dans l’installation toute matière autre que du grain, sauf autorisation de la Commission. En vertu de l’article 105(c), il est interdit à toute personne de vendre, d’entreposer ou de soumettre à l’inspection du grain « qui a fait l’objet d’un traitement, d’un mélange ou d’une autre opération visant à cacher ses véritables caractéristiques ». Arroser le grain avec de l’eau peut avoir pour effet de dissimuler ses véritables caractéristiques. L’arrosage du grain n’a pas été autorisé par la CCG.

Spécifications de l’huile minérale

MO applied to feed grain must meet food grade specifications as prescribed by Health Canada.

L’application d’huile minérale au grain fourrager doit respecter les spécifications de qualité alimentaire prescrites par Santé Canada. Selon l’article B.01.045 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, lorsqu’aucune spécification n’est prévue dans la partie B du Règlement pour un additif alimentaire, cet additif doit répondre aux exigences établies dans la version la plus récente du Codex des produits chimiques alimentaires ou du Répertoire des normes pour les additifs alimentaires. Le Codex des produits chimiques alimentaires est un recueil de normes de pureté et d’identité pour les ingrédients alimentaires, y compris les additifs alimentaires, publié par la Convention de la pharmacopée américaine. Le Répertoire des normes pour les additifs alimentaires, quant à lui, est préparé par l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture(FAO)/Comité mixte FAO/OMS d’experts des additifs alimentaires(JECFA), et publié par la FAO des Nations Unies.

Les questions relatives aux spécifications prescrites doivent être adressées à Santé Canada ou au fournisseur de l’huile minérale.

Processus de demande

Pour que l’arrêté s’applique, les exploitants de silos terminaux agréés doivent présenter une demande à la CCG. Les informations suivantes sont requises dans le cadre du processus de demande, et le formulaire nécessaire est joint :

  • date d’application;
  • silo terminal pour lequel la demande est faite;
  • une description et un schéma de tous les équipements à utiliser pour l’application de l’huile minérale (p. ex., réservoirs de stockage, pompes à huile, conduites, régulateurs, compteurs, buses d’application), y compris le nombre de buses d’application et l’emplacement des buses d’application;
  • moment où sera appliquée l’huile minérale :
    • à la réception du grain;
    • pendant la manutention et/ou le nettoyage du grain;
    • au déchargement du grain;
  • nombre d’applications d’huile minérale envisagées pour le grain (p. ex., une seule application ou plusieurs applications);
  • une description détaillée des mesures en place pour que l’exploitant du silo terminal vérifie, de façon continue, que l’application est uniforme et que les taux d’application de l’huile minérale respectent les tolérances permises;
  • identification des moniteurs visuels et/ou des dispositifs accessibles au personnel de la CCG pour la vérification périodique de l’application de l’huile minérale;
  • le taux d’application prévu pour chaque application d’huile minérale, exprimé en pourcentage pondéral;
  • la nature et le type de documents qui seront conservés et mis à la disposition de la CCG, sur demande;
  • une copie de la documentation contenant les propriétés et les spécifications de l’huile minérale prévue qui démontre que cette huile minérale répond aux spécifications de qualité alimentaire;
  • les valeurs de densité de l’huile minérale prévue.

Sur réception d’un accusé de réception électronique de la part de la CCG indiquant qu’une demande d’application d’huile minérale est complète, l’arrêté de la CCG permettra à l’exploitant du silo terminal agréé d’appliquer de l’huile minérale au grain, conformément aux modalités de l’arrêté.

Les demandes doivent être soumises à Gino Castonguay, inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, à gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Formulaire : I-401 Demande du silo terminal visant l'application proposée d'huile minérale à du grain fourrager (PDF, 57 kb)

Responsabilités des exploitants de silos à grain terminaux

Équipement et appareils

Le demandeur doit installer et entretenir le matériel servant à l’application d’huile minérale conformément aux directives du fabricant. Il incombe au demandeur de s’assurer que tout l’équipement, les produits et les réservoirs de stockage respectent toutes les exigences législatives et réglementaires provinciales ou fédérales.

Application d’huile minérale

En vertu de l’arrêté, de l’huile minérale peut être appliquée au grain fourrager au moment de sa réception au silo terminal, durant la manutention ou le nettoyage du grain, et au moment de son déchargement du silo. Cependant, l’application d’huile minérale doit être effectuée avant l’échantillonnage et la pesée officiels effectués lors du déchargement du silo terminal.

Il incombe à l’exploitant du silo terminal de garantir que l’huile minérale est appliquée d’une façon qui facilite un mélange homogène et facilite un enrobage uniforme des grains. Si l’exploitant choisit d’appliquer deux petites quantités ou plus d’huile minérale au même lot de grain, la somme de toutes les applications ne doit pas excéder 0,02 % du poids du grain.

L’exploitant du silo terminal doit exécuter les opérations et procédures nécessaires à atténuer la contamination croisée de l’huile minérale au grain destiné aux marchés autres que le marché du grain fourrager.

Rapports et tenue de dossiers

Les exploitants de silos terminaux doivent produire des rapports pour la CCG comme suit :

Avis

Avant le chargement de grain traité à l’huile minérale sur un navire, l’exploitant du silo terminal doit soumettre un avis à la CCG, à l’aide du formulaire fourni, contenant les renseignements suivants :

  • date de l’avis;
  • identification du navire;
  • type de grain auquel on a appliqué de l’huile minérale;
  • confirmation, avec documents à l’appui, que l’acheteur des grains accepte l’application d’huile minérale;
  • confirmation, avec documents à l’appui, que le grain servira exclusivement à l’alimentation animale.

L’avis doit être présenté au gestionnaire régional respectif des services d’inspection :

Formulaire : I-402 Avis donné à la ccg par le silo terminal quant à l'intention d'appliquer de l'huile minérale à du grain fourrager (PDF, 39 kb)

Déclaration du poids total des grains et du taux d’application d’huile minérale

Une fois que l’application d’huile minérale sur chaque lot de grains est terminée, les exploitants de silos terminaux doivent fournir à la CCG un rapport sur le poids total des grains chargés et le taux moyen d’application d’huile minérale. Le volume des grains doit être déclaré en tonnes métriques et les taux d’application de l’huile minérale doivent être calculés en fonction du pourcentage du poids des grains chargés.

Toute anomalie détectée au cours de l’application de l’huile minérale à n’importe quel point du processus d’application doit être déclarée à la CCG.

Les rapports doivent être présentés au gestionnaire régional respectif des services d’inspection à :

Formulaire : I-403 Rapport du silo terminal sur le poids du grain et les taux d'application d'huile minérale au grain fourrager (PDF, 35 kb)

Registres

Des registres doivent être tenus dans une forme facilement accessible à l’inspection par la CCG et doivent inclure :

  • es taux d’application de l’huile minérale à la réception, durant la manutention ou le nettoyage du grain, et au moment du déchargement afin que les taux d’application et le poids total du grain puissent être fournis à la CCG au moment de terminer le chargement de la cale du navire;
  • le volume d’achat d’huile minérale;
  • Les propriétés qualitatives et les spécifications de l’huile minérale achetée;
  • L’entretien et/ou le remplacement de l’équipement utilisé pour l’application d’huile minérale.

Tous les dossiers doivent être conservés pendant au moins deux ans.

Rapport mensuel

Les renseignements suivants doivent être recueillis, documentés et présentés à la CCG mensuellement :

  • le nom du silo terminal;
  • le poids total du grain auquel l’huile minérale a été appliquée durant le mois;
  • la quantité, en litre, d’huile minérale appliquée au poids total du grain durant le mois;
  • une copie de toute la documentation indiquant le nom et l’adresse du fournisseur d’huile minérale ainsi que la date de livraison, le nombre de litres d’huile fournie et les données du produit qui prouvent que l’huile minérale respecte les spécifications en matière de qualité alimentaire au Canada et les valeurs de densité;
  • le taux d’application moyen de l’huile minérale, exprimé en pourcentage du poids du grain.

Les renseignements pour chaque mois doivent être fournis au plus tard sept (7) jours civils à partir de la fin du mois (p. ex., l’information de janvier doit être déclarée au plus tard dans les sept (7) premiers jours civils de février).

Les rapports mensuels doivent être soumis à Gino Castonguay, inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, à gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Formulaire : I-404 Rapport mensuel du silo terminal sur l'application d'huile minerale au grain fourrager (PDF, 36 kb)

Certificat final

La CCG inscrira au certificat final que de l’huile minérale a été appliquée au grain exporté. La déclaration au certificat final mentionnera que les spécifications en matière de qualité alimentaire ont été respectées et précisera le taux moyen d’application, exprimé en pourcentage du poids du grain, comme déclaré à la CCG par l’exploitant de silos terminaux.

Surveillance et application de la loi

La CCG examinera tous les rapports soumis par les exploitants de silos terminaux pour garantir la conformité à la politique. Les représentants autorisés de la CCG doivent avoir accès sur demande aux lieux des silos terminaux ainsi qu’aux registres, à des fins de respect de la conformité.

De plus, la CCG peut, de façon ponctuelle, analyser une portion de l’échantillon obtenu durant l’échantillonnage officiel, pour vérifier si la quantité présente de composés d’huile minérale est conforme. Si les vérifications de la CCG indiquent que la quantité présente de composés d’huile minérale n’est pas dans les limites de tolérance acceptables, les exploitants de silos terminaux en seront avertis.

Demandes de renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements portant sur cet avis peuvent être acheminées à : Gino Castonguay, inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada, par téléphone, au 204-983-2780, ou par courriel, à gino.castonguay@grainscanada.gc.ca.

La présente note de service demeure en vigueur jusqu’au 31 juillet 2018, à moins qu’elle ne soit révoquée à une date antérieure.

Date de modification :