Terminal Elevators – Application of Mineral Oil to Grain

Order number 2017-60

November 9, 2017

Introduction:

  1. Emission of dust in the handling of grain is known to be an issue of environmental concern and workplace safety and health. The application of mineral oil to grain may reduce the emission of dust in the handling of grain, but may cause the grain to be contaminated as that term is defined in the Canada Grain Act (the “Act”).
  2. Except with the permission of the Canadian Grain Commission (the “Commission”), an operator of a licensed elevator may not mix any grain in the elevator with any material other than grain, as provided for in subsection 104(d) of the Act.
  3. The Commission has authority under subsections 118(d) and 118(h) of the Act to make orders requiring the operator of an elevator to treat or dispose of contaminated grain in a manner approved by the Commission and to provide directives to the trade, and is required under subsection 76(1)(c) to provide directions for treatment or disposal of contaminated grain in a licensed terminal elevator.
  4. The Commission is not satisfied that the application of mineral oil has no effect on end-use qualities of grain intended for human consumption, and is not satisfied that the application of mineral oil to raw grains is acceptable to human health.
  5. The Commission is satisfied that the application of mineral oil is an effective means of dust suppression available to the terminal elevator operator; is necessary for the forward movement of grain in the interests of producers of grain; does not conceal the true characteristics of the grain; and does not affect its quality or safety for animal feed.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Pursuant to subsection 104(d), the Commission permits the application of mineral oil to raw grains in licensed terminal elevators, as follows:
    • Only mineral oil which meets food grade specifications as prescribed by Health Canada may be used;
    • Application rate of the mineral oil will not exceed 0.02% by weight of the grain to which it is applied;
    • Application of mineral oil is restricted to those raw grains designated as a grain for the purposes of the Canada Grain Act which are verified, in documents provided by the terminal elevator, to be sold for the exclusive purpose of animal feed on terms by which the purchaser accepts the application of mineral oil;
    • Mineral oil will not be applied after official sampling, inspection or weighing under the Canada Grain Act; and
    • This permission applies only to operators of terminal elevators licensed by the Commission which have submitted requests (as set out below); received acknowledgement from the Canadian Grain Commission that the request is complete; and submitted a notice of intention to apply mineral oil (as set out below) prior to any actual application of mineral oil to grain. 
  2. Terminal elevator operators wishing to apply mineral oil to grain must submit, to the Commission, a request for permission in the form provided by the Commission and containing the following information:
    • Date of the request, and name of the licenced terminal elevator operator;
    • A description and schematic of all equipment to be used in the application of mineral oil (e.g. storage tanks, oil pumps, lines, regulators, meters, application nozzles); including the number of application nozzles and the location where the application nozzles will be installed;
    • Identification as to whether mineral oil will be applied on the receipt of grain, during the handling and/or cleaning of grain, or on discharge of grain;
    • The number of intended mineral oil applications to grain (e.g. one application or multiple applications); detailed description of the measures in place for the terminal elevator operator to verify, on an ongoing basis, even application and that application rates of mineral oil are within permitted tolerances;
    • Identification of visual monitors and/or devices that are accessible to Commission inspectors to verify application of mineral oil in accordance with this permission;
    • The intended application rate for each application of mineral oil, expressed in a percentage by weight;
    • The nature and type of records that will be maintained by the terminal elevator operator regarding its application of mineral oil;
    • Documentation confirming that mineral oil from the intended supplier meets food grade specifications in Canada; and
    • Documentation confirming density values for the intended mineral oil.
  3. Prior to loading a vessel with grain treated with mineral oil, the terminal elevator operator must submit to the Commission a notification, in the form provided, containing the following information:
    • Date of notification;
    • Vessel identification;
    • Type of grain to which mineral oil is applied;
    • Confirmation, with supporting documentation, that the purchaser of grain accepts the application of mineral oil; and
    • Confirmation, with supporting documentation, that the grain will be exclusively used for animal feed. 
  4. The terminal elevator operator will provide the Commission with a report on each lot of grain to which mineral oil was applied, stating the weight of grain loaded into vessels (in metric tonnes) to which mineral oil was applied, and average mineral oil application rate (expressed in percentage to the weight of grain loaded).
  5. The terminal elevator operator will provide the Commission with a monthly report on its use of mineral oil, no later than seven calendar days from the end of a calendar month, in the form provided, stating the following information:
    • Name of the terminal elevator;
    • Total tonnage of grain to which mineral oil was applied, during the month;
    • Quantity, in litres, of mineral oil applied to that tonnage of grain during the month;
    • Copies of all documentation indicating the mineral oil supplier’s name, address and date of delivery, litres of mineral oil supplied, and product data to
    • demonstrate the mineral oil meets food grade specifications in Canada and density values; and
    • Average application rate of mineral oil expressed in percentage by weight.
  6. The terminal elevator operator will maintain records, for a minimum of 2 years, and make them available to Commission inspectors on request, demonstrating the following:
    • Mineral oil application rates applied on receipt, during handling or cleaning, or upon discharge of grain;
    • Volumes of mineral oil purchased;
    • Quality properties and specifications of mineral oil purchased; and
    • Maintenance and/or replacement of equipment used in the application of mineral oil.
  7. Terminal elevator operators must ensure adequate measures and procedures are followed to prevent mineral oil contamination of grains intended for any use other than animal feed. 
  8. Terminal elevator operators must ensure that any equipment used for application of mineral oil at all times complies with any applicable standards imposed by any civic, provincial, or federal authority, and is installed and used in accordance with manufacturer guidelines. 
  9. Any inspection certificate issued under the Act in respect of grain to which mineral oil was applied, will note the application of mineral oil to the grain, and the reported rate of application.
  10. For the purposes of this order, “animal feed” means grain that is intended for consumption by livestock, as the term “livestock” is defined in the Feeds Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-9, as it may be amended from time to time.
  11. This Order will remain in effect until July 31, 2018, or such earlier date as it may be revoked, after which date monthly reports must be provided in regard to previously unreported application of mineral oil; grain to which mineral oil was applied prior to July 31, 2018 may be discharged from a terminal elevator after July 31, 2018; and any mineral oil application after that date will not have the permission of the Commission.
  12. The permission provided under this Order may be withdrawn by further order of the Commission in respect of any terminal elevator operator which has not, in the Commission’s opinion, satisfied the conditions of this Order.   

 

Patti Miller
Chief Commissioner

Doug Chorney
Assistant Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague
Commissioner

Date modified:

Silos terminaux – Application d’huile minérale au grain

Arrêté no 2017-60

Le 9 novembre 2017

Introduction :

  1. L’émission de poussières dans le cadre de la manutention du grain constitue une source de préoccupations environnementales et un problème pour la santé et la sécurité au travail. L’application d’huile minérale au grain peut réduire l’émission de poussières dans la manutention des grains, mais peut entraîner une contamination du grain selon la définition donnée dans la Loi sur les grains du Canada (la « Loi »).
  2. Sauf autorisation de la Commission canadienne des grains (la « Commission »), l’exploitant d’un silo agréé n’a pas le droit de mélanger à du grain entreposé au silo toute matière autre que du grain, comme l’exige le paragraphe 104 d) de la Loi.
  3. La Commission a le pouvoir, en vertu des paragraphes 118 d) et 118 h) de la Loi, d'ordonner que l'exploitant d'un silo traite un grain contaminé ou en dispose d'une manière approuvée par la Commission et de formuler des directives à l'intention de l'industrie, et est tenue, selon le paragraphe 76 (1) c), de donner les instructions appropriées concernant le traitement du grain ou la façon d'en disposer dans un silo terminal agréé.
  4. La Commission n'est pas convaincue que l'application d'huile minérale n'a pas d'effet sur la qualité à l'utilisation finale du grain destiné à la consommation humaine, et n'est pas convaincue que l'application d'huile minérale au grain brut soit acceptable pour la santé humaine.
  5. La Commission est convaincue que l'application d'huile minérale est un moyen efficace de supprimer la poussière auquel l'exploitant d'un silo terminal peut recourir, qu'elle est nécessaire pour le déplacement du grain dans les intérêts des producteurs de grain, qu'elle ne dissimule pas les véritables caractéristiques du grain, et n'affecte pas sa qualité ou sa salubrité pour ce qui est de la nourriture destinée aux animaux.

La Commission prend l’arrêté suivant :

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 104 d), la Commission autorise l'application d'huile minérale au grain brut dans des silos terminaux agréés, de la façon suivante :
    • Seule une huile minérale qui correspond aux spécifications de qualité alimentaire prescrites par Santé Canada peut être utilisée.
    • Le taux d'application de l'huile minérale ne doit pas dépasser 0,02 % du poids du grain auquel elle est appliquée.
    • L'application d'huile minérale est limitée au grain brut désigné comme grain aux fins de la Loi sur les grains du Canada qui sont vérifiés, dans des documents fournis par l'exploitant du silo terminal, pour être vendus uniquement pour l'alimentation des animaux, selon des modalités en fonction desquelles l'acheteur accepte l'application d'huile minérale.
    • L'huile minérale ne sera pas appliquée après l'échantillonnage, l'inspection ou la pesée du grain en vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada.
    • Cette permission s'applique uniquement aux exploitants de silos terminaux agréés par la Commission qui ont soumis une demande (tel qu'indiqué ci-dessous); reçu un accusé de réception de la Commission canadienne des grains attestant que la demande était complète; et soumis un avis d'intention d'appliquer de l'huile minérale (tel qu'indiqué ci-dessous) avant toute application effective d'huile minérale au grain.
  2. Les exploitants de silos terminaux qui désirent appliquer de l'huile minérale à du grain doivent soumettre à la Commission une demande d'autorisation selon la formule établie par la Commission et contenant les renseignements suivants :
    • la date de la demande et le nom de l'exploitant du silo terminal agréé;
    • une description et un schéma de tout l'équipement qui doit être utilisé pour l'application de l'huile minérale (p.ex., réservoirs d'entreposage, pompes, tuyaux, jauges, gicleur d'application); y compris le nombre de gicleurs d'application et les endroits où ils seront installés;
    • une détermination indiquant si l'huile minérale sera appliquée au moment de la réception du grain, pendant sa manutention ou son nettoyage, ou lors de son déchargement du silo;
    • le nombre d'applications prévues de l'huile minérale au grain (p. ex., une seule application ou des applications multiples); une description détaillée des mesures en place pour que l'exploitant du silo terminal vérifie, de manière continue, si l'application est égale et si les taux d'application de l'huile minérale se situent en deçà des tolérances permises;
    • la détermination des écrans ou des dispositifs permettant aux inspecteurs de la Commission de vérifier l'application de l'huile minérale en conformité de cette autorisation;
    • le taux d'application prévu pour chaque application d'huile minérale, exprimé en pourcentage du poids;
    • la nature et le type des dossiers qui seront tenus par l'exploitant du silo terminal au sujet de son application de l'huile minérale;
    • la documentation confirmant que l'huile minérale du fournisseur prévu satisfait aux spécifications de qualité alimentaire au Canada;
    • la documentation confirmant les valeurs de densité pour l'huile minérale prévue.
  3. Avant de charger un navire de grain traité avec de l'huile minérale, l'exploitant d'un silo terminal doit soumettre à la Commission une notification, dans la forme indiquée, contenant les renseignements suivants :
    • date de la notification;
    • identification du navire;
    • type de grain auquel est appliquée l'huile minérale;
    • une confirmation, accompagnée de documents d'appui, que l'acheteur du grain accepte l'application de l'huile minérale;
    • une confirmation, accompagnée de documents d'appui, que le grain sera utilisé uniquement pour l'alimentation des animaux.
  4. L'exploitant du silo terminal fournira à la Commission un rapport sur chaque lot de grain auquel a été appliquée l'huile minérale, indiquant le poids du grain chargé dans des navires (en tonnes métriques) auquel l'huile minérale a été appliquée, et le taux moyen d'application de l'huile minérale (exprimé en pourcentage du poids du grain chargé).
  5. L'exploitant du silo terminal fournira à la Commission un rapport mensuel sur son utilisation de l'huile minérale, au plus tard sept jours civils après la fin d'un mois civil, selon la forme indiquée, pour transmettre les renseignements suivants :
    • le nom du silo terminal;
    • le tonnage total du grain auquel l'huile minérale a été appliquée, au cours du mois;
    • la quantité, en litres, de l'huile minérale appliquée à ce tonnage de grain au cours du mois;
    • des copies de toute la documentation indiquant le nom du fournisseur de l'huile minérale, son adresse et la date de livraison, les litres d'huile minérale fournis et les données du produit pour montrer que l'huile minérale satisfait aux spécifications sur la qualité alimentaire en vigueur au Canada et aux valeurs de densité;
    • le taux d'application prévu pour chaque application d'huile minérale, exprimé en pourcentage du poids.
  6. L'exploitant du silo terminal tiendra des dossiers, pendant au moins deux ans, et les mettra à la disposition des inspecteurs de la Commission à la demande, pour démontrer les éléments suivants :
    • les taux d'application de l'huile minérale appliquée à la réception, durant la manutention ou le nettoyage ou pendant le déchargement du grain;
    • les volumes d'huile minérale achetés;
    • les propriétés et les spécifications de qualité de l'huile minérale achetée;
    • la maintenance ou le remplacement de l'équipement utilisé dans l'application de l'huile minérale.
  7. Les exploitants de silos terminaux doivent voir à ce que les mesures et procédures adéquates soient suivies pour empêcher la contamination par l'huile minérale du grain destiné à une utilisation autre que comme aliments pour les animaux.
  8. Les exploitants de silos terminaux doivent faire en sorte que tout l'équipement utilisé pour l'application d'huile minérale soit conforme en tout temps à toute norme applicable, imposée par une autorité civile, provinciale ou fédérale, et soit installé et utilisé conformément aux lignes directrices du fabricant.
  9. Tout certificat d'inspection émis en vertu de la Loi par rapport au grain auquel l'huile minérale a été appliquée notera l'application de l'huile minérale au grain et le taux déclaré de l'application.
  10. Aux fins du présent arrêté, « aliments pour les animaux » signifie le grain destiné au bétail, tel que le terme « bétail » est défini dans la Loi relative aux aliments du bétail, L.R.C. 1985, c. F-9, avec toutes ses modifications successives.
  11. Le présent arrêté demeure en vigueur jusqu'au 31 juillet 2018 ou à une date antérieure puisqu'il peut être abrogé, après quoi des rapports mensuels doivent être fournis à l'égard de l'application antérieure non signalée d'huile minérale; le grain auquel a été appliquée de l'huile minérale avant le 31 juillet 2018 peut être déchargé d'un silo terminal après le 31 juillet 2018, et toute application d'huile minérale après cette date n'aura pas été autorisée par la Commission.
  12. L'autorisation fournie en vertu du présent arrêté peut être retirée par un autre arrêté de la Commission à l'égard de tout exploitant de silo terminal qui n'a pas, de l'avis de la Commission, satisfait aux conditions de cet arrêté.

Patti Miller
Commissaire en chef

Doug Chorney
Commissaire en chef adjoint

Lonny McKague
Commissaire

Date de modification :