Service to unlicensed users

Effective January 1998

Introduction

The Canadian Grain Commission's directive to the trade regarding Services to Unlicensed Users establishes the conditions under which Canadian Grain Commission services will be provided to unlicensed companies and individuals. The directive covers the provision of all Canadian Grain Commission inspection, weighing and analytical services. It limits the provision of Canadian Grain Commission services to licensees, and to those unlicensed companies or individuals that would not normally require a licence. The Canadian Grain Commission developed the directive to ensure that its services are provided equitably, and to reduce risk to producers. This directive is effective immediately.

Background

An elevator or grain dealer's licence is required by the Canada Grain Act (CGA) if a company or an individual

  • operates a facility that meets the CGA definition of an elevator, or
  • buys or sells grain using official grade names

An applicant for a license must give security, to cover outstanding payments to producers for grain, by way of a bond, letter of credit, or some other form acceptable to the Canadian Grain Commission. The level of security required is fixed by the Canadian Grain Commission, based on the applicant's potential obligations for payment or delivery of grain to producers. Licensees are required to submit monthly reports to the Canadian Grain Commission, indicating their outstanding obligations for payment or delivery of grain to producers, and the amount of security available to meet those obligations. The Canadian Grain Commission can request additional security if it deems it necessary to protect producers.

Because of these licensing requirements, producers have a high level of financial protection when they sell their grain to licensees. It, therefore, must be clear to producers whether or not the companies or individuals they are dealing with are licensed. If the actions of the Canadian Grain Commission lead producers to the mistaken assumption that a particular company or individual is licensed, the Canadian Grain Commission could be held liable if that company or individual is unable to meet its obligations to producers. For example, provision of Canadian Grain Commission grading services to an unlicensed company could be used by that company to buy grain from producers on the basis of official grade names. This use of official grade names could lead producers to assume they are dealing with a licensed and, therefore, secured company.

The Canadian Grain Commission has refused services to most unlicensed companies because of the risk to producers. An exception has been the provision of special sampling, grading and other quality analyses services to independent surveying companies, which are not required by the CGA to obtain a license. However, because the criteria for determining the conditions for offering services to unlicensed companies have not been clear, some companies have complained that independent surveying companies have been receiving preferential treatment. This directive addresses these concerns by clarifying the conditions under which Canadian Grain Commission services are made available to unlicensed companies and individuals.

Elements

Companies or individuals eligible to receive Canadian Grain Commission services

Licensees of the Canadian Grain Commission, and companies or individuals not required to be licensed under the CGA will be provided all Canadian Grain Commission inspection, weighing and analytical services.

This means that the Canadian Grain Commission will provide services to any unlicensed company or individual that

  • does not operate a facility that meets the CGA definition of an elevator, and
  • does not buy or sell grain using official grade name

Companies or individuals not eligible to receive Canadian Grain Commission services

Companies or individuals that have received an exemption from licensing, or that are operating without a licence in violation of the CGA, will not be provided any Canadian Grain Commission services. This includes

  • seed cleaning plants that meet the definition of an elevator, but are not licensed, whether or not they are exempted from licensing,
  • bulk handling facilities and container facilities which have been exempted from the licensing requirements of the CGA
  • unlicensed companies east of Thunder Bay that deal in western grain

Applying to Receive Canadian Grain Commission services

Unlicensed companies are required to apply for service at least 3 weeks prior to the expected date of the provision of the Canadian Grain Commission service. The application requires companies to declare the nature of their business, their clients, and the Canadian Grain Commission services they would like to receive. Each application is reviewed by the Canadian Grain Commission's Licensing and Audits Section to determine whether or not the company is eligible for services. If the company is eligible, Licensing and Audits will include it in a list of eligible users. This list, which includes all eligible unlicensed companies, is maintained by Licensing and Audits and is used by Industry Services, when determining whether or not to provide services to unlicensed companies.

Unlicensed companies or individuals must be on the list of eligible users, before they can receive any Canadian Grain Commission services. Once on the list of eligible users, unlicensed companies can receive all Canadian Grain Commission services at the standard Canadian Grain Commission fees outlined in Schedule I of the Canada Grain Regulations, and in Canadian Grain Commission Fees for Optional Services, distributed to the industry at the beginning of each crop year.

Procedures for Bulk Handling and Container Facilities Handling Direct Hit Shipments

Bulk handling facilities and container facilities are exempted from licensing and cannot directly receive Canadian Grain Commission services under this policy. When these facilities handle direct hits, the Canadian Grain Commission will provide services only on the request of a licensed grain dealer or grain elevator operator.

When a licensee wants to make a direct hit shipment through an unlicensed bulk handling or container facility, the licensee must notify the Regional Director at the appropriate regional Canadian Grain Commission office in writing on a Notice of Direct Hit form at least 48 hours before the grain is expected to arrive at the port. Canadian Grain Commission certificates will be issued to the licensee making the original request. Certificates will not be issued to the unlicensed bulk handling or container facility.

If you have any questions about this directive, please contact the Regional Director in your region.

Service aux utilisateurs non agréés

En vigueur le janvier 1998

Introduction

La présente directive que la Commission canadienne des grains diffuse à l'industrie porte sur les Services aux utilisateurs non agréés et stipule les conditions sous lesquelles les services de la Commission canadienne des grains seront fournis aux compagnies non agréées et aux personnes non titulaires d'une licence. La directive porte sur tous les services d'inspection et de pesée ainsi que les services analytiques de la Commission canadienne des grains. Elle restreint la prestation des services de la Commission canadienne des grains aux titulaires d'une licence, et aux compagnies non agréées ou personnes non titulaires d'une licence qui n'auraient pas normalement besoin d'une licence. La Commission canadienne des grains a élaboré la présente directive pour s'assurer que ses services sont fournis d'une façon équitable, et pour réduire les risques auxquels sont exposés les producteurs.

Contexte

La Loi sur les grains du Canada (LGC) exige une licence pour exploiter un silo ou pour exercer le commerce de négociant en grains si une compagnie ou une personne

  • exploite une installation qui répond à la définition d'un silo stipulée dans la LGC, ou
  • achète ou vend du grain en utilisant les noms de grades officiels.

Le demandeur d'une licence doit fournir une garantie pour couvrir les paiements en circulation envers les producteurs de grains, sous forme de cautionnement, lettre de crédit ou autre forme acceptable à la Commission canadienne des grains. La Commission canadienne des grains établit le niveau de garantie exigé, en fonction des obligations de paiement ou de livraison éventuelles de grain du demandeur envers les producteurs. Les titulaires d'une licence doivent soumettre des rapports mensuels à la Commission canadienne des grains sur lesquels ils indiquent leurs obligations de paiement ou de livraison du grain en circulation envers les producteurs, et la somme de la garantie dont ils disposent pour satisfaire à ces obligations. La Commission canadienne des grains peut exiger une garantie supplémentaire si elle croit que cela s'impose pour protéger les producteurs.

Ces exigences sur l'octroi de licences offrent aux producteurs une protection financière très élevée au moment où ils vendent leur grain aux titulaires d'une licence. Il faut donc que les producteurs sachent explicitement s'ils traitent ou non avec des compagnies ou des personnes qui sont titulaires d'une licence. Si des mesures prises par la Commission canadienne des grains portent les producteurs à croire erronnément qu'une compagnie ou personne en particulier est agréée, la Commission canadienne des grains pourrait être tenue responsable, si cette compagnie ou personne est incapable de satisfaire à ses obligations envers les producteurs. Par exemple, la prestation des services de classement par la Commission canadienne des grains à une compagnie non agréée pourrait être utilisée par cette compagnie pour acheter du grain des producteurs sur la base des noms officiels de grades. L'emploi des noms officiels de grades pourrait mener les producteurs à croire qu'ils traitent avec une compagnie titulaire d'une licence et donc titulaire d'une créance garantie.

La Commission canadienne des grains a refusé de fournir des services à la plupart des compagnies non agréées, à cause des risques auxquels sont ainsi exposés les producteurs. Comme exception à ces mesures, la Commission canadienne des grains a fourni des services d'échantillonnage spécial, de classement et d'autres analyses de la qualité à des compagnies de surveillance indépendantes que la LGC n'oblige pas d'obtenir une licence. Toutefois, vu que les critères servant à déterminer les conditions d'offre de services aux compagnies non agréées n'ont pas été définis clairement, certaines compagnies se sont plaintes que les compagnies de surveillance indépendantes ont reçu un traitement préférentiel. La présente directive aborde ces questions en précisant les conditions sous lesquelles les services de la Commission canadienne des grains sont offerts aux compagnies non agréées et aux personnes non titulaires d'une licence.

Éléments

Les compagnies ou personnes ayant droit aux services de la Commission canadienne des grains

Les titulaires d'une licence de la Commission canadienne des grains, et les compagnies ou personnes qui ne sont pas obligées d'être titulaires d'une licence aux termes de la LGC, seront offerts tous les services d'inspection et de pesée et services analytiques de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Cela veut dire que la Commission canadienne des grains fournira des services à toute compagnie non agréée ou personne non titulaire d'une licence qui 

  • n'buexploite pas une installation qui répond à la définition d'un silo stipulée dans la LGC
  • n'achète ni ne vend du grain en utilisant les noms de grades officiels.

Les compagnies ou personnes n'ayant pas droit aux services de la Commission canadienne des grains

Les compagnies ou personnes à qui l'on a accordé une exemption de l'octroi d'une licence, ou qui exploitent sans obtenir une licence en contravention de la LGC, ne seront pas offerts des services de la Commission canadienne des grains. Celles-ci comprennent les installations suivantes :

  • les usines de nettoyage des semences qui répondent à la définition d'un silo, mais qui ne sont pas agréées, qu'elles soient ou non exemptées de l'octroi de licences
  • les installations de manutention en vrac et installations de conteneurs qui ont été exemptées des exigences portant sur l'octroi de licences stipulées dans la LGC
  • les compagnies non agréées situées à l'est de Thunder Bay qui font affaire avec le grain de l'Ouest.

Faire la demande des services de la Commission canadienne des grains

Les compagnies non agréées doivent faire la demande au moins 3 semaines avant la date prévue de la prestation du service. Les compagnies doivent déclarer sur la demande la nature de leur commerce, leurs clients, et les services qu'ils veulent obtenir. Toute demande est passée en revue par la Section d'octroi de licences et de vérifications de la Commission canadienne des grains qui détermine si la compagnie a droit ou non aux services. Si la compagnie y a droit, la Section d'octroi de licences et de vérifications ajoutera son nom à la liste des utilisateurs admissibles. Les Services à l'industrie consultent cette même liste au moment de déterminer si les services seront fournis ou non aux compagnies non agréées.

Les compagnies non agréées ou les personnes non titulaires d'une licence doivent figurer sur la liste des utilisateurs admissibles avant de pouvoir faire appel aux services de la Commission canadienne des grains. Dès que leur nom figure sur la liste, les compagnies non agréées ont le droit de recevoir tous les services de la Commission canadienne des grains pour lesquels elle exige les droits stipulés à l'Annexe I du Règlement sur les grains du Canada et dans la liste des Droits exigés par la Commission canadienne des grains pour services facultatifs, qui est diffusée à l'industrie au début de chaque campagne agricole.

Procédures à suivre pour les installations de manutention en vrac et les installations de conteneurs qui manutentionnent des expéditions directes

Les installations de manutention en vrac et les installations de conteneurs sont exemptées de l'octroi de licences et n'ont pas le droit de recevoir les services directement de la Commission canadienne des grains. Lorsque ces installations manutentionnent des expéditions directes, la Commission canadienne des grains n'offre ses services qu'à la suite d'une demande formulée par un négociant en grains agréé ou un exploitant de silo à grains titulaire d'une licence.

Dans les instances où un titulaire de licence veut faire une expédition directe par l'entremise d'une installation de manutention en vrac ou d'une installation de conteneurs non agréée, le titulaire de la licence doit aviser le directeur régional du bureau local de la Commission canadienne des grains, par écrit, en remplissant la formule intitulée « Avis d'expédition directe » au moins 48 heures avant l'arrivage prévu du grain au port. Les certificats de la Commission canadienne des grains seront délivrés au titulaire d'une licence qui a fait la demande originale. Les certificats ne seront pas délivrés à l'installation de manutention en vrac ni à l'installation de conteneur.

Veuillez adresser toute question se rapportant à la présente directive au directeur régional en poste dans votre région.