Barley – Chapter 6 | Official Grain Grading Guide

Grading

Important definitions

Net weight of sample

The sample after cleaning and removal of dockage is referred to as the cleaned sample. Its weight is the net weight of the sample. Percentages by weight for grading refer to percentages of the cleaned sample, the net weight.

Hazardous substances in samples

Wear gloves and a mask to handle any samples that you suspect may contain hazardous substances. Hazardous substances are defined in the Regulations as “any pesticide, herbicide, dessicant or inoculant.”

Food Barley

The selection of barley for food purposes is the responsibility of selecting companies. Each individual company has their own selection criteria and specifications. All barley selected for food purposes will be graded according to the specification list in the Barley CW/CE Food primary grade determinant tables.

Malting Barley

The selection of barley for malting purposes is the responsibility of selecting companies. Each individual company has their own selection criteria and specifications. All barley selected for malting purposes will be graded according to the specification list in the Barley CW/CE malting primary grade determinant tables.

Producer Deliveries

Once barley has been selected for malting purposes, if there is a disagreement on the assessment of any factors listed in the “Characteristics of Malt Barley” table, the Canadian Grain Commission, upon request will perform an analysis of the disputed factor. A representative portion of not less than 1000 grams of the unload will be forwarded to the Canadian Grain Commission along with a request in writing (form I-106 in western Canada or I-107 for eastern Canada) specifying which factors are to be analyzed.

Characteristics of Malt Barley

  • Peeled and Broken
  • Other cereal grains
  • Sprouted
  • Wild oats
  • Barley of other types
  • Total Foreign Material
  • Plump and Thin
  • Protein

Note:

Specific tolerances are set by the selecting company.

Non-Registered Varieties

Where grain of any kind is not a registered variety under the Seeds Act, no person shall, except with the permission of the Canadian Grain Commission, assign a statutory grade to that grain which is higher than the lowest grade established by regulation for that kind of grain.

Representative portion for grading

All grading is done on representative portions divided down from the clean sample, using a Boerner-type divider.

The terms “Minimum” and “Maximum” refer to the range of sample portion size to be analyzed when an objective factor is present. The optimum representative portion (see glossary) is determined by taking into consideration the tolerance and concentration of the objective factor being assessed.

Representative portion of barley for grading, grams
Grading factor Sample portion size range
Minimum Maximum
Adhered hulls 50 100
Barley of other types 10 10
Broken 25 50
Covered smut and false loose smut working sample working sample
Ergot 500 working sample
Excreta working sample working sample
Fertilizer pellets working sample working sample
Fireburnt 500 working sample
Frost 25 100
Fusarium damage 25 100
Heated 25 100
Inseparable seeds - malting and food 100 250
Inseparable seeds – general purpose 100 250
Odour working sample working sample
Other cereal grains 50 250
Peeled and broken 50 100
Plump and thin 250 250
Rotted kernels 50 working sample
Sclerotinia sclerotiorum 500 working sample
Severe mildew 50 working sample
Soft earth pellets working sample working sample
Sprouted 25 100
Stones working sample working sample
Treated seed working sample working sample
Varieties with adhered hulls 50 100
Weathered working sample working sample
Wild oats 50 250

Orge - Chapitre 6 | Guide officiel du classement des grains

Classement

Définitions importantes

Poids net de l'échantillon

Après le nettoyage et l'extraction des impuretés, l'échantillon est considéré comme l'échantillon nettoyé. Son poids est le poids net de l'échantillon. Les pourcentages en poids aux fins de classement se rapportent aux pourcentages de l'échantillon nettoyé, ou le poids net.

Substances dangereuses dans les échantillons

Portez des gants et un masque pour manipuler tous les échantillons dans lesquels vous soupçonnez la présence de substances dangereuses. Aux termes du Règlement, les substances dangereuses constituent « tout pesticide, herbicide, produit déshydratant ou inoculant ».

Orge alimentaire

Les compagnies de sélection sont responsables de sélectionner l'orge à des fins alimentaires. Chaque compagnie établit ses propres critères de sélection et caractéristiques. Toute l'orge sélectionnée à des fins alimentaires sera classée en fonction de la liste des caractéristiques figurant dans les tableaux des facteurs déterminants des grades primaires d'orge OC/EC à des fins alimentaires.

Orge brassicole

Les compagnies de sélection sont responsables de sélectionner l'orge à des fins brassicoles. Chaque compagnie établit ses propres critères de sélection et caractéristiques. Toute l'orge sélectionnée à des fins brassicoles sera classée en fonction de la liste des caractéristiques figurant dans les tableaux des facteurs déterminants des grades primaires d'orge OC/EC à des fins brassicoles.

Livraisons par les producteurs

Une fois que l’orge est sélectionnée à des fins brassicoles, s’il y a désaccord sur l’évaluation de n’importe quel facteur figurant dans la liste du tableau des « caractéristiques de l’orge brassicole », la CCG, sur demande, effectuera l’analyse du facteur contesté. Une portion représentative d’au moins 1000 grammes de l’orge déchargée sera acheminée à la CCG accompagnée d’une demande écrite (formulaire I-106 dans l’Ouest canadien ou formulaire I-107 dans l’Est du Canada) précisant les facteurs à analyser.

Caractéristiques de l'orge brassicole

  • Pelés et cassés
  • Autres céréales
  • Germés
  • Folle avoine
  • Orge d'autres types
  • Total, matières étrangères
  • Ventrus et minces
  • Protéines

Remarque :

La compagnie de sélection établit les tolérances spécifiques.

Variétés non enregistrées

Il est interdit, sauf autorisation de la Commission canadienne des grains, d’attribuer à un grain d’une variété non enregistrée sous le régime de la Loi sur les semences un grade réglementaire supérieur au niveau le plus bas établi par règlement pour ce type de grain.

Portion représentative aux fins de classement

Tout le classement est fait sur des portions représentatives obtenues de l'échantillon nettoyé à l'aide d'un diviseur de type Boerner.

Les termes « Minimum » et « Maximum » représentent la gamme des tailles des portions d’échantillon à analyser en présence d’un facteur de classement objectif. La portion représentative optimum (voir le glossaire) est déterminée en tenant compte de la tolérance et de la concentration du facteur objectif qui est évalué.

Portion représentative aux fins de classement de l'orge, en grammes
Facteur de classement Gamme des tailles des portions d’échantillon
Minimum Maximum
Altération sur pied échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Autres céréales 50 250
Autres types d'orge 10 10
Boulettes de terre molles échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Charbon couvert et faux charbon nu échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Ergot 500 échantillon d'analyse
Excrétions échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Folle avoine 50 250
Gelée 25 100
Glumes adhérées 50 100
Grains brùlés 500 échantillon d'analyse
Grains cassés 25 50
Grains échauffés 25 100
Grains fortement mildiousés 50 échantillon d'analyse
Grains fusariés 25 100
Grains germés 25 100
Grains pelés et cassés 50 100
Grains pourris 50 échantillon d'analyse
Grains ventrus et minces 250 250
Graines inséparables - brassicole et alimentaire 100 250
Graines inséparables - fins générales 100 250
Granulés d’engrais échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Odeur échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Pierres échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Sclérotiniose 500 échantillon d'analyse
Semence traitée échantillon d'analyse échantillon d'analyse
Variétés à glumes adhérées 50 100