Report on annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the Fiscal Year 2011-2012

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian Grain Commission for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2012. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

The Canadian Grain Commission administers the provisions of the Canada Grain Act. The Canadian Grain Commission’s mandate as set out in the Canada Grain Act is to, "in the interests of the grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets." To effectively pursue its mandate and make a difference to Canadians, the Canadian Grain Commission aims to achieve one strategic outcome: Canada’s grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are protected. The Canadian Grain Commission has five program activities which each contribute to making progress to the sole strategic outcome. They are the quality assurance program, the quantity assurance program, the grain quality research program, the producer protection program, and internal services. For further information on the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and activities please see section II of the Canadian Grain Commission’s Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Progress Report.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Canadian Grain Commission are summarized below:
Expenditure Category (in thousands of dollars) Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2011 Variance
* Includes international travel that is part of a department’s program.
Travel – Public Servants $2,593 $2,676 ($83)
Travel – Non-Public Servants $48 $68 ($20)
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff * $- $- $-
Total Travel $2,641 $2,744 ($103)
Hospitality $34 $59 ($25)
Conference Fees $105 $89 $16
Total $2,780 $2,892 ($112)

Travel:

  1. Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, departmental travel expenditures by public servants decreased mainly due to:
    • The Canadian Grain Commission’s ongoing commitment to the spirit of cost containment by reducing discretionary expenditures when and where possible.
  2. Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased mainly due to:
    • The Technical Expert Advisory Committee for Industry meeting changes location annually. In 2010-2011 the meeting was held in Winnipeg, Manitoba and 2011-2012 the meeting was held in Ottawa, Ontario. As many representatives are from Ontario the travel costs for the 2010-2011 Winnipeg meeting were higher.

Hospitality:

Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, departmental hospitality expenditures decreased mainly due to:

  • Consultations with Industry across Canada with respect to the potential revision of the Canadian Grain Commission’s User Fees in fiscal 2010-2011 as well as the hosting of a one time reception for Industry representatives aimed to raise awareness of the department.

There are no significant items identified for departmental conference fees expenditures.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences pour l’exercice financier 2011-2012

Conformément à la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport présente l’intégralité des dépenses annuelles consacrées par la Commission canadienne des grains aux déplacements, aux activités d’accueil et aux conférences pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2012. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces renseignements sont mis à jour annuellement et ne contiennent aucun renseignement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La plupart des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont liées au soutien du(des) mandat(s) du ministère et des priorités du gouvernement.

La Commission canadienne des grains administre les dispositions de la Loi sur les grains du Canada. Aux termes de cette loi, la Commission canadienne des grains a le mandat de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d'en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieurs et étrangers. Afin de remplir son mandat de façon efficace et faire une différence pour les Canadiens, la Commission canadienne des grains cherche à atteindre un seul résultat stratégique : assurer la salubrité, la fiabilité et le caractère commercialisable des grains canadiens ainsi que la protection des producteurs. La Commission canadienne des grains comporte cinq activités de programme, et chacune contribue à cet unique résultat stratégique. Ces activités sont : le programme d'assurance-qualité, le programme d'assurance-quantité, le programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains, le programme de protection des producteurs et les services internes. De plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et activités de la Commission canadienne des grains se retrouvent à la Section II du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Les dépenses annuelles totales relatives aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences de la Commission canadienne des grains sont présentées ci-dessous :
Catégorie de dépenses (en milliers de dollars) Dépenses pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2011 Écart
(*) Comprend les voyages internationaux faisant partie d'un programme du ministère.
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 2 593 $ 2 676 $ (83 $)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 48 $ 68 $ (20 $)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et de son personnel * -$ -$ -$
Coût total des voyages 2 641 $ 2 744 $ (103 $)
Accueil 34 $ 59 $ (25 $)
Frais de conférences 105 $ 89 $ 16 $
Total 2 780 $ 2 892 $ (112 $)

Voyages

  1. Fonctionnaires : Par rapport à l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires de l’organisme ont diminué, principalement pour la raison suivante :
    • L’engagement continu de la Commission canadienne des grains à l’esprit de compression des coûts qui se traduit par une réduction des dépenses discrétionnaires dans la mesure du possible.
  2. Non-fonctionnaires : Par rapport à l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses de voyages de non-fonctionnaires assumées par l’organisme ont diminué, principalement pour la raison suivante :
    • L’emplacement de la réunion du Comité consultatif d’experts techniques pour l’industrie change chaque année. En 2010-2011, la réunion a eu lieu à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, et en 2011-2012, la réunion a été tenue à Ottawa, en Ontario. Comme de nombreux représentants viennent de l’Ontario, les frais de voyages ont été plus élevés pour la réunion tenue à Winnipeg en 2010-2011.

Accueil

Par rapport à l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses d’accueil de l’organisme ont diminué, principalement pour les raisons suivantes :

  • La tenue de consultations auprès de l’industrie, partout au Canada, en ce qui concerne la révision possible des frais d’utilisation de la Commission canadienne des grains au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011, ainsi que la tenue d’une réception unique pour les représentants de l’industrie dans le but de leur faire mieux connaître l’organisme.

Il n’y a aucun élément considérable à signaler pour ce qui est des dépenses de l’organisme liées aux frais de participation à des conférences.