Report on annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the Fiscal Year 2012-2013

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian Grain Commission for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

The Canadian Grain Commission administers the provisions of the Canada Grain Act. The Canadian Grain Commission’s mandate as set out in the Canada Grain Act is to, "in the interests of the grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets." To effectively pursue its mandate and make a difference to Canadians, the Canadian Grain Commission aims to achieve one strategic outcome: Canada’s grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are protected. The Canadian Grain Commission has five program activities which each contribute to making progress to the sole strategic outcome. They are the quality assurance program, the quantity assurance program, the grain quality research program, the producer protection program, and internal services. For further information on the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and activities please see section II of the Canadian Grain Commission’s Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Performance Report.

In November 2010, the Canadian Grain Commission began a project to update its cost recovery framework. In 2010 and 2011, extensive user fees consultations were conducted based on services required by the Canada Grain Act and the costs associated with those services. One of the major themes of feedback was that the Canada Grain Act and Canadian Grain Commission services needed to be streamlined prior to updating user fees. Based on this feedback, the Government introduced amendments to the Canada Grain Act to streamline the operations of the Canadian Grain Commission as part of Bill C-45. User fees consultations and pre-proposal notification on updated fees under the amended Canada Grain Act were completed in November 2012. In February 2013, a Canadian Grain Commission User Fees Proposal was tabled in Parliament. The regulatory process commenced with prepublication in the Canada Gazette, Part I in February 2013. During 2012-2013, all Canadian Grain Commission milestones were fully achieved for the process to amend the Canadian Grain Commission’s user fees pursuant to the User Fees Act. The regulatory process has continued into 2013-14 and updated user fees will take effect on August 1, 2013. Updated fees will eliminate Canadian Grain Commission dependence on annual ad hoc funding and create a more stable environment for integrated people and business management.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Canadian Grain Commission are summarized below:
Expenditure Category (in thousands of dollars) Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2012 Variance
Travel – Public Servants $2,198 $2,593 ($395)
Travel – Non-Public Servants $34 $48 ($14)
International Travel by Minister and Minister's StaffFootnote 1 $- $- $-
Total Travel $2,232 $2,641 ($409)
Hospitality $29 $34 ($5)
Conference Fees $25 $105 ($80)
Total $2,286 $2,780 ($494)

Given the large scale changes to the organization, compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, all departmental travel, hospitality and conference expenditures have decreased as a result of:

  • Travel expenditures have decreased as compared to last year due to a 2.7 mmt reduction in grain volumes handled and through increased use of teleconferencing, videoconferencing and telepresence technology.
  • The commencement of organizational restructuring and staff departures resulting from streamlining of Canadian Grain Commission operations and planned legislative change.
  • The Canadian Grain Commission’s ongoing commitment to the spirit of cost containment by reducing discretionary expenditures when and where possible.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes international travel that is part of a department’s program.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences pour l’exercice financier 2012-2013

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport présente l’intégralité des dépenses annuelles consacrées par la Commission canadienne des grains aux déplacements, aux activités d’accueil et aux conférences pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2013. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces renseignements sont mis à jour annuellement et ne contiennent aucun renseignement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La plupart des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont liées au soutien du(des) mandat(s) du ministère et des priorités du gouvernement.

La Commission canadienne des grains administre les dispositions de la Loi sur les grains du Canada. Aux termes de cette loi, la Commission canadienne des grains a le mandat de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d'en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieurs et étrangers. Afin de remplir son mandat de façon efficace et faire une différence pour les Canadiens, la Commission canadienne des grains cherche à atteindre un seul résultat stratégique : assurer la salubrité, la fiabilité et le caractère commercialisable des grains canadiens ainsi que la protection des producteurs. La Commission canadienne des grains comporte cinq activités de programme, et chacune contribue à cet unique résultat stratégique. Ces activités sont : le programme d'assurance-qualité, le programme d'assurance-quantité, le programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains, le programme de protection des producteurs et les services internes. De plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et activités de la Commission canadienne des grains se retrouvent à la Section II du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la Commission canadienne des grains.

En novembre 2010, la Commission canadienne des grains a entrepris un projet visant à mettre à jour son cadre de recouvrement des coûts. En 2010 et en 2011, de vastes consultations sur les frais d'utilisation ont été menées en fonction des services obligatoires aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et des coûts associés à ces services. L'un des principaux thèmes ressortant des commentaires était la nécessité de rationaliser la Loi sur les grains du Canada et les services de la Commission canadienne des grains avant la mise à jour des frais d'utilisation. À la lumière de ces commentaires, le gouvernement a apporté des modifications à la Loi sur les grains du Canada, dans le cadre du projet de loi C-45, afin de rationaliser les opérations de la Commission canadienne des grains. Les étapes des consultations sur les frais d’utilisation et de l’avis de proposition préliminaire visant les frais actualisés aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada ont pris fin en novembre 2012. En février 2013, une proposition visant les frais d’utilisation de la Commission canadienne des grains a été déposée devant le Parlement. Le processus réglementaire a commencé par la publication préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, en février 2013. Pendant l’exercice 2012-2013, la Commission canadienne des grains a atteint tous les jalons prévus dans le cadre du processus visant la modification des frais d’utilisation aux termes de la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation. Le processus réglementaire s’est poursuivi en 2013-2014, et les nouveaux frais d’utilisation ont pris effet le 1er août 2013. Les frais actualisés viendront éliminer la dépendance de la Commission canadienne des grains à l’égard du financement ponctuel annuel et permettront de créer un environnement plus stable pour la gestion intégrée des ressources humaines et des activités.

Les dépenses annuelles totales relatives aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences de la Commission canadienne des grains sont présentées ci-dessous :
Catégorie de dépenses (en milliers de dollars) Dépenses pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2012 Écart
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 2 198 $ 2 593 $ (395 $)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 34 $ 48 $ (14 $)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et de son personnelFootnote 1 -$ -$ -$
Coût total des voyages 2 232 $ 2 641 $ (409 $)
Accueil 29 $ 34 $ (5 $)
Frais de conférences 25 $ 105 $ (80 $)
Total 2 286 $ 2 780 $ (494 $)

Étant donné les changements à grande échelle apportés à l’organisation, par rapport à l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses relatives aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences de l’organisme ont diminué pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Les dépenses de voyages ont diminué par rapport à l’an dernier en raison d’une réduction des volumes de grain manutentionné de l’ordre de 2,7 tm et d’une utilisation accrue de la téléconférence, de la vidéoconférence et de la téléprésence.
  • La mise en branle de la restructuration organisationnelle et le départ d’employés découlant de la rationalisation des opérations de la Commission canadienne des grains et des modifications législatives à venir.
  • L’engagement continu de la Commission canadienne des grains à l’esprit de compression des coûts qui se traduit par une réduction des dépenses discrétionnaires dans la mesure du possible.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Comprend les voyages internationaux faisant partie d'un programme du ministère.

Return to footnote 1 referrer