Report on annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the fiscal year 2013-14

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian Grain Commission for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

The Canadian Grain Commission administers the provisions of the Canada Grain Act. The Canadian Grain Commission’s mandate as set out in the Canada Grain Act is to, "in the interests of the grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets." To effectively pursue its mandate and make a difference to Canadians, the Canadian Grain Commission aims to achieve one strategic outcome: Canada’s grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are protected. The Canadian Grain Commission has five program activities which each contribute to making progress to the sole strategic outcome. They are the quality assurance program, the quantity assurance program, the grain quality research program, the producer protection program, and internal services. For further information on the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and activities please see section II of the Canadian Grain Commission’s Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Performance Report.

During 2012-13 and 2013-14, the Canadian Grain Commission focused a tremendous amount of effort on updating user fees and developing and implementing organizational design and new service delivery models to reflect the amended Canada Grain Act, amended Canada Grain Regulations, and streamlined Canadian Grain Commission operations. Legislation to amend the Canada Grain Act was introduced as part of Bill C-45, the Jobs and Growth Act, 2012, in October, 2012. The Jobs and Growth Act, 2012 received royal assent on December 14, 2012. User fees consultations and pre-proposal notification on updated fees under an amended Canada Grain Act were completed in November 2012. In February 2013, a Canadian Grain Commission User Fees Proposal was tabled in Parliament. Most Canada Grain Act amendments, as well as consequential amendments to the Canada Grain Regulations, and updated user fees came into force on August 1, 2013. The Canadian Grain Commission worked in close collaboration with producers, industry stakeholders, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), and other government departments and agencies throughout this process.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Canadian Grain Commission
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2013 Variance
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel – public servants $1,820 $2,198 ($378)
Travel – non-public servants $27 $34 ($7)
Total travel $1,847 $2,232 ($385)
Hospitality $27 $29 ($2)
Conference fees $12 $25 ($13)
Total $1,886 $2,286 ($400)
International travel by Minister and Minister's staff (also included in non-public servant travel) $- $- $-

Canadian Grain Commission travel, hospitality and conference expenditures have all decreased from 2012-13 to 2013-14 mainly due to:

  • The coming into force of amendments to the Canada Grain Act and updated user fees on August 1, 2013 resulted in a decrease in overall travel expenditures in 2013-14 compared to 2012-13.
  • Increased use of teleconferencing, videoconferencing and telepresence technology.
  • An ongoing commitment to limit discretionary expenditures when and where possible.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences pour l’exercice financier 2013-2014

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport présente l’intégralité des dépenses annuelles consacrées par la Commission canadienne des grains aux déplacements, aux activités d’accueil et aux conférences pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2014. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces renseignements sont mis à jour annuellement et ne contiennent aucun renseignement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont liées aux activités qui appuient le mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme ainsi que les priorités du gouvernement.

La Commission canadienne des grains administre les dispositions de la Loi sur les grains du Canada. Aux termes de cette loi, la Commission canadienne des grains a le mandat de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d'en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieurs et étrangers. Afin de remplir son mandat de façon efficace et faire une différence pour les Canadiens, la Commission canadienne des grains cherche à atteindre un seul résultat stratégique : assurer la salubrité, la fiabilité et le caractère commercialisable des grains canadiens ainsi que la protection des producteurs. La Commission canadienne des grains comporte cinq activités de programme, et chacune contribue à cet unique résultat stratégique. Ces activités sont : le programme d'assurance-qualité, le programme d'assurance-quantité, le programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains, le programme de protection des producteurs et les services internes. De plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et activités de la Commission canadienne des grains se retrouvent à la Section II du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Au cours des exercices 2012-2013 et 2013-2014, la Commission canadienne des grains a consacré des efforts considérables pour préparer et mettre en œuvre de nouveaux modèles de conception organisationnelle et de prestation des services pour rendre compte des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les grains du Canada et au Règlement sur les grains du Canada ainsi que de la rationalisation des activités de la Commission. Des mesures législatives ont été introduites visant à modifier la Loi sur les grains du Canada dans le cadre du projet de loi C-45, Loi de 2012 sur l’emploi et la croissance, en octobre 2012. La Loi de 2012 sur l’emploi et la croissance a reçu la sanction royale le 14 décembre 2012. La consultation sur les frais d'utilisation et l'avis de proposition préliminaire sur les frais d'utilisation à jour aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada modifiée remontent à novembre 2012. En février 2013, la Proposition de la Commission canadienne des grains au Parlement relativement aux frais d’utilisation et aux normes de service a été déposée au Parlement. La plupart des modifications à la Loi sur les grains du Canada, ainsi que les modifications corrélatives au Règlement sur les grains du Canada, et les frais d’utilisation actualisés sont entrés en vigueur le 1er août. Tout au long du processus, la Commission canadienne des grains a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les producteurs, les intervenants de l’industrie, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) et d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Dépenses annuelles relatives aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences de la Commission canadienne des grains
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2013 Écart
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 1 820 $ 2 198 $ (378 $)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 27 $ 34 $ (7 $)
Total – Voyages 1 847 $ 2 232 $ (385 $)
Accueil 27 $ 29 $ (2 $)
Frais de conférences 12 $ 25 $ (13 $)
Total 1 886 $ 2 286 $ (400 $)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et de son personnel (également inclus dans les dépenses relatives aux voyages des non-fonctionnaires) - $ - $ - $

Par rapport à l’exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses relatives aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences de la Commission canadienne des grains ont diminué, principalement pour les raisons suivantes :

  • l’entrée en vigueur des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les grains du Canada et des frais d’utilisation actualisés, le 1er août 2013, a entraîné une baisse des dépenses relatives aux voyages en 2013-2014, comparativement à 2012-2013;
  • le recours accru aux téléconférences, aux vidéoconférences et à la technologie de téléprésence;
  • l'engagement continu à limiter les dépenses discrétionnaires dans la mesure du possible.