Report on annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the fiscal year 2014-15

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2015.  It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

The Canadian Grain Commission administers the provisions of the Canada Grain Act (CGA). The Canadian Grain Commission’s mandate as set out in the Canada Grain Act is to, “in the interests of the grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets.” To effectively pursue its mandate and make a difference to Canadians, the Canadian Grain Commission aims to achieve one strategic outcome:  Canada’s grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are properly compensated for grain deliveries to licensed grain companies.  The Canadian Grain Commission has five programs which each contribute to making progress to the sole strategic outcome. They are the quality assurance program, the quantity assurance program, the grain quality research program, the producer protection program, and internal services. For further information on the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and activities please the Canadian Grain Commission’s Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Performance Report.

Annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of the Canadian Grain Commission
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2014 Change
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel – public servants $1,822 $1,820 $2
Travel – non-public servants $148 $27 $121
Total travel $1,970 $1,847 $123
Hospitality $19 $27 ($8)
Conference fees $16 $12 $4
Total $2,005 $1,886 $119
International travel by Minister and Minister's staff (also included in non-public servant travel) $- $- $-

Canadian Grain Commission travel expenditures increased from 2013-14 to 2014-15 mainly due to increased expenses related to participation in mandate supporting 2014-15 new crop missions. New crop missions are an integral part of the Canadian Grain Commission’s relationship with the end users of Canadian crops. These missions provide the opportunity for a two-way exchange of information regarding the quality factors in the current year’s crops, allow Canadian Grain Commission subject matter experts to address any concerns related to end use quality attributes of Canadian grain, and provide opportunities for the Canadian Grain Commission exchange information with end use customers about the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and services. In addition, the missions allow the Canadian Grain Commission to establish and maintain government-to-government relationships where the Canadian Grain Commission is the ‘competent authority’ for Canada and has a key role in the resolution of market access issues. As the grain industry continues to evolve, a new ‘Team Canada’ approach for 2014-15 new crop missions was initiated with each mission including representatives from the Canadian Grain Commission, Canadian International Grains Institute, Cereals Canada, as well as industry and producer organizations. As a result, the Canadian Grain Commission’s investment in new crop missions and related travel expenditures increased. During 2014-15, Canadian Grain Commission subject matter experts participated in new crop missions to Asia, Europe, South America, and North Africa/Middle East.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences pour l’exercice financier de 2014-2015

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport présente l’intégralité des dépenses annuelles consacrées par la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) aux déplacements, aux activités d’accueil et aux conférences pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2015. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces renseignements sont mis à jour annuellement et ne contiennent aucun renseignement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont liées aux activités qui appuient le mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme ainsi que les priorités du gouvernement.

La Commission canadienne des grains administre les dispositions de la Loi sur les grains du Canada. Aux termes de cette loi, la Commission canadienne des grains a le mandat de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d'en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieurs et étrangers. Afin de remplir son mandat de façon efficace et faire une différence pour les Canadiens, la Commission canadienne des grains cherche à atteindre un seul résultat stratégique : Les grains du Canada sont salubres, fiables et commercialisables, et les producteurs de grain canadiens sont dûment rémunérés pour les livraisons de grain aux compagnies céréalières agréées. La Commission canadienne des grains compte cinq programmes, et chacun contribue à cet unique résultat stratégique. Ces programmes sont : le programme d'assurance-qualité, le programme d'assurance-quantité, le programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains, le programme de protection des producteurs et les services internes. De plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et activités de la Commission canadienne des grains se trouvent dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Dépenses annuelles relatives aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences de la Commission canadienne des grains
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2013 Écart
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 1 822 $ 1 820 $ 2 $
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 148 $ 27 $ 121 $
Total – Voyages 1 970 $ 1 847 $ 123 $
Accueil 19 $ 27 $ (8 $)
Frais de conférences 16 $ 22 $ 4 $
Total 2 005 $ 1 886 $ 119 $
Voyages internationaux du ministre et de son personnel (également inclus dans les dépenses relatives aux voyages des non-fonctionnaires) - $ - $ - $

Les dépenses de voyages de la Commission canadienne des grains ont augmenté au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015, comparativement à l’exercice 2013-2014, principalement en raison de l’augmentation des dépenses liées à l’exécution du mandat à l’appui des missions d’évaluation des nouvelles récoltes de 2014-2015. Les missions d’évaluation des nouvelles récoltes font partie intégrante des relations que la Commission canadienne des grains entretient avec les utilisateurs finaux des cultures canadiennes. Ces missions permettent un échange bidirectionnel de renseignements sur les facteurs de qualité s’appliquant aux récoltes de la campagne agricole en cours, donnent l’occasion aux experts en la matière de la Commission canadienne des grains de répondre aux préoccupations visant la qualité à l’utilisation finale du grain canadien, et offrent à la CCG des possibilités d’échanger de l’information sur ses programmes et services avec les clients. En outre, les missions permettent à la Commission canadienne des grains d’établir et d’entretenir des relations de gouvernement à gouvernement dans le cadre desquelles la Commission canadienne des grains est l’« autorité compétente » du Canada et joue un rôle clé dans la résolution des problèmes d’accès aux marchés. Comme l'industrie céréalière continue d'évoluer, une nouvelle approche « Équipe Canada » a été adoptée pour les missions d'évaluation des nouvelles récoltes de 2014-2015, chaque mission regroupant des représentants de la Commission canadienne des grains, de l'Institut internationale du Canada pour le grain (IICG), de Cereals Canada, ainsi que de l'industrie et des organisations de producteurs. Par conséquent, les investissements de la Commission canadienne des grains dans les missions d'évaluation des nouvelles récoltes ainsi que les dépenses de voyages connexes ont augmenté. Au cours de 2014-2015, des experts en la matière de la Commission canadienne des grains ont participé à des missions d'évaluation des nouvelles récoltes en Asie, en Europe, en Amérique du Sud, en Afrique du Nord et au Moyen-Orient.