Report on annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the fiscal year 2015-16

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2016. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

The Canadian Grain Commission administers the provisions of the Canada Grain Act (CGA). The Canadian Grain Commission’s mandate as set out in the CGA is to, “in the interests of the grain producers, establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain and regulate grain handling in Canada, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets.” To effectively pursue its mandate and make a difference to Canadians, the Canadian Grain Commission aims to achieve one strategic outcome: Canada’s grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are properly compensated for grain deliveries to licensed grain companies. The Canadian Grain Commission has five programs which each contribute to making progress to the sole strategic outcome. They are the quality assurance program, the quantity assurance program, the grain quality research program, the producer protection program, and internal services. For further information on the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and activities please the Canadian Grain Commission's programs and activities please the Canadian Grain Commission's Report on Plans and Priorities and the Departmental Performance Report.

Annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of the Canadian Grain Commission
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016 ($000) Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2016 ($000) Change ($000)
Travel – public servants $1,991 $1,822 $169
Travel – non-public servants $158 $148 $10
Total travel $2,149 $1,970 $179
Hospitality $25 $19 $6
Conference fees $10 $16 ($6)
Total $2,184 $2,005 $179
International travel by Minister and Minister's staff (also included in non-public servant travel) $- $- $-

Canadian Grain Commission travel expenditures increased from 2014-15 to 2015-16 mainly due to increased expenses related to the ongoing support of the New Crop Missions mandate. These missions provide the opportunity for a two-way exchange of information regarding the quality factors in the current year’s crops, allow Canadian Grain Commission subject matter experts to address any concerns related to end use quality attributes of Canadian grain, and provide opportunities for the Canadian Grain Commission exchange information with end use customers about the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and services. In addition, the Missions allow the Canadian Grain Commission to establish and maintain government-to-government relationships where the Canadian Grain Commission is the ‘competent authority’ for Canada and has a key role in the resolution of market access issues. During 2015-16, Canadian Grain Commission subject matter experts participated in New Crop Missions to Asia, Europe, South America, and North Africa/Middle East.

Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences pour l’exercice financier 2015-2016

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport présente l’intégralité des dépenses annuelles consacrées par la Commission canadienne des grains (CCG) aux voyages, aux activités d’accueil et aux conférences pour l’exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2016. Il présente également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacun des trois secteurs.

Ces renseignements sont mis à jour annuellement et ne contiennent aucun renseignement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités qui appuient leur mandat respectif ainsi que les priorités du gouvernement.

La Commission canadienne des grains administre les dispositions de la Loi sur les grains du Canada (LGC). Aux termes de cette loi, la Commission canadienne des grains a pour mission de fixer et de faire respecter, au profit des producteurs de grain, des normes de qualité pour le grain canadien et de régir la manutention des grains au pays afin d’en assurer la fiabilité sur les marchés intérieur et extérieur. Pour s’acquitter de son mandat de façon efficace et changer les choses pour les Canadiens, la Commission canadienne des grains cherche à atteindre un seul résultat stratégique : les grains du Canada sont salubres, fiables et commercialisables et les producteurs de grains canadiens sont dûment rémunérés pour les livraisons de grains aux entreprises céréalières agréées. La Commission canadienne des grains compte cinq activités de programme, et chacune contribue à cet unique résultat stratégique. Ces activités sont les suivantes : le programme d’assurance-qualité, le programme d’assurance-quantité, le programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains, le programme de protection des producteurs et les services internes. De plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et activités de la CCG se trouvent dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la Commission canadienne des grains

Dépenses annuelles relatives aux voyages, à l’accueil et aux conférences de la Commission canadienne des grains
(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses de l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2016 (en k$) Dépenses de l’exercice précédent terminé le 31 mars 2015 (en k$) Écart (en k$)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 1 991 $ 1 822 $ 169 $
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 158 $ 148 $ 10 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 2 149 $ 1 970 $ 179 $
Accueil 25 $ 19 $ 6 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 10 $ 16 $ (6 $)
Total 2 184 $ 2 005 $ 179 $
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre (aussi compris dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires) -$ -$ -$

Les dépenses de voyages de la Commission canadienne des grains ont augmenté en 2015-2016 par rapport à 2014-2015 principalement en raison de l’augmentation des dépenses liées à l’exécution du mandat à l’appui des missions d’évaluation des nouvelles récoltes. Ces missions permettent un échange bidirectionnel de renseignements sur les facteurs de qualité s’appliquant aux récoltes de la campagne agricole en cours, donnent l’occasion aux experts en la matière de la Commission canadienne des grains de répondre aux préoccupations visant la qualité à l’utilisation finale du grain canadien, et offrent à la Commission canadienne des grains des possibilités d’échanger de l’information sur ses programmes et services avec les clients. En outre, les missions permettent à la Commission canadienne des grains d’établir et d’entretenir des relations de gouvernement à gouvernement dans le cadre desquelles la Commission canadienne des grains est l’« autorité compétente » du Canada et joue un rôle clé dans la résolution des problèmes d’accès aux marchés. Au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, des experts en la matière de la Commission canadienne des grains ont participé à des missions d’évaluation des nouvelles récoltes en Asie, en Europe, en Amérique du Sud, en Afrique du Nord et au Moyen-Orient.

Date de modification :