Penalty provisions in grain delivery contracts

Your grain delivery contract must include provisions for a penalty to be paid to you, the producer, if the licensed grain company has not accepted your grain during the delivery period defined in your contract. This protection applies only to grain deliveries of the kind and grade of grain specified in your contracts. It is required under the Canada Grain Regulations for contracts that contain a specified delivery period.

Penalty provisions

Penalty amounts and specific mechanisms of payment are not specified in the Canada Grain Regulations. This allows producers and licensed grain companies to negotiate transparent, flexible and balanced commercial agreements that set out the contractual obligations for both parties.

During contract negotiation

When you are negotiating a delivery contract that includes a defined period during which you must deliver grain, review your contract carefully to make sure it includes a penalty clause in the event of non-acceptance of your grain.

Contact the Canadian Grain Commission if the delivery contract does not include a penalty clause and the grain company does not agree to add one.

If your grain is not accepted

If the licensed grain company does not accept your grain within the defined delivery period:

  1. Attempt to resolve the issue with the grain company.
  2. Contact the Canadian Grain Commission if the licensed grain company does not agree with your interpretation of the penalty clause or does not agree to pay you the penalty specified in the contract.

At your written request, the Canadian Grain Commission may arbitrate the matter or refer the case to an arbitrator.

Contact

Patti Miller
Chief Commissioner
Canadian Grain Commission
Phone: 1-800-853-6705

Related links

Dispositions sur les pénalités prévues dans les contrats d’achat de grain

Votre contrat de livraison de grain doit comprendre des dispositions sur la pénalité qui vous sera versée, comme producteur, si la compagnie céréalière agréée n’accepte pas votre livraison de grain au cours de la période de livraison définie dans votre contrat. Cette protection ne vaut que pour les livraisons de grain du type et du grade visés par le contrat. Le Règlement sur les grains du Canada exige que les contrats prévoient une période de livraison définie.

Dispositions sur les pénalités prévues

Le Règlement sur les grains du Canada ne prescrit pas le montant des pénalités ni la méthode ou le type de paiement. Les producteurs et les compagnies céréalières agréées peuvent ainsi négocier de façon transparente, souple et équilibrée les ententes commerciales qui régissent les obligations contractuelles des deux parties.

Pendant la négociation du contrat

Lors de la négociation d’un contrat d’achat prévoyant une période précise pour la livraison du grain, lisez attentivement votre contrat pour vous assurer qu’il renferme une disposition sur les pénalités prévues dans l’éventualité où votre grain ne serait pas accepté.

Veuillez communiquer avec la Commission canadienne des grains si le contrat d’achat ne renferme aucune disposition sur les pénalités prévues et si la compagnie céréalière refuse d’en inclure une.

Si votre grain n’est pas accepté

Si la compagnie céréalière agréée n’accepte pas votre grain pendant la période de livraison définie :

  1. Tentez de résoudre le problème avec la compagnie céréalière.
  2. Communiquez avec la Commission canadienne des grains si vous ne vous entendez pas avec la compagnie céréalière agréée quant à l’interprétation de la disposition sur les pénalités prévues ou si la compagnie refuse de payer la pénalité prévue dans le contrat.

Si vous en faites la demande par écrit, la Commission canadienne des grains pourrait arbitrer l’affaire ou soumettre le cas à un arbitre.

Personne-ressource

Patti Miller
Commissaire en chef
Commission canadienne des grains
Téléphone : 1-800-853-6705

Liens pertinents