Requirements for condition of grain at delivery

The Canada Grain Act does not allow anyone to deliver contaminated or infested grain. Licensed grain handling facilities are prohibited from receiving contaminated or infested grain.

Under the Canada Grain Act:

  • a licensed grain handling facility, such as a licensed primary elevator, cannot
    • receive grain that is contaminated or infested or is suspected to be contaminated or infested
    • ship grain that is contaminated or infested or suspected to be contaminated or infested, unless authorized to do so after the Canadian Grain Commission has determined it is safe or free of infestation
  • a producer (or a person acting on a producer’s behalf) cannot deliver grain to a licensed facility that is contaminated or infested or suspected to be contaminated or infested

A number of different substances can contaminate grain. Examples of possible contaminants include treated seed, insects, chemicals, debris, and excreta. This list is not exhaustive. If you have questions about possible contaminants or for information about what to do if you suspect your grain may be contaminated, contact the Canadian Grain Commission.

Unloads at terminal elevators

When a railcar of grain unloads at a terminal elevator, a sample is collected for inspection by the elevator operator or an authorized third-party inspector.

What happens when contamination is suspected

If contamination or infestation is suspected, the terminal elevator operator must inform the closest Canadian Grain Commission office.

If a terminal elevator operator suspects the grain may be contaminated, the elevator operator:

Experts at the Canadian Grain Commission consult with the scientists at the Canadian Grain Commission’s Grain Research Laboratory to determine what the sample contains. Where seed treatment contamination is suspected, the Grain Research Laboratory analyzes the grain and identifies what type of contamination is present and the level of contamination, if any.

If the grain is contaminated, the concentration of contamination in the lot of grain is calculated based on the sample inspected. The Canadian Grain Commission decides what happens to the contaminated lot. If the lot exceeds maximum residue limits, the grain may be condemned. The Canadian Grain Commission makes these decisions on a case-by-case basis and will inform the elevator of their options for how to handle the contaminated lot.

What happens when an insect infestation is suspected

If an insect infestation is found or suspected in a delivery to a licensed terminal elevator, the elevator operator informs the Canadian Grain Commission about the infestation and what kind of insects have been found. The operator sends a sample of the affected grain and any insects discovered to the Canadian Grain Commission so the insects can be identified. The Canadian Grain Commission then works with the terminal elevator operator to manage the infestation at the terminal elevator.

Grain is considered infested if the insects found are injurious, noxious or troublesome.

Maximum residue limits in grain

Health Canada has set maximum residue limits for many chemicals in Canadian grain, including those used to treat seed. Any grain that exceeds these limits can be condemned. This means that the grain cannot enter the food or feed system and may need to be destroyed.

Many countries that import Canadian grain have their own limits for chemical residues in grain. If a load of grain exceeds the limit set by the importing country, the customer could refuse to accept the shipment.

The Grain Research Laboratory routinely monitors grain export shipments, and has the capacity to analyze samples for the presence of approximately 200 pesticides (insecticides, herbicides or fungicides), including those commonly used to treat seeds.

Related links

Date modified:

Exigences relatives à l’état du grain à la livraison

La Loi sur les grains du Canada interdit à quiconque de livrer du grain contaminé ou infesté. Il est par ailleurs interdit aux installations de manutention des grains agréées de recevoir du grain contaminé ou infesté.

Aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada :

  • Une installation de manutention des grains agréée, par exemple un silo primaire agréé, ne peut :
    • recevoir du grain qui est contaminé ou infesté, ou qui est soupçonné de l’être;
    • expédier du grain qui est contaminé ou infesté, ou qui est soupçonné de l’être, sauf si elle est autorisée à le faire après que la Commission canadienne des grains ait déterminé que le grain est salubre ou exempt d’infestation.
  • Le producteur (ou une personne agissant au nom du producteur) ne peut livrer à une installation agréée du grain qui est contaminé ou infesté, ou qui est soupçonné de l’être

Le grain peut être contaminé par différentes substances. Par exemple, parmi les contaminants possibles, mentionnons les semences traitées, les insectes, les produits chimiques, les débris et les excrétions. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive. Si vous avez des questions sur les contaminants possibles ou si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ce qu’il faut faire si vous soupçonnez que votre grain est contaminé, communiquez avec la Commission canadienne des grains.

Déchargement à un silo terminal

Lorsqu’un wagon de grain est déchargé à un silo terminal, l’exploitant du silo ou un inspecteur tiers autorisé prélève un échantillon à des fins d’inspection.

Que se passe-t-il lorsque l’on soupçonne une contamination?

Lorsque l’on soupçonne une contamination ou une infestation, l’exploitant du silo terminal doit en informer le personnel du bureau de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Si l’exploitant du silo terminal soupçonne que le grain est contaminé, il doit :

Les spécialistes de la Commission canadienne des grains consultent les scientifiques du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains de la Commission canadienne des grains afin de déterminer le contenu de l’échantillon. Lorsque l’on soupçonne une contamination par des semences traitées, le personnel du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains analyse le grain et détermine s’il y a contamination et, le cas échéant, l’ampleur de la contamination.

Si le grain est contaminé, la concentration de contaminant du lot est calculée à partir de l’échantillon inspecté. La Commission canadienne des grains décide de ce qu’il adviendra du lot contaminé. Si le lot excède les limites maximales de résidus, le grain peut être condamné. La Commission canadienne des grains prend ces décisions au cas par cas et informe l’exploitant du silo des possibilités qui s’offrent à lui pour traiter le lot contaminé.

Qu’arrive-t-il lorsque l’on soupçonne qu’un lot est infesté par des insectes?

Si l’on observe ou l’on soupçonne la présence d’insectes dans un chargement livré à un silo terminal agréé, l’exploitant du silo doit informer le personnel de la Commission canadienne des grains de l’infestation et du type d’insecte découvert. L’exploitant envoie à la Commission canadienne des grains un échantillon du grain infesté ainsi que tout insecte découvert aux fins d’identification de celui-ci. Le personnel de la Commission canadienne des grains collabore avec l’exploitant du silo terminal afin de gérer l’infestation au silo terminal.

Le grain est jugé infesté s’il est parasité par des insectes qui sont nuisibles ou qui pourraient causer des problèmes grain.

Limites maximales de résidus dans le grain

Santé Canada a établi des limites maximales de résidus de nombreux produits chimiques dans le grain canadien, notamment les produits qui sont utilisés pour traiter les semences. Le grain excédant ces limites peut être condamné, ce qui signifie qu’il ne peut entrer dans la chaîne alimentaire ni dans le système d’alimentation des animaux et qu’il devra peut-être être détruit.

De nombreux pays qui importent du grain canadien ont leurs propres limites quant aux résidus de produits chimiques dans le grain. Si un chargement de grain excède la limite établie par le pays d’exportation, le client peut refuser d’accepter la cargaison.

Le personnel du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains effectue une surveillance régulière des expéditions de grain destiné à l’exportation et peut analyser des échantillons en vue de détecter la présence possible d’environ 200 pesticides (insecticides, herbicides or fongicides), notamment qui sont utilisés couramment pour traiter les semences.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :